Used 1999 GMC Yukon SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,028 - $4,240

Used Yukon for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

buy a yukon!!

tragedy, 09/20/2011
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

i bought this truck its a 99 yukon 4 yrs ago it currently has 139,500 miles. ive replaced all brakes,water pump,radiator,battery brakes i did just so i could feel secure,others i believe had something to do with the weather where i was living and coolant not being fresh it was 7 degrees when my radiator cracked lol.. ive not had any issues with the truck never stranded ive posted it 3 times to sell it and 3 times i blew off the buyers lol i got cold feet i love my truck and cant see myself selling it for no reason other then bad gas mileage but i bought a shadow bike to make up for my gas mileage so ill keep it now really reliable truck i recommend it to any1

Report Abuse

99 GMC Yukon SLE

Darcy1, 06/27/2003
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I enjoy the pick up that this vehicle has. The smooth ride and comfortable interior.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

Steve1, 06/14/2003
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

This is the best vehicle I have ever owned, and I'll probably put 200,000 miles on it before I'm done. My only complaint is a common one, the brakes are not suitable for a vehicle of this weight (A problem corrected in the 2000 model). If you don't drive like a maniac you'll have no problems stopping, but the front brakes will wear out quickly no matter what you driving habits are. Also, if you set your cruise control to 65, you can get 18-19 MPG on the highway. That's pretty good for a 5000 pound truck.

Report Abuse

1999 GMC Yukon SLT 4WD

Charlie, 09/04/2009
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought my Yukon New and have owned it for 10 years now with 165,000 Miles. It was purchased for the four wheel drive. The drive train has performed flawless. Early repairs were leaky heater hose eng. block nipple; Exhaust gaskets RR; tightened the oil filter/cooler engine mounting. The original brakes are undersized and I replaced the front rotors with cryogenic cooled/hardened “Praise” units at 20k along with their stage III pads, rear brakes just the “Praise” shoes. These rotors lasted 120,000 miles. One problem engine not starting after a foggy nite or sitting awhile...The security light is on. OK after setting awhile. Overall the vehicle is stable with lower than Honda maint. costs.

Report Abuse

Denali

B C T, 10/03/2006
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

This truck is far greater than any Ford ever built. It is the perfect combo of a heavy duty truck and a luxury vehicle. Anyone who doesn't like the gas mileage think about this, you are pushing about 6000 lbs down the road. It is still a truck and for that the mileage is actualy not that bad, depending how you drive it. The Denali is the most comfortable vehicle I have ever driven, car or truck.

Report Abuse

Mr. Denali

cbg1688, 06/28/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Overall very satisfied with the vehicle. Received plenty of great compliments on looks and comfort. The only problems were coolant system related which ended up costing me a grand total of $500 over four years...not bad! I have heard of brake problems from others with the same vehicle which seem to be very common on the 2000's NOT the 99's for whatever reason. Great room for beach trips, moving, friends and/or weekend getaways. Thanks GMC for the great memories. -Chris Gorham

Report Abuse

Great SUV

Great SUV, 04/02/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned this vehicle 6 years and have had no major problems. Replaced front brake pads twice and rear drums once in 125,000 miles. Most of these miles were cross country highway miles in both snow and heat. All my friends have been impressed with the quality of this vehicle.

Report Abuse

Yukon

The Webmeister, 10/27/2003
4 of 9 people found this review helpful

This car is a piece of crap. Starter, head gaskets, air conditioning, sloppy steering, squeeky interior, door handles break off, damn near blows over when meeting a truck, vapor locks when hot, rear air doesn't work, leather falling apart.

Report Abuse

Denali

duck mallard, 03/11/2002
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

This truck is a great big tub of goo. The only reason to have one is for towing. For that, it is much better than the Expedition, as the steering and ride is far superior. "Hey - where did all my gas go?"

