Used 2016 Lincoln MKX SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$18,900 - $35,945

Used MKX for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...6

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Didn't Want to Give it Back!

Happy in Florida, 05/14/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
69 of 69 people found this review helpful

I first came in contact with the 2016 Lincoln MKX in Albuquerque, NM. We had rented a full-size sedan, but were offered the MKX instead. We agreed and fell in love. I had rented suvs in the past, but had never owned one and never thought I would. I've always been a luxury car guy. We drove the MKX around town for 9 days and were very reluctant to turn it in. My wife and I joked about driving it back to Florida instead of flying. We could find no faults. When we returned home, I began my quest for a new suv since we had become believers. I considered Lincoln, BMW, Jaguar, Range Rover and Cadillac. We researched and test drove all. Everything considered, we easily chose the MKX, not only for best value, but we also just liked it better than the others. We ended up with one identical to the one we had rented - white with cappuccino interior, 3.7 liter, Reserve level. We recently returned from a 1,500-mile road trip, had no problems and are even more pleased. After 1 1/2 months and a total of 1,650 miles, we know we made the right decision.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

don't always take the "experts" opinion .

peb, 05/15/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
41 of 41 people found this review helpful

I've had this mkx for 2 months and love it even more now than when I bought it. Nothing beats its styling, interior or exterior, I got the blue with terra cotta interior, beautiful. Sticker was 52,500 , selling price with dealer discount and rebates was 47,500. No problems . base engine has more than adequate power expecially in sport mode. Most comfortable car I've ever owned. "experts" say its best as a highway cruiser, but I say it also handles curves very well in sport mode with little drop in ride comfort. Excellent base revel stereo. Lane control works well but I like to keep the steering vibration alert off. Don't believe experts biased toward imports, they probably think its hip to downplay American luxury.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Give American made a chance, like we did.

Carrie, 09/08/2016
Black Label 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
37 of 37 people found this review helpful

We are very happy with our 2016 MKX Black Label, former Lexus/Acura owners of many years. Test drove Infiniti's(multiple SUV's), Lexus RX, Acura MDX ... RDX, Mercedes GLK and GLE...also Audi Q5. We then decided to check out the 2016 Lincoln MKX. All the previously mentioned vehicle's are very nice but found the MKX much quieter, a joy to drive and the REVEL sound system may be better then the Mark Levinson sound system found in the RX. The REVEL blew my mind at the pure sound. We were also very pleased with the softer ride and rarely any engine noise which were very noticeable in the RX, Mercedes and most especially the Infinit (QX50, JX60 and the small Infiniti SUV). The MKX is the most wonderful ride we have ever experienced. I rarely hear any rode noise or the sound of vehicle right next to us...due to the noise cancellation found thru-out the MKX. The seats in the Black Label are 22 way both driver and passenger side. The head room is great. My husband is 6'7" and this and the Mercedes were the roomiest and most comfortable for him. The back seat is quite roomy as is the cargo area. We have the new SYNC 3 which is very easy to operate and I find it easy to figure out and operate. My only complaint is the gas mileage which is normal for an SUV of almost 4500 lbs(18 miles to the gallon our tech informed us). I am a former owner of the Lexus GS sedan(10 years) and there is quite a difference in gas usage. This vehicle is pure joy to drive. We find ourselves wanting to use it on weekends now versus my husband's truck.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Excellent, Comfortable and Quiet Vehicle

Brian, 05/07/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
30 of 30 people found this review helpful

This is literally my 5th Lincoln having previously owned a Navigator and past 5 years, MKX's. I just leased the new 2016 all white with cappuccino interior, Reserve. It is completely redesigned from my prior 2014 Lincoln MKX. The vehicle is stunning having cooled seats, heated seats and one of the best quality stereo systems I have ever heard. My wife has a ML350 Mercedes and she pays more per month than I do and my MKX has significantly more features and; better quality features. The back seats are significantly larger and roomier than my prior 2014 Lincoln MKX. The driving is superior and my favorite feature of this vehicle is the extremely quiet cabin. Going 80 mph on the highway, you can hear a pin drop. I am a Trial Attorney in Miami and I am constantly driving all throughout town. This vehicle is nothing but exceptional. I will continue buying Lincoln forever so long as they keep the great job. Keep in mind, for the price you get a huge amount of technology and more so than most finer vehicles including Mercedes, BMW, Jaguar and Acuras. Consider this vehicle and you won't be disappointed, I promise!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

ALL prior model drawback have gone away!!!!

