Used 2015 Dodge Durango SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$13,995 - $33,499

Used Durango for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Durango Suprise

warren, 06/03/2016
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

Great SUV. Really good fuel economy, nice ride, Quiet, Easy to get in and out of. Had a Tahoe and I feel more in control with the Durango although a bit smaller a great alternative. I like the road handling. For a senior, this vehicle will do all that I want and then some. Lots of room for a big guy. Would buy again! Well I liked the Durango so much, 6 months after purchase I traded it for a Citadel model with even more features and am even happier. The fuel economy just keeps getting better (25 mpg highway) and the accident avoidance feature and adaptive cruise control are the best of all. This is a keeper!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best All-Round 3-Row SUV in the world!

Glenn Harper, 08/10/2015
R/T 4dr SUV AWD (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
47 of 51 people found this review helpful

Firstly, I'm a 'car guy'. Before I buy a car, I do three things: research, research, and research! This past spring I had a need to reduce our fleet from 3 to 2 vehicles (getting rid of an old SUV and my "toy" hot rod for a NEW SUV) so I began researching in earnest. I wanted a 3-row, mid-size SUV with a V8 & 4WD that could give me decent mileage, carry cargo with ease and up to 6 people in comfort. Also, since I was getting rid of my hot rod, I wanted at least SOME semblance or sportiness and power as well as a nice looking vehicle that would always make me turn back for a last look as I'm walking in from a parking lot. My old SUV and hot rod were both Dodges so I specifically ignored the Durango at first, fearing my pro-MOPAR bias would color my judgement. I made my list of requirements and started looking. To make a long story short, I researched Ford, Chevy, Mazda, Kia, Hyundai, Honda, Toyota, Nissan, Land Rover, Audi, BMW and, yes, even Mercedes. The Japanese don't offer V8s (except for the Nissan Armada which was otherwise terrible), the Europeans had contenders...but only if I wanted to spend $15-$50k more than I'd planned, and the other American makers only had vehicles that met my requirements if I went up to FULL size SUVs and even then their mass make them very slow and unsporty. So I finally came back to look at the Durango. It checked off EVERY item on my list except for price - it was about $5,000 more than I was wanting to spend, but after going for a test drive, I see where that $5k went. The Durango is darn near in the luxury SUV class with all the amazing bells & whistles as well as top notch safety features. The interior is AMAZING and not something I would ever have thought Dodge could produce. Bottom line: I went out and ordered my Durango R/T immediately. I took delivery back in May and, after 3000+ miles, it has been nothing short of a dream of a vehicle and pure joy to drive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Absolutely love the Durango

jimsD, 01/23/2016
Citadel 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
20 of 21 people found this review helpful

I was looking at an Explorer when I stumbled on reviews for the Durango. I was looking for range, gas mileage, a decent towing capacity and comfort on long trips. I didn't need the extra towing capacity of the V8. I now own a Citadel with the Pentastar V6 engine and absolutely love this thing. The HIGHS: At 290 HP, the V6 feels very strong and I find it accelerates easily into freeway traffic. With a 24.5 gallon tank, I have close to 600 miles in range. I travel frequently where there are long stretches between gas stations and the extra 100-150 miles is reassuring. In city driving, with lots of stop and go, I am getting 18-20mpg with ECO mode off and 19-20 with it on, 24-26 mpg on the highway. Slightly narrower than the Explorer, so I find it very easy to park, maneuver and get it into the garage. I find the interior to be very spacious even for a large person. I also tow trailers, so the 6200lb rating beats anything out there, a V8 tows more. Cudos on the rotary shift knob. I thought I would not like this, but I have found it to be smart and intuitive - after two drives I wasn't even thinking about it. The eight speed trans shifts almost imperceptibly but has a strange shift pattern in eco mode. It delays upshifts when cold which causes some concern and delays downshifts when accelerating. I turn it off and get about 1 mpg less mileage in town but no difference on the highway. I use the paddle shifters (these are die cast, not cheap plastic) for hill work and they work very well. The interior leather is luxurious and flawless, but the color choice is limited. The seats are firm and supportive, which I find extremely comfortable but can be a bit hard on trips longer than 4 hours. The Uconnect system is frankly the smartest, easiest, most intuitive system on the market. You can customize a whole litany of things from the screen including behavior of lights, whether the horn chirps when you lock doors, whether mirrors rotate down in reverse, speed warnings, etc and the best news is that you don't need a masters degree to do it. There is also an info center on the cluster that you can select what you want displayed. The downside is the NAV system has virtually no updates available. LOWS: 1. The steering ratio requires more turns at low speed so it takes more turns of the wheel to maneuver in parking garages. 2. The pedals are not adjustable, which makes it a little more difficult to get the driving position just right. 3. There is a glitch in the audio system (which I believe FCA is working on) where the equalizer settings will change at different volume levels. 4. Cargo Volume is less than other brands and the Third row is not really suitable for adults on long trips. 5. Paint quality isn't first class - there are minor variations in color if looked at closely and orange peel that other makes do better on for this class of vehicle. 6. Lack of support on the NAV system.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my 2015 Durango

