Used 2017 Hyundai Tucson SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$12,722 - $25,595

Used Tucson for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Favorite SUV

Melanie, 11/09/2016
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
116 of 119 people found this review helpful

I test drove the Rav4, CX-5, Escape, and Santa Fe before deciding finally on the Tucson. My previous vehicle was a VW GTI, so it was important to me to get something that still looked and felt sporty while driving it and this Tucson qualifies for all of that. While I felt the CX-5 handled slightly better around curves, the Tucson gave a smooth and quiet ride. The acceleration is there when I need it, without the bumps of a sporty suspension. Unfortunately, in Hyundai, in order to get a sunroof one must purchase the highest model (Limited-Ultimate) that also comes with navigation and leather seats (with rear passenger heated seats)! Also, the cargo cover and all weather mats do not come standard and can carry a hefty price tag. For me, the bonuses that came with the panoramic sunroof were worth the extra price! I will say I have noticed that this 7-speed transmission can take some getting used to. Much like my GTI DSG transmission, even though it's an automatic, it FEELS like a manual at times. On inclines, and some coasting to acceleration scenarios the transmission has lagged to shift into the correct gear. I'm currently researching this to see if there is something wrong or just something to get used to. Update: There were some software updates Hyundai provided regarding the transmission and that did improve things dramatically. While I feel like the acceleration is better than most of the SUV/Crossovers I test drove, it still doesn't "GO!" like I was used to with my GTI, which is just an unrealistic expectation for this type of vehicle & price point. For example, If I don't continue accelerating through a 4 leaf clover on-ramp to get on the interstate (and coast through the curve instead), it takes a long time to get up to speed, even if the "pedal is to the metal." I think I only notice this because I came from the GTI which was VERY responsive. Now that the weather is cooler, my rear seat passengers love their rear seat heaters, and everyone seems to have plenty of leg room. I love the extra space I get when I fold the seats down, too.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Tons of Research: Quality and Value at its Best

John Manzo, 02/08/2018
SE 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

I have now had the vehicle for 8 months. I continue to like the car a great deal. Since that time we've had a long trip with three of us in the car. The car was comfortable for the entire trip of 10 hours each way. Actually, there were three people and a dog and everyone was comfortable the entire time. No complaints---even from the dog. This is a very comfortable ride, both in the front seat and the back seat. Gas mileage on the trip was close to 30 which was really good. Around town it's between 21-22 and that's not all that great, but it is what it is. Since I do mostly town driving this is my standard expectation. I don't have a problem with the transmission; it is a bit on the funky side. In part, I believe, it's because the new cars all seem to be 6-7 gears instead of the old 3-4 gears. The transition with the transmission is not difficult; it just takes a little time to grow accustomed to it. I have the 2.0 engine and for the most part it's fine. When challenged a bit, it is a little underpowered. Rapid acceleration is not a strength of this car at all. At times the acceleration is very sluggish. And when I put 5 people in the car, while the car ran well and did everything it was supposed to do, you can feel the strain on the engine. This isn't a big deal for me; it's usually just me or my wife and I. So, am I happy with the car? I'm delighted. I continue to be happy with my purchase. I read copious reviews of this size of SUV and watched a large number of road tests on YouTube. We own a Subaru Forester which my wife drives and is a good car; I don't find it to be particularly comfortable, but she does. So, using that as a barometer as well as test driving the Honda CRV and the Toyota RAV 4 and the Tuscon, I chose the Tuscon. It was easily the best price and I liked the car better. I didn't like the Honda very much at all. I'm sure it's a wonderful vehicle but I didn't find it to be comfortable and the price point was not what I wanted. I liked the Toyota; solid car but again, the price point was not what I was seeking. Both the Toyota and the Honda weren't as nicely equipped for the price as was the Tucson. I read the reviews and there were some criticisms of the acceleration on the 2.0 engine. My experience is that the acceleration is just fine. When I want to go, it goes and it accelerates quite nicely. The interior is comfortable and incredibly quiet. The Bluetooth works great and the sound quality is very good. I appreciate the layout of the controls; they are logical and easy to use. I've had the Tucson for a month and really like it a great deal.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Overall Good Car

Evan B., 06/09/2017
Eco 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
32 of 33 people found this review helpful

I bought this car knowing nothing about Hyundai. To me, the styling looks like many other car is the same category. The car, in my opinion, is a great deal for what you get. The engine is also spectacular. The transmission is clunky and almost feels like it's slipping. However, give it more gas and everything sorts itself out. MPG is just ok, and I don't drive it aggressively. Features on mine are pretty sparse, but the ones that are there are very nice. I find the space to be plenty, and well designed. The view out the back has a pretty big blind spot and backing up can be difficult, especially on a busy road, but the rear view camera helps.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

We Love Our Tucson Sport

TSALE/CHICAGO, 08/01/2017
Sport 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
26 of 27 people found this review helpful

We bought a 2017 Tucson Sport for our retirement. We recently drove it from Chicago to Florida and back, racking up approximately 4K miles over two months. Our Tucson performed flawlessly. It ran all day at 70+ MPH while staying steady and quiet. The turbo produces plenty of power for climbing hills, merging, and passing at highway speeds. While it's not a sports car it handled the twists and turns quite capably. The automatic lift gate is a wonderful convenience. And the blind spot monitoring is a lifesaver, especially in Chicago traffic. Overall we would enthusiastically recommend the Tucson Sport to anyone considering a compact SUV.

