Used 2002 Chevrolet Cavalier Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,256 - $2,841

Used Cavalier for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

This Car Will Not Die

smk92, 07/26/2014
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought this car 14 months ago for 1500 dollars. It had 273,000 km on it and the only major thing that had been replaced by that point was the water pump (I know cuz it was my sisters). It now has 312,000 km on it and still running like a charm. I am now replacing the fuel pump because it just went but for a car with 312,000 I can't complain. I love this car to death and I will drive it until it dies. In the last 14 months I have spent maybe 300 dollars on it for minor repairs (sensors etc.)

Report Abuse

Best car i have owned..it just keeps going and ...

todd, 04/23/2016
LS Sport 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 5M)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new off the dealer lot. I currently have over 235K miles and still getting 24MPG city driving. It uses about 1/2 qtr every 4k-5k miles. The clutch needed replacing at around 75K due to a failure on the springs, but the replacement GM clutch is still going in the car but is showing signs of needing to be replaced again after 160k miles. The original alternator gave out at 220K miles and i was still running the original serpentine belt. Other than these repairs and the usual repairs (brakes, rotors, struts, springs,filters, plugs, ect) the car is still on its original factory parts including ball joints, tie rods, CV joints, ect. But after 14 years the car is showing its age from michigan winters and such, but is still running strong. Goes to show you if you take car of the car and do the repairs/maintanence...it will run for a long long time.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

318,000 with 2 repairs

roadwarrior13, 06/23/2014
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Finally totalled on NJTPK in multi-vehicle pile-up with 318,000+ miles, only 2 real repairs ever = water pump, alternator. Other = 1 wheel bearing & exhaust. Change oil regularly & do very little else... looking for another one :)

Report Abuse

Average at best

cav_rider666, 06/04/2012
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

I have owned my Cavalier for six years now and the car has treated me well. The interior is roomy and comfortable, however the build quality is terrible and I have a nice crack that formed on top of the dash. The handling is ok if you drive sensibly, but the Cavalier isn't a blast to drive. It will do the trick to get you from A to B but you won't have much fun in the process. The 2.2L OHV engine is reliable and relatively cheap on gas, but don't expect the same level of performance or sophistication as the japanese brands. Overal the Cavalier was a good car for the price paid but there are far better cars out there.

Report Abuse

The best $5500 I ever spent

joebloe1, 05/23/2013
LS 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought a 2002 4 speed auto with 60K on the clock in 2007. It now has 147K. It has been absolutely reliable with routine maintenance. With a set of Pirelli tires it handles great on our curvy roads. We average about 30MPG. Minor problems with outside mirror, sun visor and cracked dash. Apparently due to poor choice of materials, workmanship or design. The odometer works intermittently. There is apparently a bad connection. When you bang on the instrument cluster it works. The seats are really uncomfortable after a couple of hours. This is an inexpensive car that is very reliable. I expect to get well over 200K miles. If they still made them I would buy another. Update 5/2016 miles ~ 187,00. Still runs like a new one. Replaced water pump while we were at it replaced timing belt, serpentine belt, plugs and valve seals. Supposedly you do not have to change ATF. I change mine every 60-70,000 miles using synthetic fluid. (Fluid is cheaper than transmissions.)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

300,000 miles

contaucreek, 01/02/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought used in 04. Drive 100000km a year and have about 480000km on it now. Odometer burnt out, dash lights burnt out, countless rear strut mounts,a/c failed first due to wiring then due to probable clutch problem, usual headlight wiring issue, does not burn a drop of oil, reliable like you wouldn't believe (touch wood)

Report Abuse

2002 Cavalier LT Sedan

C,Diddy, 08/13/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car is unspectacular. The ride quality and performance is below average. But,I love it for being extremely reliable and cheap to operate. Good on gas and oil. A.C. only works 100% when vehicle is moving. ABS and traction control light goes off and on, and I have a strut in the front that needs to be changed. But, like I said, RELIABLE and CHEAP! I have 103,000 km on mine, and I have no doubt it will last for as long as I need it to.

