Used 2002 Chevrolet Camaro Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,073 - $4,620

Used Camaro for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

The more I drive this 2002 Z28 the more I love it

xxxfelix, 04/15/2012
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2011 Camaro 2LT with variable valve timing, twin cam, 4 valves per cyclinder direct injected V6 (state of the art), the advertised hp is 312. I also bought a used 2002 Z28 with the LS1 engine from the same dealer for a good price. The advertised hp is 310 for the 2002 Z28. But when I drive each car, the 2002 Z28 seems a whole lot more powerful. Elapsed time at a control track also proves the z28 is more powerful. I did some reseach and found that for the 1998 to 2002 LS1 engines, the true hp at the rear wheels on the camaro is more like 350 (same LS1 in the corvettes). The torque ratings were also dumbed down by GM on these camaros

Report Abuse

Great Car, Repairs...ehh...

sergheis, 04/26/2015
2dr Hatchback (3.8L 6cyl 5M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

The V6 is not much compared to newer ones, but it will still pick up to highway speeds before you could turn your head to check the other lane. Takes any turn without a problem, good on fuel, and how could you ever forget the nostalgic but mandatory t-tops. Interior is roomy in the front, the back, can be made comfortable if you're sitting alone.

Report Abuse

Great car for the hardcore speedster in you

zoilus, 03/10/2012
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

I have now had my 02 Z28 for 6 yrs. It has 92k miles. The LS1 is great! it can withstand alot of abused. These cars with bolt ons can easily get into the 400hp+ range. but add cam, heads and a real proper tune and you can get 450 to 490rwhp range ..all day long, that translates to 500-550bhp WITHOUT the need for nitros, turbo or supercharger. These cars were underrated so vette owners didn't have a cow. LS1's make around 290-310rwhp which is the same as stock Vettes. For people on this board who say the V6 makes V8 power....aaahhhh no... it doesn't. Please get into the V8 FIRST then tell me if your V6 is like a V8. Theres like a 150hp and 150tq difference!

Report Abuse

still faster than a 2010 mustang !

joe, 08/02/2009
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have driven my 2002 z28 auto as HARD as possible, for the last 7 years! With over 50 dragstrip passes (13.1s @ 109mph) at bradenton dragstrip and never one single problem! You can't kill the almighty LS1 engine. 17 mpg with a heavy right foot! Handling, braking, and acceleration easily scares anybody in the passenger seat! Critics should have bought a camary. A Z28 is for incredible thrills everyday, for over seven years I still smile every morning!

Report Abuse

updating my post from 2011/Fast......fast

James Dzendzel, 04/14/2015
Z28 2dr Hatchback (5.7L 8cyl 4A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Now the car has 90,000 miles on it, replaced the shocks with kyb adjustables.just put on some new uniroyals 245/r15's and the ls1 is still going strong. Great highway car, 2017 update, replacing transmission ,lost 2nd gear ,with a monster transmission,Engine is still strong, also rear main seal developed leak which will get swapped out while transmission is out. 98000 miles

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Did the editors even drive this car?

Exodus I, 08/18/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car is exceptional. I have owned a lot of cars in my life, including a 1968 Camaro, which is the only one that compares to this vehicle in performance. This car has literally saved my lie on several occasions. I don't drive a high performance vehicle to show off, Phoenix roads are dangerous. When I tell my car to do something, I expect an instant result. On at least three occasions, spit second performance has avoided serious accidents. She is asthetically appealing as well. She always turns heads, a nice bonus. She leaks a little in a car wash and the stereo needs upgrade. Everything else is amazing. I am giving this to my son and getting the 2009 when available!

Report Abuse

My Quarter Million mile Z28 runs like new.