Report Abuse

Engine Problems

CMAC, 08/26/2010
2 of 6 people found this review helpful

One of the other reviews says that there is a misfire in the 5th cylinder. Mine misfires from the 6th cylinder and shakes like crazy when put under a load. There is a TSB from GM about the problem. It is a defect from the factory. What happens is the sleeve on the valve stems deforms from the heat and begins to bind. Instead of a recall, GM chooses to ignore the fact that these engines are defective. I called GM to see if they would repair the defect and they declined. Last one I will buy. Had to replace the transmission, fuel pump, radiator and the engine is screwed up. Plus the door handles are falling apart and most of the power door locks stopped working. Lemon

Report Abuse

Fantastic Ride

Rodney Ulmer, 05/04/2017
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is a great SUV, best I've ever owned; handles good on road (Ice and snow). Heavy enough for windy days, I have over 300,000 miles and have had only minor problems (Less than $500 repairs) and I pull a 28' camper every weekend. Mileage is poor, but the comfort and handling make up for it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Back to Ford

livinhi, 11/12/2009
1 of 6 people found this review helpful

I purchased this 9mo ago it had a few mile on it 150000 to be exact but thats how I purchase all my cars. This thing had so many problems with it I am shocked. I am usually a Ford person but love the looks of the Denali. Wow never again. The slip yoke problem on this thing is enouph to drive a person crazy. The mechanics cant seem to fix it or even find the problem, but they sure can hear it banging, it feels like the entire drive line is going to fall off. So Im done with GM back to Ford!!

Report Abuse

Run Denali Run

Karen Williams, 05/10/2005
1 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have never experienced such poor quality from a vechile. I feel sorry for anyone that has purchased a Yukon and is having problems. The amount of money spent on this vechile could have purchased several vechiles of better quality.

Report Abuse

Couldn't Have Better!

Dan, 11/12/2008
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I see a lot of reviews of people saying that is is a poor vechile. Well don't forget that it wa made in 1999! It's not perfect like it was the day you pucharsed it, if you got it brand new like we did. It has been in our famliy since it was bought and has brought a lot of fun to us. What year are we in...2008 so yeah it's 9 years old. Of cousre it's gonna be having problems. It's old not new no more! I love my Yukon and feel very safe and love pushing faster than I should but I don't care because it can handle it. 255 hp is something!

Report Abuse

CDB's Yukon

ChBobII, 01/14/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Has 64,000 miles & no problems except 2 battery replacements. Ride on the open road excellent. Back seats comfortable in long trip. Clam shell doors would be better for some uses.

Report Abuse

Kept us safe in a bad accident, but...

wweezzyy, 01/21/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Horrible mileage-about 10MPG. Also so many repairs required on a 5-6-7 year old car! Brakes only lasted 20000 miles. Door handles and hinges needed replacing. Needed new brake master and vacum. However all is forgiven, because I had a very nasty accident and my passenger and I both walked away safely.

Report Abuse

99Denali

AML, 06/11/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The vehicle has performed excellent, is a great car. Gas mileage is not too great but I was aware and accepted this when I purchased the vehicle. I and my family have been very pleased to date. The amenities are great and the car has been a tank through deep water ( we were in a flood last year, and in snow )

Report Abuse

Good truck for its age

Kansas Girl, 08/28/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle with 77K miles on it, one owner, maintenance record available. Have had to replace the water pump, fuel pump, spark plugs wires cap and rotor all of which are probably a maintenance issue at over 100K miles now. Have had problems with check engine light coming on and code says misfire in 5th cylinder. Have had it worked on at 3 different places and none can figure out the problem for sure...is it a valve or injector problem?? Probably a $700- $1500 fix. Never has left me stranded anywhere. Good overall vehicle with lots of options for its age.

Report Abuse

Great trik

airborne, 10/24/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Yukon with 66000 miles, i have had to replace the front right lower balljiont and rear brakes. I love the way it handles the gas mileage is good for a truck its size 14city/18hwy.

Report Abuse

Great SUV

theone, 11/30/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Yukon on NOV of 08, its a great suv. It handles good in the snow and around town. So far had to replace rear brake and power steering pump. I love to drive it the only thing i dont like is the 255 hp. but its still enough to keep up with the newer vehicles.

Report Abuse

a great SUV

miguel, 12/21/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 03 Pathfinder for the Yukon. I haven't looked back since i love the way it drives, and the cargo space is 3 times better than the Pathfinder. Gas mileage is about the same as the smaller SUV's 14 city 17- 18 hwy. I have replaced the rear brakes and front brakes, I need to replace the water pump. I do most of the repairs myself, the parts are not expensive they are easy to come by. It can drive thru the snow with no worries. I love the truck and will not get rid of it anytime soon.

