Used 1995 Chevrolet Camaro Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,151 - $2,677

Used Camaro for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Z28

Pat, 01/23/2005
Z28 2dr Hatchback
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

The Z28 is one of the most amazing vehicles Chevrolet has ever designed. It's handling is very impressive for a 3300 lb rear wheel drive vehicle and it is just fun to drive. The LT1 is an impressive motor giving the Z28 275 hp and 325 ft-lbs torque. Nothing is better than its ominous growl that always turns heads. The Camaro Z28 was one of the last in the dying breed of the muscle car. I say that if you want an impressive car with a reputation get a Z28 yourself and let the good times roll.

Report Abuse

Auto Transmission...

TreyT, 04/09/2004
Z28 2dr Hatchback
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I saw a lot of comments about the auto tranny's in these reviews and figured I'd try to help out with auto trannies and possible problems. The 4L60E is a great transmission one of the best...HOWEVER, many people don't realize the transmission fluid needs to be completely flushed about every 20k miles...also getting rebuilds from a top notch GM rebuilder that has all the latest fixes is crucial. A mild shift kit will also help increase the logevity. A transmission cooler also helps a LOT. If the fluid flushed (not just changed) every 20k the transmission will go 100+k easily...unless you just beat on it.

Report Abuse

A true Beast!

redz28boy, 12/17/2007
Z28 2dr Hatchback
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought this car 10 months ago and I have been very pleased! I had a 92 rs Camaro with the 305 and this is a big step up. I put flowmasters on it to sound even more menacing. I love taking into open parking lots and lighting up the rear tires! If you ever have an opportunity to buy the lt1 or ls1, then I say go for it. Go Chevy!

Report Abuse

255,000 miles and still going

Bren, 11/21/2005
2dr Convertible
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Would you believe I have 255,000 miles on my Camaro with no major mechanical problems so far? Always thought that would be a volvo or saab, not a chevy. I've been very pleased with my car's longevity; just goes to show you what consistent oil changes do for you and good workmanship.

Report Abuse

My Aging Z28

Bryan, 05/21/2009
Z28 2dr Hatchback
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought my Z in the Spring of 2003 from a young guy who was the second owner. I think he must have ran the heck out of this baby, but it rode good on the test drive and he kept it spotless. I have had it 6 years and put 75,000 mile on her. The body has help up nicely and it is a fun and powerful car. The oil pump quit working 3 days after I bought it and it spun a crank bearing. I had a new LT1 motor in it which has been outstanding so far. The transmission has some poor factory engineering however. My mech. tells me that there is a drum in the tranny made of aluminum that is too fragile to handle the high torque output of the car. Basically Z28=fun/looks/$$$. But I'm not complaining

Report Abuse

old man,younger days

peter james, 06/05/2009
2dr Hatchback
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

for a sixty year old it brings back memories of graduation 1964 and hot cars,chevy was at the top of the list....with only 50k verified miles it was a very good buy for just under $5000.

Report Abuse

1995 camaro 3.4 5 speed 242k miles

Randy, 07/29/2015
Z28 2dr Convertible
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

This a great car the only thing that broke while I own the vehicle was the headlight switch it has 242k miles on it only leaks about half quart every 4k miles. The only other thing that gave me a problem were the spark plugs.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Power to spare with 25 MPG

glen, 05/22/2009
Z28 2dr Hatchback
5 of 8 people found this review helpful

I am sixty years old and this is the fastest car I have ever owned. Nice styling, class, economy etc.

Report Abuse

95 Z28 Very Fast!!! but Problematic.

Johnny-Speed-Racer, 03/01/2003
Z28 2dr Hatchback
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle new back in 95 and w/ 51,000K I don't drive it very much... My A4 Transmission is problematic and a 4L40E Nightmare!!! 8 times rebuilt. Other than that, it's a High Performance Z with every SLP bolt-on including a Level One Handling Package. It's an Ultra Quick Street Car, and a really fun car to drive. With 26 years Driving Experience, My Z can outrun, outperform, or at least hang with anything with 4 wheels on the street or Highway. I still Love the Car!