Performance
Report Abuse

New owner - one week review

blues9366@gmail.com, 04/03/2017
SE 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
50 of 54 people found this review helpful

First off, this is a STRIPPER model. No frills, base model with very few options. BUT.... what all do you need? Power windows and locks? check. Cruise? check. AC? check. Audio system? check. What else do you really need? I'm 50 and can remember when all the above was OPTIONAL stuff. Coming from different vehicles, I can say this vehicle works. It isn't super fast. It's a Crossover. Do I really need to sub 6 second 0 - 60 times? No. The audio is simple to use. It even has a TUNING knob. Does it have nav? Nope. but that's a hassle anymore if you have a smart phone. Google Maps is always updated. The Tucson is showing 27 mpg after the first week. Pretty good I think. Not the best, not the worst. And we live in hilly area at base of mountains, so 27 is pretty good in mixed driving. I do miss the power seats of my previous vehicles. Especially as my wife & I change drivers. The seat is not the most comfortable, but hoping as it wears in, will be less aggravation. It's good looking, practical transportation. No more, no less.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Replaced Trent @ 5000 mi

Shawn, 06/15/2017
Sport 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

2016 Tucson had 41,000 recalls due to transmission issues. It was a software fix. I took my 2017 sport in to dealer a few times (dealer very helpful) for slow or no acceleration & rattling sound in engine. They determined new transmission was needed (@5,500 mi). I have a loner provided by dealer. I hope the new trany solves issues? I like my car, very pleased in general. Fingers crossed. 1 year later: I really like the tucson sport. But I am still having on going issues such as: unreliable acceleration, engine makes a WHIRRING sound. I have 11,000 miles now and would not drive a long distance, as I feel car is unreliable.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my Tuscon

mary, 02/06/2018
Sport 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I have really enjoyed driving my Tucson. Everything's working well and no further issues since it required a new engine (covered under warranty) a few months old. Later a small problem with the turbo; only a loose connection. Gave me a scare, tho, because the vehicle had very little power and i had to floor it to get it to accelerate. No more issues (knock on wood).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I want to love my new Tucson, but...

Dave Jensen, 05/28/2018
Value 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
21 of 22 people found this review helpful

I bought my first Hyundai in 2002. It was the first generation Santa Fe and I loved it. As the first of five Hyundai’s since then, it made me a believer in the Hyundai brand. I have owned all three models of the Santa Fe Sport and two of the three models of Tucson. In October of 2017 I leased a 2017 Tucson value package edition. It seemed to be the perfect combination of features, having everything I needed and nothing I didn’t. I gave up leather (nice but not necessary) and navigation (it’s free on my phone) in exchange for a panoramic roof and a power lift gate. It also has cross-traffic detection, blind-spot detection, and dual climate control. (More about that later.) The ride quality of the Tucson is firm but compliant. It handles all but the most serious of bumps with finesse, and the steering is quick and responsive. As for road noise, it could be quieter. Doors seal tightly with a nice, firm shunk. Upholstery is high-quality fabric with even stitching and stain-resistant properties, but that’s where it ends. The very basic dashboard design is plain and uninspired. There are no wood grain or carbon fiber accents here, no fabric on the doors, and far too many hard surfaces overall. If you’re looking for luxurious appointments, look elsewhere. Despite its deficiencies in the luxury arena, the new Tucson outshines its overly-ubiquitous competitors with a handsome exterior. The Tucson’s panoramic roof provides a brightly lit cabin, although I would be content with a standard panel sunroof over the front seat, especially since the panoramic roof is going to rain down a large quantity of glass fragments on all occupants in the event of a crash. It also makes interesting pinging noises, especially in cold weather. The fresh air return is an enigma. A sensor in the climate control system decides when air in the cabin becomes “stale” and automatically brings in outside air. You may be driving through a forest fire, but once it’s in fresh air mode, the system will not return to recirculate mode on its own. The frustrating part is that you can’t always manually return to recirculate mode until the system says it’s okay. This may involve rolling down a window and letting even more bad air into the car. It’s bad enough to have to press recirculate every few minutes, but it’s a real pain when the car won’t let you. Is there a fix for this thing? All my previous Hyundai’s remained in accessory mode after shutting off the engine, allowing the driver to listen to music or complete a phone call without the engine running. But when you shut off the Tucson’s engine, everything shuts off, forcing the driver to idle the car in order to finish a Bluetooth call or hear the end of a song. Why? To the best of my knowledge, no other Hyundai models do this. And now for the biggie: The Dual Clutch Transmission (DCT). What can I say? This is essentially a manual transmission due to its lack of a torque converter, but instead of being manually shifted by the driver, gearing is decided by the computer. This works fine in most situations, but depending on conditions and terrain, shifting can be jerky and unpredictable. Even my salesman tried to warn me against the DTC and I should have listened. Overall, it isn’t as bad as some reviewers make it sound, but it does take some getting used to. Don't get me wrong; the car runs great. It's peppy, corners well, and is fun to drive. The issues I’ve had with my Tucson are mostly cosmetic, but are certainly not acceptable in a new vehicle. They pertain mostly to fit and finish problems and a lack of attention to detail. Misaligned body panels, broken clips in the headliner, a gap in the dashboard, and unusual noises emanating from the back end were annoying to say the least. Most of them have been addressed after repeated trips to the dealer, but it's disappointing just the same. Perhaps I got the last Tucson built on a Friday at closing time. Regardless, I wanted to love this vehicle, but I only like it, and I'll consider other brands when my lease expires.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Top of the Line Model... already issues!!