Wade Buff, 09/29/2018
Z28 2dr Hatchback (5.7L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

There are so many things I love about this 250,000+ mile car as my daily driver. The Z28 gets a lot of positive attention for a 16 year old car. With regular maintenance and a few inexpensive repairs I expect this car to be able to go another 100,000 miles at least. 27.5 mpg highway and 20 mpg normal drive to work. The car is completely stock and quite. Ride is comfortable. Quality tires have a big impact on ride, noise & handling - buy quality tires for this sort of car. If the ride is rough on a used one, it's probably time to replace all the shocks. My car had 13 years of dealer maintenance records with it when I purchased. When correctly maintained these are fantastic reliable cars. This is my third LS1 4th Gen. Still have my 99 Trans Am which I bought new and is street/strip car now and previously had another 02 Z28. Update 4-6-2020 I'm still very happy with my high mile Z28 Camaro. No issues since initial review. Still used as a daily driver except in winter. I would buy the car again. Recently added a SS hood & SS spoiler. Definitely a keeper.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fast, fast, fast

mudshark78s, 04/04/2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this car 2 yrs ago for $12,000 with 57,000 miles on it just hit 70,000 ,our summer ride, 35th anniversary package with z rated tires,ungoverned 150 top speed,seen 135, wife gets nervous, added slp intake and diablo tune, looking to put on headers.Would recommend this to anyone that loves that raw power feel, Not one problem with this car.

Report Abuse

2002 SS Camaro

lastSS, 09/16/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The car is absolutely a blast to drive. The acceleration is unbeatable. The handling is superb. I have beaten many cars, some of which were double the price of mine. Don't think you are getting a Mercedes when you buy this car. It is not for the weak hearted. It is a muscle car, not a spors car. There is a difference.

Report Abuse

2002 Camaro Z28, LS1-6 Speed

Tom Miller, 12/27/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Having owned more than 20 cars over the past 30 years, I can say that my 2002 Z28 Camaro is the best vehicle I've ever owned. I've added some performance and handling bolt-ons, along with the Hypertech Power Programmer and the results are fantastic. 0-60mph in 4.5sec, 1/4 mile in 12.7sec, and I've cruised at over 160mph. Normal driving I average 24.5- 28.4 highway and 14-16 city. I use only synthetic lubricants (engine, gearbox & rear axle); Mobil-1 for the engine with Z-Max additive. Soon, I'll be adding the GM Performance Parts LS1- to-LS6 conversion (heads & cam, 2002 Z06 Corvette) and a F.A.S.T. LSX Intake with a ZEX Nitrous setup. Love my 2002 Z28. Thanks Chevrolet!

Report Abuse

'02 Camaro SS

Phillip Reynolds, 01/16/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

These cars are absolutely wonderful. They are a blast to drive, especially on good curvy roads!!! I would highly recomend this car to any performance enthusiast out there that wants a sports car.

Report Abuse

T-Top Fun

Andrew Gabel, 09/05/2016
2dr Hatchback (3.8L 6cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Good performance from old school V-6 and automatic transmission. Easy on the fuel costs and insurance. Lotsa light and air from the simple on/off T-Tops. Not a winter/snow car. Rebuilt AC is plenty cool. Still draws compliments after two decades.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

To all of you Camaro Haters:

Z28Muscle, 02/26/2002
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Go out and drive one, instead of getting getting a view view of Camaro tailights as usual!! Jealousy won't get you anywhere. If you can't beat em', join em!

Report Abuse

Z28

Gayle1975, 05/30/2004
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

I like the car but the engine started to knock at 15,000 miles. GM says this is normal for this engine. It is very annoying & gets worse the longer the car is driven.

Report Abuse

CAMARO SS

Richard Bergstrom, 04/29/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

THE BEST CAR I EVER BOUGHT YOU SHOULD GO OUT AND GET ONE BECAUSE IF YOU DONT SUPPORT THEM YOUR GOING TO BE STUCK BUYING A MUSTANG THE NEXT TIME AROUND. AND ILL REMIND YOU THAT A MUSTANG IS A FORD.

Report Abuse

2002 Z28

Ken D, 02/15/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Love it Big improvement over 2nd & 3rd gen. cars, Fun to drive. Great to cruise w/t-tops off. Runs in mid 13 second 1/4 ml. in stock form. great for a car that starts under 25 grand. To bad they stoped making them.