Report Abuse

This car is my baby

Dr.Dave, 07/13/2010
Z28 2dr Hatchback
3 of 6 people found this review helpful

I Read the reviews on the 1995 Chevrolet Z28 and I was pleased. I wanted to add my comments. I purchased my red/black Z28 brand new in 1995 with every option available. My Z is a blast I still own it and I love it just as much as I did back in 1995. I like all the American muscle cars myself, so I think it is preference and price of what you want to own. I think you get a lot of car for what you pay and the parts are cheap compared to my Cadillac DTS. These camaros are basic and easy to work on to a point. Very fun car for any night out, or just driving around. Very cool car and a head turner. I turn heads when I drive mine to this day, my z still looks new and I keep it detailed and garaged.

Report Abuse

Solid Car

airmac, 06/09/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just sold my 95' Z28. It was a pretty solid car. The only maintenance I had with it was replacing the high pressure line from the power steering. Fun to drive and its got nads. The ride is a little bumpier than I would like, but the acceleration and handling make it worth the money. Get decent gas mileage if you're not gassing it all the time. Gonna miss my baby.

Report Abuse

Hard to park but great car!!

Dale L, 07/14/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Loved the power of the V-8! Not much on traction in wet or snow. This is a fair weather friend only. Always started except when I wanted to steam clean the motor once. Dont do it!! Great gas mileage on trips {26hwy}. Loves to eat Mustangs alive!! Seats need alittle more cushion and support. Sound system rocked {Bose}! Getting use to not seeing the long front end and parking was always fun. Thank gosh for plastic front ends!! Some interior parts like to break after time. Watch for the window felts that wear out in short time and scratch the side glass.

Report Abuse

It's just so much fun to drive

Gib, 08/24/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my Camaro! It's has so much power and having a 6 speed just adds to the experience. I've never driven such a fun car before. I love how sleek it looks and though it's a 95 it doesn't look out of date and many people ask me if it's new. I haven't had any problems with it so far, but I've only had it for a year. I recently took it to the mechanic and they said it was doing great. Unfortunately I have to sell it because I've moved and with the new rent I can't afford the car payments, but I truly hate to see it go.

Report Abuse

95 Z28

Koby, 09/15/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This has to be the best car I have had. The Z is a blast to drive and it is has been reliable since day one. With a good set of all season tires it can be used as a yearly car. Gas milage is normal for a 95 car, it might be a v8 but it does good on gas. What other car can you use for a daily driver and then take it to the track on the weekends and have fun with it?? All around great car.

Report Abuse

Great car

mattz28, 11/07/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It is very fun to drive. I change the oil at least every 3,000 miles and do all scheduled maintenance. I have not had any problems in the year I've had the car. The back seat is a bit small but I never have to sit in it. The front seats are comfortable. It performs and handle great. It isn't perfect, but considerring I only paid $9000 for it I can't complain.

Report Abuse

Great American SportsCar

Jtin, 11/09/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car has been great. I had it for 3 yrs. and it performed like a dream. I can't describe the feeling you get when you sit behind the wheel of one of these beauties and mash on the throttle. The shear power of this baby is mind boggling. I hate to see it go, but i need something more spacious in my line of work. For those of you out there looking for performance, seek no further; and the price ain't bad neither. Long Live The CAMARO!!!

Report Abuse

A true Beast!

redz28boy, 02/13/2008
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Man this car is hot. I bought the 5.7L V8 and it is fun to drive when it is no snow outside. Love the styling. I had a '92 RS w/ the 305, but after reading up on the LT1 I had to upgrade! Even though I'm a third-gen fan, I don't believe you could go wrong with these either. True American muscle! Great car!

Report Abuse

A true poor man Vette!

BIGBOYY2G, 08/12/2003
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After having my 95 Z-28 for 9 year I'm glad to say "I Love This Car!!!" but I'm also sad to see GM is really dropping the ball on this one. The Camaro is a part of American History!! Just like baseball and apple pie!! So far I have over 124,000 mile on it and the LT-1 still has that throw you to the back seat punch!!! If your look for a fun set of wheels get yourself a Camaro Z-28!!!

Report Abuse

95' Camaro Z28 one of the best!

Tony, 10/10/2005
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I still can't believe GM did away with the Camaro! This is one of the finest sports cars ever built. First of all it had styling. This car really turned heads. It had performance. The stock 350 LT1 had plenty of hp for the average driver and was easy to upgrade with lots of aftermarket parts. It was a comfortable car to drive. I have a lot of fun with this car. Minimal repairs. I would recomend this car to anyone who would like to drive a fabulous sports car without emptying our your bank account. I perfer the 6 speed transmission for extra performance but the automatic still offers great performance too. I would purchase another one if I didn't have three already!

Report Abuse

Pure enjoyment!

Jason L, 12/29/2005
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this car! I drive it about 3K a year, and cant keep my hands off of it. Nothing makes me look forward to my commute home than a 80 deg day and the keys to my 95 Z28 sitting on my desk. Mine is a 95 A4 with the Bose stereo. The car with 71k jumps off the line and pulls till you let off at 120! If you want even more fun get a SLP loud mouth exhaust and SLP cold air intake, these really wake the car up, not that it needs it. No creaks or rattles from the interior. Had to replace the drivers window motor, but that is it. Love this car!

Report Abuse

Pleasure and pain

ltl, 02/01/2006
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It's the car i`ve wanted ever since I was able to drive. When I bought it, it had 79,000 miles, who knows how the previous owner(s) maintained it, but day two, it wouldn`t start. A few months later converter went bad. Six months later opti spark failed. The car is a real pain, but you know what, I love it. Everytime I press that pedal to the floor, I still get chills. Now with a flowmaster on it scares my wife, that's what I like

Report Abuse

The Best!!!

Camero2005, 06/14/2004
2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just recently bought this car from a friend of a friend. The 1995 Chevy Camero is terrific. Its fast, safe, and beautiful. Its V6 engine is powerful.

Report Abuse

green machine

builtfspd2, 03/14/2003
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

have no complaints at all. no real mechanical problems experienced except for small rear end seal leak.

Report Abuse

best car ever

bigdan2k, 04/21/2003
Z28 2dr Convertible
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

this is my second f-body i have no problems with it. the power, the sound, the wind in my hair is fantastic. i can't believe gm stopped building them. its a great car to cruise arround in, run at the track, and pick up chicks. i'll never sell it.

Report Abuse

Good Car

Bryant, 04/23/2003
2dr Hatchback
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is a very good car. Its would be a perfect car for new and young drivers. The car has good safety features, and the car is not dangerously fast. So you kid will be safe and still look sharp driving it.

Report Abuse

Inexpensive pony car

eric andersen, 12/25/2015
2dr Convertible
1 of 5 people found this review helpful

Great looking and fast ! Interior is great looking as well but horrific for comfort or view.I am 6'3 when I put seat all the way back and all the way down I was still looking through the sun screen at top of windshield.Interior is cramped and the back seat is only for five year olds.I wanted to buy one but after driving this car five times it was just too cramped to drive . If you are 5'10 or under the car may work out for you but this car is not for taller people.When convertible top is up view is awful.It is priced right and offers performance but not good as a daily driver.This is a poor mans Corvette.Car is awful in snow and rain,rear wheels spin on a tear drop.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Somehow i love it

plsgofaster, 09/07/2010
2dr Hatchback
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

My dad gave me this car a year ago. Its performance isn't impressive 0-60. In quite a while (10.3 sec) it was comfortable until the padding "parted" around the frame of the seat. The build quality is sub-par the interior made of the worlds cheapest plastics is coming apart piece by piece. The power locks work 30% of the time the Windows barley work, but the engine keeps going. I'm getting 160 miles a tank the mpg is dreadful. Its expensive to insure because its a sports car even though it barley moves. However the exterior is a triumph in styling 10 out of 10. I cant explain why but I love this car and I love driving it. Maybe it's the t-tops.

Report Abuse

my camaro

Scott Wolfe, 06/12/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

95 camaros are great...fun as heck the rear end just doesnt fit the car...theres to much power for such a small rear end... but if your not ganna do burnouts a lot.... this car is the best. but dont worry you can burn out enough safely

Report Abuse

Mid life Camaro crisis

Bugwart, 02/21/2003
Z28 2dr Hatchback
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is fun! I have had many sports cars - British, and Italian. The Camaro handles with the best of the them. Little body roll, and very predictable. The torque lets you move the rear end around at will. All in all, a fun car!!