Dave, 08/29/2017
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
23 of 25 people found this review helpful

The car hit a lot of things on my list for what I wanted and best of all, it was at an affordable price. I have a fully loaded brand new Tucson Limited and I really like the way it looked and interior felt. It has a heavy safe feeling as well for a company that used to make cars that felt light and slightly aluminum can-ish. PROBLEM 1: The transmission on this thing is terrible. It feels like a high school kid trying to learn manual for the first time throwing the car into gear and revving the engine at 1st, 2nd, and 3rd gear. This problem happens mostly on the upshift, but does happen on occasion on the downshift. Hyundai said its because of a dual clutch... either way... its brutal and who knows what other problems with the drivetrain this will cause over time. PROBLEM 2: The audio in the whole vehicle goes mute as if its plugged in headphone mode or something. I literally have to turn off the car at a red light to let it reset so I can get the audio come back on. Pretty annoying and super inconvenient. PROBLEM 3: My iPhone pairs great and does apple CarPlay perfectly.... but... after 2 minutes of talking on a call the other person gets a crazy bad echo. So bad in fact that I can't take business related calls in the car and most times than not I have to call the person back because they can't think and talk over the echo. I would love to say save your money on any other vehicle in this class because it has it all, but I unfortunately can't. Do your due diligence and make sure the model you get hits the things consistently on your list, because we are regretting our purchase even though we love many things about the vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My new ride

andy, 11/11/2016
Sport 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
33 of 37 people found this review helpful

Look for a car to replace my 2001 Mazda Tribute. The Hyundai Tucson Sport does the job. While I have only had it for 2 weeks I am enjoying it. The seating is comfortable even for my 6' 2" frame. Visibility is good and the ride is great. Just filled it up and got 24 mpg driving in town. I love the kick it has with the Turbo engine. Rear seating is comfortable and the cargo space meets my needs. The instrument panel and displays are well layed out and very easy to use. The only down side is it hesitates at times when turning at an intersection after coming to a stop. I can't quite understand it but if it continues I'll take it to the dealership. If you want a small SUV I recommend this one.

Report Abuse

Nice SUV. Loads of features for the price

Tucson shopper, 11/21/2016
Limited 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
25 of 28 people found this review helpful

The 2017 Tucson in ECO drive mode shows some hesitation when driving off at lower speeds. The other available mode is SPORT which you have to select for it to be enabled. There should be an option of selecting how you want to drive the car. That is why I didn't give all the points in shifting. Tucsons are not necessarily the quietest ride in town but the level of road noise is perfectly bearable. The entertainment center is so loaded with features that it takes a while to get familiar with all the options and menus. Perhaps in a couple of months I will be able to score higher in this particular topic. Other than these minor inconveniences I am extremely happy with my purchase. This is a very well appointed trim with features found only in much more expensive models from other manufacturers

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

LOVE the CAR! Gets the job done but engine is weak

Grayson, 08/08/2017
SE 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
16 of 18 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for over a month. Base model. The car serves its purpose and has certainly enhanced the quality of our life by allowing us to travel safely, in comfort, and the Tucson affords us a decent amount of storage. The warranty also gives us peace of mind. The user interface on the infotainment system is ugly and feels clunky but works just fine. Blue tooth works well with smart phones and I've had no issues listening to podcasts or making phone calls. Interior feels very airy and I've never felt claustrophobic with my 5'11 frame. However, materials feel cheap. The outside appearance of this car is stunning. Much better than the RAV-4 and the CR-V. Silver is a nice color on this car and does not make dust and grime visible as does black or white paint. The only downside is the car has poor acceleration. This can present challenges on the freeway if you are trying to pass someone or merge quickly from an on ramp. Once it does reach desired speeds it's like every other car. It does not shake nor does it allow for external noise to enter. Hence, even long distance drives are quiet and comfortable. It is overall a joy to actually drive. Very response steering. Overall, we are glad with this purchase and so are many others. This model did make the JD Power and Associates list for initial consumer satisfaction and has been well-reviewed by the pros.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

New Tucson SE FWD

Vance Cerasini, 06/29/2017
SE 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Great value, comfortable SUV with lots for the money. Great quiet, solid and controlled ride. Wonderful fuel economy (26.9 city so far). Very well build quality. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I'll see how the long trip mileage is this coming 4th of July weekend

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Suprisingly good performance from a 1.6T

Alex Saab, 04/20/2017
Sport 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

This is my mom's car I borrowed it a couple of times for a road trip. I was pretty skeptical about Hyundai(I remember the old low quality cars) but pleasantly surpised by the Tuscon. The pros: good acceleration, shifting in manual mode is slick, the cloth seats are comfortable(rear seat recline!), Handles pretty well, the radio is nice and pairing phones are easy. The Cons: Gearbox is finicky at low speeds(like a tractor trailer), Mazda cx5 has better interior desing/quality, keyless start(thats just my personal gripe)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

First new car purchase in 12 years and I regret it

Rob K, 04/05/2018
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

I recently bought a new 2017 fully loaded Limited Tucson. Right now I have under 700 miles on the car and I've already had to take it in because the rear window washer stopped working. And now the drivers heated seat only stays on for about 3-5 minutes and shuts off. So now I'll probably have to take it in to the dealer again. Also the vehicle I have has the 7 speed DCT transmission. This transmission is absolute trash. It shifts down extremely hard, jerking my head back to the head rest and there has been a number of times when I've been pulling out of a driveway or side street on to a busy road and I need immediate acceleration to avoid getting hit by cars coming down the street. As I press the gas pedal I've noticed that the car literally just sits there and the tachometer goes up but the car doesn't move. It's almost like the transmission/ECU doesn't know what to do for a brief moment. It's beginning to become scary to drive this car in traffic because I'm unsure if it will deliver the power when I need it or when I press the gas pedal. Thankfully I didn't trade my 14 year old Audi in when I bought this thing because I'm probably going to put it up for sale in the coming days. To say I'm disappointed with this car and purchase is an understatement. Hyundai should be ashamed they produced a car like this.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Problems with electrics and bad dealership support

Hovhannes Matevosyan, 07/21/2017
Eco 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

After 4 months front Xenon lamps started not to work and when I approached the Service they told me that the lamps are not covered by the warranty and I need to pay for each lamp approximately $60. It's ridiculous. After 6 months the car started to shiver when you start to drive and when you start to slow down the speed to stop.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Engine replacement at 7300 miles!

