Used 2018 Ford Expedition SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$41,500 - $69,995

Used Expedition for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Joy to Total Disappointment

TBF, 08/02/2018
Limited 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl Turbo 10A)
53 of 56 people found this review helpful

After picking up our 2018 Expedition in January both my wife and were totally excited about what Ford had produced.We havedriven full size SUV ‘S for 25 year.We enjoyed the handling, engine performance and technology feature in our new Expedition. But unfortunately that didn’t last long. After bring the truck to the car wash it would start flashing warnings on the dash repeatedly :Forward Collision Warning Blind Spot Detect System Trailer Harness Warning. 2 Trips to the dealer they couldn’t duplicate it despite the fact I had 40 warning sent to my Ford Pass. On the 3 visit they found a defective harness , but Ford had that part on Backorder . The part arrives in 20 days but after installed a secondary problem with the Air Bag System requires another part not available. Bottom line we have been without our Expedition since 6/26/18 today is 8/1/18. We have made every effort to contacts Ford Motor Company and to date can’t get anyone to talk to or address our issues. Wonderful product but Ford forgot about Customer Satisfaction Buyer Beware. A one time loyal Ford Customer Feeling Betrayed

Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Highly Satisfied After 8+ Months; NOT NOW

Rob S., 09/03/2018
Platinum 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl Turbo 10A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

The redesign team did a fantastic job with high attention to detail. Virtually no problems. I agree with another reviewer a conventional auto transmission shifter would be preferable to the round dial selector knob which can easily be moved into wrong position. I also question whether the lane keeping assist could cause an accident if in a slide and trying to steer out of it. It will cause sudden and erratic steering on rare occasions, and not sure if it would jerk the steering wheel if trying to quickly avoid a close call. Otherwise, the vehicle is amazing and I've never owned a vehicle that is so well designed for comfort and driving enjoyment. 3 Yr. Update: This vehicle has not held its value very well (38% decline in 3 yrs. per Edmunds appraisal in spite of it being in outstanding condition and driven less than 22,000 miles). I ran into a problem a few days ago by happenstance when trying a lug nut socket on my lug nuts, and finding it didn't fit. The dealer confirmed the 2-piece lug nut Ford uses will swell and cannot be removed with the supplied lug wrench. She showed me 8 different defective lug nuts she keeps at her work station to demonstrate what is happening. Only one wheel was removed by a non-Ford dealer while the other three wheels have only been removed by a Ford dealer (all lug nuts are swollen to some extent). I asked if Ford covers them under warranty. At first, the answer was no but then it changed to possibly. However, she advised it would happen again since Ford still uses the same exact defective lug nuts. I was told to go elsewhere to buy replacement solid, 1 piece lug nuts. If you Google search, you'll find a class action lawsuit that was dismissed a few years ago but will explain the problem more fully. My beef with Ford is they never warned me of this problem which could create a serious or deadly incident for a person if stranded in an isolated or unsafe area. Moreover, the vehicle will likely need to be towed since any responding roadside help may not have the tools to break these defective lugs nut off. To me, this is unconscionable when corporate executives (or it's law dept. if not disclosing to executive management) don't give a damn about the safety of its customers and makes no attempt to alert them or correct this problem. The position staked out by Ford is a bonehead decision, and I hope someone brings another lawsuit against Ford if an owner or family are severely harmed or killed by being stranded in an unsafe, deserted location. Once I sell this vehicle, I will not buy another Ford vehicle since I no longer trust Ford's executive decision making.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ford Got it Right!

