Used 2008 GMC Yukon SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$9,700 - $13,985

Used Yukon for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2 years with 2008 Denali

Jay, 01/02/2010
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

Best SUV I have owned yet. Last three SUV's were Tahoes and a Jeep Grand Cherokee. I am innpressed with the creature comforts. After driving, and towing with the 6.2 liter engine I would never go back to the 5.3 liter engine. My commute is mostly highway and I average 16.5 at 70 MPH. 10 MPG towing the boat. Two problems a sticky back door lock and non sticky gas door cover that keeps opening. I have not had the dealer look at them, as I have yet go back to the dealer with 38K miles in two years.

Report Abuse

2008 Denali Problems

Sam Samson, 07/18/2009
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I've had problems with the electrical systems (door locks, wipers, Navigation system,) and now worst of all the brakes. I went metal to metal on the rears after 33,000 miles. the calipers are failing to retract properly - thus Pads wearing out totally prematurely. Normally a car goes thru 3 sets of front pads to 1 set of rears. I've had my car serviced by dealerships only, thus far. When they rotate the tires, I ask them to check the brakes since the wheels are already off. Well At the time of last visit to the dealership, (22,363 miles) All was well-- now 11,000 miles later My right rear roter is shot on the inside only due to a defective caliper. What can I do about it????

Report Abuse

Cheap Door Actuators and Handles

jadams8, 12/15/2014
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.2L 8cyl 6A)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

This will be the 3rd door actuator that has gone bad in less than 2 years on my 2008 GMC Denali. First the drivers door went bad then it was the passenger rear door and now it is the rear hatch actuator. I have received lies about the price by calling 2 different parts departments. I called one in Gainesville and one in Louisiana and the one in Louisiana quoted me 300.00 less than the Gainesville area.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it!

Misty S, 03/23/2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have owned. Used to love to trade quite frequently, but not anymore. I love my Denali. Gas mileage isn't the greatest but it's a big SUV. What can you expect?

Report Abuse

Original Owner, still like new

Bob in AZ, 01/21/2017
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.2L 8cyl 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

This is the most relieable vehicle i've owned. Its getting dated, yet drives so well I just cant part with it. Its been very good to me.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Ride EVER

2008 Denali, 05/21/2009
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 2006 GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab b/c my family needed a more comfortable ride for long trips. We looked at the Avalanche but really no difference from the Sierra with cabin space and comfort. The Denali rides like a dream. My truck had the old 5.3L V8 and felt just a little under- powered. The Denali with the new 6.2L V8 has plenty of power from towing my boat to accelerating for passing on the interstate (or even accelerating on the interstate while pulling the boat!!) Average gas mileage for my driving style is the same as the Sierra but definitely sucks more gas in town. Very comfortable, quiet ride. I do miss having a "truck" but that's what utility trailers are for.

Report Abuse

Yukon

Yukon Rob, 02/20/2008
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have owned 3 Chevy Tahoes, I decided to opt for the Yukon this time big difference between my last 2004 Chevy to the 2008 Yukon the ride is great my only drawback is the rear captian chairs it leaves no room for a full grown teenager let alone an adult. GM should consider putting the bluetooth function in but then it would kill the deal with on-star and verizon. I put 22 inch wheels on the car I am getting a little rub with 305/45/22 and the ride has gotten a bit harder. Other than that I am very happy

Report Abuse

Great Truck

Mike, 05/13/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Just so nobody gets confused, after reading all of the other reviews; the biggest complaint was fuel economy. I gave fuel economy a 10 because I knew what I was getting into and the fuel economy is expected per the size and weight of the vehicle. I have owned 17 cars and the thus far my 2008 SLT Yukon is the best one. It has a lot of interior space; it performs well on the back roads and highways; the seats are very comfortable for short and long trips; it is fun and easy to drive; the all instruments are within arms and easily accessible; and the configuration of all instruments are easily learned.

Report Abuse

08 Denali Black/Black

Luxury Ride, 09/03/2007
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Just purchased an new 2008 Denali and I am loving this vehicle. The grade of leather and the amount of features make driving almost like flying a jet. Engine has great acceleration and the interior of the car is very plush.

Report Abuse

Great purchase

FL Buyer, 07/16/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This truck rides and looks great! It's been nothing but a pleasure since I purchased it 2 mos ago and I would go back tomorrow and do it all over again. I have three friends that own Escalades and they love my truck especially for $10K less because it drives and looks identical. My other cars are a BMW 750 LI and a BMW 545, but we like driving the truck. Gas mileage is averaging about 14 MPG, but my 7 Series gets only about 20 MPG and the 5 Series gets 18 MPG (both premium) and this truck runs on mid- grade! Go get a good deal on one today!

Report Abuse

Awesome Vehicle

CW, 08/26/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a very nice vehicle, my wife loves the smooth ride. I enjoy knowing my family is safe with the AWD stabletrac system. Avg 14 MPG, but I knew that prior to purchasing (a small price to pay for safety and luxury).

