Used 2005 GMC Envoy XUV SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$3,319 - $5,900

Used Envoy XUV for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Not Happy

not happy, 09/03/2010
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Everything electrical has gone wrong, gas gauge, speedometer, cd player, elec seat control, air conditioner dual accuator replaced both $1900, replaced thermostat and fan clutch, oh and wires were melting behind the controls of the Air Conditioner $490.00. I am the only owner and my miles are only at 55,000

Report Abuse

Most versatile vehicle I've ever owned

ddtexas, 11/10/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I flew to Alabama from South Texas to get the XUV because it had been discontinued and was hard to find. I will keep my XUV until it dies, because of how versatile it is (SUV/Pickup). Not to mention how enjoyable it is to drive. I've taken it to the Smokey Mtns, the Ozarks as well as traveled home to Wisconsin from deep South Texas without any problems. To me this is the perfect travel vehicle.

Report Abuse

It only happened to you

Joel Larson, 05/25/2010
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

At 40,000 miles my my gas gauge quit working and went I went to the dealer he said it's not a warranty and it would cost me over $600.00 to repair. Then, a week later, my control for my fan went out on the 5th speed and a week later the 4 speed went out. again the dealer seem to very surprised and said wow this never happens either and for 500.00 they could fix the switch. What I find amazing is my wife's van made by Chevrolet has the exact same problem. GMC have to be aware of this problem but they don't care and people wonder why imports are doing well. We also have a 94 Honda in our family with 200,000 miles and we've done nothing except oil changes and tires.

Report Abuse

If you find one, buy it!

GREENER, 11/19/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Rides like a dream. Looks exceptional, performs like a top of the line SUV should. Handles great in bad weather. OnStar gives me an added feeling of security, knowing that my wife and children are safe @ all times and just a push button away from help, allows me to rest easy. Sheer comfort! A joy to drive and plenty of room for all of us and our things. Towing capabilities are huge. I tow a 22 foot fishing boat with no trouble. The sliding rear roof feature has come in handy for my wife a couple times already. Bringing home large trees and shrubs for the garden, and I used it to bring home a new refrigerator. The only knock I could give, the gas mileage could be better.

Report Abuse

Envoy XUV

Lucky John, 08/08/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The ride is excelent. No road noise etc. Design of inerior is excellent.Handling is very good unless you hot rod around, top heavy. Roof option on XUV very much ahead of it time.

Report Abuse

The best truck for the money

Kendall, 09/03/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the truck of all trucks. It is so versitile. It is also a fun vehicle too. I have a V-8 and it really adds to the preformance. Gas mileage is resonable.

Report Abuse

Love It !

BJ, 03/17/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We have used this vehicle constantly since purchase. It has been used for trips and pulling our trailer. It is not quite 7 months and we have over 18,000 miles on it. It has not failed us once! The far back area is used for our 4 dogs. With the window separating it from the seating area the flying fur is no longer a problem. To clean it you just need a hose. What a pleasure this vehicle is. The best ever!!!!!

Report Abuse

A great car

Mike, 12/19/2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great car

Report Abuse

My XUV

dakotaqueen61, 08/20/2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

They poorly planned the console/CD holder area. It's not convenient or safe to use while driving. CD's do not go in and out easily

Report Abuse

Dependable Alternative

Gordon, 11/08/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased the XUV after owning a 3/4 ton Avalanche. When gas prices started soaring, I worried about the 8.1L engine, but still wanted the utilitarian rear area. I have the 5.3L DOD (Active Fuel Management) engine and have owned the vehicle for a little over three years. I have had no problems with the vehicle and highly recommend it. I own a 22ft Toy Hauler trailer that weighs in at about 5,600lbs with water and ATV and use the Envoy to tow it. I have towed from Idaho to South Dakota and over 6% or better grades in the mountains around the area, and the truck tows great! This is a great alternative to a 1/2 pickup if you don't need the bed.

Report Abuse

GREAT SUV/TRUCK

WILIAM MATTINGLY, 07/18/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought mine 2 mos. ago (5/09) w/32000 mi. on the clock for 12k. What a buy! What a truck. Can't be beat! Better get one while you can!

Report Abuse

Swiss Army Knife of SUVs

Sleepy, 11/24/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I'd seen these for years and finally bought one. Very handy for a pet owner with 2 big dogs. Used the sliding roof several times when getting items home. The cylinder deactivation probably helps some, but not huge. V8, heavy vehicle, & still 19-20 mpg highway - not bad. Plenty of power, even when loaded. Very comfortable on road trips. Tons of interior space, always enough room. No storage compartments in the cargo b/c of hard plastic, so I made a wooden truck box for jumper cables, first aid kit, tie downs, dog ramp, etc... Also, the tailgate won't stay open when swung open like a door and parked on a downhill.

Report Abuse

2004 Envoy XUV

Gillian Trojan, 07/07/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my Envoy XUV, but I do agree that the suspension is a little soft when cornering. My biggest complaint is that, for a woman, there are no little cubby-holes for stuff - sunglasses, pen, etc. There's the armrest, but that's not convenient to reach and dig around in when driving. There might have been a compartment over the mirror, except that with the XUV that has been taken up with the buttons to operate the moving parts. The other item is that there are tie- down rings, but not enough - you have to move them if you want it in another angle - couldn't GM just add all the tie-down rings? Other than that, I love my XUV.

Report Abuse

Great - Except...

Bill, 09/26/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After about 20,000 miles the check engine light came on then off. It does this reguarly about 1000 miles off and 100 on. By the time I get a dealer appointment it is off again. Other than that an excellent buy.

Report Abuse

Great turck

delcalzo, 10/16/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had the xuv since jan 1 04 and i have used it to do just about everything from moving large appliances to ripping out trees and still rides like new i love the truck and would buy it again

Report Abuse

GREAT Vehicle

XUV lover, 10/26/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle for my wife in July, 2004, we traded in an Old Silhouette and was able to lower my monthly panyments by $40 per month. The XUV design of the cargo area is excellent. It truly is a SUV and a pickup rolled into one. An excellent vehicle for a do it yourself homeowner (yard work, transporting yard waste, machines, etc.)

Report Abuse

2004 Envoy XUV SLT V8

Jurban, 11/11/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall, this SUV is a very nice vehicle and pleasure to drive. I choose the 5.3 liter V8 option; not so much for the towing but for better acceleration, slightly better city gas milage; plus when loaded down it pulls with little effort. Additionally, I find the vehicle has an extremley "Big Car Like" ride. However, the vehicle does tend to lean a bit around turns and could perhaps use some sort of anti-swaybar system. Would I recommend the Envoy line of SUV's absolutely! I think It is a fine choice for anyone who wants to have a classy ride and great utility features to boot.

Report Abuse

NO COMPETITION

AL SEWELL, 11/11/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

THERE IS REALLY NOTHING LIKE IT.IT DOES EVERYTHING I COULD WANT ,PULL MY BOAT, HAUL PLY WOOD,MOVE FURNITURE,CARRY SIX PASSENGERS AND PERFORM WELL OFF ROAD.IF MY SUV COULD NOT DO ALL THESE THING,I MIGHT AS WELL HAVE A FOUR DOOR SEDAN.

Report Abuse

good suv great price

seanvoy, 11/24/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this at simpson gmc new for $19,999 (list was $32,500) so it was loss leader. Envoy XUV backend is too big, but otherwise its a great deal

Report Abuse

2004 Envoy XUV

Deb, 12/29/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this vehicle. It is great--If I need hauling capabilities--it is there. Just driving--great. All around this car is the answer to having a truck when needed, but having a great vehicle to drive anytime.

Report Abuse

2004 Envoy XUV

Deb, 12/29/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this vehicle. It is great--If I need hauling capabilities--it is there. Just driving--great. All around this car is the answer to having a truck when needed, but having a great vehicle to drive anytime.

Report Abuse

envou xuv

railav, 12/30/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this has been one of the best cars i have owned. 4 wheel drive for east coast weather, small enough to drive thru manhattan, the roof opening has allowed us to pick up furniture etc we never could have before. the back allows for water to enter and exit. seats are evry comfortable

Report Abuse

GMC XUV

Richard, 01/06/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this vehicle. It drives comfortably; however a little mushy around corners. I would highly recommend this SUV

Report Abuse

GMC XUV

Richard, 01/06/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this vehicle. It drives comfortably; however a little mushy around corners. I would highly recommend this SUV

Report Abuse

2005 XUV

Larry, 10/10/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

When GM Lease pull ahead came along I decided to buy something that is not only useful but very unusual as well. I really like the ride package, seat comfort, and handling characteristics. Fuel mileage has been getting better with additional miles on the clock, and I'm getting almost 18MPG in mixed driving. I bought a rear carpet/floormat and a tie down package at the dealership that gets you more rings to attach stuff to. Too bad these trucks have been discontinued. GM spent a lot of money getting this package to market. Advantage - Me!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050