Tina T, 05/04/2018
Limited 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Dead on arrival. Stop- do not buy. Please note that the severe engine problems continue. The 1.6 engine needed to be replaced after rod and crankshaft failure AT 7,350 miles. Also the premium sound system intermittently stops resulting in no sound from the stereo, navigation and apple play.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love this SUV

Jack wilson, 06/23/2017
SE Plus 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have had it a month and have 0 complaints. Handles great and rides smooth. The SE Plus gives you a ton of features for a small amount extra. Dual climate control and rear air is appreciated by all my passengers.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

2017 Tucson SE AWD

John K., 05/15/2018
SE 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This car doesn't have all the frills of the "Value" or "Limited" models, but I wasn't looking for a flagship vehicle. The ride and handling is really good. The seats are decently comfortable. The sound system is fairly good. The amenities that you get on it for a base model are nice. Even got power driver's seat. Had the car for about 1.5 months now. MPG has been about 25-26 in mixed city driving. That's better than my last vehicle, a 2010 Kia Soul. Plus, I'm living in a more hilly part of the USA now, so it seems to have better fuel economy going up and down the hills here. Plus, the 2017 model I got new has a CD player in it. The 2018 models didn't have one. Being that I have music on hundreds of CDs, this makes it nice for me if I don't have a USB stick handy to drop some tunes on. If you're not looking for lots of flash and something that will turn heads and impress friends, but want something that looks nice, drives well, and is a good value...I could definitely suggest taking a look at this vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

city driving nightmare

Pamela Anderson, 01/16/2019
Sport 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

You could get creamed in traffic while in the middle of an intersection because of the tranny slip or turbo lag, the same scenario while merging onto the interstate, or out of your garage. It's the worst vehicle I've ever had because I don't know what it's going to do. Talk about anxiety behind the wheel! I'm so disappointed and it really sucks I have to stick it out for over another year before I can get out of this. Hyundai needs to make this right for the customer whose safety is on the line because of their vehicle that is so unsafe and unreliable. As a previous customer...the Elantra, the Entourage....no more Hyundai's for me.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice vehicle, but shifts like an earthquake

John, 12/24/2016
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
14 of 17 people found this review helpful

Took it for a test drive along with its sister the Kia Sportage. I think Hyundai screwed it up when they went to the 7 speed tranny. Hopefully Kia won't do it to its next year model

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

scary car to drive

bob chouinard, 10/11/2017
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
14 of 17 people found this review helpful

hyundai tuson with turbo engine will not always turn left or right from the startit will hesitate in traffic. but the other cars dont know that.you get some scary and close calls.it has been back in shop many times. and now the finnel answer is nothing more they can do for me. shame on hyundai

Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mixed Bag

Kathryn, 10/03/2017
Value 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
17 of 21 people found this review helpful

I just turned my 2017 Tucson in on a 2018 Subaru Forester lease. Thankfully, after owning the car for less than I year and putting less than 6000 miles on it due to the issues I had with it, I still received a fair price for it. It gets great gas mileage, I'll give it that. And, when it behaved, it was a very comfortable ride! I loved my Tucson except for one HUGE, one minor complaint. The HUGE issue was, like so many others have commented on, the transmission. I HATED it. You never knew when it would respond or when it would just contemplate accelerating, which was SUPER dangerous merging onto the highway or proceeding from stop to go. At best, it was just embarrassing when the vehicle would rev like you were purposefully gunning it just to get it to GO normally. Like someone else said about it: it sounded like a new driver learning how to drive a manual transmission, even though this was an automatic. Even the Hyundai service department I took it to---repeatedly---told me it was a much-complained about issue and that they'd escalated complaints to corporate multiple times without response. The second complaint I had was its poor reliability in the snow, perhaps related to the transmission issue: sometimes it would be fine; other times it would just spin and spin, digging you further into a snow rut.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My new tuscon

Kathy Lindsley, 01/20/2017
SE 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
12 of 15 people found this review helpful

Just so happy with my new car. The ride is so comfortable and the car handles so well. Just couldn't have found a car that had everything I want for an affordable price

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Car Purchase Ever

Dawn, 05/30/2018
SE 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I absolutely LOVE my Hyundai Tucson, so much that I have bought 2 in the past year. After have my first purchase got totaled in an accident, I bought the same exact Tucson for my replacement. Love the style, color, handling, safety, ....LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS CAR! Best vehicle purchase ever!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

This Car with DCT could kill you and your family.

Steve Smith, 02/06/2019
Night 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Before the “ you don’t know how to drive a dct” get on here. I’m a “car” man, 65 years old haven’t had a wreck in 45 years and have owned Porsche, audi, Mercedes, bmw, Honda, Nissan Chevy, olds, etc. The people defending the transmission in this car are either idiots or have yet to coast down a parking lot downgrade a couple of feet, put on the gas to enter traffic and literally sit there and hope people don’t hit them. If there is not a load on the trans and you attempt to enter the highway you may or may not be dependent on someone having mercy on you. For God’s sakes don’t try to “ beat the traffic”. The fact they still sell this, is testimony to not enough people being killed yet. Business decision. Let’s just end with most times it will find a gear and you’ll go. But it only takes once and an eighteen wheeler...... Steve Smith

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

TERRIFIC TUSCON

Chris, 10/03/2017
SE 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

I test drove several more expensive vehicles , including the Jeep Cherokee Latitude and the Tuscon was hands down a more superior ride. The acceleration alone on the highway was my deciding factor. The "sport" button which increases the RPM's or lowers a gear is a great assist in gaining speed. In fact, I leave it in "Sport" mode around town just for the fun factor. The 60,000 mile warranty compared to the competitions 36,000 mile warranty was another deciding factor. The sport rims and the panoramic sunroof are nice features. This is my first Hyundai and I think I'm now a big fan and will buy more Hyundai's in the future.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Don't get a Tucson!

