Used 2002 GMC Sierra 1500 Extended Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,638 - $3,308

Used Sierra 1500 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best Truck Ever

Joe K., 08/12/2009
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

This truck was two years old, with 33,000 miles when I purchased it (Certified Used). I use this pickup on our family farm and to drive to work, resulting in 40K miles each year. This is the best truck, fantastic engine 5.3, great power reasonable fuel economy. No complaints with the 4WD, I use it frequently. Currently, the truck has over 200K miles, the service record is brief: 5 years old replace rear brakes (still have not replaced front brakes),6 years old replace battery just to be on the safe side, Fuel pump replaced at 175K miles, my fault for not ever replacing the fuel filter. At 180K had to replace the front UJoint. Plan to trade the truck in on a similar equipped 2008 model Sierra.

Report Abuse

The Professional Grade!!!!!!

mwheeler88, 03/14/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My GMC Sierra is a great truck! It rides great and it handles very well. The only thing i don't like about it, is its a 2WD but I would probably never use it if i did have it and I have to say it has been the most reliable vehicle i have ever had. My dad bought it in 2002 new and gave it to me when he bought a new car. It only has 86,000 miles on it and i have to say for a truck that's not a lot. Knock on wood I have never had to take it in for any work other than to get it serviced. I don't like the gas mileage it gets 13 MPG in town but it does have the 5.3L V8 so what do you expect. But i love the truck and i hope to have it for a long time.

Report Abuse

happy!!

casey, 10/09/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this truck only had it a year, but 4 wheel steering should come standard on all cars and trucks.The interior is great. The look is even better!! The power of the 6 liter is awsome. Fuel mileage is not so good, but I guess you have to give up something for all the power. Theses trucks have all the bells and whistles This is truly a sports car in a truck skin! Only downside is I can't afford 2

Report Abuse

2 Year Old Denali

Suzcrew, 10/31/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned my Denali for 2 years now. Up until the warranty ran out I did not have any problems. Now problems with the drive shaft, steering, and transmission. I am have taken excellent care of my truck and wouldn't think of even getting it muddy. However, now I am thinking about trading it in on something with fewer problems. Your adverage Joe will not touch this truck for repairs. Getting parts has been impossible and even dealers can't order the right ones (parts). I love the look, the comfort, the whole package of this truck and hate to part with it. This truck gets more attention than I do!

Report Abuse

What happened?

groggybob, 04/04/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

loved the truck until exactly 40,000 miles. Right out of warranty the sun shell in the transmission wore out. Repaired it for $500 in parts myself. Non-mechanics will find no one to do it, and if they do, likely triple the cost. Also had a ticking sound like a valve from about 20,000 miles. The dealership happily checked it out and even replaced the lifters as a best guess. That lasted 100 miles and the sound returned. Seems to not affect anything and can be heard on only a few of the trucks. Unless you haul, don't get the hauling suspension. You can easily load the bed with solid rock and roll down the interstate like it wasn't even there.

Report Abuse

Awesome Truck!

rawannam, 12/24/2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have no idea why GMC cancelled the Quadrasteer but I hope they bring it back by time I'm in the market for my next truck! It's an amazing truck, drives like a car, and you would have no idea its as big as it is being that its so nimble. Would highly recomend this truck!

Report Abuse

Worst truck ever

eric, 12/07/2005
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I was always a GM fan until I bought this truck.I bought it brand new and had lots of problems with it.I actually started to look forward to bringing it in the shop so I could drive their loaner vehicle. Had to replace brake pads and rotors at 34,000,had to argue to get it covered under warranty.Dont expect GM customer service to help you cuz they wont you are on your own. Replaced air conditioner compressor and condensor, could never get windows and doors to seal right. I don't have enough room to write everything here, but if you see this vehicle anywhere the best advice I can give you is to run away from it as fast as you can.I just traded this truck in on a Toyaota truck in Nov. of 05.