Mark, 10/20/2015
SXT 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

In my 42 years I have owned more cars than most. I have had many Chrysler/dodge products with a mix of Ford, Volvo, and Honda products. I love my Durango SXT with the sport appearance package! I'm so tired of hearing from foreign car owners about how American cars are junk and foreign cars are the greatest. This is what I've learned. I could have gotten a Toyota or Honda, comparable to my 2015 Durango for a minimum of 10-12k more than what I purchased mine brand spanking new. If you do the maintenance that is absolutely required of you whether it's foreign or domestic, cars now are build to last. I also switched to Mobile 1 synthentic oil (silver) My SXT is a "base" car, but base today in 2015 is nothing like a base car of just 5 years ago. It has way more toys that my 2011 Ford 150 XLT Crew Cab, which I also love. I love how it drives, how it looks, and it's perfect for a family. We tried a more gas efficient, small car for a year and a half and it was plain miserable with 3 young, but growing boys. I can't say enough about this SUV and I would purchase another. My plan is to keep this one for a very long time. I've had Chrysler products through 110k miles with NO major issues---Pacifica, Dakota, Plymouth Breeze, and LaBaron GTC. The only one I considered junk was my 2010 Dodge Caravan SXT---Junk!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Refined SUV that is better than it's name

MikefromWisconsin, 09/15/2015
Citadel 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
26 of 28 people found this review helpful

So far after about 6 months, the only complaint I have is its called a Durango, that's it. Other vehicles we own/have owned include Lexus, Toyota, and Audi. Honestly, we went into this SUV search thinking we wanted a Highlander, Lexus GX, or GMC Acadia Denali. What came out of over a year of research and test drives? There is a reason why Fiat was considering making this a Jeep and removing the Dodge badge, because, in the higher trims, this is a high-class vehicle. In the end, with the Citadel trim, and everything, black/tan interior, I just love it, love the curves, love the high-end but simple interior, the easiest to use Nav/Ent system on the market, plenty of cargo room, drives smooth, just love it. I had a guy yesterday walking in the sailing yacht club parking lot who saw me driving by slowly from the front/side ask me if that was the new Mercedes, not kidding. It really reminds me of a smooth Lexus to be honest. Our second choice was probably the Acadia Denali, with the two-tone interior which was our favorite, it seems several people we know with the Lamba line vehicles have had major repairs, didn't have the power/pull the Durango did, had less room (I'm 6'3" 250lbs, so this is important), and the nav/ent system was complicated, at best. The only drawback? Well, it says Dodge on the car. Honestly, that is what held us back. Had it been a Jeep, Toyota, Lexus....it would have been easier. Durango just doesn't align with how refined this vehicle is, especially in the upper trims. Originally, we thought we wanted the hemi, but I found the V6 to be just as fast at acceleration, but probably less torque, so if you pull trailers a lot, go with the hemi, but if you are like me, and only do it 3 times a year ,the V6 is more than adequate.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Can't believe I bought a Dodge either

Vivien Baty, 10/20/2015
Citadel 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I was looking at BMW, Mercades, Lexus!! Saw a used Dodge Durango Citadel and didn't stop until I was driving one!! Best decision I ever made! I love it!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

After owning 38 cars I LOVE this one.

Rebecca, 09/23/2015
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
24 of 28 people found this review helpful