Disgruntled Tucson Leasee, 01/09/2018
SE 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
18 of 25 people found this review helpful

If you are considering a Tucson, do the research. If you are considering moving down from a V6 (I was in a '14 Rogue before) to a 4 cyl, don't do it. You lose so much pep. I thought that the Sport drive feature on the Tucson, would be sufficient and while it works, it's not great. I have thoroughly disappointed in the Tucson and have literally been counting down the months to the time when I can get rid of it! The front passenger seat is not height adjustable, so if you sit in it, you are going to feel so low, as if you can't see over the dash or side door panel. I am 5'6 so it's not like I'm short. There is hardly any leg room for a tall person in that seat. As for the drivers seat, when I do raise it high and need to look to the right, my rear view mirror is in the way, so I have to dip my head to make sure my view is clear. As for the heater - HORRIBLE! This car never seems to heat up! I let it run 20 min before leaving in temps ranging from 10 degrees all the way up to 40 and it still takes more than 20 minutes to heat. I drove almost 5 miles the other day, after letting it heat for 15 min and only after those 15 minutes and 5 miles, did it finally start to get warm. It never does get HOT. This car constantly has to have the defrosters on high, otherwise, the car fogs up when in rainy, snowy or cold conditions. This has been a complete nuisance because I like to have the air on my feet when its cold and I can only keep the floor feature on temporarily before the windows fog up. Also, the A/C isn't great. It doesn't get very cold in the hot summer and intermittently shoots out a colder than average blast. This was the first I bought a black car and never again will I - I'm not sure if it's the color or the cheap paint used on the exterior because it shows EVERY little scratch. As for reliability, the car is fine and I am grateful I'm in a car that is new and hasn't presented any functionally issues that has left me stranded. Overall, I really hate the Tucson and I don't use the "hate" word very often. I have 2 years left on my leave and will be getting out of this vehicle, never to return. I will be returning to Nissan who makes a much higher quality car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice car

Jh, 02/28/2017
Limited 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

Nice car for the $. Tons of options included for under $30k

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Bought

TBrown, 12/29/2017
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I love this car! It feels more luxurious than the cost, and the pick-up is great. Also, the technology/sound system is as good as my old BMW.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Disappointed

Allan Geffon, 07/18/2018
Limited 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My wife's 2017 Elantra is a remarkable vehicle, and we expected the Tuscon to perform similarly. We had no complaints about fit and finish, comfort and safety features. Having driven one with the 2.0 "lack-of-power plant," our expectation was that the new 1.6 liter turbo would improve overall performance, which it did. However, upon a test drive, the dual clutch 7-speed transmission (available only in the Tuscon Limited and Veloster) produced a hesitation at takeoff, occasionally feeling as if a standard-shift vehicle were started in second gear. An inquiry to the service manager confirmed that this is a quirky characteristic of the power train. That was enough for us to look for a new SUV elsewhere.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

A comfortable & practical little SUV

David M., 10/11/2018
SE 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I found myself in need of replacing my last car earlier this year in 2018, and after much hemming and hawing over what to buy, I wound up with a brand new 2017 Tucson SE. I was able to get a fair price on a car that had exactly the options that I wanted, with nothing that I didn't. And, in a color that I liked, and that my wife encouraged; seemed like a win. It has been. I wanted a smaller SUV for economy, but large enough to be pretty practical. I wanted the technology in the car to be very good - not just 'good enough' and this car has delivered for me. The car has Six speed automatic vs only four or five gears. It also has three modes for the transmission, Normal, Sport or Eco; I've not gotten used to having this. Bluetooth works pretty much flawlessly, which is very important in a state with strict laws regarding cell phone usage while driving. I can get my SiriusXM radio and it works well and is intuitive. Daytime running lamps and automatic headlights, which are a must for me, are there. That the backup camera is much better than what's in my wife's Acura is very satisfying too. I even just recently discovered that if you unlock the car with the remote, and don't open a door within a minute or two, the car will lock itself back up so that you don't forget. Handy. One of the most impressive things, I think, it the quality of the ride and the quiet in the cabin. The standard 17 inch wheels and tires are a huge plus, and one of the reasons why I didn’t want to upgrade to the Sport trim with the more powerful motor. And while I don't want to use the warranty, I feel like a company that feels confident enough to offer a 100,000 mile power-train warranty at no additional cost has something to prove to folks who are non-believers. So far, so good. The biggest issue that I have is that it seems to be under-powered at times. Yeah, it's a little 2.0L four cylinder, so I knew that this could be an issue. I could've stepped up to the 1.6L Turbo motor with the 7 speed dual clutch, but after doing quite a bit of research and reading about the experiences of other people, I decided that the base motor would be a better choice. Overall it has been a better choice, in my opinion. The economy has been better than I expected for how I use the car and how I drive. It doesn't feel under-powered at all times, just sometimes when I am in a hurry to get moving. Sport mode in the transmission seems to help! Overall, this has been a comfortable ride, that is very practical, pretty economical for what it is, and so far, dead-nuts reliable. All for a very reasonable price. I feel like I made a good choice here. If you test drive a Tuscon, and you like it, then you'll probably like it too.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great , Small S.U.V

