Used 2003 Hyundai XG350 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,521 - $3,529

Used XG350 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

A BMW in Sheeps Clothing

Mark, 04/26/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

The XG is by far the best car I have ever owned and at 168,000 miles she is still running like a top. The cost of ownership of this BMW in sheeps clothing has been minimal to say the lest. I keep up with the regular mainteance and expect to get at lest 200,000 miles out of this car. Driver comfort is awsome, I'm 6'6" tall and have no problem fitting behind the wheel. Even with the driver seat all the way back, the rear passenger has plenty of leg room. This car has paid for itself in the past seven years I have owned it. Hyundi, Kam'sa'hap'nida for your dedication to imroving your product by listening to what your customers have to say. Something the American car manufactures should do.

Report Abuse

Transmission and Steering Problems

Mr. Pitt, 02/18/2003
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

For owners or prospective purchasers of an XG350 be aware that Hyundai is hiding some information. The erratic automatic transmission may be caused by an "accelerator position senson" which I just had replaced. If you are having problems with wheel alignment or tire wear as I have be advised that they have had to install adjustable rear ball joints on some of these cars because they wheels cannot be properly aligned or won't hold an alignment. I speak with personal knowledge and my source of information is highly placed.

Report Abuse

love my XG

lee24017, 07/15/2013
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I owned as Pontiac G6 and was not happy with the payments, so I took it back. Bought this out of the classifieds in the local paper and I am very very happy with it. For a small price, with some minor repairs from me, I love the smooth way it drives. Everyone says they though I was driving a Jaguar when they see me pull up. Very classy car and the ride is great. I do not race the car, I do however take it on the highway and it has not had any problems keeping up with the big dogs. I highly recommend this car, be sure to do regular maintenance.

Report Abuse

Champagne taste on a beer budget

a driver, 05/16/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Being a 'car nut' I could nit pick the car to pieces, but I'd be comparing it to much more expensive automobiles. The only downside is the fuel mileage; if you drive it easy and use the cruise @ 72mph or less, it good to great. "Race car" it and you'll be hard pressed to more than 350 mi/tankful. Now the good stuff: great acceleration, very comfortable, all the features you'd want plus; except, NAV and Onstar. Excellent handling. Sound system rivals some of the best factory systems out there, PERIOD! Best thing is the car looks like a $375,000 Maybach 57 and nobody knows what you're driving; they just know they like it and you look like a genius for all the money you saved.

Report Abuse

2nd XG

KD, 06/14/2010
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Had an '01 XG300 that I bought new. This is an improved model, however Gas mileage goes to "pot" over 72 "ish" mph. Other than that it is a sound commuter with luxuries found in much more expensive price tags. Reliable auto that I hope goes the 148K the last one did!

Report Abuse

My best car ever!

My best car ever, 12/03/2007
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car because it was easy for my aging mother to get in and out of. But it has captured my heart. I can't imagine not having it.

Report Abuse

Still Great After 7 Years

EdB, 01/10/2010
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

After 7 years with the car that was bought new, there is only ONE area of dissatisfaction. The interior overhead lamps (right and left), over the dash are extremely dim. Many trips to the dealer yielded no fix. They said that there is nothing that can be done. It has been this way since new. Next year, an Equus might be in my future.

Report Abuse

so much for so little

damaine1, 01/02/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have only had my XG for 1 month, I brought it used and it had 34,000 miles on it. The car looks great, drives great and has all the little things that most cars for it's price don't have. I love the wood trim and leather interior, it looks and feels great. I love the chrome accents on the exterior of the vehicle. It's a very comfortable and enjoyable ride a slow and highway speeds. Just enough power to satisfy my hunger for speed :-). So far it's an all around great car.

Report Abuse

Why pay more?

Bill Talbot, 01/20/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

All of the luxury features are in this car that other brands charge $15,000 more for, plus it has the best warranty in the business. Smooth, quiet, plenty of power, & otherwise just plain sweet.

Report Abuse

Good Car for the Price Paid

koul, 10/29/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Pros: Good styling and lots of extras, more like a full size lxury features. Very good ride and comfy. Cons: Paint Quality, rolls on curves, touchy accelerator, gas mileage

Report Abuse

so so

henny, 02/08/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

hard seats front and back....power adequate....wind and road noise...great warranty (if they stand behind it).....but suggest paying a bit more for a more refined car.

Report Abuse

Yawn

rogerd, 02/09/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Ho hum. Technically meets the family car needs but falls short in most every area. No real bright spot. But it's a good beginning for something to build upon. Reliability and resale will be fair at best.

Report Abuse

Hyundai xg350l

ft, 04/18/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Excellent value for the amount of car which you receive. Drives and handles very smooth and tight. Many features found on more expensive models.

Report Abuse

Discouraged in NJ

Discouraged in NJ, 08/20/2007
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Having many troubles with the Check Engine light. Local dealer tried 2 times telling me the gas cap was not clicked closed 3 turns. On 3rd visit they found problem with a sensor. Said they fixed. Problem continues today, one year later. Just Failed NJ state inspection for Emissions. Love the look and comfort but Hate the hassels and under the hood problems.

Report Abuse

Maybe if I had've bought it new...

Sheila Benton, 06/14/2019
L 4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

And from a reputable dealer but I got totally ripped of finance wise. If I had've paid book value for the car I would have given it higher ratings but when all is said and done, I will be paying $12998 for a 2003 vehicle that will hopefully still be running with over two hundred thousand miles on it! First, everything works except for there being a short in the instrument panel and the inside release for the trunk is inoperable. Sunroof is great and the stock stereo is amazing. I have after driving it a week noticed a misfire and a shudder in the transmission but looked up the TSB's and have convinced the dealership to do those repair. Just an EGR valve replacement and the shudder is due to the transverse transmission or could be a broken mount. All in all the car I purchased is in rough shape but amazingly it seems like a pretty reliable vehicle thus far. I just wish the dealership hadn't robbed me blind on the purchase. It would've been well worth $2500-$3000... Not $7999 plus 28.9% interest. That's what I get for not keeping a good credit score and being on a fixed income... A lack of options!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

For the Money? WOW!

John Pichman, 01/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned other luxury sedans such as the Seville and es300. The Seville was my favorite, but could not afford to continue to take the hit on depreciation. How ever I find the xg350 to be close enough to the es300 to justify the $12000.00 savings. If you drive alot of miles annually and want to change cars every three years with out accumulating the national debt, this the car!

Report Abuse

Hyundai came a long way

Victor Myong, 01/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've been driving this car for about a year now. Prior to this, I've owned Acura Legend for 7 years, so I may represent a hard critic. Hyundai came a long way, but it still has a way to go to get to the level of Acura and Lexus. However, considering the fact that this car costs $15K less than the Legend, I have to say this car deserves a good score. I wouldn't say it's fun to drive, then again, most sedans are not. Nevertheless, you get treated with nice & quite interior, comfortable drive, and plenty of power. For dollar for dollar, I would say this was a good buy for me.

Report Abuse

Nice car

Chazz, 01/27/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Nice look inside and out with quality finish. Has good safety features. Long list of standard features. Good performance.

Report Abuse

The XG360 is a good deal

jeremy satterfield, 02/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i got my xg only a few months ago i have been impressed with it. I thought that it wasnt going to be a good car but i was wrong it has performance if you put it in manumatic mode which is not even a option on its comp. which it comes standard on the xg it can get to 60 in about 7.5 in manumatic mode and can do the quorter mile in 17.5 which that isnt to shaby for a mid size car especially by hyundai. if a car comes standard with 6 way power driver seats,4 way passenger,leather,manumatic,10 year 100k mile warranty,digital ac/heater,rear vents, cd and cassette,

Report Abuse

XG350L--Excellent Choice!

jimbo33, 02/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

What a great value! So many comments about the luxury look!

Report Abuse

So quiet

je, 02/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I never thought Hyundai could make Luxurious car!!

Report Abuse

Overall, quite pleased.

koalab52, 06/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Toyota is supposed to make a reliable car. After 2 duds in 14 years, my husband and i decided to take a chance on the Hyundai XG350. After 7 months we are, overall, quite pleased. Ride is smooth, luxurious, engine is quiet, AC is cold, attention to details excellent and interior very comfortable. My retired parents liked ride & comfort more than their high end Acura. I wish the car did better on gas mileage, but i do like the quick, strong power of the engine. If i had to do it all over again, I'd steer clear of the more expensive Toyotas, and head right back to the great value of the Hyundai!

Report Abuse

Good value$

Elman, 07/13/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Haven't noticed a body roll of automatic shifting problem since we just "commute". Bit of bobbing at speed. Overall a fun car to drive with lots of features for the price.

Report Abuse

Good value

elman, 07/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Easy to park for wife. Good ride/power/looks/value for the $. Has a few idiosyncrasies. Like needing the parking brake on for the power seat go to Exit position(pretty stupid - is Korea real hilly?). Good auto climate control AC. Should get about 3-5 more miles per gallon. Good radio. Remote opener should work w/1 click for drivers door open - 2 for passengers (think personal safety).

Report Abuse

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ChanD, 07/28/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Well, I can't believe this car. I would NEVER have bought one if I didn't drive it myself(nor would I believe that this car is as good as a BMW, and it is better than the 3 series BMW by far).

Report Abuse

Very Satisfied

ThomS, 07/18/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I told my wife, "You can have a Lexus or a BMW or whatever...you decide." She stated matter of factly, "I want a Hyundai!" Now I know she likes to save money, but this was her present from me! She originally said a Sonata, which in itself is a heck of a nice looking car, but once I caught a glimpse of that brand new gold XG350L, I had to drive it. I have but one word to describe this car... SMOOTH. And what's this malarchy about the "shifting problems" I keep reading about? This tranny does no hunting... my wifes favorite victims to date? RX7's and Honda's

Report Abuse

Better than I ever anticipated.

Tania, 09/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was not sure about purchasing a Hyundai I thought it was a low end vehicle. I was pleasantly surprised and am very happy with the ride and style of the car. I have recommended to many other people about the value and the handling of my new car and tell other people to buy one instead of a high end over priced car.

Report Abuse

XG350L Eval.

coalcracker, 10/10/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have about 5,000 miles on the car and I have driven it locally in suburbia/interstate roads and a 1,600 mile trip. It has enough pickup when you need it.On the trip it was very comfortable riding. I enjoyed driving the car in all situations on the road. My wife absolutely loves the car in all respects.I have the car for only 6 months, but from the driving we have both done with the car, it gets good grades from us in most categories. I don't know anything about reliability. I would recommend to put this car on their list for evaluation.I feel that you get a lot of car for your money.

Report Abuse

Great Buy

HappyXGOwner, 10/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Top value for the money. Outclasses luxury cars costing thousands more. Terrific gas mileage.

Report Abuse

Wonderful Car

sealie, 11/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I haven't noticed any roll, the features, quality and price are the best deal on the market. The ride is super and smooth. Haven't noticed any searching for gears no touchy acceleration pedal. I think it shifts better than the Honda I also own. Beautiful auto all around.

Report Abuse

Terrific value for the money

denka, 01/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Saw it first at San Jose Auto Show 2001 and was dreaming of getting it since then. Very powerful engine. 5-speed automatic transmission with manual override. Roomy. Leather (heated front seats), CD-changer for $23500 (CA taxes included)? What's not to like about it? Also, it is much fun to drive. Also, reliability is very good. No problems so far (knocking on wood). Friend of mine had to take his BMW for minor repairs three times in the same period of time.

Report Abuse

Love It

BA, 02/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car exudes comfort with a very low cost. I enjoy it's power as well as the smooth shifting 5-speed auto trans. When you feel like a little action just switch to the manual shift mode. The interior is very comfortable and quite impressive. Those who are used to small sedans will feel like it's a Benz. It's not, but comparatively it is wonderful. I highly recommend this car for those who cant afford the $40000 competition.

Report Abuse

Happy Owner

dsd1994, 04/14/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my XG350L for 6 months now and am very pleased with it's comfort,features,quality,reliability,war ranty, and at a remarkably low price. My wife loves it too and is very impressed. What's not to like? It's as solid as a brick and I'm saving a ton of money compared to similarly equipped luxury cars! Why pay thousands more for an overrated name.

Report Abuse

hyundai xg350l

JIMC, 05/12/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very sound vehichle, good styling,good performance and handeling for every day driving. Very comfortable, quit ride.A long list of standard features normally not found on a vehicle of this price. The engine vibration could use some refinment, as well as the front suspension. Very pleased with the vehicle when considering value for the price.

Report Abuse

Y Spend More ?

mike h, 03/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

nice ride, great interior and features.atrractive appearance. no one recognizes it as a hyundai until i tell them. it's my 1st new car in 15 years, and i cant imagine going back to used vehicles. alot of bang for the buck with the XG350L. enjoy

Report Abuse

GREAT!

checkdog2003, 03/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

What a value! This car has great styling and comfort. The performance is surprising. I have had many comments from friends and neighbors about the quality of this vehicle.

