Used 2015 Hyundai Genesis Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$13,995 - $32,995

Used Genesis for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

So far, so good...

frustrated86, 07/19/2014
37 of 37 people found this review helpful

Moved up from a 2009 Sonata (which was a fairly reliable car and a good value) to a 3.8 Genesis RWD with Ultimate Package. I have had the car for about 3 weeks and driven 2,000 miles, both hwy. and city. I must say that I am very impressed. The car is very quiet, responsive to all driving situations and has a ton of features; all which improve the driving experience. The interior layout is clean, logical, and elegant. Seating is very comfortable and ergonomically designed to fit almost anyone, including rear seating. The exterior design, albeit not my favorite compared to Cadillac or Audi has been a head turner and a source of several compliments at gas stations and supermarket lots.

Report Abuse

So far so good, but one aggravation

Jim Orr, 03/07/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
34 of 34 people found this review helpful

After driving Buicks & Cadillacs for several years I looked at the Lincoln MK series, drove a Lexus and settled on the Genesis with the Signature package. Traded in a 2011 Buick Lucerne, which I loved. In hindsight I wish I'd sprung for the Tech package with a few more features that I miss. The biggest aggravation is getting the nav system to take voice inputs. Manual inputs work fine or if I say something she recognizes like "Starbucks" or "Texaco" then it works like a charm. But a voice input street address comes up with some of the weirdest options I've ever seen. Anyone else have the same issue? I have a couple of gripes. This car goes through front turn signal bulbs like Sherman went through Georgia. I've been through at least six. The left one is pretty easy and I can replace it myself. The right one requires removing some structure, so I let a mechanic change it (twice). The auto parts place says a lot of owners have the same problem, as do owners of a couple of VW models. No one seems to know why. The other gripe is that I don't get good tire mileage. I put top end Michelins on and get 30-40 thousand max. The tire man says it's because it's a heavy car on performance tires. I'll probably still buy another Genesis unless something better comes along this fall.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Best car I've ever bought.

rpkelly, 05/05/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
31 of 31 people found this review helpful

Hyundai has come a very long way, and the 2015 Genesis sedan puts it in the elite company of Mercedes, BMW and Lexus. I purchased mine yesterday and was amazed at the fantastic electronics package, the amazing comfort and overall stylish look. I traded in my 2007 Lexus which I had purchased new and in all honesty, can't hold a candle to the Genesis. We had looked into buying the Lexus LS460 which this Genesis is comparable to in all ways except for being about $25k less in price.

Report Abuse

Great Value

srn63, 02/02/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan AWD (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
50 of 51 people found this review helpful

I test drove several cars over the course of 6 months and narrowed my choices to the BMW 5 series and Audi A6. Hands down the Genesis offers the best value for the buck. Considering all the features you will pay at least $15,000 more for a BMW and Audi. The Genesis ride beats the BMW 5 series and is very comparable to the A6. The car is whisper quiet, great acceleration, sporty but comfortable ride. BMW and Audi should be on watch...Genesis hits them right between the eyes. I am shocked this is only a B rated car on Edmunds

Report Abuse

Best kept secret!

Scott, 02/28/2016
5.0 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for a year now and all I can say is "AWESOME". We got rid of the BMW and picked up this sweet gem. Wicked fast, super comfy, great tech and tons of compliments. Don't hesitate, buy this beauty... September 8, 2017 Update: Still loving this wonderful piece of machinery. Lease ends March 2018. I will be getting another G80 Sport. March 12, 2018 Update: Just turned her in (end of lease). Going to get a new one! Can't find any flaws. Great ride.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good but annoying..

frustrated86, 02/12/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
21 of 21 people found this review helpful

Wrote a review last year after driving my 3.8 Genesis for about 1000 miles. After about 4000 miles and the weather turning colder in Michigan, I noticed popping and cracking sounds coming from the sunroof, in the rear and front. I have an ultimate package. Because the car is so quiet it really stands out and is very annoying. Happens constantly when there is minor shifting of the car's weight, in addition to driving over bumps. Took it to the dealer who had no resolution to the problem. My next move is to contact Hyundai directly. Shame because it is a nice car but hard to positively compare it to the Germans luxury models. Here is update after 36000 miles: Hyundai addressed problem with sunroof satisfactorily. It took a little while but it was difficult to diagnose but I was satisfied that they made sure it was fixed. Car has been a good performer and is of very good quality. No issues other than sunroof is a little squeaky sometimes when open but not a deal breaker. After 36000 miles I still get compliments and stares at the car wash and gas station. Would definitely buy the car again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Inteligent choice for a emotional decision

Brook, 09/10/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan AWD (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
34 of 35 people found this review helpful

Below is my initial review. Update: almost 50k miles in no major issues. Mileage good, performance great. Still stand by initial review. The car is a decent city snow car (live in Denver) with the right snow tires no major issues. This is not a mountain (Audi/Subaru) all wheel drive - closer to the BMW x drive. Great road trip car - drove to bay area several times last year and got close to 28m/gal - impressive. Way more gizmos than you need - adaptive cruise blind spot detection very nice. Lane assistance - don't care for, although that is just me. Overall a solid choice with no major quirks or complaints. Anyone purchasing a car in this category doesn't really need everything that comes with it - let's be serious! That being said, if you are in the frame of mind where you either feel you deserve or want to reward yourself with this class of vehicle - look no further than here. I purchased the AWD Signature/Tech package and could not be happier, but more importantly, could not be more impressed with the value/quality of the vehicle and the purchasing experience. I have owned several Lexus', driven BMWs and Merc's (on regular basis/not owned), and I have to say the bang for the buck and quality is clearly here. If you a purist and need that ultimate driving experience, then go buy BMW. But ask yourself this? How often to you truly get to exercise the limits of performance of a mid/full size sedan? Do you really need to? Some key highlights for me are: The adaptive cruise control, intuitive instrumentation (never been a fan of i-drive), and interior comfort. I am 6'7" and never felt like I fit in a car before this. Performance mode is more than apt for this size/class vehicle. It may not be the fastest, but I come back to the point does it really need to be? I typically drive in normal or eco mode and have been getting 23/24 mpg and in eco have not noticed a big difference in performance. Purchasing experience was one of the best (internet sales) - was in and in out under 2 hours, including trade in. Great customer service. Keep in mind this is not a luxury dealership so don't expect the leather couches and espresso machine, etc. However, the time, effort and care was equal to if not more so (to make for the fact they didn't have the lux dealership amenities?) than what i have experienced at the Lexus dealership. If you are looking for that lux feel and ride and would rather keep $10k-$20k in your bank account, then go test drive one of these cars and see for yourself.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love This Car!

cc_alan, 04/15/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
44 of 46 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2015 Genesis in December, 2014 and absolutely love the look, feel and way the car drives. My prior car was a 2007 Infiniti M35, which didn't have Sirius radio capability or any of the advanced safety features that attracted me to the Genesis. It's worth noting that the 2015 version of the Infiniti costs $18K more than the Genesis with the same features, plus I now have a much better warranty than I would have had otherwise. I did see one review that complained about Hankook tires, but I had them on my Infiniti and think the ride is both quiet and smooth. I've owned a dozen cars, including a BMW and an Infiniti, and the Genesis beats them all hands down.

