Used 2012 Jeep Patriot Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$5,000 - $11,000

Used Patriot for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2012 Patriot Limited - Better than expected!

drnhl, 04/12/2012
Limited 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
29 of 29 people found this review helpful

Had to replace my totaled Suzuki Equator and the hunt was on. Looked at almost every MFG's smaller SUV and kept coming back to the Jeep. The re-programmed VCT matched up with the 2.4 seems to be a great revision/fit. Always had 6 or 8 cyln engines so was a bit apprehensive but not yet. With only 1600 mi on the Patriot maybe I should wait but just love it. I have all the options with exception of "off-road" pkg. The creature comforts are very welcome, comfortable/ heated seats were key and the nav/sound sys is a plus too. So far no issues with power and feels comfortable to drive. Just remember its a Jeep and if you are a Jeep lover like me take a look at the affordable Patriot.

Report Abuse

LOVE IT!

5loaves2fish, 03/04/2012
Latitude 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

I was torn between the Jeep Patriot and getting another Caliber SXT (which I loved and ran faithfully without a minute of trouble for 64,000 miles). After rigorous shopping and research, I was able to get a loaded Jeep Patriot Latitude; 4 x 2; CVT; sunroof;Sirius radio for about $22,000. I spend a ton of time in my car, so the fact that it is comfortable is of utmost importance. Traction control is a great feature. Heated seats; smooth drive; 2.4 litre engine has nice pickup; manuevers well in parking structures and around town. Looks like a Jeep, but drives like a car. Being 5'1, I love that I sit up high. I think we're going to have a lot of good years together. I'll keep you posted!

Report Abuse

Great Vehicle, Excellent Value

txoutdoors, 12/08/2012
Sport 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

I got the Jeep Patriot Sport 2WD with the 2.0L engine. I opted for CVT over the standard 5 speed manual. And I'm in Texas so it had to have A/C. But I chose to go without power locks, power windows, heated mirrors, etc. I've had it for six months now and it's a pleasure to drive and comfortable to travel in. It handles highways well. I've done driving on two-tracks and rough dirt roads on government land and it handled them with ease. The controls are large making them easy to see and use. The windows give you a nice sight picture all the way around and the mirrors give a great view to the back whether going down the road or backing into a garage. Overall, I very happy with my Patriot.

Report Abuse

The little jeep that can!

fallguy83, 01/21/2015
Latitude 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
34 of 35 people found this review helpful

Purchased our 2012 Patriot in Feb. of 2014. My wife totaled my 2003 Tacoma 4x4 after hitting some black ice and losing control. Thank the Lord my wife was fine other than some bruises and a concussion. We decided we needed something better on gas and with a closed back end to haul things out of the weather. 4 wheel drive is a must since we live on a farm and do get snow in our part of Kentucky often enough. We've put nearly 20k on it in the year we've had it and love it. Has had no issues and like every owner says, don't listen to the magazine and professional reviews. This thing is a great vehicle and value for the money. After nearly four years of having the Patriot, it's still been an overall great vehicle. Have had to make a few repairs buts it's been mostly wear items, brakes, wheel bearings and one CV shaft. Normal maintenance costs are low. Did have a relay go out that I wasn't able to diagnose myself and had to have it towed in to the shop for repair. No other big issues besides that. Really happy with the cargo space and off road ability of the Patriot. No it's not a Wrangler off-road, but it's very capable for my needs. Awesome in snow, great in mud seeing I only run all season tires on it. Hope to put well over 200,000 miles on the little Jeep.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Better than a Cute 'Ute!

bondiblue, 04/04/2012
Latitude 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

I didn't do a whole lot of shopping around, but I did know I didn't want a compact crossover that looked just like every other "cute ute" in the sea of SUVs on the road. The Patriot broke that mold and immediately attracted me. The interior redesign in 2011 made a big difference, although it's still not up to par with competition. Rides and handles well. Only real complaint is the noisy engine. Other than that, I love this little Jeep.

Report Abuse

Surprisingly Jeep-like! But...incredibly comfortable.

wrightonman, 12/03/2012
Latitude 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

I reluctantly and sullenly bought the Patriot over a year ago. With a growing family, full sized dog & insane gas prices, I traded in my Wrangler with resent...the poor Patriot didn't have a chance. I hated it before I even set foot in the Jeep dealership-lol I was 100% wrong. I honestly cannot say anything bad about this vehicle. I really like it! I grew up with a CJ5 as our "family" car, I have no idea how my parents managed that!?! My favorite Jeep product I ever owned was a 1988 Cherokee & the sweet little Patriot comes darn close to that Cherokee in looks and solid feel. Performance is far better, off-roading...well, I'm older now & seldom hit the trails. Great little 4X4Xme.