Report Abuse

GMC found after years of other brands...

grove, 06/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Smooth power transfer of the 5.3/auto is a delight. No one in this weight class can gut with it, draws clear and away going uphill against all Ford, Toyota, or Dodge trucks/SUV's, ticks some of them off too! Tested daily on the Morongo Canyon grade in SOCAL. Owned new Ford, Toyota, and Nissan trucks over the last 20 years; this 2002 Sierra is considerably the best with Ford coming in second to others.

Report Abuse

Denali

StarmanT, 06/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is an expensive truck, but everyday I drive it, I think this is worth it. The four wheel steering is awesome - parking lots are a snap! I pulled a UHaul trailor a few days ago - first with a Toyota Sequoia, then the Denali. Everything you've read is true. I did some quick lane changes and the trailor stays right behind the truck. My hats off to GMC on this truck. Outstanding job!

Report Abuse

WOW!!!!!

Curtis K, 06/29/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first GMC Truck. I was happy with the over all performance with the 5.3L motor. The large fuel tank will take us about 490 miles on the open road about 19 mpg as long as you keep your foot out of it. That is great my suv with a V6 3.2L only gets 18 mpg and is much smaller.. So buy with Confdince. but try to step up to 5.3L motor you will be glad you did.. Curtis Yucaipa, CA

Report Abuse

Go's ta pays da cost ta run wit' da Boss

Denial, 08/19/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very nice truck to own. I'd wait for the '03 to get the better stereo. However, dealers are dropping prices on '02 models below invoice.

Report Abuse

Ultimate Road Truck

ggss, 09/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is an extremely (in my opinion) good looking truck with many nice touches inside and out. All aspects of this vehicle are as nice or nicer than any truck I have had. Rides nice. Sounds nice. The 4 wheel steering is absolutely amazing. In 2 or 3 years I predict half (if trucks are still being made) of large vehicles will have it!

Report Abuse

sierra denali

Christopher, 10/28/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this truck is so easy and fun to drive due to the quadrasteer system. i will never be able to drive another truck without it again. great interior

Report Abuse

The Best truck made.

abercrombie, 09/15/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The is the best truck in the world. Happy to drive it!! Very quiet ride. TOW and Haul mode works great. Very confertable, and alot of legroom space in the rear seats. Very conferable rear and front seats. Very good audio system. And the best fuel milage that I have seen for a 4.8 liter V8 engine!

Report Abuse

2002 GMC Sierra SLT X-Cab SB

raiderwes, 10/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had GMC, Chevy and (one) Ford pickups over the last 30 years. This one is by far the best, although it is the first one in at least 27 years without the classic 350 V-8. The new large V-8 is a worthy successor. The transmission is smooth. The interior is very comfortable, almost as good as my BMW. Alas, it is not as fun to drive as the BMW, but pretty good for a pickup. Only one problem in 20 months, being a shake in the steering column, which I will take to the dealer soon.

Report Abuse

Excellent Vehicle

hlj, 12/03/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

No problems since early on with leaning to left. Dealer changed springs, etc. Most trouble-free vehicle to date, including 4 Hondas, 1 Maxima and many others.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

Craig12, 12/28/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

excellent truck no problems looks and handles great

Report Abuse

Pleased

Sparky, 09/28/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Though the vehicle had to have the front differential replaced at 9400 miles, I still would buy another in a second. Absolutely fantastic for pulling my 30 foot travel trailer, excellent fit and finish, and the 4 wheel steering makes it easy to drive and park even in Denver's hectic traffic. Mileage is average, but seating and comfort features are way above average. This is the nicest truck I have ever owned. Leased it originally, then bought it at the end of the lease. Dealer was dying to get it back, but I wouldn't give it up!

Report Abuse

Love my GMC Sierra Denali

Cliff, 03/29/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Best truck that I have owned to date. 6.0l engine is awesome. Towing my 6000lb boat is a breeze. Like the heated seats on these cold winter days. Very comfortable driving vehicle. Can easyly rack up 500 miles daily. That's when you wish you had dual gas tanks. Can't complain about gas mileage because of AWD and large engine. A fact that I don't like: The driver O/S mirror is heated but passenger side is not. Kind of strange for $40,000+ truck. All wheel steering is great. The few extra miilimeters of rear axle width seems to improve stability. Recently got 18 mpg with a tail wind.