Report Abuse

A Very Fine Ride

JoeBoca, 04/14/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my new Z28 in July 2002. Although I only have 5K miles on it at this time, I can say that Motor Trend was right, this car is the performance buy of the century. I have the automatic (upper back problems with a clutch). Still, this baby does fly. Very good handling. Recommend Chevy drop the overly raked windshield, fastback, the toooo (55 inches) long doors and go to the Retro version as seen in a previous Motor Trend article when, not if, they build the new one.

Report Abuse

Good enough to buy a second time!

2K2SOMSS, 05/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had a '98 SS and now I have ordered a 2002 SS. The feeling I get while driving is therapeutic. The raw power is addictive. These cars are made for the enthusiast. No useless gadgets, no soft cushy feeling, and most important you can tell when the engine is running just by the sound! I'm gladly giving up the luxury of my 2001 Sierra C3 in trade for an icon of America.

Report Abuse

Fast

jrm1493, 10/18/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car, In college my roomate and I built a '91 GTA trans am and I always wanted another F-body. Found this one on a used car lot. The interior is pretty craptastic and there are some squeaks and rattles, but the car is extremely fast, it is well known that the 310hp factory rating was grossly low to make sure the Vette was the king of the GM hill. My car has long tube headers and other bolt ons, probably good for around 325 rwhp (haven't dynoed yet). Engine and tranny feel rock solid. My car does have a modified suspension and low profile tires so the ride is harsh but the seats are quite comfortable which help.

Report Abuse

Slow poke

Old Man, 05/03/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I special ordered this car last spring after thinking about it for two years. I ordered all the options except for the T-tops and traction control. I got the Y87 Performance/Handling package. Everything is great about this car except the V6 engine. What a letdown. Two weeks ago I went back to the dealer and special ordered a Z/28 with almost all the same options. I ordered it with the 3.23 axle. I would not have bought another Camaro if it wasn't a great car.

Report Abuse

Awesome car.

boyracer, 05/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has had zero defects. It exceeds my highest expectations. It handles well, interior ergonomics (except seating position-I'm 6'2") are right where they should be. I'm happy with fuel economy and tightness of vehicle. This car is a winner.

Report Abuse

Farewell to a classic.

Bill Balluff, 05/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Too bad chevy has choosen to discontinue the Camaro. A real value for the money.A real hoot to drive and it still turns heads. Chevy should make one less SUV and bring back the Camaro!!

Report Abuse

Great Overall

Jimmy, 01/17/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Well i'm only 17 my parents owned this car. And gave it to me as my first car. Before i always thought i was gonna tune it. But pointless even though its a v6 it hauls like a v8. 0 to 60 mid 7 secs good for a commuting car and the mileage is good to 30 mpg for the highway going 70mph. Really great car.

Report Abuse

153,000 miles and still going

Laura, 02/19/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my 2002 camaro 35th anniversary edition since January of 2002. 8 months ago, I had the water pump replaced. Today, I had the sway bar replace and in the very near future I will need to have the catalytic converter replaced. Considering that I have 153,000 miles on this car, I think its done really well.

Report Abuse

What is Edmunds' problem?

earlr, 03/23/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After reading the Edmunds editors reviews of the 4th generation Camaros, I suddenly felt the need to write a review of my own. I don't ever recall seeing such obvious bias in a review; but then, I haven't read many other reviews of American muscle cars, so maybe that's where their issues lie. I am very happy with my '02 Camaro; sure it's not perfect, and it's not Japanese, but it is a lot of fun to drive, is as reliable as any other car of its ilk, and oh did I mention it's a blast to drive. The car has over 120k miles on it now, and the engine & transmission are a solid now as they ever were. I've been able to fix any minor issues that have come up.

Report Abuse

2002 Camaro Z28

Jeff, 05/27/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's not the absolute best looking Camaro, but it's fast, comfortable and gets great mileage in the city and on the highway. The LS1 is an absolute torque-beast!

Report Abuse

Great car

Jacob, 06/05/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2002 3.8 liter V6 Camaro just a few weeks ago and I'm truly impressed. My last car was a 1995 Camaro V6 and I dove it from 207,000 miles to 239,500 miles. After I sold it, I knew I had to have another Camaro and the 2002 is even better than my '95. This 2002 only has 95,000 miles and it performs like a muscle car - a V8 muscle car. The styling is wonderful inside and out and the engine is very sound. I can tell this car was a good buy and I'm going to be driving it for years to come.

Report Abuse

Bad bowtie!

ChevyDemon, 07/29/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my 02 3.8 liter camaro for 4 years now. I drive it hard. It is a great looking car and amazing to drive. After a long or bad day just take the T tops off and stomp on the gas and a smile will always come! I plan on keeping this car until it rots!!

Report Abuse

The Best Car Ever

No Doubt, 07/13/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my Dream car. So fun to drive. This car will be back

Report Abuse

Too Bad It's The Last Year

Camero Lover, 07/12/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Everyone should invest in the 2002 Camero. I have been nothing but pleased. Everything runs and works beyond my expectations.

Report Abuse

Alright.........

hornet, 07/15/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Well i bought this car because i thought i would be able to compete with my uncles 00' mustang cobra, but was i wrong. After thousands of dollars, i can now keep up with his stock cobra, but this car was a severe let down. Since it was the same engine as the vettes, i thought it would be easy to mod., but im still working on beating the damn ford.

Report Abuse

great

kunk, 08/29/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

always have loved camaros. This is the best one that I have owned.

Report Abuse

2002 Z28 Camaro

Caramo, 09/03/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had more expensive sportscars in the past, but my Z28 is tops in bang for the buck. Plus I wanted to get one of the last of the breed before they were gone forever.

Report Abuse

Excellent 3.8L

1st time owner, 09/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very glad I purchased one. Wanted an import sports coupe but the Camaro was too tempting. Bought one and no regrets at all. I'm just driving around until the "break in" is reached and then I'll really test this car!

Report Abuse

Underrated

OnyxZ28, 09/16/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

That's the story of the Camaro for the 4th generation, especially the LS1 (98- up) versions. Editors with little to no experience with the car step in expecting a Lexus ride with Corvette performance. What did they expect for 22K? It's the fastest car hands down in its price range, and contrary to urban legend, its fuel efficiency is amazing (26 MPG A4, 29 M6 highway). Others critique the LS1 with comments like "dinosaur pushrod technology." Hey -- why change what works? What's even more amazing is that almost nobody outside the auto community has realized that the LS1 F-bodies are underrated from the factory.

Report Abuse

Sad to see her go.

FastZinNC, 09/16/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My Camaro has been my most entertaining car to date. I'd like to address some of the complaints that people typically have about this car: 1) Ride quality: Its solid rear axle isn't going to provide a silky smooth ride, but it isn't bone-jarring either. 2) Build quality: as with all cars: if you beat it, it will break. The F-body has amazing mod potential, and people tend to go overboard with mods, and then complain about their cars breaking. 3) Noise: If you don't appreciate the throaty purr of a V8 at idle, or the wild roar at WOT, then you weren't meant for this car.

Report Abuse

Best Value

MLCrisis, 09/19/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Camaro is the only car out there that fills the niche for me. I have no need for an SUV. The Japenese imports all look the same to me -- boring. You just can't beat the styling and performance of the Camaro. I wasn't really ready to buy a car yet, but with the last year of production and the rebate, I couldn't refuse. I got a great deal, but then again, that's what everyone thinks. I love the handling, the performance, the looks, and the great fuel economy. It is actually fun to drive to work now.

Report Abuse

Poor Man's Vette

CODE 4, 09/23/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Truly a performer. Very sleek and eff- cient design, good sound proofing, plenty of power. Handles like a real sports car. Very fuel efficient (30.5 mpg @ 75 MPH) in light hwy trfc (Lexus owners eat your hearts out).

