Used 2016 Lincoln MKC SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$15,995 - $26,990

Used MKC for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great Ride

Dan, 06/23/2016
Select 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
42 of 42 people found this review helpful

We were considering a 2017 Escape and then saw the MKC. Great exterior styling that sets it aside from many of the other luxury brands that all tend to look alike. When we first drove the vehicle with the standard 2.0 Ecoboost, it felt like there was a V8 under the hood. The interior is well laid out and has plenty of features. Love the memory seats and mirrors and the power driver and passenger seating. The touchscreen audio and climate controls work great. I really was not sure we would care for the pushbutton tranny but it has turned out to be great and you lose the shifter. The vehicle has some nice finishes and we opted for the expresso/sand interior with the zebra wood. Plenty of storage room in the rear and the rear seats recline. The only complaint would be the lack of leg room in the rear seat if he driver is tall. The ride is firm and very quiet. One surprise and delight feature was the Lincoln Welcome Mat. When you unlock the doors, the Lincoln emblem and insignia is projected on both sides of the vehicle. Clever! We would definitely recommend this vehicle in the luxury SUV segment.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Great Ride

Willie the J, 06/25/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
30 of 31 people found this review helpful

My wife's Lincoln LS was 13 years old. Time to replace it. As a long time Audi and Prosche driver I looked at a Q5 and a Macan. My local Lincoln dealer has always treated me fair so I decided to price an MkC. The Lincoln dealership is less than 3 miles from my house. The Porsche and Audi dealers are 35 miles away.Today there is a 2017 MkC AWD with the 2.3liter turbo 4 engine, 19" wheels. Is it an Audi or a Porsche? No way, but it is close enough especially given the 5 figure price differences between and among them.The MkC is solid, scoots along rather well, runs on regular fuel, 4 year warranty. First service is free and the dealer will come pick up the car, leave me a loaner, and return my serviced vehicle to me. The fit and finish are first rate. The car has more technology than I will ever use. Outward visibility front and to the sides is excellent. Rear window is too small but that is how all these modern vehicles are designed. Air bags everywhere. No wind noise on the freeway. All in all I am very satisfied with the MkC.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

From Convertible to SUV!

Harvey, 02/17/2017
Select 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

I always drove convertibles. As I got older getting in and out became more challenging. I drove a loaner SUV and liked it in principle. (BMW). I decided to check out what was out there in a smallish SUV. I tried Mercedes,Audi,Mazda, Honda and a few more. The result was I chose the The Lincoln MKC. It was the only one that I loved everything about it. The love affair continues after 8 months of ownership.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Solid Luxury Crossover with a Few Quirks

Iowa Driver, 08/13/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
36 of 40 people found this review helpful

I researched my purchase very carefully and test drove many comparable options, including BMW, Audi, Infinity, and Lexus. Of those, I think this was very similar to the Audi Q5 in terms of feel, performance, styling, and quality. Ultimately, I chose the MKC because I was able to order it with the colors and options I preferred, and Lincoln offered a number of incentives. I not only got discounts on the purchase price, but also 0% financing! It was a much better value (a steal really) compared to the foreign options. And most of the foreign options all come in the same boring colors: Black, white, silver, gray and red. It is great to be able to go online, build your own car, and take those specs to the dealer. I took these specs to several dealers and asked each for their best price. I ordered my MKC in burgundy with the large spoke wheels...it is stunning! I get a lot of compliments about this vehicle. I will say however, that the bigger the wheels, the rougher the ride. So far, no major complaints during my first 5000 miles. Lincoln provides your initial service visits for free (2 years/24K miles). My mileage is very consistently 20 mpg in town and 25 mpg on the highway (my driving style is middle of the road). I was initially disappointed that they didn't offer a 6 cylinder, but I have found the 2.3 L turbo to be very responsive and powerful; certainly in the same wheelhouse with many of the 6 cylinders I drove. I love the Sync 3 system; it's very easy to use and completely intuitive. I also enjoy the modem in my car (comes with the Reserve package); it allows me to start my car remotely from any distance. I can even set up an automatic start every day at a given time. The car has a very upscale feel to it. Very solid all the way through. It has noise-canceling technology inside that makes it more quiet. The push-button shifter is a little weird, but you quickly get used to it and it does allow more space in the console. I really like the backup camera and side sensors that warn me if there is something in my blind spot. Now...for the negatives: My number one complaint is that I don't like the cruise control. I'm assuming that this is a standard Ford product, but I've always been a Toyota guy and love their cruise control because it can be set easily with a flick of your middle finger without looking away from the road. This Ford cruise control is awkward and always requires me to look down to use it. Also, the wiper controls are upside down compared to Toyota. And sometimes when you drive with windows or sunroof open, you can get a lot of unpleasant wind pressure and vibration inside. The back seat is tight for bigger people, but this is partly due to styling (sloped roof). The process for closing the hood is (unnecessarily) tricky; I had to practice it several times to get it to work. Also, had a couple of minor quality issues: Some passengers claim they hear air whistling by the window on the highway (I'm deaf to higher pitch noise, and don't hear it). The glove compartment is coated with a fuzzy material that sheds and sticks to the owner's manual. The leather and wood on the inside is great, but some of the chrome buttons/dials seem a little cheap. I like having body side moldings to prevent door dings, but Lincoln doesn't offer it (as Toyota does). However, I did find an aftermarket product that looks great and works well. Lastly, I am proud to be driving a vehicle that is made right here in the USA! NOTE: The review's drop-down box did not offer me the option of 2.3 liter turbo, but that is my engine size. UPDATE: I’m now at 16k miles and two years. Overall, I’m happy with the vehicle. However, I’ve had a couple issues with the interior: First, there is a rattle in the speaker cover on the dash that the dealer can’t seem to fix. Secondly, my drivers seat heater/cooler doesn’t work in spite of dealer changing it out. Also, have started to realize that back seat is really cramped, partly due to panoramic moonroof. You have to be pretty small to fit back there. Lastly, my front air vent came apart but was fixed under warranty. Mechanically, it has been excellent. I do wish the vehicle had a bigger gas tank, especially on long trips. UPDATE: I’m now at 30k miles and 3 years. It still runs and drives very well. But the rattle/vibration in the driver side speaker cover on top of the dash is worse than ever and still not fixed in spite of multiple visits to Ames Ford. I’m going to try a different dealership. If they can’t fix it, then this will be my first and last Ford product. It’s a shame because overall the car looks beautiful and drives so well. Love the acceleration. But I can’t handle the rattling much longer. If it isn’t fixed by the time my warranty is done, then I’m going back to Lexus. Update: Deery Lincoln in Iowa City finally fixed my rattle. Now I love my vehicle more than ever. I’m even thinking about ordering a new one!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Wife's new MKC Select

Mica, 08/27/2016
Select 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
16 of 19 people found this review helpful

We considered many vehicles before buying the MKC. This is a very nice car for the money. I was looking for a dampening of road noise. Wife was looking for comfortable front seat, ease of access to features, and a fun drive. She got her wants. This car is very noisy for my likes! We owned 6 Lincolns in the past and quit the brand when Ford forgot to build luxury in. Thought we'd try again. We found great, knowledgeable, salespeople but, if I have a complaint, it is that their dealership does not reflect the "high end" ownership experience of a Mercedes or even an Audi dealership. Found this to be true at other Lincoln dealers we also visited, so must assume that it it the marque that does not recognize the value of a "high end" experience when you are trying represent your vehicle as an alternative to Mercedes, BMW, etc. UPDATE: one year and 6000 miles on - this vehicle is very noisy on the road for an expensive luxury car! My F 150 has less road noise. Dealer looked at it - said it was in specs. Had a local car upholstery shop add more insulation to doors and floor - BIG help. So why can THEY do it and Lincoln cannot? UPDATE 2: two years on 9500 miles - vehicle still too noisy for me - wife says it's OK (and it IS her car!) The fix by the local upholstery shop helped (You'd think Lincoln would have done this in the first place!). Gas mileage in town not so great for a 4 cyl., but it does jump when the turbo kicks in. UPDATE 3: three years on 15000 miles - vehicle still too noisy for me (my F 150 has less road noise) - Wife says it's OK (and it IS her car!) The fix by the local upholstery shop was a big help tho. Again- gas mileage in town not so great for a 4 cyl., but it does jump when the turbo kicks in. Overall combined mpg unimpressive. UPDATE 4: three years 7 months - with 22000 miles. Car seems to get noisier with age! Had some computer issues so dealer gave us a new 2020 Corsair as a loaner. Same car as ours with a few updates. Nice BUT nearly as noisy. Wife and daughter took a 1000 mile trip in our MKC just recently and NOW they are convinced that it IS too noisy. Will be shopping for a new car soon, but alas, NOT another Lincoln!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Amazing in a snowstorm

Jules, 01/09/2017
Premiere 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Got this by chance when snowstorm Helena hit the East Coast in January 2016 as a car rental. Put over 400 miles on it in four days. Drove from Raleigh to Lynchburg in very tricky weather with ice and heavy snow. This car was an amazing ride. My husband drove and is a trucker and knows how to drive in the weather, but this car handled well and had great grip in the road.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Great MKC

Leticia Montelongo, 08/27/2017
Premiere 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

It's a great SUV to have. It's not to big or to small. It's very comfortable and smooth riding. I love it! I'm very happy with it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Brand New 2016 Lincoln MKC

SallyK, 07/28/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Coming from an Audi A4 and I feel like I sacrificed nothing in terms of luxury. Actually more comfort features on this than the Audi and more intuitive controls. Very comfortable interior, nice fit and finish, quiet. Cannot rate the performance aspects because I don't drive spiritedly, but for long trips and around town, I'm very satisfied. Lease cost was $150 less per mo than getting into another A4.

Performance
Report Abuse

Great Value as a CPO purchase but having problems

Bob, 02/16/2019
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

For a used certified car it is a great value. I got the 2.3L which gives a little more punch. Gas milage is around 22 typical. Highway is 26-27. The Sync 3 system is great and the software can be updated to support Apple Carplay. The THX system is a disappointing. The bass is muddy and the sound settings cannot be accessed directly from the audio screen. You have to go back to settings main screen. Ride comfort is great and quiet. The ambient night time lighting are great. I have the a couple of problems. A dash rattle in cold weather, key phob problem opening the door, and rust has started in the door jams. Lincoln is taking care of the issues. Overall like the car over the Honda CRV and BMW X5. Great value if bought as a CPO. Update at 15 months- Known problem with lug nuts not warranted by Lincoln. They used cheap metal and the lug nuts swell so the lug wrench does not fit or does any socket. I had to replace them myself by hammering a socket on the lug to remove it. The cruise control has failed and is going into the shop next week. This is the first America car I have purchased in over 20 years and disappointed with the reliability. I will be going back to Toyota if they fix their ugly grills otherwise it will be a Honda.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Better than a bmw or benz.

Brian, 03/14/2016
Black Label 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
15 of 23 people found this review helpful

2016 lincoln mkc reserve 2.3 awd. The car is great. My sticker price was $47,446. I got some rebates and 1.9 financing. I could have bought a bmw, benz or audio for this price with less options. Bmw has no touch screens. Just a stupid knob. The car gets 5mpg better than what it says, after break in. I own a business and have a fleet of 16 vehicles and I have driven all of them. The fords hold up much better than other brands. I drive this car myself. 3 weeks old and 6,234 miles already. I even have used it a few times to drive passengers around for uber!! Great ride, no road noise. Seat is so compy it's crazy good. Buy the car! No complaints at all! And I'm very picky.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

MKC is a keeper

Ann, 03/06/2019
Select 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Let me start by saying that I'm the type of person who owns her vehicles for a long time. I'm in my mid 30's, and have found the MKC very attractive from the moment I noticed them. I knew it was time for a replacement and I needed a small SUV. I began test driving SUVs about 4 months ago; from A to the Z. Cadillac SRx, Hyundai, Honda, Toyota, Nissan, Infinity... but at the end of the day, there was something missing. I wasn't satisfied with the comfort, acceleration, or overall look of the vehicle. I was really running out of hope, when I decided to try the Lincoln MKC. The moment I sat on it and drove it off the lot for my first test drive, I was convinced this was the one. Not only it drove like I was on cloud 9, but the acceleration, features, gas mileage, comfort, and design were all combined in 1. It does not feel like I'm driving a 4 cylinder car; It feels like a regular V6. What an amazing feeling, to finally find everything you need in one vehicle. I couldn't be any happier with my purchase. My only complaint is the lack of leg room for the second row seat. Besides that, the vehicle is perfect in my opinion. I was even having a conversation with my fiancee discussing how my next vehicle will be another Lincoln.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

This SUV packs a punch for the buck

Tim G, 11/27/2018
Select 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I leased a 2016 Select AWD 2.0, and put on 36,000 miles without a single issue or need for repair. Just changed oil and rotated tires per service, about $70 each time and under 1 hour. My only gripes are- the front seats dont adjust as much I prefer, I am 5'10 and 190lbs, so average. The telescoping wheel also could use another inch down, and outward. The gas mileage average was 24MPG, and I drive pretty spirited and in Sport Mode often. Thats it. I liked it so much, that I just leased a 2019, as Lincoln will make your last 3 payments if you trade to new lease. So I leased a Select Plus (Cross Blind Spot/Navigation) for a bit more than the 2016, but residuals on the lease have changed a lot, and there are not as many incentives on leases for this modem like 2016. I looked at a Audi Q5, Benz GLC, BMW X3. The best of that bunch IMO was the Audi Q5, but with options/leases, they are 40% more to lease. I also dont like the cost of repairs should I have a issue not under warranty, German cars are $$$ to fix. Had a BMW and a Benz in last 10 years.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The Health Of Sir Collinn

Jereac65, 04/30/2018
Premiere 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 7 people found this review helpful

I have only driven the vehicle 7994 Miles in mostly clear weather. I can not honestly make a sound evaluation of the vehicle in that it is too soon to do so. What I can say is that the passenger cabin is well appointed but tight. The power conversion pod in the back seat area keeps popping out and had to be replaced. I noticed an oil leak from underneath the engine compartment at about six thousand miles. I discovered, after taking the vehicle to the dealership, that the leak was caused by a loose oil filter. At nearly 13K miles, Sir Collinn has preformed well. No repairs done other than the power outlet in the rear seat area and a punctured right front tire. The acceleration is great for a four cylinder. The noise level over bumps can be annoying. The THX stereo is equal to or greater than the Bose system I had in my previous vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Class

Stan Salagaj, 08/03/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 7 people found this review helpful

A small luxury suv that is a class act.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Comfort and a fair price

A F, 01/13/2018
Select 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Lincoln MKC provides a quiet comfortable ride for daily drivers. I drive one hour each way to work daily and wanted a vehicle that provided good gas mileage, comfort, and most technology goodies. The MKC meet all of these needs. I would have liked it to have held its value a bit better, but I was happy in this vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Great Compact SUV

KIM, 10/09/2018
Premiere 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased this after driving a Cadillac SRX for 5 years and this vehicle is much more fun to drive. It has more pep than the SRX and is much quicker to say the least. It is more comfortable inside although it is a little smaller. It was a great purchase. I have always driven Cadillacs, but I am sold on Lincolns into the future.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

MKC (Awesome If You Want A Classy Small SUV

Robb, 11/18/2018
Premiere 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

A little small for backseat leg room and if you need to put golf clubs behind second row in cargo area. Otherwise, even the lowest end model of 3 choices: Premiere, Select and Reserve is awesome. I’m trading in my Lincoln MKC in 4 months for a 2018 Lincoln MKX or 2019 Nautilus which is taking the place of the MKX (for branding I think). The light up Lincoln puddle light as you approach the car is slick too as is the display panel and sound system with Bluetooth and 3-4 USB ports. Mine’s grey with black interior. Will likely get a black one with black interior tan. Great dealership in Atlanta too.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love this ride!!

Dean Carlson, 11/01/2017
Select 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great vehicle. Would buy another one! Very good and quite ride!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Tad

Dan Stone, 11/07/2016
Reserve 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

great car

Performance
Report Abuse

Great SUV

KingK, 01/28/2017
Select 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great SUV for my wife. Better than my Explorer and Escape.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my MKC

Gary's MKC, 01/11/2020
Select 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this as a Lincoln Certified used car. It still had 7 months remaining in the factory warranty before the certified warranty kicks in. The car is fun to drive as it handles more like a car than an SUV. I love the design, both inside and out. I've taken several long trips and it's very comfortable and not tiring at all after being on the road for many hours. Plus, my highway fuel mileage (30 - 32) has been better than the EPA estimates. City fuel mileage has been spot on with EPA as I've been getting 19 -21. Overall, I love the features and the comfort. Very quiet car too.

Report Abuse

I Love my car

Vikki from Enola, 03/04/2020
Reserve 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my 2016 MKC Reserve that I bought used last March. It is just the right size to fit in my garage and to drive. It has all the amenities I want. I love the rear hands-free lift gate, the leather interior, auto off & on high beams, the heated steering wheel and sitting up higher in the SUV as opposed to sitting lower in a sedan, the rear camera and the welcome/security lights when approaching my vehicle. I feel good knowing I have the all wheel drive incase of a heavy snow. The only option I don't use is the cooled seats. I use the heated seats but not the cooled seats. The gas mileage is OK. In the summer I was getting 25 MPG but in the winter I am getting 23.7. Must be all the additives they add in the winter that lowers my MPG. Again I am very happy with my 2016 MKC. There are other options included in this vehicle which I appreciate and too numerous to mention. I just mentioned the ones I LOVE!!!!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050