Report Abuse

WHAT A GENERAL MOTORS LEMON....

M WITKOWSKI, 06/16/2004
2dr Hatchback
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

HAD THE CAR FOR A YEAR.AVERAGE HIGHWAY MILE.3.4 LITER MOTOR HEAD BOLTS BROKE,WITH NO LOW COOLANT ALARM/INDICATION.MOTOR COOKED FROM INSIDE OUT.G.M HAS SOME SERIOUS ENG.ISSUES WITH THIS 60 DEGREE 1sT GEN.V 6 MOTOR.1sT AND LAST G.M PRODUCT I WILL BUY.

Report Abuse

1995 Z-28 Convertible

James, 12/14/2007
Z28 2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my red 95 Z28 convertible for 12 years. What a fun and satisfying car. Great power, drag beats a Mustang every time (in top speed too probably, but at 155 mph predicted, I don't try it), comfortable interior, perfect air flow protection around driver & passenger with the top down at 90 mph. The Z28 seems a rare car with very few convertible Z28s made. Timeless body design often mistaken for a new model. 26mph gas mileage on highway. I haven't found a better replacement for the money, exclusiveness, looks, and fun. How did Mustang ever get high ratings over the beautiful Z28? It just made Camaro Z28 that more exclusive. No plans to sell it yet. Can the new 2009 Camaro be better?

Report Abuse

My First Muscle Car

Jack, 09/21/2008
Z28 2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've wanted a sports car ever since I started driving at 16. Now I'm 19 and got my wish. The car is amazing! I love to put the top down and go to the beach. However, I'm really afraid of it. Everytime it rains I fishtail. I don't even have to go hard on the gas. I hate to drive it in the rain. The top doesn't leak but the seal around the driver window does and when I open the door water spills in from the top. When I bought it the compressor for the a/c actually smoked because it would run hot. My top also squeaks and the passenger window is slower than the driver. I get excited every time I drive it and am so glad I got it, even though it has horrible mpg and rising gas prices.

Report Abuse

Fun! Fun! Fun!

I Love My Z 28, 03/15/2009
Z28 2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned this z 28 since new and could not bear to part with it. It's all black with the the black leather interior. I love this car but only drive it on weekends or sunny days. The only problem is with the Opti-Spark distributor, it has been replaced 3 times. The distributor sits under the water pump and shorts out if there is a leak. But I can accept that in a car that is this fun to own and drive!

Report Abuse

1995 Z28

super83Z, 05/24/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car is awesome! It gets 17 MPG's around town and 24 on the highway. All this from a "gas guzzling" V-8. People need to get with the times. It gets better mileage than some 4-cylinders. The car is comfortable and beautiful. Nothing has broken with 70K on the clock tranny still shifts perfect and engine purrs like a kitten.

Report Abuse

I love this car!

car_chick, 01/03/2008
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for more than 8 years and loved every day of it. It got be through high school, college and after. It's a great car and I never spent enough money on fixing it to buy a new car that even came close to this. I took it to a reputible shop to have it maintained the way it should be and maybe more than necessary. I love my little Camaro, Thor. He stopped well and got up to go when needed. Driving on the highway in the spring or fall with the t-tops off and the windows down was amazing.

Report Abuse

1995 Z-28 Convertible

Convertible lover, 06/13/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The ultimate mid life crisis mobile. Wanna feel great-have people look at you and littel kids point-buy this car. Nothing quite like the acceleration and sound of a 5.7 liter V-8 with the roof down. Don't ever-I repeat-ever attempt to drive this car in snow or ice-those great big wheels are useless ;-)

Report Abuse

I deliver pizzas in it!

Stephen Bynum, 06/18/2002
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I deliver pizzas in it. The only problems that I have had in the 2 years that I've had it is that I had to get the EGR valve fixed at a cost of $268. I buy used tires for $25. I keep the oil changed every 1000-1500 miles instead of 3000, because I drive it 30000 miles per year since I bought it. Besides that, it is a good car, but the fuel prices is why I'm going to sell it in a few months.