Ignore the name and drive the car. I have owned a large number of cars over the years. My last was a GMC Envoy. I set out to buy another GMC or possibly a 2016 Pilot but after two weeks of test driving I couldn't find anything I liked better than my old Envoy. A Facebook friend suggested a Dodge Durango. I know they make nice trucks but I had no interest in driving a Dodge. So I sent my husband to drive it while I went wine tasting with my friends. When I got home my husband said I "Had to drive it, I would love it" I reluctantly took it on a test drive and within a mile down the road I knew I wanted it. It turns on a dime, so nice to get it into a parking space, shifts smooth as glass, sets you back against the seat a bit when you accelerate, heated seats first and second row, dual climate control passenger and rear, touch screen controls, dual power seats, third row seat, sleek, just wow, nothing but compliments and "is that a Dodge"? Every time someone sees it. ha ha. The remote start is fabulous, and I love the key fob. I can't forget my purse or the car won't start because I keep the key in there... lol. Starting it remotely with my phone hasn't worked so far but I hear that the program is not compatible with I phones. Getting 21 mpg even with my lead foot. I am a Realtor and Dodge offered Realtor rebates. Plenty of room for my signs and family with the third row seat. LOVE love Love, this rig. (We went with a Limited) model. *update. 14 months later. Still like the rig but the transmission feels loose or sloppy. When I take my foot off the gas and then back on it kind of jerks or clunks.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love It!

Marcus, 02/23/2017
SXT 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle new for my business which involves mostly highway miles. The Durango is amazingly quiet (like my Lexus) and seems extremely well engineered. I average 29 mpg when warm and 24 when in winter conditions on the highway. It tows my 18 foot Lund and snowmobiles well and feels confident during slick road conditions. The 8 speed auto is very smooth. The 8 inch display is great, audio very good, backup camera and sensors spot on. Great looking vehicle that I receive many compliments on. I am very impressed and would highly recommend. Update: Now have nearly 60,000 miles on the Durango. LOVE IT! I have had no issues with the vehicle. Still getting great mileage for a larger AWD. Recently took a 300 mile trip, all highway, averaged 29.9 MPG. Occasionally use to tow my 18 foot boat. Pulls well. Just a great vehicle!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Visibility Outward Needs Improvement

L.L., 06/26/2018
SXT 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Headlights leave MUCH to improve. I drive in rural area with no street lamps. LED Lights on high beam do not illuminate far down the road. If you attempt to execute turn at night, there is NO side illumination and you are turning into a black void. Poor visibility out front windshield where side posts block a lot of the road. Absolutely need backup camera to see any obstacles when reversing.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

To Durango or not to Durango?

Audra, 12/22/2015
Citadel 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

My husband and I have expanded our family with a new baby so it was time to upgrade our vehicle. We looked at several SUV’s from Chevy to Toyota, crossing Buicks and Fords, we even visited the jeep. The Durango was the very first vehicle I drove (test) and none of the other really gave us what all we wanted not only in space and safety but also price and comfort. We also have a 21 foot camper we haul therefore whichever vehicle we bought would need appropriate towing capabilities. Our dealership really hooked us up with some awesome warranties and life time powertrain coverage (with stipulations). Thus our buying experience was very pleasing after 10 days of running around everywhere comparing. Now I have owned my new Durango for almost a month. My review…I love how it drives and hugs the road. My children have their own separate seats and there is no issue with crossing each other’s paths. I am pleased that if one of them turns on the lights in the back, it does not cause any distractions with my driving; I do not even know it’s on actually. Most of the extras like heated seats and multi adjusting seats are nice to have for convince and comfort. My husband is 6”6 and husky. I am 5”9 and a lil fluffy and we have plenty of room together no matter who’s driving. I can also sit in the back seat and tend to my newborn comfortably. Third row seats, my four year old love them. The GPS is a pain is the bottom though. It is one that I am working on figuring out. The voice recognition is not exactly my cup of tea. It’s like asking for a representative when you call the IRS… I do have a slight accent so I am not sure if this is the issue. Works good for making phone calls but if I want to go somewhere new I have to add 5 minutes to my itinerary to mess with it and pray I don’t hit it with a hammer. The Automatic high beams are not as punctual as I would like them to be. I feel I blind a quarter of the other drivers and another quarter thinks I am a vixen because the high beams flash on and off at times making it seem as though I am asking them to dim their light…thus I get flashed back. And last the rear hatch door does not seem to have a safety sensor for object in the way while it automatically shuts. So push the button and shuffle quickly out of the way. The good thing is, is that all my issues can be resolved by disabling them through the vehicles settings. I hope this helps anyone looking into this vehicle, as for me I will be keeping mine for a while!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Durango Month 6

John Donahue, 04/29/2016
SXT 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Much better than Chevy Traverse in acceleration, road manners and interior quality. Nicer interior and styling than the Ford Explorer. Looks like a Dodge Ram truck versus Traverse which looks like an overinflated minivan...I normally buy GM, but Durango driving experience was way better. Traverse was lousy to drive, slow acceleration. Big surprise on Durango fuel economy. Combined getting about 24 MPG. That's at the top of the estimate. Very pleased. Interior touch screen and back up camera are fantastic as compared to GM. 6 months in, lots of highway driving, 16,000 miles. Still perfect. Tows our small boat. Could not be more pleased. Well done Dodge.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Can't believe I bought a Dodge.