Report Abuse

Ahhhhh! It's comfy

Ed Pawlowski, 11/02/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan AWD (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

I drove a 2014 Genesis base model and liked it enough to check out the restyled 2015. Glad I did. Major improvements and it will be looking good for a few more years. Bought one 4 weeks ago. I have 3000 miles in the first month. This weekend, along with another couple, we took a 750 mile round trip. After 300 non-stop miles, I never felt better getting out of the driver's seat. This was a combination of highway and secondary roads. On the highway, after a few hours I realized just how comfortable the seating and ride are. Very quiet, it is less tiring to drive. The technology is great. Adaptive cruise control is fantastic. If you are buying a premium car you should have all the options. Nit picks. I wish the headlights turned on when you turn the wipers on. That is old technology I had on cars 15 years ago and is a simple to do safety feature. I'd like to have remote start on the fob. Using the phone works, but takes too many steps that can be done with a simple button push. The auto high beam is nice on the highway. On secondary roads there were times it would dim the lights as it should have, but the reaction time to go back to brights was a bit slow as you approach a curve. Update: It has been 7 months and 12,500 miles. Still very happy with the car and its performance. Over the winter I found that the heated seats are better than any of the ones in my last four cars. Finally had a couple of warm and sunny days to try out the cooling for the seats and this is going to be nice this summer. I will not buy another car unless it has a heated steering wheel too. That touch of luxury is really great on a cold morning. One morning I was going to work on a snow covered road that is fairly steep. Two cars on the hill sere struggling and sliding, but with the H-Track AWD I just kept chugging along and passed them with no slippage of the wheels at all. I really felt secure going up that hill. Months later I'm still very happy driving the car with all the comforts, the good sound of the radio and all the gadgets. I'm looking forward to a trip of a few hundred miles this weekend. Fun car to drive. If you buy one, get all the options! Second update 13 months and 22,500 miles later, I'm still very happy with my Genesis. Now that we have a few cold morning, I can turn the heated steering wheel to the "on" position and start the car with BlueLink remote. On a cold morning it is nice to get into a car with the heater running and the steering wheel warm to the touch. Wish I could turn my seat on too but this helps. Still very happy overall. Good value, good performance. No problems or repairs. Edmunds asked that I update my review and I happened to be on vacation at the time. In the past two weeks I drove 3700 miles, including one day at about 700 miles. It was just as I stated before, very comfortable, easy handling. I hope to take a much longer trip and this is the car I'm going to do it inl

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Switched from a BMW to a Genesis

Phil Carlson, 12/11/2015
5.0 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

I've had 5 BMW's: 2 740's, 2 135 convertibles and an X3. I guess you could say that I enjoy BMW's driving performance. But, I recently went on a long trip and I got tired of the BMW's rough ride. Sure, you feel the road, but you also feel all the bumps. So, I decided to look around. I found what I was looking for in the Genesis. It's much, much smoother than the BMW. Much more comfortable. The BMW jumps off the start faster, but the Genesis starts smoothly and then picks up. Their 0-60 specs are very similar. I went with the 5.0 to get the extra horsepower. The V-8 does accelerate well when you want it to. I test drove a BMW 535 for comparison. The Genesis is much better equipped. I really like the Lane Assist, which I didn't see on the BMW. The Lane Assist nudges you back into your lane by itself. That makes it very relaxing to drive. I also like the Adaptive Cruise control. I had one of those in a 2006 Infiniti, but it very jerky and only used it on long trips. This cruise control works in city driving. Again, it's very smooth. So, between the Lane Assist and the Adaptive Cruise control it's very comfortable. The Auto Hold feature is nice. With it on, when you stop you don't have to keep your foot on the brake. Very nice. I only wish I could set a default to have it on all the time. Overall, I'm thrilled with the car. Of course, I also like the price. I saved money and bought more car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Big bargain!

jolly1999, 06/22/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

Review I purchased 3.8 RWD Genesis with all 3 packages on 3/22/15. I saved ~$15-20K from buying a brand name with identical options. I'm happy it came with Michelin instead of Hankok tires. I love the whisper quiet inside the cabin that almost isolated from any engine and road noise. It's so roomy for 5 adults together with a huge trunk. The 311 HP engine is not that sporty with "Eco" mode but adequate to drive this heavy big sedan agilely. However, once you're engaged in "Sport" mode, it's another different story. For 0-60 MPH, the time should be 1 second or more less in "Sport" mode. Pretty well balance during acute cornering, I feel secure with the safety packages. Favorite Features I love the safety technology like the blind spot detection/rear cross-traffic alert, lane departure warning, haptic steering wheel, electronic parking brake with automatic hold, automatic emergency braking, especially the smart cruise control with stop/start. There're many features I appreciate most like head-up display, power trunk lid, slide panoramic sunroof, Lexicon 17-speaker with surround sound, Power rear sunshade, 9.2 inch HD display as well as the ultra premium leather seats and genuine matte finish wood trim. Suggested Improvements The windshield wipers cannot be raised for cleaning. No power tilts up function after closing panoramic sunroof sliding cover. No remote control for windows open. Brighter head-up display. More power for 3.8 liter V6 engine. Higher mileage for gas. No Frog light. No folding rear seats. Review update August/2019: After more than 4 years with only 18K mileages, the car still looking good and new. No major problem except the left head light lamp house was out of order in 16K and fixed by the dealer under warranty. I love the whisper quiet inside the cabin. All seats are very comfortable especially the driver seat with adjustable extended foot rest.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Amazing Machine

Matt Stone, 11/25/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I have always considered myself a "brand snob" and purchased Lexus, Volvo, BMW, etc. I never would have believed that a Hyundai would be my favorite car that I've ever owned. The fit and finish is impeccable, the ride is sublime and power delivery is smooth. Before making the purchase I cross-shopped a 5-series which felt small, and cost $20k more with equal equipment. If I had to gripe about something it would be: no keyless sensors on rear two doors, you still have to push a button to unlock the front doors (lexus you just pull the handles), the rain sensing wipers don't work well, the city gas mileage sucks. The pros far outweigh the cons though. If you are on the fence, just test drive one. Even if you don't purchase you will be amazed at just how far this brand has come.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Exceptional value!!

Rick M., 01/29/2016
3.8 4dr Sedan AWD (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
20 of 21 people found this review helpful

I'm 6 months into a 3yr lease of a '15 Genesis AWD. I've owned many nice cars over the year...Acura TL and RL, Cadillac CTS (prior generation,) Infinity G35 among others. I liked them all, but can honestly say this is by far the best car for the money. I got the Premium Package (I think that's it's called) so the car has most every option. It stickered at roughly $46K. I put $0 down other than 1st month's payment and walked out with a lease payment of $389. That's insane for a car with a $46K msrp! This car will hold it's own against the far more expensive competition...Audi A6, Caddy CTS, BMX 5-series, Mercedes E-Class, you name it. Anyone who drives this car and STILL chooses to pay for more for one of the others is doing it purely for the "snob factor" associated with those badges. If you can look beyond the brand, you will choose this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

What is Edmunds thinking!!!

llpowelljr, 05/07/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

Edmunds, I have no idea what the B rating is about , but your the experts. Granted , this is my first time in the 35,000-$45,000 segment, This is by far the best Car Ive ever owned. To step up to this level in automobile was so important. So I wanted value above all. and this car offers that and some. Ive read all the reviews, and looked at other brands as well.Its very responsive but not as spirited as some german brands, but very complete in performance for only its 2nd Generation. Future is bright for this car and Hyundai/Kia. It offers way to much for your money that the others brands will have to adjust. Well done Hyundai!!!

Report Abuse

Nothing better for twice the price

Jk, 05/29/2016
5.0 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

This car at sticker 52,000 is a value. At 38000 plus the dealer got me out of my lease 1 year early is outright amazing. This Ibiza blue with ivory leather is great looking. Handles great, very fast, super stable ride and all the tech you need. If you want a rear wheel drive premium sedan this car can't be beat. Drive and price an S class, 7 series,LS460, Quatraporte and you will buy this car and save 30,000 or more. An SS or Charger might cost about the same and perform as well but there is no comparison looks or build quality. This is my second Genesis and this company gets it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Luxury for the value minded

Johnnie B, 03/28/2017
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

2015 Genesis 3.8 RWD Ultimate Package - CPO (certified pre-owned) purchase. If you're reading this then you are likely in a market for a good value in slightly used luxury. And in terms of value, this Genesis can't be beat. First, this car is up there in terms of luxury and refinement as with the name brands, second, this car was $10-15k less than comparable cars when new (if you include all the options), third, it (perhaps unfairly) depreciates like a rock for the first couple years (~40% vs MSRP). So, already lower than comparable MSRP + higher than average depreciation rate = great used value. Of course none of this matters if the car is junk. It's not junk: good reliability rating (says the major consumer reporting publication), good warranty even used, all the fancy doodads except Apple Carplay and Android Auto (G80's do) and it oozes luxury making cars like the Acura TLX feel like a budget car. There's a million reviews on the 2015/2016's out there; most agree on it's luxurious fit and finish, super quiet cabin, stylish exterior, comfortable but not so sporty ride, ok mileage, awesome sound system, easy to use infotainment that's full of tech - but please do your own research. And a test drive should tell you if you'll enjoy this car's ride that clearly prioritize comfort over sportiness. My personal likes not normally mentioned in reviews: I didn't think I'd like the HUD on the ultimate package as much as I do but I love it. Heard it's one of the best in the business. But I had to switch out my polarized driving sunglasses because the HUD display will get blocked out. Found the turn radius to be surprisingly good - our driveway has a turn in to the garage so a good turn radius is much appreciated. Getting about 20 mpg with 80/20 city to hwy miles - not bad but not great. My quibbles: there's no power outlet or USB port for back seaters. Some tech and safety aids are a bit over the top: had to avoid trash on road, car alarmed haphazard steering or something to that affect. A lot of people turn off the lane keep assist. Park in your garage? Be prepared to be bombarded with beeps and warnings if the parking assist is on. CPO buyers - be prepared. Sure, these come with 10yr/100,000 power train. These days though, a car's power train should last at least that. That's why Hyundai can afford to give these out. Still, nice to have just in case that other manufacturers don't provide. Dealerships will try to sell a bunch of other warranties like extending basic that DOES NOT include electronics. 5/60k bumper to bumper transfers to CPO purchaser but electronics like the nav, infotainment is only 3/36k on the 2015 (think they increased to 5/60 for 2016 or newer) but read the fine print on the standard CPO warranties. It's not as good as most people think. They will try to sell you extended warranties for $2000+ serviced by third party, not Hyundai. I was able to negotiate down to less than half of initial asking price so be prepared to haggle if you want that. I killed that deal as soon as I found out that it's third party warranty which they didn't mention until the end. Personally, I think third party warranties are junk. And if you're going to finance, make sure you have quotes with you. I didn't but when the dealership said they got me the best rate which felt high to me, I had to question it. So I used my phone to get competing quotes. The dealership got the financing company to match savings just over 2% APR compared to what was first said to be "the best rate". What a joke.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Outstanding Car.....Dealers Suck

JM, 04/26/2016
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2015 3.8 rear drive in March 2015. It has been an outstanding car. My previous work car was a Mercedes and I like this car more. First the positives - the safety ratings are off the charts; the fit, finish and craftsmanship are all outstanding. It's over a year old now and I have had no trouble at all. It looks fantastic - mine does not have the Hyundai "H" on it so people ask me all the time how I like my Aston Martin (mine has the winged emblems only on the exterior). Inside the sound system, A/C and navigation are all excellent. I am 6'4" and I can sit up straight - so much front head room. It's quick and handles well for such a heavy car. Now for the bad news: the gas mileage is horrible. I average about 18 mpg in combination city/highway driving. The seats and suspension are too soft. The 3.8 needs a "Sport" option badly. I hate that the radio doesn't have "hard" buttons to change stations. The buttons are on the screen and hard to deal with while driving. The dealer experience has been a disaster. I have tried 3 different Hyundai dealers in the Dallas area and they are all bad. It's obvious they are used to selling cheap cars. Hyundai desperately needs to open Genesis dealerships with real customer service. I love this car and am glad I bought it. It's not perfect, but for the money you can't do any better.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love this car!

tml65, 05/27/2015
5.0 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

The 5.0 Ultimate is fast, quiet, and has a killer sound system. It is the only car I have ever owned which was delivered with no problems at all. I love everything about the car. I am glad that I read the positive reviews of the new 2015 model and decided to go for a test drive.

Report Abuse

Just looking and Bought it

William Wilson Jr, 04/20/2016
5.0 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I bought a new 2015 Genesis Sedan last month. I really went to the dealership just to look at the vehicle. The sales person hade it parked in front of the dealership. She told me on the phone that it was clean and gassed up for my test ride. When I parked next to it I could not see what color it was. (it was that dirty) when I met with her she did not know anything about the futures or the Genesis. When I got the keys and opened the car, it was like heaven, the car sold its self. I did express my concern about the sales person but I must say it sold its self. Once it was clean and I drove it, I returned and bought it. One gets a lot in that car that some of the more expenses one don’t have. I stopped for lunch and went inside not knowing that the vehicle was still running that how quite it was. Had to go out and turn it off. If you see one Buy one. The only short coming I think the Hyundai has is the Hyundai H on the trunk. I replaced mine with another Genesis wing made for the trunk. This makes the car look classes. You can find them on amazon for 9.00 or order them from Hyundai for 29.00. the one from amazon is the same one with the Hyundai packing.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

WOW!!! Great car for thousands less

DysonMan, 05/05/2016
5.0 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I have owned an Audi A8 4.2, BMW 750, and the Genesis stands tall next to them. I went to a dealer to look at the car and it literally sold itself. From the moment I unlocked the car I was blown away at the quality and finish. The car greats you with Genesis puddle lights ( a nice touch), get inside and immediately the design and quality is recognized to be top notch. Once in drive I was blown away at the quietness of the vehicle, performance and comfort all things I would have not expected from this manufacturer. Long distance this car is fantastic, comfort, style and safety all the boxes checked. I have to admit this car is everything and then some for the price. Test drive one you'll buy it!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2015 Hyundai Genesis w/ Ultimate Package

djc2015, 12/30/2014
3.8 4dr Sedan AWD (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

Before purchasing my 2015 Hyundai Genesis with ultimate package I did extensive research and took several test drives including one in which the dealer gave me the opportunity to keep the vehicle overnight. I read dozens of reviews and every last one praised the interior luxury including the real matt wood, heads up display, aluminum trim, extremely comfortable soft leather 12 way power drivers including thigh extension, effectively heated and cooled , heated steering wheel, 9.2 inch infotainment touch screen with manual controls for those who prefer them. I have no idea what vehicle was being reviewed as subsequent Edmonds reviews praise the Genesis as an exceptional value.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

One Year After Purchase

John, 07/25/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

We purchased our Genesis 3.8 exactly one year ago. Our car has the signature package, and is very well appointed for the price class. We wanted a rear wheel drive sedan, and all competitive Japanese and German makes were substantially more expensive than the Genesis. This car is solid and very well thought out. We have had NO PROBLEMS WITH ANYTHING in the 1st year. Hyundai replaced the OEM Korean tires with Michelin Primacy MXV4s at factory expense because of excess ride harshness and noise with the Hankook originals. The build quality and material quality on this vehicle is excellent, and I don't think there is a better all around value in the market today. Best car we have ever owned.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I thought I would buy a Lexus

Bob Ham, 09/08/2015
5.0 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

My wife and I decided to buy a new car, and a nice car, which we have never done. I really thought we would end up with a Lexus, as I have been buying Toyotas for many years. We drove several cars but it came down to the Lexus ES 350 and the Genesis. It was no contest. The Genesis had a much more sophisticated and pampered feel. The cabin is very quiet and the car is very sure around corners and curves, even at higher speeds. It's not a sports car, but it is confident. With as much tech as there is on cars these days you want the controls to be intuitive and easy to use, I mean, you're driving, there's no time for fumbling. The Genesis has the perfect balance of touchscreen selections, buttons and knobs where they should be. Overall, my favorite option is the 360 degree radar - all used for different tasks - parking, backing up, emergency braking, adaptive cruise, etc.. My wife's favorite option are the ventilated seats (We live in Houston - usually hot). For us, the Lexus was a dated vehicle compared to the Genesis. Driving the car was pleasant but boring; and the "mouse" was frustrating to use for an interface and the audio system sound was disappointing for such an elite vehicle. Make no mistake - the Lexus customer experience is entirely another level, but the Genesis, for us, was the superior car - by far - and our ultimate purchase. It's been about 2 months of ownership and we continue to be impressed. The only issue I have with the car is the mileage - 1st tank was 15.0 mpg in mixed driving. We'll see what the future holds. Overall, though, great job, Hyundai!! I'll post future reviews as it goes.... Update: Sept 2016. 7500 miles on the odo and we continue to enjoy the car. After break-in the mileage increased to about 19 mpg in mixed driving. The driver's seat motor got stuck all the way back, stranding my wife at night - not good. Somehow it was ok after we got it home and moved it back and forth a couple of times. The rear seat a/c heater fan switch failed and had to be replaced. Overall, would still recommend the car. Update: Sept 2017. 10,000 miles on the car and it is still very enjoyable. This is not our everyday car, as you can see, but Hyundai got this one right. One nagging problem is that my iPhone doesn't always pair with the car. It fails about 1/3 of the time - very frustrating. The car thinks the phone is paired by the indicators on the touchscreen but I still have to use the phone by hand more often than I should. One more thing...if you're planning on buying a Genesis get the leather sealed - especially in a lighter color. The tan seats took a blue hue (I'm assuming from jeans getting in and out of the car) and I had to have them professionally cleaned.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A Former BMW Loyalist

kbdoc, 01/13/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan AWD (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

A vastly superior ride to my 5 series with equivalent handling and features. Although it doesn't match the sportiness of an Audi A6 or a Cadillac CTS, it is a fantastic cruiser and should strongly be considered by anyone thinking about the Mercedes E class, Jaguar XF, or Maserati Ghibli.

Report Abuse

Hyundai Genesis after 1 year.......

Mark Vassalotti, 01/04/2016
3.8 4dr Sedan AWD (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

1/4/2017: I've owned my Genesis for just over 1 year now. I've had zero problems in that time frame. Besides normal maintenance such as oil changes, I haven't had to do anything to the car. I've been pleasantly surprised with the fuel economy that I've been getting in this vehicle. I've been getting 27-30 MPG highway on most trips. That's pretty good for an AWD car. I would have liked to see a better quality leather interior and memory seat pre-sets in the stock model. But that was my choice not to upgrade into a package that had them. I also miss the vocal sensors that my previous car had in the back up camera. (Again, an upgrade on the Genesis) My only other negative comments concern the USB ports, and the lower front air ducts. The USB ports are tucked into a small storage area that is hard to reach. And the lower air duct doesn't warm the lower leg/foot area enough in cold weather. On the bright side, my unexpected favorite feature has been the heated steering wheel. I use it all of the time in the winter months. Love it. Overall, I really like the car after 1 year of ownership. I have only owned my Hyundai Genesis for 1 month, so I'm still learning about the car and it's performance. But so far it's everything that I expected. Most of the reviews that I read about the Genesis prior to my purchase spoke about the "value" associated with this car. You clearly get more features with the Genesis than cars from other companies at the same price point. I've found this to be totally true. I decided to forgo the extra packages that are optional with the Genesis because I felt that the stock model had most everything that I want at this point. The only option I added was the AWD since I live in Connecticut. But you can clearly get some great options if you're willing to upgrade. The Genesis is pretty quiet, and has a smooth ride. But it has no performance or handling weaknesses. It's a nice blend of both. And that's what I was looking for. The interior is really comfortable. I feel like I'm in a cockpit. I'm 6' 3" and I have both ample head room and leg room in the Genesis. I like the instrumentation, and the entertainment/navigation system is touch screen, and very easy to use. My wife commented that she has "Navigation envy" since my screen is so much easier to view and understand than her car. The Blue tooth was easy to set up, and works great. I personally love the look/design of the Genesis. And the added security of the Hyundai warranty made me feel more secure in my purchase.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Automatic Cruise Control Will Spoil You Rotten

Tom C, 11/30/2016
5.0 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I am currently leasing a 2015 Hyundai Genesis 5.0 (with tech package), and after driving it for almost a year, all I can say is that I'm absolutely in love with this car. The V8 engine is quite fast off the line (way more low-end torque than my previous car, which relied on a turbocharger for power that didn't kick in until later). I love flicking on sport mode and going from 0 to 70 mph on highway on-ramps! My favorite feature (which is the real selling point) is the automatic cruise control and lane keep assist, which utterly spoils me rotten. I use it in traffic almost every single day when I commute to work, and I often ride almost all the way home without hardly even touching my gas or brake pedals. As far as I know, there is literally no other car on the market which offers this degree of performance and automatic cruise control functionality, and especially not at this price point. For example, adaptive cruise control in even the top of the line BMW and Honda cars stops working below 30 mph. Contrast with the Hyundai, which will literally maintain a crawl in stop-and-go traffic. The only time the Hyundai's cruise control turns off is if you have been sitting there at a full stop for more than a few seconds. It can then be resumed with a tap to the pedal or the button on your steering wheel, and off it goes. Another feature I absolutely love is the assisted braking feature. I love coming up to a stop light, pressing the brake in, having the assist kick in, and then being able to take my foot off the pedal and just relax. There is a very high probability that I will buy this car once my lease is up. The only exception to that would be if Tesla comes out with a cheaper car in 2 years. I'm looking forward to a car that has fully autonomous driving abilities, and it sounds like Tesla might be the first real viable car manufacturer with those features.

Performance
Value
Report Abuse

Nice car but a few bugs

John Doe, 01/31/2018
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought my Genesis 3.8 sedan Certified Pre-owned from a local dealer here in Central Florida. It had less that 10k miles. It rides and handles pretty well and has sufficient power for such a heavy car using a V6. My overall rating is above average with a few exceptions; one that's annoying and one that's actually dangerous. I'll start with the annoying problem. The radio will switch modes on it's own when I first start driving. In the first 20 seconds the radio will switch from FM to either Bluetooth or CD. I have to manually switch it back to the radio using the Mode button on the steering wheel; this is annoying. I did the system reset this morning in the garage and will test it tonight. Hopefully that fixed the problem. The second problem that I've experienced is more than annoying, it's dangerous. I take short rode trips across the state early in the morning probably 2-3 times a month. Starting in late fall when the outside temperature is in the 40s about an hour into the trip (the cabin setting on Auto) the system will without warning switch to hot/humid air blowing at a high rate which will immediately fog up the inside of the car. I'm doing 70 mph and suddenly can't see the road in front of me. I took the car to the dealer and they could not re-produce the hot/humid air problem. They had no answers. After reading the manual I learned that the car has an automatic defogger function that can be toggled on or off; I turned it off and will test it on Saturday morning when I take my road trip. I don't recall this happening in the summer months. I assume that's because the outside temperature is warm. Reading some of the blogs related to the 2105 Genesis I hear that a lot of owners are having radio problems. The radio and other electronics are not covered on the 5 year 60k mile warranty but rather 3 year/36k miles. I guess Hyundai knew they had a problem. The blogs never mentioned the window fogging problem. It's possible the problem is isolated or only occurs under certain conditions; not sure. Its a nice car but it's no Mercedes, BMW or Audi. If I had to do it again I would not have purchased the first year of a total redesign. Too many bugs and potential bugs.... Radio bug update: Went for a ride last night and tested the radio after the reset and it did the same thing; switched modes on it's own. Please understand that as a family we have owned several vehicles with the same audio options- radio, blue tooth and CD and none of them have had this issue. The radio should probably be replaced but unfortunately it's out of warranty and will cost several K's $. Will test the auto defog in the morning. I'm hoping that switching it off will eliminate this dangerous malfunction. More to follow... Update: I did some research and was able to fix both problems myself since the dealer could not or would not. The radio logic was apparently corrupted when I accepted the 1 free week of Sirious Satellite. I read on a blog site that some Genesis owners were experiencing the same problem soon after the free trial. The fix was simple; unplug the fuse that protects the infotainment system for 15 second then plug it back in. The problem has not occurred since I did that simple fix. With regard to the fogging problem, I just turned off the auto defog system (because it didnt work anyway) and that problem went away. It's a nice car with plenty of power (V6) and rides really well but I expect more for a car in that price range that Hyundai states is comparable to other high-end vehicles. I left off one other annoying thing that happens: The door that covers the gas cap will not open on most occasions. I am forced to open the trunk and manually pull the back-up cord to open it. I've had the dealer attempt to fix it twice with no luck. It's very troubling that a high-end car has this type of problem.

Report Abuse

Genesis is following in Lexus' footsteps

Doug Murray, 04/01/2015
5.0 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

Remember when Lexus first hit the market? It wasn't too long afterwards that it was a big hit! The same story is unfolding for the Genesis. This car has the luxury, style, sportiness, and power of the Mercedes E-class, BMW 5 series, Audi A6 and the Lexus GS... and for 15-20K dollars less! It can do 0-60 in 5.1 to 5.3 seconds, too! The 5 liter V8 is rated at 420 horsepower with an 8 speed auto transmission. It does everything really well. I bought the Ultimate package and I'm glad I did. My last three cars were a Mercedes and Lexus. I almost went back to Lexus, but decided to give the beautiful Genesis a chance... I'm glad that I did!!

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Problems with door locks

Francis Rosse, 11/05/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
16 of 18 people found this review helpful

Not only would Hyundai not warranty the problem with the door locks. The Hyundai representative told me the dealer was their eyes and ears. I love the automobile so I considered the cost as maintenance. Later the same dealer did not place the rear bolts back in the splash shield when they serviced the car. We received about 5 inches of snow one night and the next morning when I backed the car out of the garage the rear edge of the splash shield caught the snow. The splash shield broke out part of the front bumper under the grill. Again the dealership said it was my fault. I have the rear part of the splash shield which shows the rear bold holes undamaged. The next row of bolt holes show they were torn away. I could have pursued the issue but since my insurance had only a hundred dollar deductible, I took the easy way. The result is the local dealership will never see this automobile again. I will drive clear to Missoula for any major maintenance or warranty or my next Genesis. I truly love this automobile.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

@ 74000 miles

ddr615, 06/21/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan AWD (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Still my favorite car I've owned. I've come to appreciate the instrumentation / technology interfaces more as I was helping my family choose between new Chevy's, Toyota, & Honda recently. I believe more intuitive than others and the safety features on it were way ahead of their time for a 2015 I'm finding. I still get compliments on it from strangers at the pump which is surprising as I've owned it for 3 years. For people that drive a lot like myself, this needs to be on your short list. I still genuinely enjoy driving it - especially on the highway. There was an ongoing issue with the nav system that required them to have to replace the unit in the dash altogether within 1st year of ownership, but the dealer was easy to work with and there were no hidden fees anywhere.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Love It * (all except paying for remote start)

Artback, 11/29/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan AWD (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Great value in a luxury sedan. Happy Hyundai just announced it's launching distinct Genesis dealerships in the US, which will do nothing to enhance the driving experience, yet much to boost the prestige of driving one of the better luxury cars on the market. My 3.8 AWD is fully loaded, and short of a true remote start and auto park (offered by FAR lesser cars), I can't ask for any more features. My only gripe is that remote start is not available EXCEPT through an expensive upgrade to BlueLink, and it has to be the right BlueLink package. Seriously Hyundai? My mid-level 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited has the feature on the key FOB. For my $52K Genesis, I have to log into an APP, and work my way through several screens JUST to start the car remotely? Oh, and I have to pay for that experience....renewed annually.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very happy with this car

THorgan, 05/04/2016
3.8 4dr Sedan AWD (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Saw a Genesis in a parking lot and had to go back to check it out. Did a lot of research comparing it to similar vehicles and decided that this is a bargain - and so far it has proven to be. The base 6 is plenty powerful (311HP), the car moves very well in traffic, feels very sturdy and planted. Dash and controls are very well laid out, although I would suggest they switch the radio and temp knobs. Controls are very easy to set up, and I love being able to start the car from inside the house on cold mornings. Trunk is adequate, and rear seat passenger love the seats and ride. Totally enjoying this car, and look forward to getting in it whenever I can.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Unexpected beauty and power, for great value

Mike Patterson, 03/13/2019
5.0 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Honest evaluation of the vehicle? It's pretty darn great for 25k, a v8 in a Korean car was surprising, and most people that ask me about my car are not expecting it. The interior is a step above anything for that price, a few steps above most. The seat is the most comfortable thing ever considering I'm 6'8" and 300 pounds, I need the comfort and space. The power is baby bottom smooth, makes you wonder if you're driving an electric vehicle, because the acceleration is so effortless, but then you drop it to the floor in sport mode, and you're reminded of the v8 under the hood, it's respectful tones are like the growl of a beast of prey, letting you know it's got the stones to do something about it. The handling is good, but certainly not great. The steering is a bit loose for my tastes even in the sport mode, sharp enough that I never feel at a loss, but nothing like more sport focused whips. The suspension is gentle, to the point where it's a little loose for hard acceleration and turning, if you're looking for a drivers car, this isn't it. If you're looking for a powerful luxury sedan, then you'll be quite happy with the compromises. Installing some summer tires certainly made a great improvement on the feel, but some stiffer sport suspension would also go a long way to tightening up the cornering, of course at the expense of the buttery smooth stock ride. The infotainment in the non ultimate package sedan is bang on simply because it allows you to install android auto and apple carplay, something you miss out on with the ultimate packages larger screen and jog wheel, a happy compromise from me. Sound deadening is outstanding, I've never been in a quieter cabin, some tests on line I saw showed that the genesis sedan kept noise levels below even that of a comparable Lexus. Final topic for me is the 14 speaker Lexicon (by Harmon) sound system. The sounds is incredibly balanced, it's noted by several reviews I've ready that the 17 speaker system in the ultimate package provides a healthy boost in the bass department, the 14 speaker system is still very respectable, I found lows to be present and healthy, and highs to be of incredible fidelity, thanks to the multiple tweeters spaced throughout the vehicle. Rock and roll sounds faithful, and yet there's enough bump to enjoy some electronica. Overall consider me a happy driver!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Warranty in the business!

Chief 50, 03/31/2019
5.0 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This auto does what it was designed to do, be a Sports Sedan, dressed up as a luxury auto. Which is good and bad. Bad because of the front and rear tires are not the same size. Which means that you can only rotate side to side. Auto factory tires are Continentals, 50K warranty except because the tires cannot be X rotated Continental would only warranty for 25K. Which meant that at 20500 miles, my rear tires were down to 4/32nd. I had to buy two rear tires. Dealer wanted $735 out the door for two tires. I used my Tire Dealer and paid $535 including replacement certificates. With the $25 per tire proration. Nowhere in any of the information on this auto is this information disclosed. And no, I am not a "hot rod driver" those days were over when I moved up from my '68 442 in 1971. I live in Michigan, which means a lot of snow, ice and very cold weather. With all of the electronic safety feathers engaged, there was minimal sliding or tire spin in the snow. The low clearance in the front is a challenge when the snow is over 5 inches. However, the real issue with the snow, ice and very cold temperatures is the location of the Electronic Steering module and the Electronic control for the brakes. On a -10 degrees day in January, I came out of a store, started my auto, only to see two warning lights, Electronic Steering, and Brakes. I had no steering control at all. Not like the good old days when the power steering pump failed I could still "strong-arm it". I had to have it towed to the dealer. It turns out that Ice and snow had gathered in the pocket formed by the power steering and the oil pan. Freezing the two control modules. They removed the ice ball and disassembled both to make sure they were in working order. I was supplied with G80 as a loaner. When I picked up my auto, another one was on a tow truck with the same issue. Oh, by the way, I have the pictures to go along with this. Did I mention that I have the BEST dealership relationship that I have had in a very long time? The driver's seat cushion is off-center just a little bit. And it is the same in the G80 2019. But the extended thigh support makes it ok. My auto is 2015 year with all of the safety features that are advertised on the rest of the 2019 autos. The Smart Cruise works flawlessly! It took a leap of faith to engage it and allow it to do its thing. It will follow the car in front of you at the distance that you set. Including up to and stopping, with the resume when the traffic moves. The selectable engine management of Normal, Sport or Economy changed the shift points on the 8-speed transmission. But not enough to have an impact on MPG. Also, beware of the small trunk, Apple Play and Android Auto are standard, and work just like you want them to. The Navigation system is also very good. With Voice controls for the Nav, cell phone that needs some work. I am 6 ft, 250lbs. the auto is not a good fit for large people. I have driven it on trips of 500 miles, 300 miles, and 1400 miles in the two years that I have owned it. For a smaller person, it would be a great fit. This was a Loaner car for service, so it had 6000K miles on it when I purchased it. But it had never been titled, so I received the full new car warranty. I am looking for a G90 that I can afford as I write this. Update 2 Apr 2020: Rotors rusted beyond repair at 25K miles, the pads were still good. Rotors are considered wear-out items, so I had to purchase front rotors & pads. You should not put used pads on new rotors. I did check around, it seems that rotors are a dealer item only! That was a $475 bill. Everything on the auto is still in great working order. current mileage is 29550, which is below standard, However, this brand does not hold value well so I have negative equity on my loan, which is a big hurdle to overcome in attempting to buy another auto.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Value

jparry6, 08/12/2014
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have the 6 cylinder with premium and tech package. First with the high tech equipment this car compares favorably with a BMW or Lexus costing $20k more. This is the quietest car I have ever driven. I have had Lexus and BMW 5 series. The ride is more Lexus like. Handling isn't as sporty as a BMW but compares favorably Lexus and Mercedes. Has very little roll while cornering. At highway speeds it feels glued to the road. Have had for two months, no problems at all. Very comfortable interior and well laid out controls. Entertainment system is superior.

Report Abuse

Excellent Highway Cruiser

averageman, 02/15/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan AWD (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

An excellent cruiser. I have a long commute and I set the adaptive cruise control and this car pretty much drives itself. The ride and seats are supremely comfortable. It is NOT, however, a "fun to drive" car. It is too big and heavy. The grill is the finest looking grill I have seen (Yes it looks like a cross between an Audi and Aston Martin to me). It is very well equipped and is 15k-20k cheaper than the German alternatives. One can't even get a C class (which is an inferior car strait up against this Genesis) equipped similarly for anything near this car.

Report Abuse

Better Car Than Any BMW I have owned.

Tom Buxton, 08/15/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan AWD (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

It is hard to believe how quiet, comfortable and fun this car is. I have never owned a Hyundai, but have been considering the Genesis since the total redesign occurred. Also, the heads up display is the first I have ever owned and it is spectacular. It shows much more than just the speed and improves safety immensely. The only challenge is receiving a loaner car when taking the car in for service. I think that you should be able to expect this for a car this expensive and it will be interesting to see what happens when the new "Genesis" car company starts selling its cars. My only complaints are that the front seats are not as comfortable as they could be and even with brand new tires the car is not all that good on snow. Switching the drive train to snow mode helps some, but it still could use some help. Overall the car has been spectacular and I know I will miss it when I turn it back in.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My Bently

Joe Gazzillo, 09/16/2016
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Almost everywhere I go when I park my car if someone's nearby they stop and stare and they asked me if it's a Bentley and I tell him know it's a Hyundai Genesis and their mouth open wide and the comment is almost invariably a huge "WOW". Now I've done a few things to my car like, tinted the windows, had the muffler system of a 5.0, since I only have a 3.8, put on just to get it to Rumble or Roar,and a few other things nothing major some of them high-end wheels and rims to make it look even Sportier. Personally I don't many cars high-end Mercedes Jaguar BMW Porsche and by far, the value this car surpasses every one of them and I believe that if anyone drove or could drive blindfolded they would pick this car over any of the others

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My issues with the Genesis

londona9, 02/12/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
19 of 23 people found this review helpful

I bought the 2015 AWD Genesis on Memorial day in 2014. Wonderful great looking extremely beautiful car. I was going to buy the 5 series and bought the Genesis instead because of its value for money and Hyundai's superb warranty program. After having the car for 8 months, having driven it for just about 2k miles I have some concerns about the car. The leather in my car has been deteriorating with time, more than expected, more than I have ever noticed in my other vehicles. Also, the reading light LED inside the car have failed in the first week of buying the car. Hyundai helped me through it but it still upsets me when I think about the issues I had.

Report Abuse

Superb vehicle

howidee, 05/03/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Hyundai hit a home run on 2nd Gen Genesis redesign. This is truly a very well designed and executed vehicle with phenomenal value. I traded in a 2012 Azera for 3.8L Genesis and could not be happier. This vehicle is a thrill to drive. It starts with closing the door and hearing this solid quiet close, then experiencing a very serene ride and sharp handling for a vehicle this size. The sound level is amazingly quiet, like being in a vault. Safety features are state of the art and an indicator of what is to come.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Get more for less

Brian, 08/24/2015
5.0 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I recently sold my 2009 Audi S5 as we have a baby on the way and it just wasn't practical. I decided to go the sedan route and looked at Audi, Lexus, BMW and a few others but just couldn't get past the fact that the Genesis offered more features for way less money and did not sacrifice style and design. Once you put all the features on an Audi A6 (and fully equipped, it still doesn't match up to the Genesis's offerings), it was easily 15 grand more than the Genesis 5.0. I like fast cars and this one is fast! While the old S5 was probably a better driving car in the turns, the Genesis is quicker from a standstill. So far I have really enjoyed driving it and it has all the luxuries of a car you'd expect to cost quite a bit more. Style is important too and this one does not dissappoint. I watched a guy driving down my street stop in the middle of the road, get out and do a walk around the car. I replaced the Hyundai "H" logo on the trunk with the Genesis wings and I think he was trying to figure out what it was. You really don't see too many on the road, especially the 5.0 with the quad tailpipes. Since I got virtually the same color (Monticeito Blue) as my Audi, most people at work didn't even realize I got a new car. They thought it was the Audi. While I have not had any experience with service at the dealership yet, I am very happy with the purchase so far and would encourage anyone shopping in this market to give the Genesis a look. You'll be pleasantly surprised.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

First Korean car and like it.

K. F. Lin, 03/04/2016
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Just got it. A very nice car. Like it very much. Noise lever is low, but not the very low that I was accustomed to. lane-keeping-assist feature works well. Suggestion to Hyundai for improvement: (1) further reduce interior noise, and (2) raise the low-beam headlight to cover 30-ft further in front of the car. After one year, still like it a lot.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Po Man's Lex

Avery Williams, 04/06/2016
3.8 4dr Sedan AWD (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is a value added car. For the price, you cannot beat it. A lot goes into cars but I think the technology and sound system available on this car make it a sleeper keeper. It is fast, nimble, stylish and a head turner. It is stealing some of the Bentley logo looks, but it has that urban swag that us old farts secretly want. I have had it for a year and I really--really love this car. The primary negative is the tendency to not interface well with Apple products, but what does. Apple will have to build cars to fix this issue.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love this Car!!

Steve, 05/26/2016
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I looked high and low for this car for a year. I am glad I waited it is everything you read about. Great performance, fun to drive and looks the part!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome Car - From a Nissan Enthusiast Perspective

Ronnie in Savannah, 08/28/2017
5.0 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

As the title states I am a Nissan Enthusiast. I have had either a Nissan Maxima or an 3.5 Altima SE-R since I have been able to drive. I thought that there was NO WAY that I would ever buy a Hyundai. After visiting a Hyundai dealership on a whim (I had heard about the Genesis, so thought I would take a test drive), I must say that my thought process could not be more flawed. Although I am referring to a different class of car I bought the 5.0 2015 Genesis Ultimate and cannot be happier. This car is fantastic in every way. On top of that it is sneakily fast, although is a little thirsty when it comes to gas mileage. On top of it all, this was a certified pre-owned, so I was able to get the balance of the factory warranty and 10 years 100k warranty. This is an unbelievable car for the price. Will definitely consider Genesis again when looking for my next car in a few years.

Safety
Technology
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

best buy in the 40k segment

quanva, 05/12/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan AWD (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

the second gen is an huge improvement over the first gen. I did not own a first gen but i've spent weeks with a rental Even the basic signature is miles ahead of the 2014. overall i love the car, hyundai did drop the ball on a few things but none were enough to move on to another and most can be corrected in the aftermarket. I'm referring to the lack of foglights for the V6, which they admit is the volume model(they can be sourced and installed)the amber DRL, it's very 2004 and has NO PLACE in a in my case 47k vehicle, the canadian version somehow uses the LED strip for it's DRL the car is very quiet,great interior room (im 6'7) you can't go wrong

Report Abuse

The Germans Should Watch Out

msticks, 08/14/2014
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

I took delivery of a 2015 Genesis AWD with the Signature, tech and Ultimate Packages just over 6 weeks ago. This was my second Hyundai as I traded a 2013 Azera in on the Genesis. The car is a wonder. It has so many features it took me a few days to figure them all out. But on a purely subjective assessment the exterior exudes "luxury". The fit and finish are up to luxury car standards. The interior is also outstanding with butter soft leather, burled walnut and nary a hard plastic surface to mar the ambiance. It is a great value and you are getting a superior car. How much is a BMW propeller or Mercedes Tri-Star worth? Not the $15,000 - $20,000 they charge for a comperable vehicle.

Report Abuse

2015 Genesis

jsinterested, 05/30/2014
100 of 138 people found this review helpful

I read the recent review posted by the "professional critic" and I must say that I completely disagree, and consider he is delusional when it comes to back seat leg room. I compared the new 2015 Genesis against each of the following cars; the Audi A6, The Mercedes E350, the BMW 535i and the Lexus. After test driving the 2015 Genesis, hands down the new 2015 Genesis AWD 3.8 fully loaded, out performs, out classes in all areas all of these cars. I have personally been driving for the last 40 years Mercedes, BMW, Range Rover, and Lexus, and this new 2015 model is a game changer...period!

Report Abuse

Great car, but same lock problem

Steve O, 12/04/2015
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Just like many, I absolutely love the car and was thinking about getting a 5-series before I decided on it. Feel like I got as good or better (my wife has a BMW) car for $15-$20K less. I am having exactly the same lock problem as the person I just read. Better not be $500.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Classy Ride

Sainath Naguluri, 05/13/2016
3.8 4dr Sedan (3.8L 6cyl 8A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I was looking to buy an E-class certified, but wanted to test drive Genesis before i could make the decision. The drive is very smooth, the quality of the ride, interior and exterior is great. Everyone who sat and drove my car loved it. Love the features i got with the Signature and technology package. I've tried regular, premium and enthanol-free gas. The mpg definitely differs, ethanol-free gave the highest so far, but is equally expensive. Since I've driven only for a month now, I cant really tell about the maintenance. But the dealer gave a 2 year oil maintenance free, have to see how that goes. Definitely reccommend if anyone is planning to buy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050