Report Abuse

02 camaro z28 m6

pfrey, 10/09/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Quick, fast, 24.8 mpg average for 11,800miles. Comfortable on long trips (NY-Flordia 4200mi 11 days). No problems, never back to dealer. My 4th Z (91,97,98,02) best one yet!

Report Abuse

A Must Have!

Shawn Stevens, 10/25/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A very fun car to drive. It will spin the hell out of the tires when you want it to. When you don't, it will accelerate faster then you think it should. Good Car. I have owned 4 Camaros. GM has done it right with the last generation Camaro. Will be sad to see it go.

Report Abuse

Pewter Z28

SpecForceZ28, 11/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is indeed the bang for the buck performance king, no real problems that I have encountered so far, and the T-tops add to the enjoyment of driving this car

Report Abuse

I had to have one!!!

Sean258, 11/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just purchased a new black Z28 at the end of OCtober. I felt that I had to get one before they all disappear new and the only way to get one will be a used one. I got the 6 speed with the t- tops, Chrome wheels etc. I grew up with the Camaro. It was born in 1967 ( Iknow actually 9/66) I was born in 1967.So we turn 35 together. I love the car so far. I bought it as a collector /pleasure car and so far, it has been a real pleasure

Report Abuse

Verrrrrryyyyy FAST

Daves Z28, 10/03/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just got my Z28. It is one awsome car! I have had many custom and classic cars in the past such as a 70 Chevell, 72 Pontiac GP. Two 72 SB pickups And a Chevy Luv packing a 327 v-8. I would have to say this is by far the funnist car I have ever owened! This car with it's LS1 5.7 V-8 is very fast! Don't under estimate this cars pwoer. It also handles like a go kart! I love this car!

Report Abuse

the camaro is the best american-made car

Camarofiend, 02/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Camaro is the best car without a doubt. It is sexy and sporty. It can turn heads and even without ground effects it can be one of the best looking cars there is.

Report Abuse

2002 Camaro SS

wickman43, 11/13/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am having a blast with this car. It has been chosen for weekend fun only and it answers back in spades. I highly recommend this car to any responsible driver looking for something fun to drive when the sun is shining and the beaches are full of ladies! Her road track capabilities are incredible. I ordered mine with the optional 2000 dollar 1LE suspension upgrade. Couldn't be happier. The double adjustable Koni shocks are awesome and the optional BFG G-Force tires look and perform like they were meant for this car. For the money, you won't find anything like this-not even the 2003 Cobra can keep up through the cones.

Report Abuse

True American Power

Endless Sky, 11/15/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

V8 Chevy Power for those that can't quite afford a Corvette. A perfect car for a leadfoot in his 20s!

Report Abuse

2002 Chevrolet Camaro Z28

Jonathan Colon, 11/23/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is simply amazing. Unbelievably lightning fast, intense power, state of the art Corvette muscle car engine. This car with its V8 gets better gas milage, than my 6 cylinder Acura. The last of a fine breed of muscle cars. I wouldn't trade this car for any other in the world. Unlimited potential with the wide array of after- market parts. I love this car.

Report Abuse

Muscle

CAMZ28, 12/02/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is the most sweetest car ever. I went and raced my friends ford cobra and smoked th crap out of that chicks car. My parents vette has to work just to stay with it. This car is a bargin for its price.

Report Abuse

Keep the Camaro

Map Guy, 12/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It is a shame that GM has decided to drop the Camaro\Firebird line. It is the on fun car that still is reasonably priced. This is my 4th Camaro and I love driving them; each one gets better.

Report Abuse

Happy Owner

offset_98, 12/12/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall I am happy with my purchase. I have been born and raised a Ford man but wanted to take a chance with the last Camaro being produced. I'm already at 3K miles as a daily driver and I have no problems. I chose my car without leather and T-tops because I heard the Chevy leather is crap and the T-tops squeak. I have no squeaks in my car. I am comfortable driving my 75 mile a day commute to and from work on the 405 in LA (if you're from here, you know it can be a nightmare). If you can find one, do it now while you still can, you shouldn't be disappointed.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050