T, 12/23/2018
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have the 1.6 Turbo Limited AWD (Ultimate Package) Let me say this I have owned the Tucson for a week now and I do notice a very slight lag when first accelerating again let me say VERY SLIGHT ...I do not see this 2 or 3 second lag that I see quite a few people writing about. And when you put it sport mode if there is a 1/4 of a second lag that's a long time. My guess is most of the people that complain about the lag issue drive aggressively but that is just my opinion. I believe there was a software update for the transmission so that may have taken care of the lag issue but am not sure I will find out when I bring it to dealer for the first service. The gas mileage could be a little better but with the turbo I guess that's an acceptable compromise. The ride is quiet smooth and comfortable. I am not a little guy but am also not a big guy and so far I have been very comfortable in both the drivers and passenger seats. I purchased the Tucson for my wife who LOVES it so far. There are only 3 cons to write about. #1 no C.D player #2 no heated steering wheel and #3 no memory seats. Those are all the cons the Tucson has. That's it. But at this price point it should have all three. This is the 2nd Hyundai we have owned we traded in a 2013 Santa Fe fwd to purchase the Tucson my wife wanted something a little smaller and so far so perfect. I am in Dutchess County N.Y and I want to see how it handles in the snow. We were able to purchase it as a used car believe it or not with 199 miles , it's a left over is all it really is. If i do start to have any of the lag issues in the future I will update my review but for now I stand by this one !!!

Report Abuse

Worst Transmission EVER!!

JT C., 02/05/2019
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We really love the look and the drive of this car but the transmission slips, jerks and doesn't shift properly at all. It never has and it has been to Hyundai for the issue but nothing was resolved. It becomes unsafe at times when attempting to pull out into traffic. Scary.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not my favorite

Kate, 08/02/2019
SE Plus 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My 2017 Hyundai Tucson SE Plus AWD is the worst car I have ever purchased. The car is VERY VERY VERY slow. When taking off it basically falls on its face. We have almost gotten hit a few times because the car wouldn't get out of the way. It has the regular mode, Sport, and Eco and they change nothing. I can floor it or take off normal and the car WILL. NOT. MOVE!!!!!! I will never purchase another Hyundai. I'm counting down the days until I can trade my car in. On another note the inside is very nice and so is the outside. I would NOT recommend this car to anyone, ever!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

DCL Tranny VERY DANGEROUS 9-2019

Freudious , 09/01/2019
Limited 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The Dual Clutch Tranny and the 1.6L engine combo are DISCONTINUED after less than 36 months!, due to drivability and safety issues they could NOT solve! Daughter has a 2016 Tucson Ultra Limited 1.6Turbo DCL, and I have a 2017, same model. BOTH, drive the same, and in the last 1.5yrs, we have both almost been taken out by other drivers, when our cars transmissions go into the "I don't know what to do mode", and basically do not engage, while traffic is bearing down on you!!!! It lurches, slips, and gets confused easily, so you learn to take caution, DON'T try to merge in traffic from a stop, always anticipate the tranny may not engage at ANY time, and be very light on the gas, always, and very smooth, or risk the DCL tranny getting confused, and your car just sitting there, even if its in the middle of a busy injection with a truck coming. Dealerships told us they were getting rid of the DCL tranny because of all of the horror stories. Luckily, mines leased..... so can just give it back at the end, if I live that long.... serious., and don't put many miles on it. Otherwise, everything else is awesome..... just the DCL dangerous tranny! And all of the software fixes have been no-help! It has been discontinued for a safety reason! They should all be recalled voluntarily, or major class action lawsuit from all of the injured people. Again, otherwise, the Hyundai, and New Tucson line are wonderful. Avoid 2016-2018 1.6L DCL Combo! Drive one at Carmax, push gas pedal in a variety of changing levels, on off on again from a stop, like you were going to go, then have to wait, then go again,,, see what happens. Do not try that in traffic!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Value

Philip Rubino, 04/30/2017
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
8 of 11 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle less than 3 weeks ago. The entire purchasing process was the easiest I have experienced. The dealership, (Ralph Thayer Hyundai-Livonia, MI), and my salesperson, Don, were terrific. I knew the trim and preferred color, Sedona Sunset. Don found it the next day, and I took delivery a couple days later. This is the third Hyundai I have owned and by far the best. I was presented with a very attractive offer, way below MSRP. A fair trade in allowance was also appreciated. It was a no hassle no haggling easy process. My salesperson gave me a detailed explanation of all the features and electronics. Dealer prep was flawless. I have put about 800 miles on the Tucson and it has been impressive so far. Interior is very comfortable, with a quiet ride. The 1.6L turbo is plenty for me, as well as the AWD. The Infinity 310 watt 8 speaker entertainment system is incredible. Apple car play is so convenient too. The many many accessories make this an amazing value.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice vehicle but beware of dual-clutch trans

Jason MokenaIL, 12/14/2018
SE Plus 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
8 of 11 people found this review helpful

I really like the vehicle, it definitely has much going for it for an entry-level small/mid size SUV's. It looks great and runs fairly well, reasonable cost as reasonable maintenance cost. Considering I almost was T-boned with my son in the vehicle which would have caused catastrophic injury, I do have one major issue with the vehicle. The vehicle comes with a dual-clutch transmission (DCT in Hyundai speak). If you are not familiar with DCT or CVT (Nissan speak), it's terrible. The vehicle for the first two miles feels EXTREMELY jumpy. You give it gas, it's like jump, jump, jump then moves. You could even give the vehicle gas and it stalls for few seconds (sometimes 2, sometimes 5 seconds). It does this on EVERY SINGLE COLD START. Not cold meaning weather temperature but EVERY SINGLE START when it hasn't been used in 12/hours, a couple days, etc). It does this when the weather is 90 degrees outside or 10 degrees outside. It remains jumpy for roughly 2/miles before it begins to run smoothly. I've had the vehicle in service twice with only 5100/miles on the vehicle. This time they said no error codes were produced and the vehicle is fine. Service tech said chalk it up to the DCT (transmission) as it's not for everyone. This is my third Hyundai purchase since 2014 and it's surely going to be my last. No wonder Hyundai sales are suffering in 2017/2018. Endless complaints are posted online regarding the Tucson and their COMPLETELY GARBAGE transmission. Do your research before buying this, do not buy it for looks and appearance alone as I had done. I typically do not leave reviews like this online but seeing I was nearly decapitated before my vehicle started jumping and failed to complete a turn in a timely manner, I had no choice but to leave this review. It just might save someone's life out there. Buyer beware.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