Bob, 12/24/2015
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
30 of 31 people found this review helpful

This one has all of the technology available on all luxury SUZ on the market at far less price. The quality is excellent. All of the drawbacks of the prior version have been fixed.. Now has much smoother ride, better steering/handling, update look, comfortable drivers seat and steering wheel positions and adjustments. 360 degrees cameras, collision alerts, blind spot alerts, cross traffic alerts and adaptable cruise control are all musts in my judgment. And for those who like "toys", the ambient interior lighting choices are a fun thing. I have never like a vehicle as much. Seeing is believing....LOL, I sound like a Lincoln salesmen, but the car is just that good!!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Brand new Purchase: updated

cfmillette, 08/10/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
40 of 42 people found this review helpful

OK: After researching on the Internet, and having my wife look at/drive other competitors: she decided to buy a 2016 MKX - yesterday. So this review is very early on indeed. However: the car rides very capably and the cabin is very quiet. [I drive a sports sedan aggressively, but here the standard 3.7L V6 is fine] - we opted instead of the 2.7L Turbo engine for both the Driver Assistance and the Technology packages. Forget the earlier Ford "My Touch" - the newer SCYN3 interface seems pretty intuitive. Does this car warrant the added cost compared to its "parent" the lower cost Ford Edge? Do not know yet, obviously. But the ambience of the driver's cabin is entirely comparable to the Lexus RX-350, the new Cadillac XT5 et.al. We decided that, yep, the cachet of the Lincoln "name" was worth the cost. Note please: we are an older couple with disposable income, at least to a degree. Pure economy or ecological "Green" thinking issues are not highly weighted in our household. Regarding my comment regarding "Green" thinking! Yes, if my wife and I valued this aspect to the exclusion of all else - we would both be driving a Toyota Yaris or something akin. Nope, not going to happen at this point. Plus, I have made the following calculation: 18 mpg/driving 10,000 mpy (our situation) equates to something like 556 gallons of gasoline per year. Buying instead a car with predicted 22 mpg and driving the same 10,000 may, but using premium gas? In our neighborhood based upon local gasoline pricing, this means that we SAVE about $50/year. In other words totally inconsequential. Now with 500 miles driven - we love this car. Optional safety features work exactly as advertised and already have been appreciated. Do not need a third row? Less interested in sports car experience (I get that elsewhere!)? Want comfort and safety? Willing to buy American? Consider the newest version of the Lincoln MKX. UPDATE: Now about 6 months later, still very few miles driven, but we remain entirely pleased. While there have been two recalls, but both of these were for very minor issues, nothing at all substantive. Dealership completely responsive.Interior space very conveniently organized. We very much like the front console "pass-through"storage space created by the push button gear selector. Gas milage exactly as predicted. Many positive comments from passengers. SYNC-3 easy to use. 360 degree camera system excellent. Oh yeah, that night-time illuminated Lincoln logo Welcome Mat? While simply pure fluff and decadence, we never fail to use it when chaperoning new guests at night! Starts the conversation going immediately. Overall, my initial rating remains unchanged. This has been an excellent choice for us. Most recent update. Now with another 6 months or so experience? Our review remains unaltered. Excellent driving machine for our needs. Good engine performance, superb comfort and internal ambience (SYNC3 system), good storage capacity , not at all missing a third row seating which we did NOT need initially, safety bells /whistles have indeed been helpful. My wife and I recommend this vehicle without reservation.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Happy Wife / Happy Life

Dan H, 07/22/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
27 of 28 people found this review helpful

My wife didn't like the exterior/interior combinations on dealer lots so we ordered our MKX and waited 7 weeks for delivery. We ordered Allure Blue w/ cappuccino interior. We are glad we waited. We drove Acura and Lexus before selecting Lincoln. We loved both the Acura RDX and MKX. Not so much for the Lexus 350. We selected the Lincoln based on two bad experiences with Honda products. My daughter hopped a curb while pulling away from a bank ATM and did $3500 damage to her Accord and my son totaled his RL without hitting anything by running off a highway into the median. I've done similar things with Ford products without any damage to suspension systems. My wife is driving the MKX and I have taken her 2001 Toyota Sienna and made it my work car. Our MKX is fairly tricked-out. The features I especially love are: adaptive cruise control (won't buy another car without it), 360 degree backup camera (Toyota calls this bird's eye view and I won't buy another car without it), rain sensing wipers, automatic on/off-high/low headlights, 2.7L engine (very smooth at moderate acceleration). My wife loves the power tailgate, seat adjustment capability (we have premium seats that allow increasing/decreasing the length of the lower cushion that allows adjustment to shorter/taller people) and the automatic synchronization with her iPhone that plays her playlist music (she is a classical pianist) anytime she enters the car rather than defaulting to the radio. We recently drove from Charleston, SC to Baton Rouge, LA. I historically hate drives longer than 10 hours. That drive, I think I could have continued to Houston. We will be taking the car in for its 5000 mile service next week. My wife and I typically expect 250,000 miles from a car so we'll be driving this one for a while. The only option that I didn't get that I might consider next time is the adaptive steering - I have to hold the steering wheel with two hands when nailing the throttle. Either the adaptive steering or AWD might help with the torque steer.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2016 2.7L Turbo-Good Stuff~She's fully Loaded too.

Chris Johnson, 09/03/2016
Black Label 4dr SUV (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

Drove two Lincoln MKX engines, the 3.7 and the 2.7 turbo. Drove the Lexus RX 350 Sport & Premium. Drove all lines of the Jaguar F-Pace. Drove the Ford Edge Sport. Drove Audi's line. Drove Acura MDX.........I bought the 2.7L MKX. Frankly, I like every one of various manufacturers offerings. Honestly, you can't go wrong no matter what, we all live in the age of cool factor and quality overall. But what I wanted was the blend of comfort and dead quiet cabin, with a serious engine, and the 2.7L MKX fits the bill the best of everything I drove. The 3.7 MKX is fine, but seems a bit under powered to me. The 2.7, is a serious motor and for a car guy/gal, this will be worth the extra bucks. It just hauls when you need it, there is zero turbo lag, it's there, it's on, this is one very fast vehicle when the moment dictates. We have a fully loaded vehicle, you can't put a single option more on it. But if I could do it all again, I'd opt for the 20's, rather than the 21 inch rims, I'm just too nervous I'll scrape them when parallel parking, but the cameras all around, surely help in all aspects. Some niggly items that are a bit hard to get used to for me, I continue to phantom on the parking break with my left leg, the pull the button break thing will take some more getting used too. And the "push matic" gear selection, it's just a bit laggy between gear changes. Some things I've learned quickly in ownership here is that most folks probably will back off on some of the safety settings, otherwise you'll fight the car for control. It'll beep at you, flash at you, and literally steer for you, which is all good, for some, not for me. I've dialed back the settings to suit my needs. The steering wheel thing in full safety mode is a bit disconcerting if you even drift a hair from dead center in your lane. My favorite part of all though is the gas pedal and the 2.7 Turbo, I can just accelerate to match anything on the road, at any speed. Favorite part for my wife is the massaging seats, she's happy, I'm happy, and we cruise down the road in style, only 50 years young, and chuckling that my grandparents in their 70's had a Lincoln! Update.........fit and finish still excellent, nothing further to report at this time. Great engine! Final Update, sold it to buy an Alfa Romeo. Had a great experience with the Lincoln, will seriously look at them again. Lincoln just was in a weird inventory transition time to the Nautilus, and I couldn't get the specs I wanted, which is basically fully loaded. In the 3 years of owning this, there really is only one gripe, and it's the handling. After driving all the 2019 models at hand, all manufacturers seemed to have made handling better yet. Lincoln seemed stuck in 2016, which is still a good ride, but just not really fully composed for maybe more spirited driving for lack of a better term. But that 2.7 Twin Turbo, she pulls like a freight train and I think it's a terrific engine.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I would not buy this car...it is unreliable

Michelle, 06/24/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

This care is so comfortable and drives fantastic... BUT do not let them sell you on the My Touch navigation system. They are moving all this year to Sync 3 which is great but are still selling early 2016 models with My Touch - It is frustrating, slow and will leave you stranded. I had a loaner with the Sync 3 and it was night and day. I love this car but I bet I will get rid of it within 3 years due to the navigation system....It takes forever to compute and randomly the keyboard just disappears. I have taken it in and they can't do anything about it... I would recommend this car to anyone as long as you don't get suckered into the old nav system. I do have to say that the service folks and Gwinnett Lincoln have been a pleasure to deal with. I do wish the Lincoln dealership/Service was completely separate from Ford due to it is very busy but the staff does go above and beyond. 12/26/16 updated review - the car has been in the shop 7 time in less than 9K mile for various forms of issues. Twice for throttle rod where the car just dies in traffic and then will only go 5 mph which is extremely dangerous in ATL traffic. The computer is this car is buggy - errors show up on the dash and I take pics with my cell and then Lincoln can not replicate it. The lift gate sensors are unpredictable and come down on you for no reason. I would never purchase this car again due to the computer system...It is great when it wants to work. The navigation system still blacks out for no reason. It still drives like a dream and is very comfortable, I love all the cameras to park, back up etc. The other think I absolutely hate is since I spend so much time at the Lincoln service center is that it is also mixed with the Gwinnett ford dealership and therefore it is always chaotic. If you want to buy a luxury car then my advice is to avoid this car and also go with someone that has a stand alone dealership and is has a longer time in the marketplace - Maybe 2017 they will get the bugs worked out. I did not pay 50K plus for a car that I have to drive 45 min each way to the dealership every other week to drive a loaner.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2.7L AWD Reserve

Andrew, 12/16/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle, I have had it now for over 6 months with no issues. I got the AWD 2.7L which is considerably faster than the standard stock engine. Also make sure to get AWD as it makes a big difference in the comfort and performance of the vehicle. Only note is that your MPG will suffer. I drive aggressively and get an average of 18.7mpg. Also id recommend to get the tan interior vs the black as it is more appealing. Also the 360 camera system is useful in parking so you avoid scratching up those rims. Sound options are nice as well and If you equip it right you get lots of other features such as lane departure. Lastly I have the new sync 3 which works considerably better than the old sync my touch. Overall great vehicle worth taking for a test drive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page:
51050