Used 2006 GMC Envoy Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$3,379 - $5,783

Used Envoy for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2006 GMC Envoy 4.2 I6

Ian Brown, 04/13/2015
SLT 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
36 of 37 people found this review helpful

I used to have a Jeep Wrangler with the 2.5 liter engine and the AX5 transmission. Tons of fun to drive, but the transmission is not a drivers transmission, I smoked two of them before trading it for my Envoy. The 4.2 I6 feels stronger than what GMC gives it credit for, the Envoy has a tighter turning radius than my old Jeep! And it is absolutely wonderful to drive! It has excellent driving manners, and you can feel vehicle response in your feet and hands with nothing left vague. My cockpit space feels luxurious and my daughter cant quit raving about the lavish wood grain interior, ventilation, leather seats and well appointed use of chrome. I don't miss my jeep in the least.

Report Abuse

Great Car for the first 3 years

envoydenali, 03/01/2011
Denali 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
27 of 29 people found this review helpful

This was a great car for the first few years. I bought it new a month or two before the 2007's came out and got it for right around invoice price. The interior is nice, performs well, tows well (but I've never towed anything super heavy). However I started having problems shortly after the warranty ran out. -At 40K the fuel level sensor went out, the dealer wanted $700 to fix. I had it done with a $35 part from ebay and $200 labor. -At 72K the transmission went out, $2300 -At 92K the engine had to be replaced, $6700 -At 93K the throttle sensor had to be replaced Even though it was great at first, the last 1-2 years have made me regret buying this car.

Report Abuse

2006 GMC ENVOY SLT

CJAvon, 05/17/2006
SLT 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

Have been driving my Envoy for three months now, had Jeep Gr.Cherokees for the last three years so that's my basis for comparison (maybe a bit unfair). The Envoy has a smoother ride but the difference in power vs the V8 Jeep is like night and day, towing my 2500 lb boat was sluggish. Head room is tight with the sun roof, only 1/2" headroom (i am 6 foot)with the seat down full. Very comfortable to sit in and visability is good. The floor mats are on the cheap side. 2nd row legroom is better than the Jeep. I get 18.7 mpg average with 85% highway driving. Considerably less expensive than the Jeep so if you can do without the towing power I would recommend it.

Report Abuse

2006 Envoy Denali

William Michael Scott, 03/03/2019
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Bought an Envoy Denali 4x4 Feb of 2018. Truck had 121k miles - one owner and the car had a solid maintenance record. I paid $6k for the car and I was worried it wouldn't be worth it as an older car with miles on her. I am 13 months in and I have not had a single issue. Heat works great here in Chicago where it's been -40° C/F. Car is smooth and quiet with minimal road noise and no vibrations or rattles. Very comfortable towing 4,200lb boat. I made upgrades to the radio deck and having Bluetooth and Android auto is great, also added a dash cam and back-up cam to keep her current. Car accelerates well from a stop and moderate speed and does it smoothly. Has very little pick up from 65-80mph, even less from 80-90. Rear seats need to be adjustable, but folding down seats in the back works great for my three dogs. I am hoping this truck continues to treat me well. I would recommend a well maintained used Envoy to anyone.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

In the shop every 2 months! ouch ;(

3magana, 12/07/2012
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
23 of 26 people found this review helpful

This car looked so amazing, and being young my husband and I thought we needed a beautiful car like this. It w as 6 months old when we bought it. Fuel card gone out twice. The air bags that lift the car got a leak and had to replace with normal shocks. (Expensive!) Air conditioning went out driver side. Front suspension needed replaced, would not turn. Not all our issues list :( NOW: All of a sudden when driving home from work, at night, my headlights completely turned off! I thought it was just a one time thing but happened a week later with my kids in the car on the highway! Oh my goodness...I am so upset, haven't driven it at night or hardly at all.

