2019 Lexus UX 250h SUV Consumer Reviews

MSRP Starting at
$34,150

Save as much as $7,017
Select your model:

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Want a Car or SUV? Lexus UX lets you have both.

Chris, 05/18/2019
Luxury 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
33 of 33 people found this review helpful

I first drive the regular UX as a loaner vehicle when I was getting service. I did not like the drive at all. Felt like a lower end vehicle's powertrain. Nothing about it said luxury. When I heard they had the hybrid model coming with AWD, I had to give it a test. I've always owned sedans or sports coupes. Didn't consider SUV's because I love the driving dynamics of well built cars and worried I'd lose that with an SUV. This UX hybrid crossover fits the bill nice. Great handling, quiet, and comfortable. Very smart of Lexus to make the hybrid model AWD standard with that electric motor boost. You REALLY feel the difference. That low end torque makes the car a fun drive. I had an IS 200t before. Though it was a "faster" car the turbo lag was always a pain. With the UX hybrid, you lose speed but have the instant power. The fuel economy is the cherry on top!! It comes loaded with tons of safety tech adding to the comfort of the car. The backseats are pretty tight and the cargo isn't huge (although way better than the IS). The front columns are pretty big so you do get some wind noise there going above 65 mph. Overall its fun, practical, beautiful, comfortable. Nice job on this one Lexus.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Hybrid luxury compact SUV Unicorn

Serena Sacks, 01/31/2019
4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
41 of 43 people found this review helpful

There are not many luxury hybrid compact SUVs out there - you can find compact SUVs, hybrid cars, luxury cars, etc, but difficult to find the best of all 3. The Lexus UX is the unicorn if you like a small, fuel-efficient car that holds the road (17.1 turning radius), and is very comfortable and sleek. The technology for safety and convenience is a WOW, especially the iPhone app that allow for remote control of locks, engine, guest drivers, etc. Lexus customer service is second to none and that's a real selling point too. Cost is highly competitive when compared to Range Rover, Mercedes-Benz, etc.. Draw backs are smaller cargo size and back seat leg room.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

So far so good

Woody, 06/03/2019
4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
29 of 31 people found this review helpful

I bought my UX hybrid about a month ago. It was the least expensive vehicle I could find that had every essential feature I wanted: hybrid, AWD, rear cross traffic alert, blind spot monitor, and individual tire pressure display. It has tons more features and can even drive itself, at least for a minute or so until it begins to get concerned and alerts you. An unexpectedly great feature is that it will show you the last speed sign it saw, although it doesn’t read the “small print” such as school hours for reduced speeds. One of the reviewers here said old folks shouldn’t buy this car because of all the advanced tech features, but I’m an old person and feel just the opposite! Give me all the tech features possible! My sales person and the dealer’s tech expert were very patient in explaining all the features and I still call them on occasion. I’m getting about 42 mpg. My wife and I took it on a 1,000+ mile journey recently and it was more comfortable as a touring car than her 2014 Lexus 300 hybrid! The only thing that has disappointed me is the range - it’s maybe 450 miles. That’s not too bad since that’s further than I would want to drive without a “pit stop” anyway. Looked very hard at alternatives and almost bought the new RAV4 hybrid, but it was actually more expensive (the dealer had installed a GPS locator for about $1700; my UX hybrid has a locator system that I presume was factory installed) and only informed you when tire pressure was low, not the actual pressure. Sorry, but I’m done with that. Fast forward 8-9 months: love car! I would definitely buy it again. Best features: safety features, long distance comfort, Lexus service. Worst: noisy inside (is it the run flat tires? Lack of sound insulation?), track pad controlling display can be a bit difficult, lack of range.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse
Ad
Build Your UX 250h

Love my 2019 Lexus UX 250h

Ladytestarossa, 08/08/2019
F SPORT 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I've owned my 2019 Lexus UX 250h F sport for 4 months now and love it. It feels like I'm driving a sports car, not an SUV. It hugs tightly to the road and handles great. The complaints about the small interior are valid but I knew that when I bought it knowing that most of the time I'm the only one in the vehicle. The reason I'm only giving 4 stars is the gas mileage. All the other reviews I've read people say they are getting around 40 MPG in the city. I'm lucky to get 32 even when I'm being extra conscious of my driving habits. I live in Colorado and there are very few level streets. I'm going up and down all the time so I don't know if that has anything to do with it. Overall I'm very happy with my purchase. I feel as though I got a good value when comparing features and cost to other luxury brands in this class.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Luxury on a budget

twcarenthusiast, 08/30/2019
4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I am a car enthusiast and I am used to switching cars every 3 years (or less). I already know the negatives of this UX Hybrid before asking my wife to test drive it: tight backseat, shallow trunk, harder to use touchpad and no touch screen etc. Nonetheless I got a bit tired of seeing low MPG of my previous midsize SUV (i.e. Kia Sorento with average 17-20 MPG for mostly city driving), I could not resist trying out this small subcompact hybrid. Here are what I like about the car other than the 38-39 MPG after 3 months of use: 1) fake leather looks real (the "Nuluxe", I do not think my wife knows and I do not plan to tell her unless she asks lol), 2) the car feels fast from a stop (from research I was told it is because the car has a real first gear unlike other conventional CVT transmission), the whiny sound is kept to a minimal when I press the "regenerative" brake with natural brake feel, 3) the presence of CD disk player, 4) the fact that it is a short car make it easy to park in New York City. In addition I am surprised by the amount of headroom at the rear seat (I am 5'11") so as long as the taller backseat passengers sit more upright it should compensate for the lack of leg room. Anyway a few additional comments for Lexus: 1) The UX250h Luxury trim was no where to be found in my area (therefore no memory seat and I do not want anything with "Sports" trim), 2) please do something about the touchpad, 3) very difficult or almost impossible to change the volume for navigation app through Apple Carplay, 4) can you make birds eye view/Top view camera more readily available even though I know it is a small car but the camera will help parking at parking lot (especially NYC parking lots) a much more pleasant experience, 5) I know this car's MPG is good, but can you please make the fuel tank a bit bigger please (10 gallon is just not good enough....)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Perfect balance for a crossover and fuel economy

Check58, 05/31/2019
F SPORT 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
28 of 32 people found this review helpful

I have had my UX 250H F Sport for 2 weeks and love it. I went for the 10 inch screen with built in Navigation and a Heads up Display. The acceleration is excellent and the gas mileage beats all other crossovers. The technology in the car is tin the top tier with radar speed control, blind spot warning, crash avoidance, and more. The infotainment takes some getting used to with the touch pad, This was an upgrade from my Lexus 2011 CT 200H. 2 items with the car that annoy me. #1 the glove box is divided in such a way that it holds very little. I have a long checkbook and it will not fit in there. #2 the privacy shade is a cheap item that should have been designed like the horizontal shade retracts.into a holder on the CT 200. This is not what I expect on this level vehicle. It is the smallest of the Lexus line 9/10 of an NX, the bigger cousin of the now discontinued CT200. In this class is the BMW X1, Volvo XC40, and Mercedes GLC300. I believe the Lexus provides the highest value for features that add significantly to the prices of the other vehicles in the same class

Report Abuse

UX 250h F-Sport

Waltcurt, 05/23/2019
F SPORT 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
15 of 17 people found this review helpful

I bought a UX in March, I opted for the F-Sport package and couldn’t disagree more with Edmunds note that it ruins the ride. It’s comfortable, and with the f-sport tuning has a noticeable change in acceleration. The f sport package not only looks gorgeous but is also far more fun to drive. Zero complaints after 3 months of driving.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Perfect for the active senior

Lynn Price, 07/28/2019
4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

This is my second hybrid. Love them. Less maintenance, fewer oil changes, and longer lasting brakes in addition to the great mileage. The UX is perfect for active seniors that want a versatile smaller car that is safe, easy to handle in tight parking lots, and comfortable to drive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My happiness with this car snuck up on me

Russelw, 06/21/2019
4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

I leased this car as a replacement for a CT 200 (also leased). This car has grown on me to the point where I can say I love it, and look forward to every drive. First, the ride and handling are excellent. Really smooth, quiet, but responsive on the road. Fit & finish is excellent, and feels much more like a luxury vehicle than the CT. The car seems large coming from the CT 200 but easily fits into a compact space. Apple CarPlay is great, as are all the electronics. Cargo area is small but I just finished hauling a lot of stuff with the back seats down so this car works for transporting things that would not fit in the trunk of a sedan. The styling is a little polarizing and reminds me of that Seinfeld episode where Jerry had a girlfriend that looked very attractive under some lighting and not so attractive under other lighting. However, I have people coming up to me in parking lots loving the styling and asking what kind of this is. I get a new car every 3 years and this is one opf the best cars I have driven in many years and very happy with Lexus.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Great Mileage!

Davidmoore2328, 08/17/2019
Luxury 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Comfortable, stone quiet. This little baby (brand new) is returning WAY IMPRESSIVE mileage. I've long since learned to peg my highway cruise to 57-58 mph, and am getting 49-to over 50 mpg. Wish I could attache the pictures to show...

Safety
Technology
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

I'm Happy with this little Luxury Gal !!!

BJ Watson, 12/30/2019
Luxury 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

After driving 10 cars in the last 8 years I finally settled on this little beauty. I did a lot of research before I purchased it. I got everything I wanted 4 wheel drive, Run Flat, Sunroof, Great sound system, Hybrid was a must since I have owned 4 Priuses. All my big Speakers fit (since I am a bass player and need to bring amps to my gigs). I have owned 4 Lexus cars so I am hoping this one will be as reliable as the others ,, I plan to drive this little gal for a while, Yes I am settling down to a one car dude ~

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Technology at its best but be prepared

J. Garcia, 02/19/2019
4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
17 of 36 people found this review helpful

The level of technology and sophistication is such that if you are a senior citizen you should avoid this car although it would appear to be the safest car of all. Very difficult to figure out all the gadgets.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The best hybrid

Ruslan K, 10/12/2019
4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

But smaller than SUV

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Our 1st Lexus

Susan Barnes, 11/15/2019
4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Our first Lexus and we went with the hybrid. It’s comfortable, peppy, high tech and stunningly beautiful. We’ll never go back.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice but small

Sjbrown, 12/28/2019
Luxury 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

cargo space is very small and high off ground ... rides nice ... but NOT an SUV

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050