Sean, 09/16/2015
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
18 of 22 people found this review helpful

My research for a used Mercedes GL 350 led me to the Dodge Durango since they use the same chassis underpinning. The Durango was developed when Daimler owner Chrysler and the result is one amazing vehicle. Unless your still in high school and can't get by with a prestige brand the Durango is an amazing value that would likely sell for 15 to $20k more with the Jeep badge on it. The new 8 speed transmission is smooth as silk not surprising though as it is also the transmission in Bentley sedans as well. I looked at Pilots, Explorers, GL350's, MDX's , CX-9's and QX60's and thought I found what I wanted until I drove the Durango Limited and knew what I wanted. I was really surprised but it truly is a fantastic vehicle. Do yourself a favor and test drive one.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

MB to Dodge

W Hunt, 09/29/2015
Citadel 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

Traded in my ML500 for the citadel and am a happy camper. It's one of the best SUV's that have owned. Blows the MB away.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2015 Durango Limited review

kyle, 08/12/2016
Limited 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

48,000 now and multiple dealer visits . The ck engine light came on, something with the emissions and 3 visits to fix and still having trouble with the key fob. Car wont unlock, wont lock, wont start etc. Dealer replaced the box...now it just wont lock at one bank. No kidding. Rest is fine so far, no other real problems as yet. Glad to have the ex warranty. Its paid for itself to date. I'm still 6 out of 10 on this one. Wear is showing on the interior and molding and the technology is iffy. I certainly dont want a new one anything.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Excited to own a newer car

Linda, 08/06/2016
SXT 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have bought a 2015 Durango SXT 2 wheel Drive about a month ago. I traded in a 2002 Tahoe. Love Tahoe's but this car has been a great change. I had an adjustment to the transmission style (8 speed) V-6. Technology is amazing. Back up camera , rear air conditioning , rear seats fold down FLAT. Not like the Tahoe you had to take them out and put them in the garage. Great feature. Love the interior and it has room for 7 people comfortably. The only complaint I have is that it has a blind spot at the windshield pillar. I have gotten adjusted to that and accommodates for it. Gas mileage is awesome. Eco friendly button for driving around town helps but not necessary. Kumho tires are really not what I expected. I have the 20" black chrome wheels. Love the car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Did my research, ended up with a Dodge? Yup.

Craig, 09/30/2015
R/T 4dr SUV AWD (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
11 of 14 people found this review helpful

I wanted decent gas mileage. Big engine, small vehicle "package", that includes trailer towing: the best I could find. Needed to pull a travel trailer (just under 5,000 #), AWD vehicle for snowmobiling / pulling that trailer and being able to fit some kids and even grandkids in. Did opt for the factory trailer tow package, a GOOD thing. Reviewed the imports, chevy, gmc etc. Dodge kept coming up as an option (I kept trying to ignore). The only reason entertainment is not 5 stars is the lack of a CD. player. I guess that's old technology. I bought a battery operated CD player and play it through the aux. jack. The only reason not 5 stars for acceleration is because I decided I did not want to opt for the Hemi $, or poor mileage. Could use a little more storage behind the 3rd row seats but bearable. 63 years old, many cars/pickups in the past, honestly "love" this thing! Not HUGE like Tahoe, Armada, Sequoia. Easier to park, maneuver and get in and out of garage. Pulls the trailer, along with 7 passengers, unlike most other smaller cross-overs/SUV's. Actually gets the mileage indicated. Love the 8 speed tranny with paddle shifters, especially towing. Good looking, great underpinnings, think Jeep / Mercedes. Look in a Jeep and the interior is almost identical. But much less $! Fine looking and riding vehicle, glad to be seen in it too! Ignore the Dodge insignia and just buy it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Beware the MPG and the noises

Simon Facer, 04/15/2016
Citadel 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
13 of 17 people found this review helpful

