Used 2005 GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price
$17,000

Used Sierra 1500 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Greta truck

Alan, 04/03/2010
4dr Crew Cab SLE Rwd SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

This has been a great truck. One person wrote that his wouldn't tow, but he had the 6 cylinder. Why someone would not buy a V8 for towing is beyond me. My 5.3 has been flawless and I often tow a boat, motor, and trailer weighing 7000 lb and the G38 locking differential has allowed me to get up any boat ramp. I added a K&N cold air intake and Gibson cat back exhaust and get 22 MPG on the interstate and and 28 at 55 MPH.

Report Abuse

Used Cowboy Cadallic

Edward A. Brown, Jr., 12/30/2017
4dr Crew Cab Denali AWD SB (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

The crew cab option means you have a short bed. If you want to haul something the size of a sheet of plywood, you have to have the tail gate down. Since this vehicle has a 6 liter engine it gets lousy gas mileage but it will pull 8000# with no problems.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mostly electrical problems

Dennis Brooks, 08/04/2010
4dr Crew Cab SLT Rwd SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck new in 2005, have put 67k miles on it in 5 years. This is a very comfortable truck. I took it on many 300 mile trips without a rest stop, feeling like I had only driven to town. However the many electrical problems has me wondering about the quality of gmc. Less than 5k the instrument display showed "electrical malfunction". The dealership repaired and did not give me reason. Other problems are evap solenoid, power door lock, brake master cylinder, bumping in steering column, 4wd transfer case switch, speedometer would go to 0, seat heater shorted out, headlights and dash lights flicker anytime you hit brakes or use Windows. The dealer gave an extra 2 yr warr for free due to the issues

Report Abuse

Best vehicle I have ever owned!

Jeff, 02/17/2008
4dr Crew Cab Denali AWD SB (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I just bought this truck used and it looks like it just rolled off the factory line. I have owned 2 F-150s and 04 Dodge Ram Quad cab. This by far blows them away. I traded a BMW 525i for it and I actually enjoyed the ride home better. My kids love the factory RSE DVD player and the room in the backseat compared to the other trucks I have owned. I love the driver's seat with the 4 point lumbar support, dual heated and powered front seats and very soft leather front and back. I have always jumped from vehicle to vehicle but I think I have found what I was looking for - a vehicle that has all the comforts of a sports car and the convenience of a pick-up truck.

Report Abuse

Needed work but worth it.

murrayst45, 05/26/2011
4dr Crew Cab SLE Rwd SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought this in fall of 2007 with 60 thousand miles. Pumped a lot more money into it than I thought I would have to, to start out. Wheel hub bearings on both sides. Tie Rod ends. Ball joints. Air conditioner blower motor. u joints. Overhauled front brakes and rotors. This was over a course over 60 thousand more miles I have pumped into it. 122k on it now. I really do like this truck though, I do not pull very much and I love the feel behind the wheel. If it was 4x4 it would be perfect, but its very dependable and hasn't ever broken down on me on the road. I'm hoping to get several more miles out of it. Only problem now, the wheels never stay in balance or alignment and I never offroad it.

Report Abuse

2005 Sierra Denali

Dave034, 03/19/2005
4dr Crew Cab Denali AWD SB (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The power and acceleration are unbelievable. Handling is very good for a pickup. I only have 1000 miles on it so far, but very satisfied overall. I previously had an '01 Tahoe with the 5.3 engine, and the Sierra Denali with the 6.0 is getting slightly better mileage (if I keep a light foot on the gas). For some reason I could never average better than 13.5 with the Tahoe around town, and am getting just under 14 with the Sierra. I think the ethanol fuels around here are partly to blame for lower mileage. The tonneau cover that came with the truck is OK, but I think an Access brand cover would be better - easier to roll up than the GMC model. The all wheel drive is very smooth.

Report Abuse

Denali Hauls!

Black Magic, 07/18/2005
4dr Crew Cab Denali AWD SB (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have driven about 2200 miles in the first month. Half of the miles are towing a 5,500 lb. ski/wakeboard boat. This truck is incredible for towing. The AWD never spins on the ramp or backing up my 13% driveway with the boat. Loaded, the ride is excellent. Unloaded, it is a little choppy compared to my previous Yukon Denali XL. But, hey it's a truck. Mileage is better than my '01 DXL at 14mpg average. Again, it's a 345HP truck, it's for hauling. Great truck. Unloaded, this thing is fast for a truck and fun to drive. No problems so far.

