Skip to main content

Used 2017 Honda CR-V EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT) Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$19,500 - $34,954

Used CR-V for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...10

1 out of 5 stars

Beware of major problem with Honda CRV 1.5L turbo

Stephen, 11/04/2018
updated 05/06/2019
EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
146 of 154 people found this review helpful

Purchased a new 2017 CRV with the 1.5 L 4 cylinder turbo engine. Over the last six months or so noticed the smell of gas fumes in the cabin when I started the ignition. These fumes would dissipate after a minute or so. The gas fumes have become more noticeable over time. Also noticed that my oil level was running high despite not having added any extra oil. I had read about problems on the internet with this engine and fuel/oil mixing problems---i.e. the smell of unburned gas in the cabin, high oil levels, etc... The dealership informed me today that I do indeed have this problem---they found gas mixed with the engine oil. Solution? None. They offered no help and said Honda has not yet even acknowledged the problem. So, in the short term all I can do is change the oil very frequently to try to protect the engine from being destroyed and hope that Honda owns up to the problem and offers some kind of fix. And no, the dealership was not willing to pay for the more frequent oil changes. From a health standpoint, one has to wonder about the effects of noxious hydrocarbons in the cabin----even if one cannot smell gas, that is no guarantee that hydrocarbon levels in the cabin are safe with the windows closed. What am I supposed to do---drive with the windows open all winter? This is a very serious problem. I feel like I've been ripped off. 5/4/19 UPDATE Never got any follow up back from Honda USA on this problem. No calls, no communication, nothing. They refuse to acknowledge that there is a major problem. I live in Colorado which apparently is felt to be a "warm weather" state (???) and was never offered the software "fix". The dealership has never followed up ( Freedom Honda in Colorado Springs) but are more than willing to send me offers on new Hondas. All the while my oil levels kept rising as gas contaminated the oil. Solution: I traded the CRV in for a Subaru Outback and am very pleased. Never buying another Honda car again. The company is duplicitous and is hoping that be ignoring this problem it will just go away.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

Fuel in oil!

Robert N. Bryant, 11/03/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
52 of 54 people found this review helpful

Do not buy this vehicle. The engine is pumping gasoline into the oil crankcase. It's not about cold weather or short drives either. Honda is lying. I have a heated garage and this happened in the summer and I drive over 45 minutes highway miles, non stop each day. The dealership will not take action or fix the problem. Long term, the engine will not last.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

Don’t Purchase! Gasoline in Engine Crankcase

Not Happy, 03/18/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
64 of 67 people found this review helpful

I started smelling fuel in the interior and exterior of the vehicle after 6 mos of ownership. My CRV has been to the dealer 4 times without resolution. Gas is getting into the oil pan (oil dilution). This is a very common failure on these vehicles. I strongly recommend that you review 2017-2018 CRV Facebook page.

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

2017 CR V…love it

Jim M T, 09/17/2017
updated 03/24/2022
EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
21 of 22 people found this review helpful

Four years of ownership , no problems, great gas mileage. Next car might be the CR V hybrid. Mar 23,2021–after 45000 miles I still love the car and have had no problems. At 30k I put on a new set of Michelin tires, and had car serviced at dealer every 5k. Will switch to my local mechanic for the next service. Would buy the car again........2018>>The car is 6 months old and I am still loving it. Would recommend it to anyone who wants a small SUV.. I never owned an SUV and never wanted one!!!!. My VW Golf (loved it!!!)lease was coming to an end and l looked at Mini Cooper, Mazda 3 and Impreza with an eye to getting something with a little more room ,yet fun to drive. The 2018 Crosstrek caught my eye since it was built on the 2017 Impreza platform with great reviews and a cargo area designed to meet our nee Update: After one year of ownership I had no problems with the car and still enjoy driving it every day. 27,000–after two years of ownership I still love the car. No problems. The Michelin tires need to be replaced this winter for best all wheel traction. Local tire shop suggested Defender tire when I replace the Premier tires. Premiers wear quickly in first 30,000 miles, but will go another 10-15k if not driven in snow. Defender are rated much better. March 23,2020—still give the car a 10 rating after 33,000. Replaced tires with Michelin Defender which are great. Mileage continues to be in low 30’s most of the time except in very cold weather which is to be expected.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

2017 CRV with 1.5 Turbo Engine - ENGINE ISSUES

Teresa L, 03/19/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
101 of 121 people found this review helpful

On February 23, 2018, my car which has 5500 miles on it, started making a horrible noise and began losing power while on the highway. The noise continued throughout the weekend. We made an appointment with dealership immediately. Honda Corporate and the Service Manager determined through video chats and conference calls that the cams were destroyed in my engine. They believe this had to do with fuel and oil mixing and getting into the engine. Honda Corporate (800-999-1009) requested that dealership replace the Head of the Engine. They have no fix for the problem with the fuel and oil mixing and destroying the engine. The Service Manager said because the government is involved due to emissions, this issue will be continuing, and at this time there is no fix. He also stated that Corporate informed him this was a Regional issue due to our climate, and they are currently trying to figure out a software fix for the problem. No resolution at this point. Corporate further stated that they are seeing this issue when the temperature is between 10 and 30 degrees. I was offered a 100,000 extended warranty and recommended that I go to the dealer every 500 miles to get an oil change to see if fuel is mixing with the oil. Shocked at the lack of resolution, I asked the Service Manager if Honda Corporate was comfortable giving me my car back after the cams were replaced with no resolution, and he said Yes. I do not believe this is ethical at all for Honda to not have a fix to an engine problem that could endanger myself and/or my family. I am not comfortable taking this car back knowing that the engine could be “scorched” again while driving to a destination. It is neither safe nor prudent to drive a vehicle that has such engine problems considering it has less than 6000 miles. This is a BRAND NEW Car! On day 19 with no car and not final resolution in sight. I am required to pick up my car when the head is replaced. PLEASE DO NOT purchase the 2017/2017 CRV EX 1.5 turbo models. There is no fix to the oil/gas problem!!!

Report Abuse
12345...10
Items per page: