Used 2002 Chevrolet Camaro Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,391 - $5,329

Used Camaro for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

The more I drive this 2002 Z28 the more I love it

xxxfelix, 04/15/2012
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2011 Camaro 2LT with variable valve timing, twin cam, 4 valves per cyclinder direct injected V6 (state of the art), the advertised hp is 312. I also bought a used 2002 Z28 with the LS1 engine from the same dealer for a good price. The advertised hp is 310 for the 2002 Z28. But when I drive each car, the 2002 Z28 seems a whole lot more powerful. Elapsed time at a control track also proves the z28 is more powerful. I did some reseach and found that for the 1998 to 2002 LS1 engines, the true hp at the rear wheels on the camaro is more like 350 (same LS1 in the corvettes). The torque ratings were also dumbed down by GM on these camaros

Report Abuse

Great Car, Repairs...ehh...

sergheis, 04/26/2015
2dr Hatchback (3.8L 6cyl 5M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

The V6 is not much compared to newer ones, but it will still pick up to highway speeds before you could turn your head to check the other lane. Takes any turn without a problem, good on fuel, and how could you ever forget the nostalgic but mandatory t-tops. Interior is roomy in the front, the back, can be made comfortable if you're sitting alone.

Report Abuse

Great car for the hardcore speedster in you

zoilus, 03/10/2012
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

I have now had my 02 Z28 for 6 yrs. It has 92k miles. The LS1 is great! it can withstand alot of abused. These cars with bolt ons can easily get into the 400hp+ range. but add cam, heads and a real proper tune and you can get 450 to 490rwhp range ..all day long, that translates to 500-550bhp WITHOUT the need for nitros, turbo or supercharger. These cars were underrated so vette owners didn't have a cow. LS1's make around 290-310rwhp which is the same as stock Vettes. For people on this board who say the V6 makes V8 power....aaahhhh no... it doesn't. Please get into the V8 FIRST then tell me if your V6 is like a V8. Theres like a 150hp and 150tq difference!

Report Abuse

still faster than a 2010 mustang !

joe, 08/02/2009
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have driven my 2002 z28 auto as HARD as possible, for the last 7 years! With over 50 dragstrip passes (13.1s @ 109mph) at bradenton dragstrip and never one single problem! You can't kill the almighty LS1 engine. 17 mpg with a heavy right foot! Handling, braking, and acceleration easily scares anybody in the passenger seat! Critics should have bought a camary. A Z28 is for incredible thrills everyday, for over seven years I still smile every morning!

Report Abuse

updating my post from 2011/Fast......fast

James Dzendzel, 04/14/2015
Z28 2dr Hatchback (5.7L 8cyl 4A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Now the car has 90,000 miles on it, replaced the shocks with kyb adjustables.just put on some new uniroyals 245/r15's and the ls1 is still going strong. Great highway car, 2017 update, replacing transmission ,lost 2nd gear ,with a monster transmission,Engine is still strong, also rear main seal developed leak which will get swapped out while transmission is out. 98000 miles

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Did the editors even drive this car?

Exodus I, 08/18/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car is exceptional. I have owned a lot of cars in my life, including a 1968 Camaro, which is the only one that compares to this vehicle in performance. This car has literally saved my lie on several occasions. I don't drive a high performance vehicle to show off, Phoenix roads are dangerous. When I tell my car to do something, I expect an instant result. On at least three occasions, spit second performance has avoided serious accidents. She is asthetically appealing as well. She always turns heads, a nice bonus. She leaks a little in a car wash and the stereo needs upgrade. Everything else is amazing. I am giving this to my son and getting the 2009 when available!

Report Abuse

My Quarter Million mile Z28 runs like new.

Wade Buff, 09/29/2018
Z28 2dr Hatchback (5.7L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

There are so many things I love about this 250,000+ mile car as my daily driver. The Z28 gets a lot of positive attention for a 16 year old car. With regular maintenance and a few inexpensive repairs I expect this car to be able to go another 100,000 miles at least. 27.5 mpg highway and 20 mpg normal drive to work. The car is completely stock and quite. Ride is comfortable. Quality tires have a big impact on ride, noise & handling - buy quality tires for this sort of car. If the ride is rough on a used one, it's probably time to replace all the shocks. My car had 13 years of dealer maintenance records with it when I purchased. When correctly maintained these are fantastic reliable cars. This is my third LS1 4th Gen. Still have my 99 Trans Am which I bought new and is street/strip car now and previously had another 02 Z28. Update 4-6-2020 I'm still very happy with my high mile Z28 Camaro. No issues since initial review. Still used as a daily driver except in winter. I would buy the car again. Recently added a SS hood & SS spoiler. Definitely a keeper.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fast, fast, fast

mudshark78s, 04/04/2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this car 2 yrs ago for $12,000 with 57,000 miles on it just hit 70,000 ,our summer ride, 35th anniversary package with z rated tires,ungoverned 150 top speed,seen 135, wife gets nervous, added slp intake and diablo tune, looking to put on headers.Would recommend this to anyone that loves that raw power feel, Not one problem with this car.

Report Abuse

2002 SS Camaro

lastSS, 09/16/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The car is absolutely a blast to drive. The acceleration is unbeatable. The handling is superb. I have beaten many cars, some of which were double the price of mine. Don't think you are getting a Mercedes when you buy this car. It is not for the weak hearted. It is a muscle car, not a spors car. There is a difference.

Report Abuse

2002 Camaro Z28, LS1-6 Speed

Tom Miller, 12/27/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Having owned more than 20 cars over the past 30 years, I can say that my 2002 Z28 Camaro is the best vehicle I've ever owned. I've added some performance and handling bolt-ons, along with the Hypertech Power Programmer and the results are fantastic. 0-60mph in 4.5sec, 1/4 mile in 12.7sec, and I've cruised at over 160mph. Normal driving I average 24.5- 28.4 highway and 14-16 city. I use only synthetic lubricants (engine, gearbox & rear axle); Mobil-1 for the engine with Z-Max additive. Soon, I'll be adding the GM Performance Parts LS1- to-LS6 conversion (heads & cam, 2002 Z06 Corvette) and a F.A.S.T. LSX Intake with a ZEX Nitrous setup. Love my 2002 Z28. Thanks Chevrolet!

Report Abuse
12345...12
Items per page:
51050