Report Abuse

Best SUV Deal in the USA

lameduck9, 11/12/2012
Latitude 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I have 2k miles on my Patriot Sport 4WD CVT and I am very happy with it. Some reviews state that it lacks power. I have no problem with the acceleration but I am no jack rabbit starter. The CVT(tranny) takes a little getting use to but is fine after you do. It is a stick/auto so you can up/down shift it at will through 6 speeds. I get 26mpg highway w/o the A/C, 20 in the city. I don't go 4-wheeling but have gone over rough terrain at camp and it is fine for that. I'm sure it is going to good in the snow in the coming winters. I ended up paying $19.5k after discounts/incentives/bargining the MSRP was $22.5. I recommended this car.

Report Abuse

jeep, back in the game.

jeepers20, 05/06/2012
Latitude 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
19 of 21 people found this review helpful

2012 patriot, smooth ride, quiet engine, nice head room , nice cargo space.. a big difference in the jeep line..

Report Abuse

Good, inexpensive 4WD wagon

x_defector, 09/12/2012
Latitude 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

My Patriot is a 2.4 Latitude 4x4 but with a manual trans and not a CVT (something the Jeep site says shouldn't exist). There is lots to like here: the size is right, the price is low, the feature content is high for the price, the interior is roomy and comfortable, visibility is excellent, its quiet, the seats are great, the ride and handling balance is very good, and the 4WD system works well and has a locking center diff. I love the simplicity of the interior although the materials could be better, but they look long-wearing. Plenty of cargo room in reality. Looks far better than the soap-bar competetion and remains a true 4WD station wagon. For someone like me, a solid choice.

Report Abuse

true utility vehicle

ledwic, 08/25/2012
Limited 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

Jeep patriot sport 4cyl 2wd. Im in agricultural sales, so I dont drive all highway. I drive pastures, dirt road, highway and city. This Jeep is my office. Its my first Jeep to ever own. Its also my first small car to ever own. I had to buy this for work. I drive a 3/4 ton truck otherwise. The fuel mileage is great (27mpg on average). Bought new for a great price. Have put over 10000 miles on in less than 3 months. It drives great over all kinds of terrain (highway, city, dirt roads, and pasture). It performs like u would hope a Jeep would. For a small SUV it has plenty of room to haul many kinds of items. I am truly surprised to be happy with this car

Report Abuse

Great value, totally reliable

Gary Mosteller, 07/25/2016
Sport 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Vehicle was used as daily commuter as well as weekender for camping, fishing, car topper boating. It also serves as an RV Toad. Pound for pound it has been the most reliable, cheap to own, bang for the buck vehicles I've ever owned.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Like this Patriot

mbluefootball, 05/22/2012
Latitude 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I just got a Patriot Latitude at a dealership and am really happy with it. I love that I could get a Jeep for basically less than $20,000 with a ton of equipment. 4 wheel drive is awesome and it handles really well.

Report Abuse

Early transmission failure, buyer beware!!

Krishan, 06/06/2019
Latitude 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

I would not recommend the Jeep Patriot to anyone. I purchased the 2012 Patriot brand new and regularly got it serviced at my local Jeep dealership, making sure it received all the TLC it needed, never going the cheap route. Even after taking good care of the Patriot, my transmission failed at 82,000 miles...soon after I paid it off completely. 82,000 miles is way too early for a transmission to fail on any vehicle. I began doing research online and found out that it is very common to have early transmission failure in Jeeps that have the CVT transmission such as my Patriot does. I was just quoted at $6,000 for a refurbished transmission with labor by my Jeep dealership. I feel like Jeep should take care of these early transmission failure costs, especially if they occur before 100,000 miles but that’s wishful thinking. I will never purchase a Jeep again and will alway tell my friends and family to steer clear!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2012 Patriot 4x2 Latitude - Altitude Edition

bmckeeman, 01/13/2013
Latitude 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

I have been considering purchasing a Patriot since they first came out, and since then they have made tons of improvements! I test drove a 2010 did not like it enough to make the commitment. My last vehicle was an 03 Corolla, so it was quite a change for me. I wanted a car with lots of cargo space and decent mileage, so I looked at some smaller cars like the Fit, Impreza, and XV Crosstrek. I found the Patriot to be the best combo of style, utility, mileage for my tastes. I have wanted a Jeep ever since I was a kid, and the Patriot delivers! I finally chose a White Altitude Edition, which is an amazing color combo! LOVE my Pat!