I've been driving SUVs for 20 years, up until recently GM vehicles - Blazers, Tahoe and Yukon. I traded my Yukon Denali (6.2L V8) in for a Durango (3.6L V6) - I didn't want to pay for 15MPG any more. I thought that if I can get 15mpg out of a V8 6.2L tank like the Yukon, I should be able get low 20's out of a smaller and lighter Durango. Not so, the fuel economy is incredibly disappointing, even with a very light foot on the highway, I struggle to get more than 20mpg. The quoted figures are probably legal, but they aren't real world - you will not get 25mpg even on a long highway run, unless you are cruising on a perfectly flat road at (probably) 56mph. The build quality is OK, but for a top of the line model (Citadel), the trim level is surprisingly disappointing (a word that crops up too much with this car). No sill plates, door trim is showing signs of wear after 3 months, carpet over the 3rd row of seats is showing signs of strain where it stretches over the interior mechanism. I have little confidence in the longevity of this good looks of this vehicle. There is a 'nice' rattle, like a handful of pebbles rolling around on a plastic tray coming from somewhere under the dash, on both sides. And the really worrying thing is that the noise goes away when it rains - not only is there something in there that can't get out, but it's also open to the elements - can you image the rust trap that I can? The engine is marginally powerful enough. In order to make it handle better, they made the transmission lazy - it doesn't shift anywhere near soon enough. I can be on a flat road, or even going downhill, with my foot almost completely off the gas pedal and the engine at 3K+ RPM, and it refuses to shift into a higher gear. I have gotten into the habit of paddle shifting I up a gear or two and then putting it back into full auto. The lazy shift is almost certainly a reason why the MPG is poor. On the plus side, the electronics are good, the sound system is good and it is fairly nimble for an SUV, I travel a lot for work and get to drive vehicles other than my SUV's, so it's not a nice nimble Lexus, but it isn't the tank that I had before, and it handles reasonably well. I will not be buying another Dodge based on the experience with this one so far, buyers remorse indeed.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

SXT AWD

Justin Sutherland, 11/09/2015
SXT 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

I am a saleman for CDJR and love the Durango. I just purchase done for my wife. We needed a larger SUV and I wanted AWD this time around. For the price I couldnt find anything comparable. Its an SXT so its surely not "fancy". It has some nice creature comforts though. Back up camera(and sensors), NAV, heated seats ans steering wheel. The 8.4N is a great setup and very easy to use. We came from Ford and werent too happy with the easy of use on the Sync system. There is plenty of room for our 3 kids. Very pleased with our Durango overall!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Durango R/T AWD does everything!

Patrick Krook, 11/29/2015
R/T 4dr SUV AWD (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

Loved this thing so much (see original review below), bought a 2017 R/T, only this time with Red leather interior. This is a driving person's SUV. If you need three rows and configurable storage for an active family lifestyle and you don't want to sacrifice the "Fun to Drive" factor, nothing else comes close to the power, road feel, and handling of the Dodge Durango R/T. Those that do, cost $20k more and still can't touch it. New stuff: SPORT MODE. Love it. Favorite Stuff: Adaptive Cruise Control Stuff I Can Live Without: Lane Departure Assist (Dodge, please make this feature with an "off" button). We were looking for a family hauler that had a luxury sport presence, also fitting to drive clients around in. This beauty does it all. Handled the 16" blizzard with gusto in regular AWD or 4Lo. Electronics are intuitive, and can be customized to your liking, from full on "nanny" to utterly silent. Handles two iPhones in the car at the same time without issue, Bluetooth phone or USB media input. "Imported from Detroit", fit and finish rivals anything out of Germany or Japan. Looked at an Audi Q7, cost $10k more equally equipped and the regular maintenance would be four times as much.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2015 Durange beat the competition. SUV X frame

Auto obsessed, 05/09/2016
SXT 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I wanted a SUV ! No a CUV. Durango fit the bill !! Technology package is awesome. Pentastar V6 get great mileage and 8 speed tranny is smooth and auto stick adds a sport mode I enjoy. Comfortable ride with a long wheelbase. Negotiated a good deal . Hard to find a value these days with current sticker prices. Give it a try if you are in the market.