Report Abuse

a good suv

chicago , 02/23/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle in 2008 with only 66000 miles. A year later and 85000, i still love it. I did run into a repairs like an alternator, water pump, fuel pump and rear brakes that needed to be replaced. I did most of the work myself. The ride quality is great i feel like i'm riding on air. The room is awesome, i love the fact that its sort off like a truck but with the SUV look. I love my truck even though i needed to replace parts on it, but it is 10 years old.

Report Abuse

Great family car

sugarpuff, 10/11/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought our 1999 Yukon new off the dealer showroom. It has been an awesome family vehicle. Our kids are grown and now toting around the grandkids. Love this vehicle.

Report Abuse

Good Used Vehicle

johnb, 07/29/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

reliable classy car, only negative is brakes are mushy.

Report Abuse

a lot of problems after warranty expired

Dawn, 10/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

sincle 40,000 miles i have replaced the transmission 2 times, the air conditioning does't work and the ABS system needs to be fixed. i have had to put several thousand dollars into this already expensive vechile. buy the extended warranty.

Report Abuse

Great Value

Lance 1, 11/21/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Having trade my 00 Sierra w/5.3 ext. cab for a 99 Yukon wasn't sure but glad we did it. Much more family friendly. Since new body styles (00+ models) and features are more wanted and much more $$$ makes these models much more affordable. Our SLT has every option you could get for 2WD. Have had ours 3 mon. Runs great. Feels just as powerful as the 5.3 and has more torque. Perhaps not as refined in delivering the pwr. Fuel econ. is worse 13-15 city but expected that. Nice quiet ride. The Michelin XC make for a good secure drive.

Report Abuse

99GMC

Sandra Hegna, 12/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ride excel, looks great, mileage not as good as been told

Report Abuse

Snow, Rain, Sleet or Mt. Everest

Mt. Man, 02/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had some nice trucks, but nothing even comes close to this. The power of a pickup and the ride of a lazyboy. My '99 yukon is the strongest most reliable vehicle I have owned yet. The 5.7 vortex 350 out preforms most other trucks. The ride is simmilar to that of a Park Ave. I think i am sold for life on Yukons....

Report Abuse

Snow, Rain, Sleet or Mt. Everest

Bonsoue, 02/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had some nice trucks, but nothing even comes close to this. The power of a pickup and the ride of a lazyboy. My '99 yukon is the strongest most reliable vehicle I have owned yet. The 5.7 vortex 350 out preforms most other trucks. The ride is simmilar to that of a Park Ave. I think i am sold for life on Yukons....

Report Abuse

My Truck:-)

D.Davies, 07/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has been an extremely reliable truck in which I have had no major mechanical problems & it currently has 100,600 miles. It is the most comfortable & roomy vehicle I have owned (friends say the back seat feels like your sitting on a couch). Also for being such a big SUV, the ride is very smooth. I have nothing at all bad to say about this truck, I absolutley love it. (Would be nice if the gas milage was a little better, but hey its a BIG truck!!!)

Report Abuse

Hectors Denali Review

savage84ss, 09/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A great vehicle for the city and country,especially if you live in northern California. The fuel economy isnt so great.

Report Abuse

Yukon 1999

Maribel Romero, 01/13/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A single mom who is dependant on this sturdy automobile to get her family and friends (both elderly and young) safely around town. Family and friends ride along comfortably with plenty of leg room and added room for groceries and/or carry ons. When properly cared for, it has proven dependable and rides smoothly. I enjoy it very much and like it especially during winter season. I highly recommend this year and model.

Report Abuse

A Believer

Richard Moran, 04/20/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned just about every Ford and Chevy make out there, but GMC made a convert out of me. I'm now the proud owner of my third GMC and I've loved every one. Call it "Professional grade" or whatever, but when it comes to reliability, comfort and performance, my GMC's have all been a cut above any of the Fords or Chevys I've owned.

Report Abuse

It's been a good truck to own

RJ, 06/28/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought it a year old w/ 36k miles for $25k. I wish it had a 3rd row seat available back then. It's time to trade it in for a minivan or Freestyle wagon. Trade in is $8K so it cost me $3400 a year in deperciation. Mechanically truck has held up very well. The fuel pump went out at 100k. Cost $1000 (mainly because we were stranded out of town and could not shop around for repair). ABS doesn't work. There was a recall in Canada, but it doesn't apply to the US. It will cost about $800 to fix. Intake gasket leaked ,causing loss of heat/coolant - cost $800 to fix. Overall I'm very happy witht he choice. The truck has become too unreliable for my wife and young kids, so it's time for a new car. I'd definitely get the 2005 or later Expedition if I got another SUV. Have drivien my dad's and brothers on a few trips and they are outstanding

Report Abuse

Yukon 4wd

Robb, 09/01/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Solid running vehicle, tows great. Good sound proofing for silent interior. Lots of room but easy to drive. Routine maintenance!

Report Abuse

Comfort at a cost

S. Virgilio, 01/02/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased with 30,000+ miles on it, by 120,00 it was toast. Comfortable and roomy interior, great sound system and dash design. Travels well on highway. Disappointed with performance. Rear drum brakes went a week after purchase; engine ruined due to gasket/coolant problems even though scrupulously maintained. We've gotten well over 180,000 on our other vehicles. Last GMC big rig I'll buy.

Report Abuse

nice surprise

gamer05, 05/29/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I read a review on this site that said their yukon shakes at around 70mph. Mine does too. There is no evidence of abnormal tire wear though. Other than that this vehicle has been remarkable. It is a dependable, secure ride. Very smooth ride for an SUV. Press the accelarator with slow and steady pressure for the best acceleration...

Report Abuse

100000 mile follow up

Lance 1, 06/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have reached the 100000 mile mark. Still like the Yukon. However, intake manifold gasket replaced, apparently a very prevelent problem on the OEM gasket after the 60000 mile mark hold on to your check book 400-800 dollar repair depend who you call etc., fuel pump a costly 200-315 dollar part depend where bought, water pump, and wiper motor. Rides just as smooth at 50 mph as at 80 mph. Tranmission still no problem. Everything else good.

Report Abuse

Nice SUV

utgmcguy, 09/12/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Thanks to my grandpa I have this SUV. It has over 125,000 miles on it and still runs great! No leaks or anything. It may be almost 6 years old but it still looks new. The leather seat with heat for all passengers keeps everyone cmofortable.

Report Abuse

My 1999 Yukon SLT 4WD

Gene Valentine, 06/16/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall, I am satisfied with the vehicle and expect several more years. I do have issues with the following: - Brakes: front set is too small, rears don't automatically adjust, a common problem with this model. The bulbs behind the radio/CD buttons died. The dealer said the entire unit had to be replaced .The CD player is very poor quality, was repaired twice, and I will replace it with a better unit; The intake manifold cracks, another too common problem for '99, it should have been subject of a recall. The center console should have come with a lock.

Report Abuse

Love the 'KON

Howie, 07/10/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought in '02 with 28K miles - currently have 93k miles. This Yukon has been a great truck. Tow 5K lb trailer to beach and to mountains with no problems. I did however put a 10K lb tranny cooler on myself, well worth the effort for the peace of mind when towing. 2 boys (getting ready to be 3) love it as well. Put up a pet gate for the dogs when we head to the hills. It has truly been a utility vehicle. Have had to replace battery once, carmax had a battery in it that was >100 crank amps too small. Brake pads, water pump gasket at 70K and drive belt at 80K. Threw on a RAVIN perf exhaust and pipes, 2 sons love the sound of the 5.7L when we get rolling. In short love it - great utility.

Report Abuse

SMMMOOOOOOTTTTHHHHHH

kingpin, 05/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

What could you expect after stepping out of a Isuzu Trooper? This "truck" is like sitting in a Lazy Boy recliner and coasting at 90 on the Interstate. Sure the gas mileage hurts but Bush is taking care of that for me. Solid as a rock, I never have to worry about my children's safety in this beauty.

Report Abuse

Big Bruiser

ANK_Massachusetts, 05/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was concerned about reliability given some of the reviews I had read on the internet. Anyway, picked this up at 47K and now have 69K on it. Changed the oil and lubricated the chassis every 3.5K. No problems to report The YUKON is big and comfortable with smooth acceleration from that big V8. The dual AC can make it COLD fast and the heated seats were such a relief this past winter while the car warms up. Would not buy it new! Too much money! But a few years old w/ under 50K is a fair price. Too wide for my garage unless I fold the side mirrors

Report Abuse

MY Denali

Michael Ohmer, 03/12/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has been the best darn SUV I have owned or driven. Not one problem except for the short brake pad life.

Report Abuse

Part of the family

Joe Park, 03/25/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought the Denali when it first came out, and it has served well. It needed the typical GM repairs(Fuel pump, fuel injectors, manifold gasket, weak brakes)but when they are all fixed, she still runs well. Now it's lifted 2.5", has Brembo brake calipers, disc brake rear conversion, full MSD ignition, and sport sway bars. It handles great, tows well, and starts perfectly. The V8 is so smooth. Can't believe it has 150,000k miles on it. Only beef is the low mpg's. At least it takes regular gas. This SUV has become my weekend toyhauler.

Report Abuse

99 Yukon

99 Yukon, 04/18/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought my Yukon brand new. Love the looks & comfort. Don't like the gas mileage & repair costs. Brakes are poor, replaced head gasket, brake lines, brakes, fuel pump. Have 93K miles; exterior is mint but told the underside is rusting out under me. Rear doors leak and hinges sqweak. This is my 3rd GMC truck and I thought I would never change. Now I'm not so sure.

Report Abuse

1999 Yukon

Rr, 08/31/2016
SLT 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Uses a lot of gas but for the most part very reliable vehicle very powerful truck Bought it for 1200 or 233,000 miles was a little skeptical if this vehicle is maintain You could easily get 300k One of the best engines have a built only issues you're probably have fuel pump but before you replace the fuel pump check the fuel pump relay a very nice diagnose problem do not hesitate on his truck just drove this truck 800 miles nonstop great handling great power I bought this as a back up better than most new cars that I've rented orsay new trucks

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

1999 GMC Yukon SLT 4WD

Dylan Ferguson, 02/18/2019
SLT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Pros: • 4-wheel drive • Easy to clean • Good visibility • Lots or storage space • It’s a brick Cons: • Leather seats stay cold in winter • Loose steering • Takes a long time to heat up in the winter • Problems with door handles • It’s a brick I got my Yukon when I was 15 and have had it for 5 years and it has approximately 235,000 miles on it. It’s still runs just as good as the day I got it, with a few fixes here and there. I appreciate having a vehicle that can get around well in the snow. There have been many occasions where I’ve been out doing things with people when conditions are bad and I’m the only one able to drive confidently. Last week 4 friends and I spent 20 minutes trying to push car up a hill because it was the only road out of the area we were in, and as soon as a got back into my Yukon I was able to get up the same hill in about 20 seconds. Another plus to this vehicle is the many windows all around. Every car I’ve ever been in I’ve struggled to be able to see clearly when either backing up or fitting through tight spaces. Instead, with this Yukon, I have clear sightlines in every direction and can easily tell how far I am away from something. My junior year in high school I was hit by a person flying out of their driveway and barely felt a thing, on the other hand their whole front end was messed up. Although I do love this vehicle and am very glad I purchased it, there are obviously problems I have found with it. The steering can feel a little loose when driving on the interstate and even more so when its windy. This can be annoying on long drives because you need to compensate more for the wheels slightly changing direction. I have also had problems with the door handles, the driver side door from the outside and the front passenger from the inside. There was no major hits that the handles or the doors took that I could figure would have broken anything. But somehow a rod inside the door panel became bent on both doors and made it so the handles did nothing. Overall I’ve never regretted choosing to buy this Yukon as my first vehicle and I have been in many situations where I’m very glad I had it. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a robust, any-situation kind of vehicle that can handle whatever you can throw at it.

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

GMC fullsized SUV ROCKS‼️

Attila Szullo, 06/15/2019
SLT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is still cruising with nearly 200,000 miles on it! The seats are still comfortable, the ride exceptional, it’s safe, has great visibility, is easy to drive. Reliability is exceptional. The only negative is the headlights...that are dim at night.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050