Report Abuse

Love this Denali

Saul Boyd, 01/18/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have driven and owned many automobiles. The Denali is a pleasure to drive. I traded my TrailBlazer in for the new Denali and the gas is not any worse than my TrailBlazer. It was a nice auto. I looked at every auto maker Toyota, Lexus, and others from outside the country only to find not one could pull me away from GMC.

Report Abuse

Great SUV

quikag, 01/24/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love driving my '08 Yukon Denali. The power is good, the comfort is awesome and it's just a nice SUV to drive. With the deals out there on these trucks, it's definitely worth checking out. I got $16k off sticker on a loaded '08 towards the end of the model year.

Report Abuse

Great Surburban

d, 04/24/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Yes I said Surburban, because after 25 Chevrolets I traded up to a GMC- I liked the Styling better, This is a quantum leap in vehicle quality, styling and interor design. It's quiet, comfortable and roomy. The 5.3 with multi displacement is smmoth- can't even tell when its in 4 cyl mode. Remote start is a hit and the tri zone AC is a winner- everyone gets their temp selection

Report Abuse

2008 Denali AWD

lgb, 10/31/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We first test drove the yukon SLT to replace our 2005 Denali. We never used the rear DVD player or Navigation in our 2005 so we thought we would down grade to the regular Yukon. NOT! Had to go back to the Denali series because the regular yukon didnt compare to the comfort we were used too. So we purchased a 2008 Denali.

Report Abuse

Great ride

Tim, 12/29/2016
SLE 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought with 155000 miles from good first owner.great smooth ride , put 10000 more miles already. Very comfortable, lots of features, everything works. Remote start,seat warmers, Bose speakers. Plenty of room for 6 people. Would recommend this car to anyone

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best SUV ever!

Dave in Florida, 06/29/2019
Denali 4dr SUV (6.2L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've owned mine for over three years and I love it. I owned a Tahoe and it always had problems, then I moved up to the Yukon and WOW what a difference. The Yukon is solid as a rock, tons of power in that 6.2 V8 and I've towed my boat 28' Cruiser on my thri-axel trailer with no problems and that's over 9,500 pounds.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Overall a Great Vehicle

AnnePl, 12/07/2019
SLE 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My Yukon has nearly 190k miles on it, and only has a few minor issues. The brake pedal is out of adjustment, which interferes with the cruise kicking on. I’ve had to re-dye the leather on the steering wheel, and the back-up assist isn’t working, due to a faulty sensor. Other than that, the vehicle has not been in the shop since I bought it in 2016. I’ve put 60k miles on it since I bought it. For the age & mileage, I am very happy with this vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

SUV love hate relationship

TC, 02/15/2020
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (6.2L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my 2008 Denali but it does have some reliability issues. I have owned it for 6 years and have had to have the rear differential re built once and the transmission twice. The door handles have been replaced twice and now I have a broken one again. They are poorly designed cheesy plastic. Great truck to drive but more issues keep popping up. My truck has 119,000 miles on it now and I will be shopping for a replacement soon. Not sure I will replace it with another Denali because of all of the issues.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great used vehicle

Jeff, 04/01/2020
SLE 4dr SUV 4WD w/3SA (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 2006 Sequoia on this 2008 Yukon SLT because the Sequoia was junk, which was surprising for a Toyota. the Yukon is a far superior vehicle with more power and less road noise and wind noise. Its extremely comfortable and is loaded with features that I love. I will always have a GMC from now on. Gas mileage is around 14 to 15 but my Sequoia was only around 11 so no big deal.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Denali promises but does not deliver

skytop, 05/30/2008
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

My '08 Denali Yukon XL SUV came to me after GM lemon lawed my first Denali. So now I have a second one. This one had little problems until yesterday. It suddenly dropped dead on the road. It went completely dead. Absolutely nothing worked including the much vaulted OnAtar. It did not work at all. I had to use my cell phone to call the dealer who called OnStar and after a 2 hour wait, a tow truck came and flatbedded the 2 ton dead whale to the dealer. I am sorely outraged that a 4 week old so called 'premier' vehicle should totally drop dead on the road stranding the occupants. The dealer could not determine what the problem is and now I am once again victimized by GM. Bummer!

Report Abuse

Misfire Misfire Misfire

Rob, 03/11/2009
0 of 4 people found this review helpful

Vehicle broke down on us 5 times in less than 6 months, and the dealership could not figure out the problem, or lack of trying to figure out the problem. One day someone got a bright idea to see if any another dealerships are experiencing the same problem, the vehicle will start until it gets hot, but don't turn it off because it won't start up again. Anyhoo, some other dealer was having that same problem and at last it was fixed.