Report Abuse

Super Great Car

Gracie, 11/28/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have loved this car. Although it isn't fancy, it has done me well. I haven't any major issues with it. I did have to replace two of the power window motors, the starter and the water pump, but all together less than 500.00 in almost 5 years. Never had any sign of trouble, and it always gets me to where I need to go. I have taken it on several 1000+ miles trips with no problems.

Report Abuse

a great car!

ryan sarver, 10/14/2016
LS Sport 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

175k miles and still going strong, has only ever had normal maintenance, this is my 2nd cavalier, my first one was a 03, I was young and dumb and was running close to 100mph, hit a phone box, went thru a fence, hit 2 trees then backed the car out of the woods and walked away unharmed, I can not complain with this car I love it

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best car!

kad44664127, 06/17/2013
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2012 for $1500 with 83000 miles on it and crank windows. started every single day without a problem. during a snowstorm i slid on some ice and hit another vehicle. got it fixed with parts from the junkyard and worked like new again. then i got bundle with an acura mdx hit a telephone pole and it got totalled. when i saw it for the first time after i expected it to look worse by the size of the car that hit me but it didnt look as bad as i would expect it to. was great on gas and cheap to fix. i loved that car as my first car and never really had to do any major mechanical work other than the accident. had 97000 miles when it did. i would buy it again no question.

Report Abuse

Owned 2 of these, liked them both very much!!!!

Ed Erickson, 07/22/2018
LS 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2002 Cavalier in 2003. Had it 9 years and I gave it to my brother's teenage kid in 2012 with 277,000 miles on it. He drove it 3 more years until it died.....what a car!!! This was the LS model, gold color, automatic tranny, 4 door. The 2.2 engine (and tranny) NEVER had any issues EVER!!! The worst fix was probably wheel bearings, but heck, this car lasted past 300,000 miles, what more can you ask for?? Best car I have ever owned, and I'm 54 years old. So, then in 2012 I bought another 2002 Cavalier with 112, 000 miles on it. This was the base model and I just traded it in yesterday with 189,000 on it. This car wasn't quite as good, had major rust issues (could literally peel it off) and I had to replace all of the pipes and muffler related parts and the ABS went out on it about a year ago, so I ignored it. Still braked fine......BUT again, NO engine or tranny problems with this car. NO electric issues either (except a battery 2 years ago.....big deal). BOTTOM LINE: I would HIGHLY recommend the Cavalier as it is very durable, and on each car I spent no more than $1500 maintaining it, which is almost nothing when you consider how long I had each car. The amazing thing is: I am in Minnesota, and even if it was -25.....those cars start EVERY TIME!!!! I hope Chevy can bring the Cavalier back, if they do, I would buy one in a heartbeat. I drove both many, many miles and I got more than my money's worth.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I love my Cavalier

Charlene, 07/27/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I absolutley love my Cavalier. I've had it for over 5 years now and I have not had a problem yet. It was previously a rental car before I bought it so I thought it would have major problems. I was completely wong. I replaced my brakes at 53,000 miles. Other than regular maintenance, it hasn't had any problems. I couldn't have asked for a better car. I get about 35 MPG on the freeway and about 30 in the city. I don't know why I get such good gas mieage (I live in Southern California for goodness sakes, I am always in traffic!). I plan on driving it until it will not run anymore because it of the gas mileage.

Report Abuse

At least this Cavaliar is 'great'!

rusty, 09/03/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great pick-up. Great on gas savings. Room enough for a chubby driver. Looks real good. Easy to keep clean.

Report Abuse

2000 Cavalier is junk

KPoole, 05/27/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After only 2 years, Already have major engine problems. Vehicle began overheating and cutting off when idle. Returned to dealship and mechanics believe new engine is needed. They claim I am responsible. The back seat is also coming out. This vehicle was a bad investment. I now have negative equity in this vehicle. It is absolutely worthless.