Performance
Report Abuse

Great Looks, Great Mileage For Large SUV

Terry, 12/08/2016
Limited 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Although I love the looks, gas mileage (just over 27 hwy on long trips) and overall performance, there are a few issues. First, the fuel door can only be opened electronically and we have had multiple instances of not being able to get it to open. There is an emergency pull located in the cargo area that is hidden under a removable well. It was very difficult to get this to even work but after 5-6 hard tugs by my husband, it did open. I took it to the dealership and was told that since it was working properly at the time for them, that there was nothing they could do about it. One of the salesmen told my husband that he'd had the same thing happen to another Durango just that morning when he tried to gas up. After a bad customer survey several days later, we were contacted and given the offer to bring it back in for further evaluation (it's there now). Time will tell if they were able to detect and resolve the issue (I am not holding out much hope...). The other big complaint is that, for some illogical reason, attached to the right side of the steering wheel are wing-like protrusions that shift the transmission gears up or down. It is easy to accidentally push one of them depending on where your hands/thumbs are placed on the steering wheel. To get the transmission to return to normal operating function, you have to completely stop, shift into park and then back into drive. Why anyone would design a vehicle with an automatic transmission with gear shifting tabs on the steering wheel, is a mystery to me. I asked the service department if they could be disabled and was told that if there was a way to disable them, they were not aware of it. There is a strong lurch when it shifts from first gear into second, but otherwise shifting is smooth. As noted with quite a few newer vehicles nowadays, it does not come equipped with a CD player. I wish auto manufacturers would appreciate that there are still some consumers that would like to listen to their CD collections. It would also be nice if standard equipment included running boards as the ground clearance is high enough to need them and I am not a short person. It would be quite a drop down for someone who is short. The cargo area is quite spacious, especially when the third row seating is laid flat. Overall. It is a comfortable, good-looking ride and very roomy and well-appointed. A much more affordable option to a Chevy Tahoe, etc.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Better than the competition

Patrick Williams, 08/03/2015
Citadel 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Dodge has come a long way during the last 15 years. A quality product with technological advances putting them on a par and in allot of cases ahead of the competition. They are listening to the consumers in what they want in a SUV. We get numerous comments on how nice the Durango looks and when people ride with us they can't believe it's a Dodge. Kudos to Dodge and their improvements over the years.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Durango is all that and a bag of chips

Brian Pahlow, 02/25/2017
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great overall build quality and performance. Very happy with the vehicle as a whole but would have been happier if it were about 10% less cost to purchase. Don't feel like the price was over what it should have been though. Very safe and great performance for a vehicle of this size with a V6 engine.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Works for me!

C Burks, 08/19/2017
SXT 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

When I went to buy this car in 2015, the thought was what was the most economical (purchase and operation) SUV that I could get and hold for 10 years that would give me a towing option? The Durango had more capacity in this area than other SUVs short of the likes of Expedition, Tahoe, and Suburban (which were more expensive and more gas thirsty). After a couple of years of heavy use, this persnickety customer is generally pleased. We have not yet hitched a trailer to this vehicle (for various family reasons), but we have used the hitch receiver for a cargo basket, put an additional cargo rack on the manufacturer-provided roof cross bars (can be placed or stowed for a cleaner roof line), and with this taken up to 6 adults and their luggage on extended road trips. Fuel efficiency has been good (over 20 mpg on the highway, fully loaded). Generally the vehicle is comfortable, a pleasure to drive, can get as far in the sticks as you want to go with a 4x2, and cleans up well. The biggest annoyance has been temperature control. The Chrysler engineers took the attitude that you tell the car the temperature you want, rather than just "hotter" or "more cool". I end up trying to out-think the controls to get what I really want, and become nostalgic for old-school slider bars that give "hotter" or "cooler". I haven't driven enough other vehicle built in the last 2 years to know if this is a Durango idiosyncrasy, a Chrysler idiosyncrasy, or a wider conspiracy by auto engineers at the expense of the car-buying public.

Performance
Report Abuse

42000 mile update

Kyle, 10/02/2018
Limited 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We lost Kuhmo tires at 20k. Had a few dash flickers and no starts through the 30s and 2 recalls. Now at 42k its had 3 visits to the dealer for the emissions in 3 weeks. Chk engine light keeps coming on. This doesnt look good....

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great truck, SUV but

Joe, 11/17/2018
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great family truck, exceptional pretty much everything is great. But The traction control is very intrusive, as well as the abs! You will crash this vehicle if you drive it in the snow and try to stop even moderately to fast. 10 mph down hill will not stop! Turn the traction control off and it gets a bit better! I have extremely aggressive tires on ours, Goodyear duratrac wranglers. Goes great, will not stop! Even in non emergency situations! Im a professional driver, have thousands of hours in many different vehicles, and in all weather! And this by far is the worst ABS system ever!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Racing RPM's in Second Gear