PANORAMIC ROOF - TAKE-IT-OR-LEAVE-IT

Geo, 02/16/2018
Limited 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
6 of 9 people found this review helpful

I like Hyundai cars and have bought several new current year Hyundai's over many years. I am satisfied with my 2017 purchase of the Hyundai Tuscan. However, I really wanted a 2018 model, but in order to get all the features I wanted in the 2018 model, I had to settle for getting one with the panoramic roof. The purchase of a model with a panoramic roof should be a completely separate item and we should not be forced to take the panoramic roof because we want or need the other items included with it. The panoramic roof selection should stand alone for those folks who desire the panoramic roof. I prefer all the other options of safety and comfort without the panoramic roof. It is for this reason I purchase the 2017 model Tuscan over the 2018 model as you can't get any 2018 models with the options you want without being forced to take the panoramic roof option. As I mentioned before, I love Hyundai cars and would love to continue buying them, but this may be the last Hyundai car I buy if they don't separate the panoramic roof as a stand-alone item that you could take if you want it. As for me, I see no need in panoramic roofs. As mentioned above we have owned different model Hyundai's over many years (since the 1980's) and we were a two car family and have always loved our prior Hyundai's (Sonatas' and Tuscan)... Until now... We have been so disappointed with the 2017 Tuscan that we decided to trade it in for a Subaru Forester. We previously owned a Tuscan for many years and we loved that car; It felt bigger, wider roomier and a pleasure to drive. However, there was very little to like about our 2017 Tuscan. It was smaller than our previous Tuscan and much less comfortable to drive. I am 5'-6" and found the car hard to get in or or out of. Also, the navigation was terrible. This has been the shortest time we have ever owned a Tuscan (months versus years). I find our new Subaru Forester more like our previous Tuscan and so very glad we decided to take the loss and trade the 2017 Tuscan in for it after just a few months. This is the first time we have purchased something other than a Hyundai in almost 30 years. Hyundai, has lost us. Really sorry I had to make this kind of review.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

"My Wife Loves It!

Lucha, 10/02/2017
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Just about everything is right about this car/SUV - Love the 19" performance tires & rims, the panorama moonroof, perforated leather seats with heat/cooling (F & R), the color (Mojave Sand), the way it rides & handles, The 8" navigation & display, the premium audio system, all the safety features & the warrantee. The only feature missing that we really wanted & needed was the memory drivers seat & mirrors - ARE YOU LISTENING HYUNDAI? (Should Be Included with The Ultimate Package). All in all - I would rate this vehicle 4.75 stars out of 5 & the same for the dealership! Much better value than the 2014 Toyota Rav 4 Limited we traded in & I could not justify buying another 2017 Rav 4 after driving this! My husband added the Aaris running boards, a bug deflector, the wind deflectors F & R & the Husky all weather floor liners F, R & cargo & we're all set! He also added a Sony Walk Man with car kit so we can still enjoy our CD collection. UPDATE: After 29,000 miles we got new Continental Extreme Contact tires & the difference is amazing! The Kuhmo garbage tires that came with the vehicle surprised me lasting that long. The Tuscon now rides like new & handles better than new - It's truly amazing what a new pair of shoes can do. No service other than regular oil changes & tire rotations. Still averaging better than 28 mpg combined.

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

Tucson: Intro to SUV

AnnieC623, 10/01/2018
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My true love is for a sports car... age and arthritis sent me to a sedan... retiring and moving to a rural area with more severe winters prompted me to an SUV with all wheel drive. The Tucson is the third Hyundai I've owned, but my first SUV, so I opted to lease for two years to test the SUV waters. I was not disappointed. (And as I write this, my lease has ended, and I am trading the 2017 Tucson for a 2019 Santa Fe, as I am looking for more cargo space, and a heftier SUV-"trucky" feel.) There is nothing negative I have to comment about the Tucson. It is a well built, generously appointed (Ultimate package) small SUV, and has served well for the driving I now do. Occasionally, when visiting my kids/grandkids, I would have appreciated a bit more cargo capacity, but for my usual local driving, it was a comfortable and more than adequate vehicle. The all wheel drive feature was absolutely necessary for winter driving, and I had no issues in navigating our local roads or, most important, getting up the incline to leave my driveway! The features on the 2017 Tucson Ultimate package far exceed those found on comparable vehicles of other makes in the same price range. I opted to lease this vehicle as I was unsure if I liked having an SUV. As it turned out, it was more than all right, and I am going for my second SUV lease, as previously noted. I have been a Hyundai owner since 2003, and am satisfied with the vehicle quality vs price, and note that Hyundai overall quality standards have appreciably risen since 2003 (first Hyundai was a 2004 XG350, traded for a 2007 Azera Ltd, needed All/4 wheel drive, but loved that car!) Overall, the Tucson is a terrific small SUV - dependable, comfortable, and reasonably priced.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Transmission Disgust from Day One

Doug R. Melbourne, FL., 11/29/2019
Sport 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

2017 Tucson Sport -Turbo. The sport truck was a nice vehicle, HOWEVER the transmission shifting problems were terrible.When cold the transmission would hesitate, stumble and jerk from a stop.After warming up it would jerk from a start-up as if driving a standard transmission with a faulty clutch. It was so bad my wife was terrified to drive the vehicle. Dealer was no helpwith problem, contacted the NTSB and filed complaint along with many other Hyundai owners. Finally was able to reach an engineer in Redundo Beach, CA, national headquarters, and told him of the problem and was told they were aware of problem and NO longer used this transmission and the dealer was now responsible for the transmission problems...