Report Abuse

Better than you think

Taurus2, 03/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After a few PCM bugs where worked out I am more than pleased with the quality and performance of the XG. Before I purchased the XG I owned a 86 XJ6. I did not expect it to handle like the jag but it fine for normal uses. [City & highway] The vehicle is very quiet and gives me a feeling of luxury despite the inexpensive tag. Resale is some what disappointing but that has a lot to do with non-recognition of it’s worth. This should change as the news gets out. There are so many bells and whistles that are standard. That are options on other compatible cars. As Hyundai refines this vehicle the other manufacturers will start to hurt or keep up.

Report Abuse

Wow

goodman, 03/27/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is such a great car! Luxury, comfortable and nice design.Seats are comfortable and very smooth engine.Seats are comfortable and very smooth engine. No other car can provide this much with just 25K!

Report Abuse

rating the xg350

350Ldriver, 03/27/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A quiet well built car with features included not found in comparably priced cars.

Report Abuse

The Best Affordable Lux. Sedan Yet!!!!

Gtouch0484, 04/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The XG 350 Is the best lux. Sedan Huyndai has every come out with. I Love this car for every thing its worth

Report Abuse

Like a jag 1/2 the price

Mark S. , 04/13/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After 1 month I still think I got a luxury car for 1/2 the price. From the inside you cannot tell the difference from an Audi A6 or a new Jag. Drove it for 800 miles criss crossing Colorado including nearly a dozen 10,000+ foot mountain passes in 2 days. No snags except the window washer failed to work. Decent handling, great engine power,so- so gas mileage (avg.23 mpg's), and a comfortable leather and woodgrain interior.

Report Abuse

A pleasure to drive.

Frank Sehaprd, 04/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent driving machine, both as a road car and as a city car. I enjoy driving the car and the comments from bystanders about the trim and finish of the car.

Report Abuse

What a Deal

JayMagic, 04/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I now have about 12K on the car. No problems, except if your wipers are frozen to the windshield and you turn them on without releasing them, it can blow the fuse. The luxury features make this a GREAT value. The engine has more than enough power for the Colorado mountain. The amount of room inside is excellent and I am not a small guy (over 300 lb.) Plenty of back seat leg room for freinds.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Bob S. , 09/29/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

No way does this car cost only $20,000 new. Best luxury car I have ever owned. I loved my maxima, put 170,000 miles on it, but this is just as comfortable at much less the cost and at 98,000 miles only routine maintance.

Report Abuse

Great design, great ride.

David L. Cattanach, 05/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned only American built cars for fifty years, and the fully equipped Hyundai XG350L is a pleasant discovery for me. It gives me the same ride and comfort as my earlier Buicks, Pontiacs, and Chevrolets for considerably less money, and it has great styling and appearance. The large volume dealer sells more Hyundais than any of five General Motors products, yet of 16 mechanics only 2 are assigned to Hyundai repairs. That should tell us something about Hyundai reliability.

Report Abuse

My XG350L

donaghadee, 05/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great ride, lot's of bells and whistles for the price.People have actually asked me "what is it". When I tell them it is a Hyundai they have comments like "I didn't know Hyundai made such a nice looking car!

Report Abuse

What are you car reviewers thinking?

Thomas G. Wilson, 05/09/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned an xg 350 for over one month and find it to be a great car. Many reviewers complain of poor handling. I don't understand this. My car handles very well and at 3000 rpm the car does 92 mph! I don't know the top speed and ain't a fixin' to find out! If you want to drive in a rally, buy a BMW and spend $25000 more.

Report Abuse

car of the furture

mailman1, 04/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Want a excellent car; that will superize you. Check out what Hyundai has to offer. This car really puts the american car industries to shame. I believe that we have to either keep up with the forign auto industries or be left out; in the pasture to wither away.

Report Abuse

Proud XG owner

Paul J. Solis, 01/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Best car for the money, period.

Report Abuse

Fantastic

geoff, 03/26/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned VWs, Dodges, and Saturns and my family has owned everything under the Sun (its a large family). This is the best luxury car I have ever driven. Easily equal to the Toyota Avalon and Chrysler LHS and $10K less than those cars. Very comfortable and the best warranty in the business. I will buy Hyundais for a while now.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050