Report Abuse

Comfy but no AC

Dino, 03/29/2017
Sport 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

pros: Good speed when passing and has a good look, The vehicle gives you pride, and seems to hold more than the average. For an SUV that's important... Cons: Slow from the start to accelerate, so if you need speed in a hurry you won't have it, not in a 2.4. Also, this vehicle is not equipped with A/C turns out NONE of the basic patriots are, it's a dealer option! So if you add it,. expect $4000 or more. The maintenance costs outdo a Camaro, $1500 for brakes, struts and shocks.. another $700 for tires! You can goto tire rack and get the cheaper ones if so desired at $70.00 a tire, the Chevy Camaro outdoes this by $60.00 a tire. If I had to buy it all over again, I never would without the A/C. This vehicle has a USB port, but inside the glove box and at an odd angle...! If you drive with just the front windows down you get an annoying "helicopter" sound that is relieved when you crack the back windows a hair. Overall this was poorly designed, for what otherwise would seem to be a great economical vehicle. I get 1-24 MPG regularly and this is my work vehicle so it has adequate room for all of your essentials plus 5 passengers.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great SUV for the PRICE

dan_k1, 11/08/2011
Latitude 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
129 of 225 people found this review helpful

It's only been a week since my purchase but I'm loving it all the way. Looked into Nissan Rogue, Kia, Suzuki but after test driving Patriot - I made up my mind right then.

Report Abuse

CVT transmission probleo

Nursemom, 08/02/2020
Sport 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The CVT transmission in earlier Patriots are awful! Transmission overheating and losing power. Complete transmission failure at 76000 miles.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Never again

Neelie Remmit, 02/12/2019
Latitude 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I needed a vehicle ASAP and listened to the salesman spiel. Didnt have time to really research. Had always wanted a Jeep so I thought why not. At first everything was fine but fuel economy soon became even worse, avg 23/gal. Had to fill up every 5 days and my commute is NOT long. Interior is cheap (it literally started to fall apart like a zombie) on the inside little by little. Rear seats even when reclined are uncomfortable for both my six foot teenage son And my 11 year old daughter. Absolutely 0 leg room in the rear. Uconnect is a pain (slow and tedious to use). Trying to change my own blown light bulbs is a mess since I literally have to remove panels to change them. So much for trying to save on maintenance. Only positive thing was it was so small I could park it in some pretty cramped places. Trying to get up to speed to merge on a freeway, good luck I was stomping on the pedal. I guess the saying is true. The only good Jeep to buy is a wrangler.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My experience with Jeep

Simone Benac, 12/22/2017
Sport 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 8 people found this review helpful

The front drivers side seat only goes front to back. There is no seat height adjustment. The center console is too far back making it hard to access. My wipers go on when I use them to signal a turn and the dealership said they don’t know how to fix it. They couldn’t duplicate the problem!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Jeep Patriot

MB, 06/18/2020
Latitude 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I really enjoyed my Jeep Patriot. Purchased new in 2012; other than basic wear replacements (brakes, struts, etc) I never had issues with my vehicle. Had for over 100k miles before I needed to replace the battery, so definitely got my money’s worth. Great for bad weather, especially with ability of switching to 4x4. Great on gas mileage as well. Speeding up while getting on highway was slower, as it’s a CVT, but I never had any problems. A vehicle lasts only as long as you take care of it; it’s capable of doing light off roaring, like going to a campsite, but not what a Wrangler can do.

Report Abuse

Be aware of transmission repair

Mike Brake, 01/16/2021
Limited 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Have owned since purchase in 2012. Followed all guidelines according to manual and transmission failed 7.5 years later. Will cost more (3500 +)to fix than vehicle is even worth which is ridiculous . Will stay away from All Jeep purchases in the future And continue to inform friends why I have a vehicle that sits stagnant and will be sending to scrap yard

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ruby Red Beauty!!

Vicki, 03/31/2021
Limited 4dr SUV 4WD (2.4L 4cyl CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Patriot is a nice Jeep... Has good get up and go for a SUV... It was so much FUN Off-roading!! Has a decent amount of Cargo Space, but is a little small for us at least!! It only had 60,000 miles on it when I bought it back in June 2020!! It does have a comfortable ride on pavement or Off-roading!! It's a great little Jeep, Looked like NEW!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050