Report Abuse

Pricy? You get what you pay for!

GMCfan, 03/30/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The quadrasteer makes handling this truck a breeze in tight spots. I haven't had it out of 4WS since I tried it. The seats are far more comfortable than my Ford Expedition EB. The ability to adjust the power lumbar support while driving is great. Plenty of power for passing, even while towing. This is, by far, the best truck I've ever owned.

Report Abuse

Best PU on the road

denali owner, 03/19/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck has the comforts of a car, and the abilities of a truck. Interior is comfortable, and it will haul and tow like nobody's business. 4 wheel steering is amazing! You can u- turn on the average city street and the manueverability in parking lots is unbelievable. Drive one. Try to drive something else. Enough said.

Report Abuse

A great truck

Bob Woods, 04/03/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great truck, it performs as advertised and delivers 20 MPG at 70 MPH. It has the 5.3 and drags my 20 foot fifth wheel like its not back there. Will repost after one year. This is my third GM truck, my last one was an 88 and before that a 67.

Report Abuse

2002 GMC 1500 SLE

Ray Teske, 05/13/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If this vehicle got better gas mileage it would be a 12. I've driven pickups as my primary vehicle for the last 9 years. They ride far better than a car, can carry whatever I need to carry, get me where I want to go in the worst weather imaginable, and they don't cost any more than a car, except for the gas mileage thing. I'm a big man who needs room in a vehicle and these trucks give me that in spades. If you don't want to squeeze into a small car, get a truck.

Report Abuse

Sierra Denali

kimsli, 05/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Vehicle rides and handles like a high- end SUV. Vehicle is very agile and maneuvers easily in traffic. All- wheel steering and ample power make trailering seem effortless.

Report Abuse

2002 gmc 1500 4x2 sle

will160, 03/12/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

come on GM this is 2002!dated interiors,cheap feeling parts,ergonomically is only o.k.,my last 5 trucks were fords,it was time for a change,giving gmc another chance,but 20 yrs.later i still feel some reslembence to long ago!i need to sell my 97 ford f150 lariat asap! so i can stop comparing the gmc 1500 sle to it. new f-150 for 2004?,cant wait!

Report Abuse

Great Truck!

dnlintl, 06/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought the truck as a family vehicle for the wife an 2 kids. Plenty of room for every one. I would have preferred the crew cab version if they weren't so dang expensive!

Report Abuse

This one is a keeper

Fishin'Fool, 05/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Mine is a 4.8L with a 3.73 rear end. Gas milage is a consistent 16mpg, regardless if its in town or freeway. It has plenty of power, is built well and a PLEASURE to drive. And it turns heads. People come up to me and say they like the lines of the truck, as opposed to the other brands. The body work is excellent with no defects in the finish. The interior is roomy and my teenagers don't bump their head on the rear window as in the Ford. After almost a year with this truck, and I have no complaints whatsoever. I'm definitely hanging on to this one!

Report Abuse

great

billlotida, 03/18/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

great

Report Abuse

Most dependability

Matt Smith, 12/07/2019
4dr Extended Cab SLE 2WD LB (4.8L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had this pickup since I was 18. I'm 27 now. Ots gotten me thru college and many many many spur of the moment road trips. I got it with 142000 miles, it now sits at 342590. I never have a problem with just waking up in the mornings and without a second thought, just hoping in and going 300 miles just because I want. This thing is the best vehicle I've ever had by far! And it's never let me down just to hook up and roll out with over 6000 lbs. I did take my 4.8 out and replaced it with a 5.3l. Just because I do pull anywhere from 6000 to 8500 lbs. and haul over 400 lbs worth of tools and a 300lb bumper replacement brush guard. I love it!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

AWESOME 18 YEARS OLD STILL RUNS GREAT

Joe, 02/22/2020
4dr Extended Cab SL 4WD SB (4.8L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Keep oil change properly it will treat you good

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050