Report Abuse

No More GM 4 me

LostFaithGM, 05/29/2010
4dr Crew Cab SLE 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought truck new and totally disappointed. Truck now has over 104k miles and here is list of repair. Passenger hub replaced under warranty and driver hub replaced at 76k. Trans rebuild 75k. Torque converter replaced @ 83k. Power steering has been terrible since 30k. Front diff passenger seal leaks since under warranty and driver front diff seal leaked at 101k. Now water pump gasket leak @ 103k. U-joint at T-case & drive shaft replaced at 86k. Interior makes noises and this is considered normal. Noisy cab when cruising at over 45 miles. Rust is everywhere on the chassis. My last GM light duty truck

Report Abuse

2nd GM truck

Jonathan, 04/17/2010
4dr Crew Cab SLE Rwd SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I started with a 99 Chevy Z71 that I drove 200k miles and beyond it's last leg so I traded it in for this GMC Crew 2WD with the 5.3 L. I was disappointed with the extended travel in the front suspension and huge turn radius. It's great on long trips for comfort, but gas mileage averages around 14 in the city and 16 on the highway. It feels real solid until you tow ANYTHING more than 500 #'s, it struggles over 55 mph with shifting a lot, due to lack of torque. The steering pops and clunks like my 99' did, the same for the rear-end chirp on start/stops. Bad design still being used from 99, that's just annoying. I like the comfort and prefer cloth over leather on long trips and in hot Texas.

Report Abuse

Velvet glove, Iron Fist

Ray, 02/03/2005
4dr Crew Cab SLE 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This truck is the ultimate Great American Vehicle, a fast, powerful and exquisitely beautiful truck. I grew up in the seventies, and loved cars. This truck is quicker than Vettes of that era, with a ride equal to that of luxury cars of today. With its Z-71 suspension system this monsterous beast can cut around corners like a sports car, not bad for being able to tow 4 Mazda Miatas down the road without breaking a sweat. Gas mileage can stink, but this truck also comes with a sophisticated Driver Information System, one of its abilites is giving instantaneous fuel mileage. Steady 60 MPH kicks back 24.9 mph. That is phenomenal! Gunning the rumbling 5.3 motor is addicting however! I LOVE IT!

Report Abuse

Not quite professional grade

Brian, 11/10/2005
4dr Crew Cab SLE Rwd SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Doors/cab seals are too tight, shouldn't have to slam the door. Only 18 mpg, not the 20 as the window sticker says. I get better gas mileage from my '98 Suburban. Knock in the steering. AC vent door noise. Front windshield not sealed correctly. Cheap radio and even cheaper speakers sound terrible. Very uncomfortable driver seat- No adjustments. Fuse box in the way of your left foot. Very disappointed in the engineering and material quality. Very little thought went into designing this truck, only profit. The whole truck is fake, proven by the fake chrome rims. I bought this truck planning to keep it 10+ years, now I can't wait to get rid of it, ASAP.

Report Abuse

'05 Denali

Mike, 07/13/2005
4dr Crew Cab Denali AWD SB (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned several GM trucks and one Ford - this is definitely the best I've owned. The acceleration is very good, the truck handles well, transmission shifts are smooth, and it is very quiet and comfortable for a pickup. Pulls a 6,000# boat like a dream. My only minor complaint is a slightly mushy brake pedal feel. It seems that you have to apply more pressure than on other trucks I've driven. Overall, a very nice truck, and with the current GM offer, a good value in my opinion.

Report Abuse

Gmc seirra 2005 1500 5.3 made in Canada

Scott C, 06/03/2019
4dr Crew Cab SLE 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

bought this truck from pasty lou with 138k on dash. 11k i paid for it. Since ive owned this truck it has been FULL of electrical problems,dash fades,mirrors,heat went out last winter. I really do love this truck ive owned it for 2 half years, now the motor JUST blew do to "air" ,blowing oil all over right side of motor 198k on dash. So muffler man putting a new motor into it .I am shocked about the motor due to me putting 60k on dash 55k all on e way seems like it would be ALLOT better built. No i have never pulled anything. Also 4x4 light never works right always have to shut truck off and push button right when i start truck up or it will not switch over. But it has never leaked a drop other then power stering fluid easy fix. All in all not the best truck 2 fuel pumps in 6 months which was the only time i was stranded other then motor blowing which i guess was caused by a whole down by dip stick. Still owe 7k oh and door handle broke back seat last summer daughter pulled while locked.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Satisfied

Pat Patterson, 10/29/2008
4dr Crew Cab SLT Rwd SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

No major complaints. Overall a very well balanced truck. Roomy, comfortable, decent gas mileage. Recently traded for a 2008 model because of the rebates and incentives but if not for that this would've been a keeper.