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Dual clutch steep leaning curve

The D man, 01/05/2018
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I love my loaded Tuson but the combination of the turbo and dual clutch transmission makes acceleration very lagging. There is plenty of power when both work together, so it seems that I need to learn to how to accelerate this complex system. I need to accelerate in a way that minimizes the apparent deadband between the transmission shifting and turbo boost. It has not been an easy thing to learn, but I think it's possible. Also it seems like first gear shift is far too soon to let the turbo boost kick in. I wish Hyundai provided an optional manual shift mode on the Dual Clutch transmission, so I could play with the gear changes myself. The higher gears have plenty of turbo boost which presses you back in your seat (in sport mode). The Tuson has a sporty stiff ride which gives the very precise handling feel I love.

Performance
Report Abuse

Everything OK but power

Maurizio Ricci, 01/20/2018
Limited 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

A good car, well equipped, an excellent value for money. Unfortunately acceleration is rather poor, which is problematic- and might be dangerous- in those circumstances when you need power.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Bought new, so disappointed!

KristinK, 08/03/2018
Sport 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I had a Hyundai Santa Fe for 11 years- bought it brand new. Loved that car. But when I married my husband who is 6’3” couldn’t fit comfortably. So decided time to get something more comfortable for us. Sold the Santa Fe to my son. Sadly my son crashed that car but I also think it probably saved his life( side note on I loved the Santa Fe). When I went to the dealership I wanted to stick with hyundai because it had been so good for me. Sticker shock! I couldn’t stretch to get another Santa Fe so I turned to the smaller Tuscon. I looked and test drove several and finally decided on purchasing one. Got the car home and was proudly driving it within the first few days and all of a sudden it would not accelerate above 20 miles an hour!! Supposively it wasn’t programmed correctly when it got to the lot so first trip back to the dealership. Fixed that. So on I go driving my car. And like so many I encountered the issues with the engine and the stupid dual clutch. I took it to the shop over and over and the told me it was just the way the car was. I let my 18 year old daughter drive it once, but with so many warnings of don’t pull out if you know you have enough room because this car will not give you get up and go. I didn’t let people drive it as it just was too scary! The last straw came last month when my mom was riding in the car and mentioned she could hear the car shifting. I was fed up. I just bought the car a year ago but this was ridiculous. I was paying on a car that was not a joy to drive. My husband and I traded it in on a Ford Escape Titanium. Before I did, I went back to the dealership and explained that I was unhappy and wanted to see if they could earn my business. Basically it was a well we can sell you another car that cost more. Sadly, I think I am done with Hyundai. My new car is more then I wanted to pay but I have the assurance that it will not lag with acceleration. Hyundai disappointed me. The Tuscon is not a safe car with the dual clutch. I loved the features the car had but can not drive a car I don’t feel is safe. I traded it in with a little over 5800 miles. Lesson learned.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Dangerous don't buy!!!!

jag1072, 09/04/2018
Eco 4dr SUV (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

My Tuscon has been nothing short of a nightmare. From day one it has shifted very very rough, almost stalls out in traffic, and fails to accelerate from a stop. I have almost been hit 3 times due to these malfunctions. All of these are due to a design flaw in the dual clutch system. Hyundai even has a recall TSB (technical service bulletin) out to all of it's dealers regarding these safety issues, yet they deny it. But their service managers freely acknowledge all of these problems the 4 times I have taken it in for them. They say they hear these same complaints over and over again about the Tuscon. If you Google search Hyundai Tuscon dual clutch problems, you will find thousands of the same complaints. This is obviously a dangerous vehicle according to their own tsb.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Horrible air conditioning

Reva, 10/21/2017
SE 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

I am having trouble with the air conditioning. It blows warm air and then cool air, will now keep vehicle cool. Took it in for service, and O'Brien Hyundai said nothing is wrong. Wish I never purchased this vehicle.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

acceleration

john right, 08/11/2018
SE Plus 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

worse crossover I have ever owned! I traded it in within the same year I purchased it 2017. I literally had to wait to make sure both lanes were clear before entering traffic my gas peddle hit the floor with no acceleration what so ever! I owned a Tuscan plus AWD 2017 the engine is a 2.0L and a 7 speed transmission which is terrible!

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

delundai

Joseph Briggs, 12/13/2016
SE 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
6 of 11 people found this review helpful

Good vehicle for the price and 0.00% interest. I should have purchased the 1.6 for better start off the mark. My vehicle has a soft 0 to 60 but the reviews started that issue. Vehicle is good but service at Delray Hyundai is poor 10 phone calls before receiving a call back to schedule an appointment, otherwise I would give the vehicle a 5. Service is a large part of vehicle performance.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2017 Hyundai Tucson

joe, 08/13/2018
SE Plus 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
5 of 9 people found this review helpful

I purchased the 2017 Tucson and realized I had made a big mistake. I almost got killed by pulling out on to traffic the acceleration wasn't there my gas pedal went to the floor and it lagged so bad I traded it in with 10.000 miles on it who ever invented the dual clutch should be fired immediately its not a safe car. buyers beware!!

Performance
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050