Barbara, 07/22/2016
SXT 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

I don't know if we got a lemon, but the car races into high RPM's in second to fourth gears and we aren't moving forward. It is un-nerving especially when we are on interstate highways in large cities and even just driving at home. When it occurs, the D which is for Drive gear is replaced with a large white number showing the gear we are in. We have had it checked twice for any reports of trouble but nothing is showing up on the computer. Next week we take the car in for another check and will leave it with our dealer so they might drive it and have it do what it has been doing to us. Our dealer will also check with Chrysler and see if any other Durangos are having the same trouble. We enjoy the flexibility of our car and enjoy the smooth ride but this is a problem we need resolved. We trust our dealer will take care of us. Updating on what has transpired. We have decided that the levers on the top of the steering wheel to down or up shift have been bumped generally on turns or lane shifts. We don't believe it is due to a mechanical problem. Dodge has stood by us on this issue and given their attention to our problem and that has been very satisfying. We took the car back to the dealer yesterday. They are road testing it and we hope we will figure out what is causing the problem. They ran the computer for error messages to no avail. We did get an update on the computer but we won't know if that was a fix. Time will tell. We now have a loaner car to drive until something more concrete is found. It could be a bad sensor with the throttle or something more complex. I just want our service department manager to tell us the problem was found and repaired. I will post any updates as they occur.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Beyond disappointed

Beth Gordon, 09/14/2015
Citadel 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
8 of 14 people found this review helpful

In 28 years of marriage, this was our first new vehicle purchase. We have 11,000 miles on it and have had it for 6 months. We've had to have it in the shop six times and still our issues are not resolved. The back shocks had to be replaced, a sensor went out in the fuel system causing our check engine light to go on, which disables your remote start capabilities. We had the sensor replaced and was assured the check engine light would stay off and it came the next day. I have not been able to use my remote start for two months. With temps over 90 degrees, this was very disappointing. We then had a terrible grinding noise under our pedal and brake. It was put on the hoist in the shop and the audible grinding has quit, but the technician never stated that there was a problem. There is still a slight grinding feel in the brake. We are now going to a new Dodge dealer to have it looked at and hopefully get the check engine light off. The DVD player in the entertainment system is very touchy and at times doesn't work. I understand getting the kinks out, but this is ridiculous. Unless Dodge provides some kind of intervention (and we are contacting them) I would never buy another Dodge again. It's really a shame because the potential for this to be the greatest midsize SUV on the road is definitely there.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

shake raddle and roll

Tina, 05/25/2016
R/T 4dr SUV (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
6 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2013 dodge Durango, I thought it was a great suv but I was having problems with the front end wobeling on the highway. we tried to get it fixed they couldn't fix it ,when we went find another vehicle no one wanted to give us the amount we owed on the car. due to its terrible value ,so we traded it in for a 2015 dodge Durango rt . hoping for the best . we started out liking the car until we had an issue with the company who put a dvd player in left metal shavings on the seat it scratched the leather we had to fight with the dealer to get it fixed . the dealer told us we had air condition seats , and I believed them seeing it had little wholes in the seats . on the first hot day I went to turn the ac on and come to find out no air condition seats . then I went to turn on eco mode seeing how the gas milage was terrible and the eco mode makes a loud rumbling noise and vibrates your steering wheel . its so bad you cant turn it on .brought it to the dealer three times . they said that's how it was made . i called chrysler they said they could only offer me some oil changes REALY its going to cost me a lot more than a few oil changes in gas . so now I'm stuck with this vehicle i cant trade in due to these issues and no one would take it as a trade because its not worth the money we paid for it . thanks chrytsler

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Hmmm surprising V6 Limited w/

Mark, 10/18/2015
R/T 4dr SUV AWD (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
6 of 13 people found this review helpful