Report Abuse

Settled

Lu, 05/12/2008
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I test drove 6 vehicles before I settled for this one. This one wasn't even my 1st choice but I couldn't pass up the great deal I was getting and so far its been good. The handling is pretty good and fuel economy is what can be expected out of an AWD SUV. The vehicle comes with a lot of standard features(denali) like heated seats, remote start, etc. My only real problem is the 3rd row seat. Does not fold down to the ground and is made for children. Other models like the 2008 Toyota Sequoia and 2008 Lincoln Navigator can sit full grown adults back there and does fold down to the ground and other crossovers of GM do this so why not the full size SUVs.

Report Abuse

Wow! I'm impressed!

Ohio Yukon, 01/06/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2008 4WD GMC Yukon SLE for my wife after she wrecked her 2004 Honda Pilot. We initially were going to purchase another Pilot, however, being the savvy consumer, I also looked at the Dodge Aspen, the GMC Acadia, and the Buick Enclave. While we were at the GMC dealer, my wife noticed the Yukon after she test drove the Buick Enclave. We decided to give it a test drive and Wow! was I impressed. Even after just driving a loaded Buick Enclave the Yukon stood out as a more comfortable, smoother, and much more roomy vehicle. Plus with the $8000 dollar cash back incentive coupled with employee pricing it was an easy decision to make.

Report Abuse

World Class

AD, 01/05/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned or been around GM products for years. They have evolved over the years into real world class vehicles. This new Yukon is absolutely fabulous. It's huge, but gets reasonable gas mileage for it's size. It's quiet, roomy, classy looking and handles well. We considered the Land Rover LR3, but frankly, don't need and wouldn't use the off road capability. The LR3 is a very nice truck with snob appeal. It's certainly no nicer, and certainly does not have the reliability of a GM product. It's expensive, but in line with it's competitors. Get the 20" wheels and handling improves impressively.

Report Abuse

Great SUV from GMC

Montanadan, 01/13/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We purchased the GMC 08 Denali after many reviews and this SUV offered the best value compared to the other options,(BMW,Lexus,Ford,etc). We love the way it drives, comfortable layout, nice interior features. If you are looking for 30 MPG, this is not your vehicle. The only negative is the gas mileage but we knew that before buying it. I strongly recommend the GMC Denali if you like great performance (6.2L V-8 for towing),great interior features(heated seats,steering wheel,comfortable seating with lots of room) and nice look (new body style from the 2006 denali). I would recommend one to my friends and family but get a gas card.

Report Abuse

Yukon SLE 4.8

Chuck, 04/02/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my 6th SUV and I must say it is by far the best. I've only had the Yukon for 2 months and have put 2K miles on it, but so far it has been totally problem free. As it is getting broken in, the performance and gas mileage (currently between 18 and 19) are improving. For its large size it corners really well which I attribute to the stabilizer bars. If put into passing gear around 50, it appears a little anemic, so if I were to do it all over, I may opt for the 5.3 liter or get 3.73 rear end.

Report Abuse

Great ride and looks super!

RWT, 04/02/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned GM vehicles for 15 years now and this is by far the best I have ever had. I owned mostly 2 Chevys until this one. Looked for over 5 months and compared the Tahoe, Ford and Yukon and it was not close. The Yukon just looked and felt better. I saw the Yukon on the road and it always made me stop and look. Gas is hard, but it is for everyone right now. Only complaint I have is the folding 3rd row seat. Don't know if it is just mine but it is difficult to move and almost impossible to replace is removed. Should have looked at power seats there.

Report Abuse

Perfect Truck

Ron, 04/18/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Love the Denali. Build quality is much improved. Far more power and even better ride than my previous SUV (Toyota Sequoia) and my 2007 H2.

Report Abuse

denali

Ron Hatfield, 05/01/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I havearound 10000 kms on this truck. It works great and has lots of power and speed. I have a 97 yukon gt too and this has 400000 sobig fan of yukons. This one has alot more technolgy than the old one but both are great

Report Abuse

Great SUV

Rick, 05/03/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We were putting to many miles on our 2005 Cayenne S and needed a second SUV. After doing tons of research, I found the Denali to be the best value in it's class. The ride and comfort are a plus, the 6.2 V8 has a lot of power, but is slow in getting there. The transmission needs improvement, it could be a little smoother. We found the Denali worked best for us on long trips, four adults can travel in sheer comfort.

Report Abuse

Great truck, bad MPG

kthomas1975, 05/25/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great truck, horrible gas mileage. I've averaged 15 mpg. This truck has plenty of power, great ride, quiet cabin (except for the roar of my V8 when I accelerate. leg room is great. I'm 6'5" tall, and love to sit in the back with my toddler when my wife drives. I wish I had opted for more options, and the Tahoe is exactly the same truck, but several hundred dollars cheaper similarly equipped at most dealerships. If you don't do long commutes, and have a need for lots of room, you can't go wrong with a Yukon or Tahoe. I have 40,000 miles and have never had any problems.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050