Report Abuse

watch out

bill, 02/28/2009
4dr Crew Cab SLT 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

the defective casteck heads in my 5.3 leak coolant. this causes what sounds like bad lifter. know what heads are in your 5.3 before you buy, otherwise you could wind up with truck with repairs more than its value.

Report Abuse

2005 1500 GMC Extended Cab

Orlean, 12/15/2009
4dr Crew Cab SLE Rwd SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Except for the early tranny issue and the noise coming from my steering column, this truck has been spectacular! Thanks to a personal mechanic who was a GM mechanic, the steering column has become a non-issue. And, the dealership took GREAT care of the tranny issue. 140,000 miles into it and I STILL love this truck! I've driven it to/from CA and TX several times, in both winter and summer, and it's served me VERY well! MPG has deteriorated over the years, but that's to be expected. Started at 17MPG and now at 15! I miss that extra 2MPG!

Report Abuse

Gmc crew cab

Bill, 01/13/2005
4dr Crew Cab SLT Rwd SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Mileage has been above what I expected for a vehicle of this size. Very comfortable on the road. Handles very well on trips and the 5300 has plenty of reserve power

Report Abuse

Bill's 05 by Bill B

Bill's 05 by Bill B, 02/16/2005
4dr Crew Cab SLT Rwd SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Truck was selected over the F150 feel the GMC was a better buy. Took it on an 800 mile trip and averaged 20 miles a gallon. Has plenty of power available when needed.

Report Abuse

Fine Truck

Myran, 12/30/2005
4dr Crew Cab SLE 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love getting into my GMC. It is well built. It is comfortable to the people in the back seat, and it is nicely appointed.

Report Abuse

'05 GMC SLT Crew Cab

Bob, 02/05/2006
4dr Crew Cab SLT Rwd SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am handicapped and this truck is very easy for me to operate. Everything is in clear reach, no need for any modifications. My wife, grand- daughter and I took a trip from Texas to Florida after buying the truck with no issues. Gas mileage is fantastic.

Report Abuse

Not good for towing

Mike, 03/12/2006
4dr Crew Cab SLT 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Have you ever wondered why GM truck owners have to turn their hitches upside down. Even with Z-71, the suspension and trailering provisions are too soft and too low. Also the standard rear-end is going to be a 3.42. Great for milage, not so good for loading. Even with the 5.3 the engineers have turned up the computer trying to hide the small rear end. Posi-trac, not so good. One slick boat ramp and you will glad for 4WD. Even empty on the highway using cruise, the drivetrain cannot maintain enough power on hills to keep from down shifting and raising the RPMs. I pull three trailers ranging from 900 to 5100 pounds. All will wag this truck around easily. Brakes/rotors are on 3rd set.

Report Abuse

Happy so far

Tom is Happy, 05/04/2006
4dr Crew Cab SLT Rwd SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Love this truck so far.. 7 months old no problems yet. Added an ARE cap over bed and love it, got the Suburban look minus the $15,000 difference in price. Fits the car seats easily and the adults even easier. Haven't done a long trip yet but Summer is aproaching and a looking forward to the drive. (Even if the gas costs $4.00 per gal.) Wish I could get better gas mileage but it's a full size truck not a Honda CRV, which is easy to remember when I load it to the hilt , shopping or constructing, get it all in. Only things added was remote starter and sliding rear window (vital) which were negotiated during sale.

Report Abuse

Love my truck

Wingman, 08/05/2006
4dr Crew Cab SLT 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I switched from a Ford F150 to my GMC, and I love the GMC. I do wish the bed was longer.

Report Abuse

My 5th and last GMC

yellowdog, 11/14/2004
4dr Crew Cab SLE 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Air conditioner took three dealer visits to repair. Drive train problems have been present in this truck since the first 700 miles. Lack of towing power and loud whining noise has been present when towing a small boat. And to top it all off, the service manager at the dealership refuses to give me a necessary third visit so I can file a Lemon Law complaint. I have had 5 full size GMC(all from the same dealer) and this one will be my last.

Report Abuse

GMC Sierra Crew Cab

Brad, 02/09/2005
4dr Crew Cab SLT Rwd SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Responsive, strong, quiet, and comfortable ride. Excellent fit and finish. Pleasure to drive:-)

Report Abuse

GMC Sierra

Jerry Wright, 03/05/2005
4dr Crew Cab SLT Rwd SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my 1st crew cab, I've owned quite a few extended cabs in both GMC and Chevy. I believe this truck is the best handling of all the trucks I've owned. This has a 5.3 V-8 which is what I needed to pull my boat. It is a SLE model which has cloth seats, which I like better than leather. The seating is very nice and comfortable for large people and small alike. I would highly recommend this truck.

Report Abuse

2005 GMC crewcab

Bill's 2005, 03/23/2005
4dr Crew Cab SLE Rwd SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I consider the truck an outstanding buy with the rebates and other incentives that were offered. This is my 4th GM truck and it is the best one yet. The gas mileage is great for a truck of this size. It averages over 18 mpg in my daily driving, and 21 on the road.

Report Abuse

GMC trucks

Randy, 04/24/2005
4dr Crew Cab SLT Rwd SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned lots of heavy duty GMC trucks with gas engines (5.7liter and now 5.3liter) for many years for myself and for my business. We very seldom have had any major breakdowns with these vehicles other than wearing them out after several hundred thousand miles have been first put on the trucks. Many times we just overhaul the truck and put it back in service. They have always been very reliable vehicles for our business and personal use. We recently purchased 3 light duty Canyon trucks with the 5 cylinder engines and so far with over 100,000 accumulated miles they have also been trouble free and are also providing great gas mileage!

Report Abuse

Dead Reliable

Dennis, 10/14/2005
4dr Crew Cab Denali AWD SB (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my 4th new GMC full size. They are more reliable than the 3 new Mercedes automobiles I have also owned. Comfortable seats...easy highway cruiser. The 6000 engine is great, but loves gas!

Report Abuse

Opinionated Mechanic

Branden, 01/11/2006
4dr Crew Cab SLT 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Performance is important to me. The engine pulls hard at higher RPM but lacks low end torque. I have a 3.42 rear gear ratio. If you're using the truck for trips and highway use, thats a perfect ratio. If you want to do towing or be quick between red lights I would get a 3.73 or 4.10 ratio to make up for the lack in low end power. The transmission performs Okay if you're looking for smooth shifts. I prefer a firm shift which you don't get, even in the towing mode. Towing mode just runs out each gear to a higher RPM. Which is good for towing. They advertise a locking differential. Its not a true locker like GM and Ford used in muscle cars. This unit sends power to the wheel with the most traction.

Report Abuse

Great Truck.

Golf26guy`, 09/29/2006
4dr Crew Cab SLT 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very comfortable truck. I'm a sales manager and I drive over 45k miles a year. Seats are great, good gas mileage for a fullsize V 8 truck. I recently made a trip from Atlanta to Houston pulling a small trailer with a 4 wheeler in it, did not meet my expectations for pulling, keeps downshifting.

Report Abuse

GMC, you can and must do better

dg, 10/31/2006
4dr Crew Cab SLT 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have been driving this truck for almost 2 years, so I know all of its little nuances. Unfortunately, I am not impressed. I have had many GM vehicles and this has been one of the worst. Warranty issues include: new radiator, new brake rotors, power seat motor, tranny problems, etc. I can only attribute this stuff to the fact that GM is rabidly seeking the cheapest suppliers on the globe, which has to hurt quality. I must admit that I use my truck heavily, but what good is a pickup truck that can't handle a little beating? Considering the msrp on this thing was around $39000, GMC must do better with its 2007 model. If not, Tundra and Titan will have Sierra for lunch!

Report Abuse

2005 Sierra 1500

Joe R, 06/01/2017
4dr Crew Cab SLE 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i am the second owner of my truck, i bought it with 100K miles. I pretty much do all the services and maintenance. Water pump, thermostat, dash cluster, transfer case shift motor, trans cooler lines, which is all typical things after 100K. The only thing i took to dealer for was axle pinion seal replacement due to grease leaking. This truck has been awesome. Rear Breaks squeal which is a common problem but this truck is a bear and i have been very happy with the performance and reliability . I now have 153K and ill drive it till it dies.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

AWD Denali

Mike B, 01/08/2021
4dr Crew Cab Denali AWD SB (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Lots of power, quiet and smooth ride.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050