UPDATE Sept '16: Over a year old with 37,000 no problems, everyone getting in believes it is a new truck. With 25k miles on Kumho 20" tires (12k on snows) they are shot but weared evenly: The design of this SUV is great. Love the way it drives, ergonomics and gas mileage. Smooth, quiet, solid, predictable ride and handling. The gas mileage exceeds expectation: 20 normal city driving, 25 around town and have been able to go over 30mpg repeatedly with a mix of suburb/hwy relaxed driving. Have not read the manual or watched the CD provided but find the controls intuitive. Beats audio is excellent and recommended. Bluetooth pairs with everyone in the family's phone quickly. Best logical/practical/redundant operation of controls than any car I have owned. Now the bad: plastics and chrome interior surfaces are scratched easily. This is more wear/scratches appearing than my Kia with 75,000 miles or my VW with 100,000. Loud squeak in the driver's seat over certain rough road surfaces (squeak still there at 37000) and what sounds like a phone on vibrate going off in the front passenger dash for first 5,000 miles but disappeared and returns rarely on certain roads(Update: buzz gone). Minor service problems during first 5000 miles but none since. Broken fuel line being the biggest problem. Stronger brakes requiring little less pressure would go a long way to perfect driving dynamics but this is a minor point. More bite would really shrink this SUV and be more in line with its responsive characteristics(Update: Breaks still lots of life left at 37K). 2016 model with stop and go engine at stoplights would be wonderful on this vehicle as idle is a little rough (Update: switched to Penzoil Ultra Platinum no change). Also new for 2016 is a sport mode to improve driving dynamics and can't even imagine what that must be like since my 2015 does it all to such a high degree. I drive for Uber and EVERYONE who rides in this is shocked it's a Dodge including veteran Dodge owners. Mercedes and Range Rover owners are equally surprised and impressed, even questioning the value of their vehicles with the Dodge half the price. Getting into third row of Durango is big reason I bought. I have adults using these seats and found the Durango to be the easiest ingress egress over, Ford, Acura and Kia. If Dodge can shed 300lb+ off the Durango they would go a long way to dominating MPG + performance in this segment. As noted in other reviews, transmission clunks in lower gears if you accelerate, lift off, then accelerate again but during 99.9% of everyday driving, gear changes are impossible to detect. LOVE the large gas tank and don't know why other non german SUV's don't incorporate them. I almost bought a 2016 Acura MDX but sister in-law is having so many problems with hers I am more confident comparatively in the quality of my Dodge Durango. I would highly recommend test driving this vehicle before purchasing any competitor.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Solid Vehicle - Plan to keep for 10+ years

Gary Hackett, 12/16/2015
Citadel 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Purchase experience was excellent - Dealer experience was the best. Great looking vehicle that drives and runs well. Well built, quality SUV that I plan to keep and drive for many years. UPDATE AFTER TWO YEARS: 22,000 MILES and zero problems. Best vehicle ever!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

New suv that lasted only 470 miles

Brent Bjerregaard, 11/25/2015
R/T 4dr SUV AWD (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
10 of 24 people found this review helpful

Picked up new at dealer with 33 miles on it. Drove it to Beaver Dam Az. and the trans. went out at about 470 miles. They towed it back to dealer that said it would be about 3 weeks before they could even look at it. So now we are stuck with a peace of junk.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

New review

David Heist, 04/18/2016
R/T 4dr SUV (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
3 of 7 people found this review helpful

its new, we'll see in about 6 months what we think It's been a little over 6 months and I'm very happy with our decision to buy the R/T. Sweet sounding inside and out. Very comfortable on the long drives we've been on. It's Durango #2 for us, the first one saved my wife's life in a head on collision at 50mph! Happy campers, thanks.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fifth Durango

Tibbs, 04/15/2017
Limited 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We like them so well we've started shopping for a 2018 already.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Winner,Winner,Winner!

Roger W, 08/22/2019
Citadel 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is amazing. We bought it on impulse, believe it or not we drove it for less than 10 minutes and told the salesman we had to go back to the car lot. We got out of the car and said , we want the car but we need the third seat. He was a little shocked and said are you sure you don't want to try out more cars? Nope! It's my wife's car, she is obsessed with it. She loves all the funky features, especially the ACC and the safe braking system. We had a major accident with the vehicle, hitting a telephone pole head on ! We were fine, this is a great vehicle!! Here we are 4 years later and ew still love it, smooth , ride, amazing acceleration with a v6, super comfortable for birth my wife and I, she's 5 foot and I am 6'3". Some friends got in the car and started looking inside and said, so is this a BMW or Audi? Enough said! Go buy one!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

MOTOR TICKING NOISE

Gloria Cisneros, 12/10/2018
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

My durango has a knocking noise..it has oil ..had a tune up..n the motor has knocking noise...2015 dodge dursngo

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

2015 Durango rt

Black Edition, 04/04/2018
R/T 4dr SUV AWD (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great vehicle, gas guzzler

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome

Jose, 07/29/2017
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a luxury vehicle without the luxury price.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Durango

Glenn, 12/28/2019
R/T 4dr SUV (5.7L 8cyl 8A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Durango R/T Wow what a awesome vehicle to drive, this is very comfortable, can set into memory driver 1 and driver 2 preferences, mirrors,radio stations, seat settings. This makes it great for me and my wife to swap out driving. Heated seats just awesome. The auto slide seat to the full back position to exit makes it so easy getting in and out. Will buy another one.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Enjoyed our 2015 Durango

Lundgrens, 03/02/2020
Limited 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The 2015 Dodge Durango was a great car! Drove smoothly, was super comfortable and had great cargo space.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050