Report Abuse

Happy with my Envoy Denali

Peter, 10/16/2006
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

Tows my boat and my trailer with no problem. I believe the 6000 lbs load capacity. Originally I wanted a Denali Yukon but the Denali Envoy fits better in my garage - a key purchase decision by the way. Lots of power and with a family of five with two big dogs, the trips to the cottage are easy. Fuel consumption is fine. I get the same mileage as I got on my 2000 Ford Windstar. The DOD works as advertised. I would buy this vehicle again.

Report Abuse

Lemon Envoy

Darwin M., 10/23/2017
Denali 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

Don't buy this SUV, Had already bought before finding out that there are many many owners having the same problem with vehicle shutting down, left GMC dealer today after service request for problem with no fix as their mechanic said he can't figure out what electrical parts are bad as code did not tell him, He said he could start replacing electrical parts but no guaranty that the problem would be fixed. Called GMC customer complaint line and told to call National Traffic Saftey to register complaint, Everybody that owns an Envoy with this shutting down problem has to file a complaint with them before a recall can take place. Please call to file. This is year later and still having to dump money into Envoy to keep on road.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

One of the best SUV's out there

Mike, 10/04/2005
Denali 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

I love my Envoy Denali. It not only looks great, it rides extremely smooth. I recently was involved in a car accident, a car ran a red light and smashed up my front end. My SUV spun 90 degrees and I felt completely safe. The moment I sat in the drivers seat at the dealership, I fell in love. The interior, design and looks, sold me not to mentioned the 300hp engine. I could not have ask for more in my first SUV purchase.

Report Abuse

Greatly Improved

Anonymous, 12/25/2005
Denali 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I traded in an 04 Envoy XUV. This Envoy Denali is so much better. With a few improvements this could easily compete with any luxury SUV on the market. Even though this is considered a Mid-Size SUV, it is still quite large. Gas mileage is actually slightly better with the V8 than the 6 cylinder because of the Displacement On Demand (rated at 16 city – 22 hwy). I don’t understand why people complain about gas mileage. They should buy a small compact SUV. With the air compressor you can put air in your own tires. It's smooth riding with the Luxury Ride Bilstein Shocks and quieter with added sound proofing. Color keyed assist steps are a nice touch. Compaired to an XL, this handles much better.

Report Abuse

Great Vehicle

tall one, 01/01/2006
SLT 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is a well designed SUV. I am 6'5" and fit in it with no problems - one of the few trucks that I can. There are a few recalls out on it - get those taken care of - and you have great vehicle. More then enough power to get you down the road. Plenty of useful options too.

Report Abuse

Great ride best vehical I ever owened

Rich Streeter, 08/23/2016
Denali 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

tried bmw mercedies the denali was and is smoother quieter and more truck than any I have driven, that is why I still have it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it!

Angela, 07/20/2009
SLT 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I picked out this SUV for my husband. He had an old Chevy Blazer in high school that he really loved and missed it. The Envoy was the closest thing I could find that would suit both our needs. We test drove it and immediately fell in love with it. Drives just as smooth as the Chevy Impala we had and the engine was quiet yet powerful. Very comfortable and the interior design was exactly like the Impala as well. So we didn't have to get used to finding everything. I recommend this SUV to anyone who's looking for a powerful engine that gets great gas mileage and is reliable, comfortable, and sporty.

Report Abuse

2006

Ron, 10/19/2007
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Very comfortable on long drives. V8 has lots of power and good gas mileage for the size. Been averaging 22 highway and 18.5 overall. Back seats could be set further back to allow more room for passengers, and would allow seats to fold flat with front seats back.

Report Abuse

Reliable family truckster w lots of nickel & dimes

JJ Bookman, 12/17/2016
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Engine and tranny are very reliable but the exterior trim and interior bits require a lot of fixing, typical GM. Body is still holding up well, rear deck lip is getting rusty but still looks good for a 10 year-old car. We drive the hell out of it and it has not let us down yet. Lots of DIY fixing if you are a handy man or shade-tree mechanic. Part are abundant and cheap, something else broke? ebay here I come!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Annoyed

desilynn32, 03/19/2013
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
12 of 18 people found this review helpful

I own a 2006 GMC Envoy Denali. I bought it 2 years ago with 65,000 miles on it. I had it less than a year and the oil started disappering. Took it into the shop $600.00 later it was fixed, supposedly. Shop guy told me that if it happened again I would no doubt need a new engine :( Guess what it happened today, oil pressure dropped to zero and the check engine light is on and I was only down 1/2 qrt of oil. This vehicle has nickeled and dimed me to death and isn't worth crap for trade. Very disappointed in the GMC. Also GMC will not stand behind there product.