Report Abuse

awesome lil 4 cyl car

Eli, 01/27/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love this car (2.2L) it has manual options,cloth seats,4 doors car is great on gas mileage, very comfortable, fun to drive... its got 138 *** miles i replaced the alternator-battery at 136000 which i think is not bad after owning this car for 9 years... and it can get 38 mpg on the Hwy

Report Abuse

2200 SFI

2200sfi, 03/26/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have a 2002 Cavalier Base Sedan it has the 2.2 liter ohv engine. I love the low end torque rather have ohv than the dohc. I got it June of 07 it is my first car it had 52k when I bought it now has 110k today is march 25 of 2010. I average 34 mpg. Only thing was is this past Christmas the fuel pump died other than that it is perfect. I have modified it a bit I installed a flowmaster delta 40 muffler and converted the stock intake into a cold air intake which has helped economy and performance plus the muffler gives the car a good sound. I will own it till it dies which looks like a long time.

Report Abuse

Dealer has my car more than I do!!!!!!!!

mindyj, 12/06/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I wish I would have never bought this car. WORST MISTAKE OF MY LIFE! The dealer has had the car as much as I have if not more. Car stalls on me when I put it into drive.Dosen't happen all the time so they say can not duplicate it. Supposed to be fixed every time that I get it back but still have same problem. Power windows have gotten stuck. Cigarette lighter and power volt have both been blown. Say it was my car carger but it workes in every other car. Oh yeah they say a cigarette lighter is not the place for a car charger. Odometer light went out. Clunking in steering when I turn. Been to dealer at least 10 times.

Report Abuse

Great car!

Love Chevys, 05/13/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got my 2002 Cavalier from a dealership back in 2006. I still pay notes on it but it has been great ever since then. I have a year and a half left to own it. It has been a great car. In these two and a half years the only problem I had with it was when I initially got it, back in 06, the fuel injection went out and I had to get it replaced. But overall I have not had another single issue with this car. I love it. It is my baby. When I sell it or trade it in I will be getting another Chevy.

Report Abuse

Never trust this car!

lenoram, 02/05/2011
2 of 6 people found this review helpful

I own a 2002 cavalier. I bought this car with 5k miles. Within 6 months of ownership my starter went out. Thank God for warranty. After my starter was fixed more problems arised. I want to say I bought a used car. Electrical problems, broken trunk, broken sunviser, problems with my headlights, seat belt broken, and other problems under the hood. I HATE this car.

Report Abuse

glad they dont make them anymore

mart, 07/04/2009
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

at 47000 miles head gasket,water pump.thermostat had to be replaced.at 55000 miles fuel pump had to be replaced,located inside of fuel tank,oil filter is in a bad location,air conditioner has stop working.when car does run it runs good and get good gas mileage.

Report Abuse

A Great Car For the Money

Matt, 12/23/2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought this car with just 55K and so far it needed nothing and is holding up quite well. The little 2.2 is more powerful than you would think and the transmission is smooth. Fuel economy is an average of 35-40 MPG. The AC and heater are strong and the CD/cassette player has great sound and is RDS equipped. The interior while well designed is full of cheap plastic but its still holding up well. The seats are comfortable but look and feel cheap. Interior room is not bad for a small car.

Report Abuse

A reliable car

BTH , 07/02/2004
0 of 8 people found this review helpful

It's not a fancy car, but it was a good value and it is reliable. I have not had any problems with this car. I use it to go to work. For the money it was the best and newest used car I could find for the money.

Report Abuse

Just Fine

kggggd, 08/08/2004
0 of 9 people found this review helpful

Never a problem, good economy, decent performance, great basic car. I compared Neons, Escorts, Focus and Civics. they either didnt fair as well or were priced too high.

Report Abuse

Good Car Nothing Fancy

uneinc, 01/17/2004
0 of 11 people found this review helpful

We're really happy with this car for basic transportation. The new engine for 2002 models runs great. The interior features have been upgraded too although the comfort level is still below average. I'm not sure why the Cavilier has such poor resale value. It's the second one we've owned with no major problems. It just runs.

Report Abuse

Nice little economy car

ron, 09/21/2005
0 of 12 people found this review helpful

Great car. Have 22,000 km on and have done 4 oil changes. That is all I have spent on this car. Would recomend it to anyone

Report Abuse

Great car for the money

M Gomez, 06/17/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have over 130,000 miles on my Cavalier. Overall it's a really good car. I have had to replace driver side window motor twice but other than brake pad replacements and routine oil changes and a new gas cap, no other repairs have been required.

Report Abuse

Cavalier Nightmare

mark0, 04/08/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Low engine coolant light came on after 4 weeks... Crack in Engine block all the coolant drained into the engine and mixed with the oil. Dealer replaced engine. without car for 2 weeks. Then the alternator died at 3 months... Did anyone else have so many problems?

Report Abuse

it's a friday car

Angry man, 04/13/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car has already had some problems after a week of owning it. I had paint bumps on the trunk that I need to get fixed they are willing to do this but they can’t get me in until next week. The gears are really close together so I feel like I have to shift way to quickly, it wants me to go to fifth gear at about 32 mph. The preformace leaves something to be desired. I hope to add a K&N cold air system as soon as it comes out. Also the power window control pannel is comming out already.

Report Abuse

Would not suggest this car

Jackie91802, 08/12/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My car was great for the first couple years but all has gone down hill from there. ABS light continues to come on even after maintenance, all 4 power windows had to be replaced, pick-up is terrible, transmission is close to going, engine misfired after 45k miles, the a/c and heat does not work unless you put it on full blast, and now surprise surprise there is an electrical problem which doesn't allow me to use my left turn signal (real safe) - I'm getting rid of this car as soon as next week, never buying a GM again

Report Abuse

Good Value

KJT, 04/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a nice car with a great price.

Report Abuse

Great Little Car!

sensationalsens1978, 01/17/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It is a perfect car for getting me to work and back. I haven't had any serious problems with it. However it is starting to rust, but that will be fixed later this year! If you are looking for a safe, reliable, and affordable vehicle, look no further than the Cavalier!

Report Abuse

2002 Chevy Cavalier - Best car+value

Jonathan M., 05/20/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This was my first new car. I have had no problems with it except that the power window control panel keeps comming off. The ride is exceptional. And at a purchase price of $10,998 I can't complain

Report Abuse

Great Buy For What You Get

Thomas H., 05/28/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a very nice little car with more interior room than I would have thought. It is fun to drive and I have had no problems whatsoever with it. I would not recommend this car to a person who is looking at Cadillacs or more expensive vehicles, but would for someone looking for a nice, inexpensive new car.

Report Abuse

Ups and Downs

Amoore, 06/13/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Wow my car is a month old, and well Its been in the shop for 2 weeks of the month I have owned it, this is not looking good. It had no problems in the first 200 miles, but after that, the transmission has been torn apart twice now to get things fixed, Valves and things I have never heard of. If you get lucky and have no problems enjoy it.

Report Abuse

Well, you get what you paid for....

Violette, 06/17/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Yes I will be zipping around but I've had my problems. The car has already had the computer replaced, about 3,000 miles ago, that dealership at FL-GA border - do not recommend - took 6 hours to locate a rental and was given "tips" by others who got their car in record speed. My dealership, however explains well and is very friendly/helpful, even though they can't find the "new" problem yet.

Report Abuse

Fun to drive, very reliable.

Daystrom, 03/07/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Cavalier new in March 2002. Still gets great gas mileage even after eight years. Smooth and quite. Handles nicely. Lots of storage. Back seat folds down so you can store long items through the trunk and along the back seat. Only problem have been the power windows. Replaced the front driver side window motor after three years. It has been working fine for the last five years. Now the two back windows are now starting stick. Which is strange, since I don't open them much. Still a great car!

Report Abuse

I owned 3 cavaliers

Michael, 05/24/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The door locks rusted out twice (what's with that?) No rust anywhere else on the car. It runs great. Does not burn oil. The battery died after 8 years. I replace the blower motor at 80kkm. It slowly lost its speed until it only had high speed. I still have the car and will probably have it for many years to come.

