Used 2002 Chevrolet Cavalier Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,284 - $2,904

Used Cavalier for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...8

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

This Car Will Not Die

smk92, 07/26/2014
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought this car 14 months ago for 1500 dollars. It had 273,000 km on it and the only major thing that had been replaced by that point was the water pump (I know cuz it was my sisters). It now has 312,000 km on it and still running like a charm. I am now replacing the fuel pump because it just went but for a car with 312,000 I can't complain. I love this car to death and I will drive it until it dies. In the last 14 months I have spent maybe 300 dollars on it for minor repairs (sensors etc.)

Report Abuse

Best car i have owned..it just keeps going and ...

todd, 04/23/2016
LS Sport 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 5M)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new off the dealer lot. I currently have over 235K miles and still getting 24MPG city driving. It uses about 1/2 qtr every 4k-5k miles. The clutch needed replacing at around 75K due to a failure on the springs, but the replacement GM clutch is still going in the car but is showing signs of needing to be replaced again after 160k miles. The original alternator gave out at 220K miles and i was still running the original serpentine belt. Other than these repairs and the usual repairs (brakes, rotors, struts, springs,filters, plugs, ect) the car is still on its original factory parts including ball joints, tie rods, CV joints, ect. But after 14 years the car is showing its age from michigan winters and such, but is still running strong. Goes to show you if you take car of the car and do the repairs/maintanence...it will run for a long long time.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

318,000 with 2 repairs

roadwarrior13, 06/23/2014
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Finally totalled on NJTPK in multi-vehicle pile-up with 318,000+ miles, only 2 real repairs ever = water pump, alternator. Other = 1 wheel bearing & exhaust. Change oil regularly & do very little else... looking for another one :)

Report Abuse

Average at best

cav_rider666, 06/04/2012
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

I have owned my Cavalier for six years now and the car has treated me well. The interior is roomy and comfortable, however the build quality is terrible and I have a nice crack that formed on top of the dash. The handling is ok if you drive sensibly, but the Cavalier isn't a blast to drive. It will do the trick to get you from A to B but you won't have much fun in the process. The 2.2L OHV engine is reliable and relatively cheap on gas, but don't expect the same level of performance or sophistication as the japanese brands. Overal the Cavalier was a good car for the price paid but there are far better cars out there.

Report Abuse

The best $5500 I ever spent

joebloe1, 05/23/2013
LS 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought a 2002 4 speed auto with 60K on the clock in 2007. It now has 147K. It has been absolutely reliable with routine maintenance. With a set of Pirelli tires it handles great on our curvy roads. We average about 30MPG. Minor problems with outside mirror, sun visor and cracked dash. Apparently due to poor choice of materials, workmanship or design. The odometer works intermittently. There is apparently a bad connection. When you bang on the instrument cluster it works. The seats are really uncomfortable after a couple of hours. This is an inexpensive car that is very reliable. I expect to get well over 200K miles. If they still made them I would buy another. Update 5/2016 miles ~ 187,00. Still runs like a new one. Replaced water pump while we were at it replaced timing belt, serpentine belt, plugs and valve seals. Supposedly you do not have to change ATF. I change mine every 60-70,000 miles using synthetic fluid. (Fluid is cheaper than transmissions.)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

300,000 miles

contaucreek, 01/02/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought used in 04. Drive 100000km a year and have about 480000km on it now. Odometer burnt out, dash lights burnt out, countless rear strut mounts,a/c failed first due to wiring then due to probable clutch problem, usual headlight wiring issue, does not burn a drop of oil, reliable like you wouldn't believe (touch wood)

Report Abuse

2002 Cavalier LT Sedan

C,Diddy, 08/13/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car is unspectacular. The ride quality and performance is below average. But,I love it for being extremely reliable and cheap to operate. Good on gas and oil. A.C. only works 100% when vehicle is moving. ABS and traction control light goes off and on, and I have a strut in the front that needs to be changed. But, like I said, RELIABLE and CHEAP! I have 103,000 km on mine, and I have no doubt it will last for as long as I need it to.

Report Abuse

Super Great Car

Gracie, 11/28/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have loved this car. Although it isn't fancy, it has done me well. I haven't any major issues with it. I did have to replace two of the power window motors, the starter and the water pump, but all together less than 500.00 in almost 5 years. Never had any sign of trouble, and it always gets me to where I need to go. I have taken it on several 1000+ miles trips with no problems.

Report Abuse

a great car!

ryan sarver, 10/14/2016
LS Sport 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

175k miles and still going strong, has only ever had normal maintenance, this is my 2nd cavalier, my first one was a 03, I was young and dumb and was running close to 100mph, hit a phone box, went thru a fence, hit 2 trees then backed the car out of the woods and walked away unharmed, I can not complain with this car I love it

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best car!

kad44664127, 06/17/2013
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2012 for $1500 with 83000 miles on it and crank windows. started every single day without a problem. during a snowstorm i slid on some ice and hit another vehicle. got it fixed with parts from the junkyard and worked like new again. then i got bundle with an acura mdx hit a telephone pole and it got totalled. when i saw it for the first time after i expected it to look worse by the size of the car that hit me but it didnt look as bad as i would expect it to. was great on gas and cheap to fix. i loved that car as my first car and never really had to do any major mechanical work other than the accident. had 97000 miles when it did. i would buy it again no question.

Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page:
51050