Report Abuse

great suv for its time

D. OSBORN, 10/02/2016
SLT 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

i have a gmc envoy , i am the original owner , bought in Ohio ,assembled in moraine assy with pride...it is 2006 and has been garage kept and i can tell you, ive had no issues with this SUV at all aside from typical maintenance items that has to be replaced

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my GMC

SouthwesternNative, 05/31/2008
SLE 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We weren't even considering GMCs when we came across this SUV. We love it. We were actually test driving a Buick Rendezvous at the time. It is a heavy old-school SUV but for the price range it was very nice and solid inside and out. Gas is $4 a gal now and we are rethinking it but still a great car!

Report Abuse

Reliable vehicle

Reliable and Love it, 08/02/2010
Denali 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I really love this SUV. It has been very reliable so far and have not had any problems. Of course, it is the DENALI, everything is top of the line. The leather seats are comfortable, the vehicle rides smoothly and haven't had any problems these four years. I would also like to point out that the regular mpg in the city is 16.5 / 17 but on the highway I noticed that on our last trip it did 22 mpg, which I think that for the size and weight of this vehicle was pretty good. I definitely would recommended.

Report Abuse

Love It

Ross, 09/15/2010
SLT 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I can't understand all the complaints about the Envoy. Must be other brand dealers trying to kill sales. I have had this one over 2 years and presently have 113,000 miles on it with no issues at all. Bought it used with 46000 on it and will buy another if I can find one. The only mistake GM made was going from this to the Arcadia. Mine has the 4.2 4wd, will go anywhere and pull anything I want to.

Report Abuse

All American Vehicle!

Jodee P., 07/10/2006
SLE 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

When I first sat in the Envoy, I loved the way it felt. The ride was so smooth. I drove every other SUV out there, even the non-American owned, and by far this was the best ride out there. The interior is by far the best in the price range. I love the chrome wheels and front grille! I am a faithful GM buyer and I get so annoyed out there that Americans don't buy American cars. Well, maybe I helped save 1 American's job in Illinois with the purchase I made!

Report Abuse

Not too bad.

Denali, 10/22/2008
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I've had my Envoy for a little over a year. Definitely the perfect family car for long trips. Smoothest car I've ever driven. Gas mileage is surprisingly decent for a V8 SUV (highest is 20+ on highway, average is 16) Definitely a smooth smooth ride but a little sluggish accelerating off the line. Stabilitrak is an amazing option in the rain. Downsides: narrow spaces between console and door and the seats. Center console is very sub par and constantly loose or breaking off entirely. Low ground clearance makes it look minivan-esque. Nav system is so so and can't listen to a CD while using it. Slow windows and moonroof when closing. Resale value is awful. Plan to keep this car for a while.

Report Abuse

Denali

GREGORY WESTER, 06/04/2006
Denali 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

It is a great SUV. Gas mileage is fair with DOD fuel management but it is an SUV so what do you expect? Great interior and exterior and is very fun to drive. Love the sunroof, DVD player, Bose system, NAV and CD player. I just wish that it came with a CD changer with the navigation system.

Report Abuse

2006 GMC Envoy

aplymate, 07/06/2011
SLE 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
9 of 16 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2006 Envoy used from Carmax when it had 32,000 miles on it. At the time we bought it, it was making a whining noise from the motor, which the salesman assured us was normal. It was not normal. Left me broke down on the side of the road when the idler pulley broke and tore up the sepenteine belt. Fuel gauge no longer works and check engine light stays on. More recently my driver's side door squeks badly and one of the shocks on my back hatch blew out. I wanted to get a brand new Acadia but not sure I want to purchase another GMC. They do not even have any recalls for any of the problems. Do not buy..

Report Abuse

Giving More Cash

lsrry, 12/16/2015
Denali 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
9 of 20 people found this review helpful

Don't buy it worst piece of junk I will never by another Chevy as long as I live I was a Chevy man never my envoy I replaced the engine pulleys ,fuel gauges, Windows modulated don't work after recall,nine recalls and the vehicle still garbage

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Is it just me?

greg rosengren, 07/04/2008
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Love the car/truck, nicest car I've ever owned. At 58,000 miles I've had to replace both the transmission and the motor. I didn't bother to get the extended warranty because of my false belief that I was buying a quality product that would last. GM has graciously picked up half the transmission cost ($1600) and all but $1650 of the new motor job. I have put 4000 dollars in repair costs into this car in the last 2 months. Not at all happy about this. Love the vehicle..just bummed out about the problems...will probably go foreign next time..Benz or BMW

Report Abuse

Never Again

Never Again, 03/21/2010
SLT 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car about two years ago and purchased an extended warranty. The first year I had this car the interior started falling apart. The panels around the passenger seat broke, the lights on the stereo are out and the carpet has a rusts stains alone the back doors(not sure where this is coming from). I've recently started having mechanical problems. I had to replace two coils and the electrical line to the front light has burned. The worst part of all of this is nothing is under warranty. I paid 300 for a 60k maintenance that did not include a tune up. This is my first American made car in a long time and I must say I will never buy another GMC!

Report Abuse

2006 GMC Envoy

Ginger, 03/18/2019
SLE 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I loved loved loved the Envoy at first. After about 2 years of owning it, the seat adjuster went out ($600 to replace), then the window stopped working on the driver side door, the ac went out. There are 6 shock things in the engine....had to replace 1-2 every 6 months ($300 each). Then 4th year, motor goes out ($6000 brand new or $4000 used). Would not recommend to anyone. Also, as your driving, the headlights go out.....for no apparent reason. I was going down the road at night....NO STREET LIGHTS.....I could have been killed!

Report Abuse

Too much maintenance

Envoy Problems, 10/01/2008
SLT 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I drive about 36,000 miles a year and my Envoy is great in all aspects as long as it is not in the shop. I had to replace an idle pulley, fan belt, fuel pump, and just recently I had to rebuild the transmission. Way too many problems for a 2 year old car with only 75000 miles on it. Other than that, the ride is very quiet, step on the gas and it seems to glide on the highway.

Report Abuse

Fine Fun

Barbielowrider, 03/22/2009
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I was looking for something to replace my Grand Cherokee Ltd. I wanted all the bells and whistles, and plenty of power to boot. Believe me, I looked at EVERYTHING! I eagerly decided on this '06 Envoy Denali. The looks had me from across the lot. I test drove it, and then my husband. We were immediately impressed. Interior to die for, comfort plus.Every option I could hope for. Rides smooth as can be. So we really, really test cars. Straight aways, up and down hills, in and out of town, highway. I was so impressed by the power. It's a pavement eater! 300 HP, and switches to 4 cyl. for HWY cruising(gas saver) and can tow up to 6500 lbs. Looking for a mid-size SUV? This one's for you!!!!!

Report Abuse

Fun SUV

sunrig, 12/12/2009
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Had to replace throttle body at 38,000 miles. Had a 2003 Yukon Denali. Nicer rig but Envoy is a great rig. My wife loves it, as nice as her BMW.

Report Abuse

Could be better....

volvo2robot, 12/29/2009
SLT 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

i am impressed with the v8 like engine and rain sensing wipers. The stability control proved it self very useful when it saved me from a 60mph accident... it handles superbly on the snow and mountains with minimal engine groans... i happened to lean on the center console and the whole thing came up and dislodged itself i simply clicked it right back. i HATE the rear seats there is very little leg room and are very inconvenient to fold. after a year of owning it, we heard an odd buzz we took it to a dealer and it turned out to be a sensor. Another complaint is that the power adjustable seats broke down on the drivers side and the doors screech and the lift gate window opens when it wants to.

Report Abuse

I Love it!

Bunnie, 08/03/2006
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am so thankful that I purchased my Denali! I went from a convertible which was fun to drive to an SUV overnight! I compared so many and found it to be priced very well, appointed luxuriously, & easy to drive. I have to admit, I was nervous about the fuel economy, but with the V8 and fuel displacement, it is not bad at all! I drive a lot of miles and this car makes my commute so much nicer.

Report Abuse

GMC Envoy SLT

Anonymous, 09/17/2005
SLT 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Envoy is really a great SUV, but there are areas where it could improve. The engine is strong, the styling bold, and fuel enconomy bad (as with any SUV).

Report Abuse

Denali

Carol Drago, 01/16/2006
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Fun to drive, solid, and overall pickup great. A firm ride with all the comforts of the higher end vehicles. This vehicle feels solid to drive and great handling.

Report Abuse

Really enjoy the Denali

dbgindy, 03/17/2006
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the third SUV I've had in a row and for performance, ride & features this is by far the best. Sure the gas mileage could be a little better but that's the case with almost all mid size SUVs. I've had mine now for about 6 months and put almost 9500 miles on it with zero problems. I've not regretted my purchase at all!

Report Abuse

Denali...great buy

Jen, 06/24/2006
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I researched many SUV's when I was going to buy my vehicle. I test drove many SUV's including the luxury ones. This was one of my smoother test drives and I just fell in love with it. Great new design on the outside and the ammenities inside are outstanding. i have had my Denali for about a month and I have gotten so many complements on it. Smooth, reliable,safe, stylish and its just an all around smart vehicle. I love it!

Report Abuse

GMC You Got It Right

Steve, 07/19/2006
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Rides like the BMW with nice interior design. Even the parking attendents like the looks. I think that should say it all

Report Abuse

Great SUV

DEHayes, 07/20/2006
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We researched this vehicle for about a year and were drawn by the amount of luxury for the price. We purchased (with the rebate and GM Employee discount) for around $31,000! We have been hauling Little League All-Stars around all of June/July and they argue about who gets to go with us. Best SUV I have ever owned. Love the Navigation system, the DVD, the sunroof and the ride!

Report Abuse

The Best Mid SUV From GM!

BJR, 10/05/2006
SLT 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owed 4 Chey TrailBlazers and the Envoy beats it hands down. The ride is beyond smooth and it drives and handles like a car. Chevy needs to learn from their sister company GMC. This SUV sticker shows 21 mpg on the highway, but mine averaged 26.5mpg over 20 miles at 55 on cruise control. You can't beat that TrailBlazer.... GMC great job!

Report Abuse

Happy Driver

love it, 12/07/2006
SLE 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my Envoy. For a truck the handling is wonderful. Great pick-up in the 6 cyl and a very comfortable drive. I splurged on top of the line interior and it is well worth it. My biggest complaint is the very noisy air conditioning system. Unless you have it on low it is very noticable and annoying. Also the back windows cannot be opened unless the front are also open or you have a very uncomfortable air compression going on. Small problems to put up with compared to the very positive performance, style and comfort. I love the OnStar feature. Well worth the small cost.

Report Abuse

Professional Grade

Rick, 04/28/2008
SLE 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned my GMC Envoy for over 2 years now. I drive my truck usually on weekends and for road trips. I had only 3 problems so far. The first was the wiring harness going to the left tail light, the center 12 vdc adapter blew a fuse. Thirdly, my gear shifter handle became loose. This will be my last american vehicle that I will buy.

Report Abuse

The best SUV I've ever owned.

brianone, 03/12/2018
Denali 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

For the money, this is great value.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Lots of work but still runs

D P, 01/12/2019
SLE 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have over 170K miles on my GMC Envoy that runs great right now but it’s been a long rough road. Engine, transmission, body and interior are all still great but there have been plenty of ridiculous problems I’ve had to fix - fuel sending unit (twice), tensioner (twice), water pump, fan clutch (twice), thermostat (which was a PAIN!), oil pressure sensor, crankshaft position sensor (twice), steering position sensor, fan blower motor resistor, wheel bearing (twice), ABS sensor, and the traction control light keeps coming on if the tire pressure isn’t perfect. The vehicle was a solid try by GMC but it seems like a lot of the stuff that broke on it was designed by amateurs or designed to break on purpose. I learned a lot about having to fix my own car and it nickeled and dimed me constantly. I can’t imagine how much I saved by doing the work myself but spent many Saturdays doing so.

Report Abuse

looks good too

mulholly, 11/17/2015
Denali 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
4 of 12 people found this review helpful

140,000 miles everything starting to go. next time go import

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2006 Envoy Problems

LArnold, 07/03/2008
SLE 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2006 Envoy in April, 2006. Unfortunately, I have had numerous problems to have only had this vehicle right at two years. In fact, it is at the dealership today because all the controls on the driver's side door do not work. They have to replace some switch that is costing me another $350. The gas gauge sensor messed up, and I could never tell how much gas was in my car. After much controversy, they replaced the sensor without charge. It was going to cost me $2000. Then a belt was replaced, that led to the water pump having to be replaced. It has been a lot to replace, only having my new car for 2 years, and a lot of money. I will never buy a GMC again.

Report Abuse

Sick of Being Nickel and Dimed to Death

rrh36, 03/16/2010
SLE 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought the 2006 Envoy SLE in Oct 2008. Things went well for a while, but after the first 6 months of driving, been nothing by problem after problem. Engine had high pitched squeal which was bad bearings in idler pulley. Then the spare tire would not come off the underside. Had to cut the cable and replace the entire spare tire holder. Fuel gauge quit working. And most recently, had to replace water pump. Bearings shot in that too and can't even do it yourself without a "special tool." I will NEVER buy another GMC and I hope GM goes under because of their selling of product with such horrible reliability.

Report Abuse

Poor GM Customer Support

Tom, 08/04/2009
SLT 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

The Envoy looks nice. Looks can be deceiving. Fuel gauge quit working. Expensive to repair. Water pump gone out. Expensive to repair. GM is aware of the problem history with these vehicles but puts the burden on the owner. GM knew these parts were not performing up to par and chose to still use them. Defective parts equals lots of repair bills at the dealerships! No reliability + no responsibility = No General Motors!

Report Abuse

A Horrible Experience!

Turan Kul, 04/11/2006
Denali 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 8 people found this review helpful

This V6 Envoy turns out to be a lemon! From the beginning it had that terrible engine smell. My 3 year old goes promplty to sleep within minutes during the ride. However, we were alarmed about the noisy brakes, oil leaks & being a gas guzzler! (The old rental uses much less gas and has smooth brakes!) We took it to a shop and found out about the AC leakage. Probably that's why my son always ends up sleeping! The mechanic had to order a big part from GMC - I think it's the transmission. He'll fix the gas guzzling problem too! However, I'm afraid to be in this vehicle. I wanted a refund or a new vehicle.

Report Abuse

2006 Envoy Denali

Rathead, 01/20/2007
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
14 of 107 people found this review helpful

Quiet, fast, and smooth, and good fuel mileage. I have no complaints. This vehicle is so much better than any other competitors, and I expect reliability to be better as well.

Report Abuse

Disatisfied buyer

gtp, 05/04/2009
SLT 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had nothing but problems with this vehicle. From simple door locks to noisy windows to steering columns, transition 5 times, hatch shocks, ignitions, electrical, engine (multiple times)....It has left me stranded many times. On windy days it will switch lanes with out you even realizing it. I was disappointed in the power of the 4.2L V6. It works way to hard. Get the V8 (Gas mileage will even out). It does however handle well in the snow. I couldn't even sell this to sum one I would feel guilty knowing it's a piece.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050