John, 02/06/2018
Platinum 4dr SUV 4WD (3.5L 6cyl Turbo 10A)
26 of 28 people found this review helpful

I have driven Fords most of my life. I moved to Toyotas (Sequoia, very good vehicle) about 10 years ago and now I am back with the Expedition and love it. Ford's redesign hit a home run. Rides great, handles great and has the room I need for sons sports teams. Electronics are great also. My wife has driven Lexus (Great), BMW (never again) and now a Range Rover (fantastic vehicle). So far the 2018 Platinum Expedition is right there with the Lexus and Range Rover!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2018 Platinum Expedition Review

Bryan C, 12/26/2017
Platinum 4dr SUV 4WD (3.5L 6cyl Turbo 10A)
33 of 37 people found this review helpful

My family of four values large SUVs, and until now Ford hasn't played well in this space. The last five full size SUVs we have owned have carried the Chevrolet/GM badge for obvious reasons. The most recent was a 2016 Chevrolet Suburban so I am well equipped to give a comparison review of the American brands. For starters, it's fairly obvious that the profile of the new Expedition strongly resemble the Tahoe/Suburban. But fortunately that is where the resemblances end. In every other way, function and form, the Expedition is unique and better. Arguably it should be, however, as the Suburban is almost three years older with the current gen dropping in March of 2015 (I had mine then anyway). When I say better I mean technology, ride, power, fuel economy, reliability, quality, functionality for families with small children etc. So far the only thing I can see that GM does better relates to child locks in which Ford requires you to engage from the inside of the rear doors where GM has a convenient switch located in the front for the driver to easily engage and disengage. Otherwise, the Expedition combines what I liked about the GM competitors while fixing the things I hated. For me the Expedition is the perfect full size SUV.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my Mad Max

Spoiled Happy Wife, 01/25/2018
MAX Limited 4dr SUV 4WD (3.5L 6cyl Turbo 10A)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

I was fortunate enough to have my husband surprise me and order a 2018 Ford Expedition Limited Max. Every option that was available was equipped on my Expedition. I didn't make any of the decisions on options or color BUT I have to say it is amazing! We used to have a 2014 Ford Explorer Sport. This was a perfect vehicle until my kids out grew the Explorer and some CO2 issues. So jumping up in size to the Expedition and add the Max- you would think it drives like a tank but it doesn't. It's reminds me of Alice in Wonderland, as you stand outside the vehicle and think the size is massive then you step inside and it doesn't feel or handle like a tank at all. The ride is superior as it glides down the road, no hesitation just pure excitement. The Expedition feels luxurious and yet comfortable without being gaudy. Our kids have plenty of room and no one complains on lacking leg room!! Our teenager and pre-teen have so much room that I have caught them napping more often than not. On 3 road trips and 3k miles I am averaging 22 mpg and as high as 26 (mostly downhill). I love being able to choose the mode whether Sport shifting, Eco (economy) or Normal. We have used Mad Max in the snow and she handled like a champ. We have had no issues with the Expedition at all!! Update: 27 k miles later and I’m still loving this Expedition! Only change is I purchased the Extended warranty through Ford due to the Hugh miles. My fuel mileage has ranged from 18.5 to 30... that 30 quickly went away when stuck in idle due to traffic....but it happened! Overall I’d buy this car over and over again. The looks, the comfortable ride, the handling...it’s perfect! Update 2/2020. This is the best vehicle I have ever owned. No issues at all. Our visits to the dealership are routine maintenance and tires. I am not a fan of the Hankook so after we noticed uneven wear (with tire rotations every 5k) we checked the alignment (which was fine), so we replaced the Hankook with Michelin. The vehicle is sound and performs well! No regrets at all! 8/3/2020. Our Expedition just hit 41k miles. It went into the shop for Cam Phaser issue. It was replaced by the Ford Powertrain warranty, which was helpful. It took two weeks due to lack of parts, our dealership was amazing to work with! I’m not upset at all as ALL manufacturers are facing similar issues with lack of parts due to Covid. I’m averaging between 18-24 mpg depending on how heavy my foot is that day. It is still the impressive grocery getter, people mover, dog transporting vehicle that has impressed me from day 1. If I had to replace my Expedition it would be for the new Bronco. Ford has done an impressive job on the building quality of my Expedition. I’m still in love with this all purpose vehicle. Update: 2/3/2021. We have 48k miles and it is still an amazing vehicle. We have driven it in the snow, ice and almost every weather variant. It handles anything we throw it’s way! Our gas mileage is stellar... 18 around town and 26 highway. For a large grocery getter this truck sips the fuel. I have not been disappointed in this truck at all. If you are in the market definitely take one out for a test drive! Smooth, quick and nimble—-

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page: