Used 2004 GMC Canyon Crew Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,392 - $4,462

Used Canyon for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

GMC Canyon is a nice truck

Greg, 02/27/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

At first, the GMC Canyon's interior was hard to adapt to; the plastic materials left much to be desired. After a while, however, I adapted and began to appreciate the plastics. They are actually quite rugged. My truck has the I5, XM, 6CD, Auto-dimming/compass mirror, and power heated leather seats. All are very enjoyable. The seats are comfortable for the longest of trips, and the vehicle handles very well and has a TON of power for only having five cylinders. It is very much more powerful than its S-series predecessors, and I can confirm first hand that the truck can pull WAY more than it is rated -- the truck can pull over 7,500 pounds practically effortlessly. Trust me.

Report Abuse

Canyon performance

Ron, 04/02/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I am very satisfied with the overall performance. it was not designed to be a rocket. I have no complaints with the power, and I can pull a loaded utility trailer with firewood weighing about 300 lbs. with no problems. The interior could use a bit of dazzle, as it is quite plain. Rear disc brakes would be better. The exteior is as classy as any small truck on the market. I have had many compliments on the design.

Report Abuse

A month of interstates and mountains

Tom, 02/25/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've found the Canyon 3.5 liter excellent for fast interstate and slower, steep mountain driving. The two stage 4wd has also been very good on snow. The OEM tires, however, have limited "stickiness" in spite of their "all season" rating.

Report Abuse

GMC Canyon review

wvu_matt, 01/13/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Handling is tight and responsive. I was hesitant with the 15" wheels. I have towed cargo trailers with no problem or lack of power. The 5 cyl is great on gas without losing much power. Only problem was the valve springs. These were replaced around 10k miles. Evidently there was a service bulletin but no official recall. If you lose power at highway speeds--have them check valve springs (I think they fixed that on the newer models). Overall, I would buy it again. Great looking (I have black on black offroad package) and plenty of interior room with crew-cab.

Report Abuse

I got the lemon

jcanyon, 07/06/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Initially, I loved this thing! Over some time, I realized that many small things would add up to make me hate it! The plastic molding is of poor quality, the rear seat cup holder has broken 3 times. Brake light recall sent me to the shop twice. Front turn signal wiring harness only works when bumped in just the right way. Gauges poorly located behind steering wheel. Musty air conditioner. Rear cloth seats that no one sits in have torn in the seams. Rear seats squeak constantly. Rear seats very uncomfortable when used. Computer acts up intermitently - alarm sounds when truck unlocks! Worst is that it is the same exact truck as the Isuzu I-370! Is it a GM or Isuzu?

Report Abuse

04 GMC Canyon Crew Cab 4wd

dwnszer, 01/28/2006
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Pretty much what I expected. Had only one problem. Front end was aligned wrong which caused premature wear of the front tires at 17500 miles. Dealer replaced tires and realligned quickly. I have the crew cab with four wheel drive. Works good in our snow filled winters. Rides very smoothly gas mileage not as good as I had hoped.

Report Abuse

2004 Canyon

Richard1, 08/31/2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I recently purchased a Canyon, was driving a Dakota. When I purchased this vehicle I was awhere that the truck was a bit smaller than the Dakota but they told me it was a comparible vehicle to the Dakota now after the purchase they are indicating that it is not a comparible vehicle. This truck is very light, tinny and a rattle can, it does not even come close to a Dakota. I am so sorry that I bought this vehicle but it is to late an now I will have to drive a vehicle that I do not like. The only thing that compares in this vehicle to the Dakota is the price. Are there other complains simliar. Thanks

Report Abuse

Great truck

Karen Newberry, 01/12/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love driving this truck. It rides like a Yukon, only better. I never would drive a truck and fell in love with this one. Only problem we have is my husband hits his elbows on the split console sometimes. I have no problems with it at all!

Report Abuse

Good Beans

Mesiah, 11/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Its a good truck, more people should buy good ole american knowhow. Its good beans.

Report Abuse

Good Job

mushucat, 02/13/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great truck. Fun to drive and very smooth. Lots of room. Worth sacrificing a foot of bed lenth.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

Patriot Nation, 02/15/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck is big upgrade from the Somona crewcab 4X4.More room,horsepower,better features.Just a better truck!

Report Abuse

Excellent Truck

Mrgreen, 02/28/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great ride, performance and getting 20+ mpg in mixed driving. This truck is heads above my Sonoma and much more solid than the Dakota I drove. Room for wife, daughter and all our gear. Quiet smooth cruising.

Report Abuse

Very Satisfied Customer

Michael Richmond, 03/02/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had absolutely no trouble with this vehicle, and I was skeptical at first about the 5 cylinder engine. The only thing I feel could have used a little more thought is an absolutely trivial item, the center console is not tall enough to use for an armrest. I feel that if the only complaint I can find is the armrest, then I am 100% satisfied with my purchase. This truck performs well, it rides better than many 4x4 vehicles I have been in. The electronic selection for 2wd,4wdhi and 4wdlo is very convenient, just push a button and away you go.

Report Abuse

Gmc Canyon Crew

Al Canyon, 03/15/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Looks like a truck rides like a car. Best truck I have ever owned. Top of the line. Move over Toyota you have been out done!!!

Report Abuse

2004 Crew Cab Canyon

Tab123, 05/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned my CrewCab 2wd caynon for 2months.I Love this truck.It drives like a nice car has lots of room the leather seats are comfortable for long road trips.I avg 21mpg around the city of Charlotte and have avg 25 onthe highway.I highly recomend this truck over compatable models.

Report Abuse

Eye for a Detail

RaginCajun, 05/31/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I really analyzed what I used my previous truck for. I really didn't haul any large loads in the back bed, nor did I pull a trailer with a heavy load. I mainly used it to commute to work, haul my family around, recreation, go hunting, etc. This truck fit as close to perfect as possible. It's not too bulky, nor a tinker-toy. So far, I'm very satisfied with the truck.

Report Abuse

Best in its Class

Simple Truck, 05/27/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have been shopping for a crew cab Canyon for about ten months. They are very difficult to get, especially in 4wd. I have owned two S-10s in the past. I also test drove the following crew cab trucks: Dakota, Tacoma, and the Frontier. You will not find a better truck for the money. Do yourself a favor and at least go drive one.

Report Abuse

awesome

Sal Ammander, 06/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is a great little truck

Report Abuse

This is a Great Truck

Parr4, 07/16/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

So far this truck has exceeded my expectations. Its extremely quiet(no road noise), good gas mileage, the engine is powerful and quiet. It's perfect for what most people need a truck for: like running to Home Depot or Lowe's to get needed materials for home projects. Pulling a boat or going hunting, camping etc. There's plenty of room in the crew cab model. I have two kids and when we go out of town, we load up and go in the truck. Overall, I could'nt be happier with this vehicle. I've been surprised because I have not seen too many on the road, but I think that will change after word gets out on just how good this truck is.

Report Abuse

Canyon

padfam, 07/31/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's to soon to make a complete review. Performance is not there. With the air on and four adults, there isn't any! I miss engine gauges. Oil,water,battery. With posi in the rear, it slips around in wet weather. Needs disc. brakes in back. I think that would help. I bought it to tow a 3100 pound boat. I think that was a mistake. Last veh. was 02 Envoy. It plenty of power,I had it in the shop 14 times. Dealer stated new model year problems.

Report Abuse

blah

indigocanyon04, 08/13/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i love my truck!!!

Report Abuse

What's not to like about the new Canyon?

greg_mgoblue, 09/19/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ordered in Nov. 2003 and it finally arrived in March 2004 but worth the wait. Trading down from an 02 Sierra that ran flawlessly for 95,000 miles in 2 years was a tough decision but with fuel over 2 bucks a gallon and 3 fill- ups a week something had to change. The choice was made easier when I saw pics of the new truck. WOW! 21 MPG with the I-5, plenty of power, holds speed on the mountains here in Northern "Kaaalifornia" (California for the rest of the you)

Report Abuse

Excellent Pick!

prpljett, 06/05/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I shopped around through many dealerships and test drove all the pickups available and this one suited my needs. I got a good deal and I'm extremely happy with my purchase. This is a gorgeous truck!

Report Abuse

Great Truck

Jeff, 11/28/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my '04 Canyon used with 10k miles and now I have over 40k. It has great fuel economy and power. The only problem I've had is the passenger side heated seat was not working. But it's all fixed now and I couldn't have asked for a better truck!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050