Used 2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 SS Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,332 - $4,658

Used Silverado 1500 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Love My SS

Armando Pagan, 12/24/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I am on the road in my truck an average of 4 hours a day. I am a very hard driver and the truck has been at wide open throttle since the day it left the dealership. There is now 53000 miles on my truck and I am extremely impressed by the way the truck is holding up. I have had many vehicles that had to be discarded becuase of my driving habits. This one is a keeper!

Report Abuse

Great SS

Jim and Pam, 11/02/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is fun to drive! The performance and handling is great. We have gone on long trips with it. It is very comfortable and easy to drive. We owned a 96 Impala SS and the Silverado SS is the best. It is an all weather and versatile vehicle. It is close to the GMC C3. However is has more standard features. We love it. We have been looking for a vehicle like this for a long time. Great job Chevrolet.

Report Abuse

Silverado SS

dcairns, 04/02/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Rather pricey, but it has every gadget in the Chevy parts bin. The only thing missing is excess power I wanted. Sadly that is still Ford's domain. There is plenty of power, great cornering and AWD for sure traction. The ride is firm but smooth and generally comfortable. There is a harmonic bouncing on some concrete freeways. Cab noise is very low. The rear view mirror is a bit low for me, blocking forward view at the horizon line. The sun visor in the side position, blocks too much of my view left. The truck has a solid feel to it and I have found no flaws in the exterior metal work or paint. The styling is well suited for the SS and looks great.

Report Abuse

Fun to Drive

bryan Sipes, 12/07/2003
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This truck is fun to drive. Just watching someones head turn as it goes by is a reassuring feeling that you bought a good truck. The handling and performace are excellent with the lowerd suspension and the 345 hp, 6.0 liter.

Report Abuse

Awesome SS

MikeF, 04/27/2007
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Love this truck. It gives the feel and capability of a truck but the look of a high performance vehicle so head turning is always happening. It's a good professional looking business vehicle that you can throw your Harley in as well. Always getting compliments!

Report Abuse

boring exterior

jeffrety, 09/29/2003
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

should of been more flair to the exteior of this vehicle. no fog lamps and no real contour to the sides of the vehicle. should of put 19's int he front and 20's in the back for a better angle of the trucks appearance... overall a great vehicle fun to drive and head snapping power a little lite on the top end though top speed is 110mph a little boring for us that dont care anout spped limits.

Report Abuse

bad bow-tie

mac daddy, 04/20/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This truck is built for fun. The lightning will not come out with 500 ponies, it will back to the 380-390hp or what ever it is. Supercharger on a chevy and see what the numbers say. The short wheel base model for next year with a supercharger will blow a lightning out of the water, just watch and see. The 500 ponies on the ford is a concept, and we all know how concepts work. Ford is scared to produce a truck with 500 ponies, watch and see, it will be back to the small 5.4 and that little supercharger.

Report Abuse

best in the world

rwea1, 02/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

chevy is all the way. Better than the lightning. Best v8 there is.

Report Abuse

Had To Have One

BigBobBl, 06/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

WOW!!! Saw one yesterday in a mall parking lot....HAD to buy one TODAY. AWESOME AWD. Looked at the standard Lightning...was impressed, but just couldn't buy. Drove the Harley- Davidson model too...didn't like the sound of the supercharger at full tilt. Too noisy. It shrieked like it was coming apart. Plus I didn't like the bucket seats out back. Ths styling is controversal....having owned many Fords over the years, I loved the clean styling of the Chevy. I also liked the Hemi from Dodge, but the Chevy SS won out overall. Hope it holds up to all the hype. I think the gas mileage is the best of all 3. Fords are always THIRSTY, and Premium is required.

Report Abuse

2003 Silverado SS: Fun and Functional

Bryan C, 06/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Okay guys, here's the real scoop on SS performance. I'm just back from Palm Springs where I hauled my 23 foot travel trailer 120 miles with my new SS. 12.9 mpg while pulling 2 tons+ of trailer (and I wasn't even trying to be conservative!). I set the cruise control at 60 mph, pushed on the trailering button and let it go on its own. To get that kind of performance out of a vehicle thats rated at 13 mpg city and 17 mpg highway is awesome! My personal modifications: electric brake control (for trailering), SnugTop solid tonneau cover and carpet kit to the bed. Now, all I've left to do is tint the windows!

Report Abuse

RedSS

RedSS, 09/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Unbelievable from the time you step on the gas until you peel yourself off the seat!

Report Abuse

I saw a Dodge SRT10 in the Ditch!

Stunts, 12/03/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great truck. I hope they continue to make it because I want a new one every 3 years. I chose the SS because of the All Wheel Drive and Extended Cab. Sure a Dodge SRT10 maybe faster at the top end but not off the line. My AWD hooks up and I'm out of there while the Dodge sits and spins. And lets see the Dodge forge snow and ice! Not gonna happen. And after I beat the snow storm and make it to town, I can throw plenty of food and beer behind the seats (Extended Cab!) and still get up to 60 mph in 6.3 seconds. The exhaust note is phenomenal. The transmission shifts as smooth as the one in my Mercedes E420. This truck rocks!