Report Abuse

Mixed Feelings on the 2002 Z24

weethecherokee, 07/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Went from a '98 Ford Contour Sport to a '02 Z24 Sedan. Right away the poor quality of the interior was appearant. It is really plain. Road noise is pretty bad. Have had the car in the shop 4 times in 6 months. 1st time was the second week of ownership. The car is peppy compared to the contour, but the ride and handling pale in comparison. Not sure how the car will hold up over the long haul. Got the ext warranty to 75,000 just in case. The car has a nice sporty look from the outside. Also, the gas milage stinks for a 4 cyl!!! About 16-20 city & 23-26 hwy. I think the brakes will need to be replaced soon, after only 10k, they are getting soft.

Report Abuse

Cavalier "The Best"

car man, 07/08/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great performance, very comfortable, lots of leg room

Report Abuse

Great car!

Tomas P., 07/11/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I'm more than satisfied with this car. It's just a car, without any unnecessary think.

Report Abuse

Way better then expected

Grizzly1, 07/28/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I first had a 1995 Ford Escort LX, then went to the '02 Z24. I've had the car for about 7 months now. I love this car! I'm getting the same fuel economy or better then the escort. This is WAAAY more reliable than the Ford. I had to take the my Ford to the shop way too many times to count. I have had no problems with the car. My only complaint are the interior is not as big as expected, but still plenty for me and 3 other people.

Report Abuse

best damn car for the money

sfc sarge, 08/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Shopped long and hard for a new car. Searched for good used car, finally for the money, the Cavalier came on top. Noone gives you as much car for the money.

Report Abuse

2002 Chevy Cavalier LS Sport

Dmagic, 02/16/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I recently purchased the cavalier LS Sport Sedan. I must say that for the buck, this is a best buy! It has all the custom features most people want, available in factory make. The sound system is excellent, and puts a little bump in your ride. Considering it only has a 4 cylinder, the car has quite an amount of pickup too.

Report Abuse

Awesome Car

JaredJon, 02/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this car! Everything is standard. I added some cool effect like white face gauges, alumin wheels, xenon lights, euro tails....had a head on accident last week in bad weather...car frame did great and sustained no engine damage...did $6k to the body tho. That must mean it's a safe choice.

Report Abuse

Great Starter Car

Esmeralda, 02/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just graduated from college and wanted a car that was low in cost and nice on the eyes. The 4 door Cavalier LS Sport was the best I found. From the moment I saw this car I could not believe it was a Cavalier, I used to think these cars were so ordinary. Drives very well, and saves you a lot of money on gas.

Report Abuse

Good Rental

Andrew423, 12/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We resenty got in a car accedent and have to rent a Chevy Caviler and its great its nice car it drives great easy on the roads and i still like my car but this cars nice.

Report Abuse

Love My Cav

OhioGuy45701, 01/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I no I'm not alone in saying that I love my Cavalier...there are so many on the road, that I simply can't be the only fan! Affordable, reliable, and full of standard features that are pricey options on similiar-class autos, the Cavalier is built for both power and budget. Choose the LS trim for better cloth seats and power features.

Report Abuse

Decent Wheels - better than a lot

allen_hillsboro, 08/03/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great Initial Price, Good Seats, Good Handling, Great Air conditioning, good stereo. I'm pleased and will buy another when this one dies... I can't really think of one complaint. When you read the reviews of this car, you think it was terrible, but those people must be driving Mercedes normally or something...

Report Abuse

Lucky Cav Owner

decentcavalier, 08/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for a year and 32,000 miles and absolutely no problems. You can't expect much from this car other than taking you from point A to B and it does it quite well. Don't expect great 0-60 times or cornering or anything to do with performance; this is strictly a commuter car and those who complain about it should be looking at other models. Great as a your first car, then move on to bigger and better things. Keep the car for as long as you have it financed because the resale value is crap, you will be loosing a lot of money if you want to get rid of it before time.

Report Abuse

I Love My Car

Beckie, 09/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I enjoy driving my car. It handles the curves real well. I get awsome gas mileage both in town and on the highway. It is a spprty looking car, but is big enough to ride comfortably in it. This car as a lot of get up and go. It's great!

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050