Report Abuse

Got It

Jim Wallace, 10/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I first saw the one in the state of Washington late may. Came home to Sacramento and went right to a dealer and got one. Didn't need one, didn't have any idea that i wanted one until i saw one, so i bought one. I will never be sorry i got one. So much power, so much comfort, so much style. Don't know how i got along with out one........ Chevy Sliverdao SS...............

Report Abuse

The "NEW" Camaro

J Leibenguth, 10/13/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's about time they designed a truck with an attitude. Silverados have always been known for their durability but were never much on street performance. This "truck" has the heart of the camaro and the balls of a silverado.

Report Abuse

They don't build em like they used to.

XSSV4S, 10/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I like the truck and would be thrilled with it if the build quality and dealer/manufacturer support were improved. There is an irritating wind noise from rear side windows which GM refuses to fix. Power folding mirrors are cool, but get out of alignment frequently. Ride and handling are ok as long as you avoid rough pavement.

Report Abuse

Like a Rock.........

Deebo, 10/26/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My favorite all-time vehicle! Rates a solid 9. SAFE, Neck snapping off-line performance, weighs over 2 1/2 tons yet gets 17mpg, brakes compare with ANYTHING, awd is outstanding in any weather, trailers like a diesel, great Bose sound system, etc., etc., etc. Anyone who complains should be in a car.....period!

Report Abuse

My first new SS

2003REDSS, 11/10/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great truck! Does everything well. Nice paint and features.

Report Abuse

The Caddilac of Trucks

ONYXsilveradoSS, 05/13/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck rocks. Some minor problems but fixes make the truck better. Chevy de-tuned this one big time and there is performance left to be had...faster. Love this truck, better than a Ford in build quality.

Report Abuse

BETTER THAN EXPECTED

JJOYS1000, 12/03/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

GOOD STRONG PERFORMER. GOOD RIDE QUALITY. LITTLE BIT OF HEAD SHAKE. THROTTLE TIP IN A LITTLE ABRUPT.GAS MILEAGE POOR 13MPG HIGHWAY. INTERIOR LOOKING VERY DATED. TOO MUCH PLASTIC.

Report Abuse

SS

SED, 12/05/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Truck handles well for its size. Overall I am very satisfied with the vehicle. The truck won't perform with the lighting, but you can't haul the whole family in the lightning.

Report Abuse

Love the SS

hotruck, 12/24/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Get lots of looks in this truck. It is very fun to drive and it handles snow and other nasty weather like a champ.

Report Abuse

one bad truck

roy boy, 01/04/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this truck no other compares

Report Abuse

SS Experience

Face, 01/04/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Xlnt features, I was impresed by the exterior styling. I thought that the extra body molding on the SS made the truck look leaps and bounds better than ther stock styling of the Silverado. In fact, I always thought GM was lacking in the styling of the "03 Silverado until I saw the SS. I am still trying to learn all of the electronic control features available re: personal, buisness and annual mileage, current mileage etc. Remote control and memory seats are an option that should be available in every vehicle. Six disc Bose CD in the dash is a great option.

Report Abuse

A Real Looker

tommy3652003, 02/09/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck is a real head turner.This truck drives like a dream in any kind of weather. The power is excellent and the 20 inch wheels makes the statement this truck is special. Try it you will like it!

Report Abuse

One BadSS

thoneycutt, 05/09/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the best looking & performing pick-up Chevy has ever built. It really turns heads. Enough said!

Report Abuse

My 03 SS

GaryC69Z, 07/08/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I drive my SS 5 - 6 days a week. I really enjoy that GM feel'n every time I stand on the throttle. I traded a 2000 Silverado and was dreading the fuel ecomomy drop between the two but to my suprise I am getting 16.5 mpg like clockwork.

Report Abuse

I really like this SS.

mwr, 09/13/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall, I love my SS. Great looks, good power, awesome brakes, big wheels/tires, comfortable seating for 5, AWD, and TERRIFIC in bad weather. An excellent tow vehicle too. I occasionally tow my race car/trailer and almost forget they are back there. Fuel mileage started as low as 10mpg, but has improved to the 13.5-14mpg mark after about a year. Best I have done is about 16.5 highway. Love the XM radio and heated seats in the winter. I have fun driving this truck every day, except for paralell parking it at work. If I had to make a complaint, it's that this truck is really expensive to own: monthly payment + insurance + gas really ads up. Thank

Report Abuse

Hot 04 SS

vburg, 09/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fun truck to drive

Report Abuse

SS 4 Ya!

saegc7, 02/18/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Moving from an SUV to a man's vehicle was an easy choice, but finding out which one was the tough part. Nissan has reliability problems and Ford (fix or repair daily) was out of the question. The Toyota sat too high and wasn't wide enough. The Chevy had the power, looks, and "truckability" that I wanted. The power from the 6.0L HO V8 is phenomenal. Plenty in reserve when cruising @70 mph. The interior is great with everything ergonomically in place. The climate controls are easy to operate and keep the cabin confortable. The Bose sound system is awesome especially when coupled with the optional XM radio. AWD is a boon when in rain or snow. Get 'em while they last! You won't be disappointed!!

Report Abuse

Don't Hate, Appreciate!

CHINGON, 03/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The 03 SS is a great over all TRUCK as far as working, towing, going out with the family or simply cruising. It also has a Six Disk C.D. Bose System, XM Radio, and On Star System. On safety the SS has AWD system and upgraded breaks, 20" Al. wheels, and a throghty sounding exhaust system. That you can't say about Ford, all you got is a two seater with an engine and the bed is just for looks because you can't load it. If you want competition I suggest you wait for the upcoming Regular Cab SS with an upgraded 6.0L V8 putting out about 495HP and over 500 torque. This power is being generated with out a super charger unlike the Lightning.

Report Abuse

Good Truck

John, 01/26/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my truck since May 2003. I haven't had any problems except the throttle body had to be cleaned under warranty and the intermediate steering shaft had to be fixed under warranty. Otherwise this truck has been very fun and useful and totally reliable. I plan to keep it a long time! Gas consumption surprisingly good!

Report Abuse

chevy rules

JaredB, 03/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Silverado SS is the best there is. The lightning might have more horespower, but you got to remember that it a ford. Ford engines don't put out a lot of horsepower, so you could have used that extra money spent on its wasted engine to mod out a Siverado. The stupid blue oval doesn't have any reliability. Not to mention that its design sucks. Anyone with common sense can see that.

Report Abuse

The Silverado SS Kicks Ass

kurt13, 04/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Best truck ever, all around great speed, control and its not like the other sport tucks, it can actually pull a trailer.

Report Abuse

My Silverado SS

pcjunki, 04/28/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Of all the hot trucks this one satisfied all of my desires. Fast, great looking, functional, can carry more than two people comfortably, able to really carry something in the bed and tow at the same time.

Report Abuse

Silverado SS: Excellent all around truck

T Molchany, 05/10/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I picked up my Silverado SS a week ago today and I am very pleased I decided on this truck. Yes, the Lightning is faster (how many Lightning owners actually have gone 140MPH?)but this truck balances performance, comfort and useability better than anything else available today. I am thoroughly impressed with the build quality and design. The paint is outstanding, the interior details are spot on and the creature comforts are better than expected. The Bose stereo is crisp and clear. You get quite a few lucks in this truck and to be honest, that's something I like. I traded a 2001 Corvette ZO6 for my SS and I'm glad I did. Bottom line: I'm a happy SS owner.

Report Abuse

Phoenix SS

Lee2, 05/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I think this vehicle is light years better than my old 1999 stock 1500 Silverado. Except for the ride (which is very truck like) it handles very well. Almost European car like. It has lots of power but I don't understand GM's reasoning behind not offering a supercharger (at the very least, an option). This is, afterall, an SS. When you water down the name you hurt the image.

Report Abuse

brand new

east, 05/18/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great styling, satisfactory handling

Report Abuse

03 SS

rmcswain, 04/09/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The best all-round truck on the road. Great looks and styling, plenty of power and AWD to boot. More features than I have ever seen on a truck. Fit and finish is excellent. Low profile, 20 inch tires and wheels, monochromatic paint give this SS a mystique unmatched by most vehicles. Gas mileage is very good for this type truck.

Report Abuse

THIS THING ROCKS

JAKE BROOKS, 05/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

THE THING I LIKE ABOUT THE SS ITS AWD LOOKS AND ITS ALL 1 COLOR

Report Abuse

The best

diamante, 06/18/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought this truck a week ago traded in our 2000 silverado. Not missing my 2000 luvin our new ss .What a awesome truk ;)...

Report Abuse

Smoking SS

Jonesy , 07/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I traded in a 2002 chevrolet extreme, on my new ss. Gas mileage has suprised me its been getting about 17.8 in the city. This truck attracts so much attention people almost drive into the side of you, or rear end someone else. trying to figure out what kind of truck it is, and who is driving it.

Report Abuse

its about time

Gary&Dana, 07/05/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It took a while but they did it and they did it good just traded a 2001 Z71 thought i would never get rid of it untill i saw it. I got rid of my sport truck that i built for an extended cab Z71 now im back in the saddle again.

Report Abuse

Chevrolet new SS 1500

Marvin J. Thompson, 07/04/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this truck has great towing ability. It is very comfortable and a head turner. I am always being asked if it is the new thruck with the 6.0 liter motor that Chevrolet introduced this year. The truck is very confortable and very quick, even when towing a boat or wave runners to the lake. The controls on the steering wheel are a great new feature for pick-ups.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050