Report Abuse

One sharp ride

dunnr, 06/24/2002
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Haven't spent the first penny on repairs to this car. Gets 22mpg around town and 28mpg on the interstate, not bad for V6 with pep.

Report Abuse

One Great Camaro

corvette128, 08/20/2002
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this car new in 1994. It now has 87,000 miles on it and the only repairs have been to replace both power window motors. It has had the oil changed every 3000 miles and is only on it's 2nd set of tires. Great car. Still looks like new. The guy that posted the problems he has had with his '95 must not be doing something right.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Dahveed, 08/26/2002
2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The 1995 V-6 convertible Camaro is great. The significant troubles have included both window motors, broken hinge on center console lid, started burning a quart of oil every 2000 miles after about 60K. 21 mpg city, 26 hiway (Calif smog). Quick and fun to drive.

Report Abuse

Great Car for the money

thejorge, 04/10/2002
2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car for tghe money, fun to drive, great handleing, fantastic sound, reliable.

Report Abuse

raw power

beritngrin, 10/05/2002
Z28 2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

ever since I first bought this car I have been nothing but satisfied, every thing from apperance to reliability has been every thing I had imagined and then some.

Report Abuse

Real Nice Lemon!

pacificnw, 08/17/2003
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought car at dealer with 56K miles. Soon after we bought, "check engine" light comes on. We were told tranny was bad. Had tranny rebuilt for $1100, but light still came on. After a year, car in shop total of 4 mo., 3 trannys, total of $2500, we got light to stop and quickly traded car in. After some research, found that is very common problem with mid 90's camaros. Tranny is a 4L60-E, and it throws the 1870 code which causes the check engine light to come on. Comfortable, fast, great sound system. Get the manual tranny instead. BTW, called original owner, he said light started coming on at 36K miles, he had also spent $3000 trying to fix!

Report Abuse

1995 Camaro

Ljlinhnl, 09/02/2003
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

People still love the way this car looks! This is arguably one of the best body styles ever made on any vehicle. Why the Mustang ever outlasted or outsold the Camaro is beyond me. In Hawaii, Southern California and now Arizona, this car has been a pleasure to drive. Mostly city driving by my wife, but the car has held up extremely well. I'd like to trade it for a new one, but unfortunately, there are no more Camaros. I've rented Mustangs, and they're not even close in quality or comfort.

Report Abuse

My 95Z

cdd_99, 09/05/2003
Z28 2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought car new in '94, drive as weekend/summer car only. Had usual problems with manifold/oil leak, but it appears to be fixed after 2 attempts. Car handles well. Performs very poorly in ANY wet weather. Surprisingly fast, don't be fooled by published reports, very underrated, not for <18 drivers. Has great Bose sound/cd. Have 6 SP, T-Tops, no problems. Gas 12/city 25-28/Hwy w 6th gear

Report Abuse

LuvMyCamaro!

SharynL26, 08/27/2003
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a truly GREAT automobile - reliable beyond any vehicle I have owned (which have been 95% General Motors!) We own all chevy's in this family, S-10 truck, other camaros, full-size Chevy Truck! This car went through some traveling in last year's horrendous winter and handled like a dream (of course one must know how to drive in the snow!) plus the best snow tires, but rear wheel drive only! LuvMyCamaro!!

Report Abuse

Great car

James1548562, 11/01/2003
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is a great car, i have over 122000 miles on it right now, and have no plans of selling it,,,,the body and the inside of the car still look new, i change the oil at 3000 miles, and have only had 1 problem with it,,,, the starting switch that is mounted on the steering collum, back in the dash, were you can hardly reach the thing, it only cost me $17.00 so i cant complain,,, i would recomend these cars to everyone

Report Abuse

150mph Convertible is fun

Cyburbs, 01/13/2004
Z28 2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The 1995 Camaro Z28 Convertible is fun to drive fast with the top down. The biggest problem is the 460L Automatic that comes with a stock 2.73 differental ratio which means at slow speeds, no matter how big the engine is, the trans wants to downshift when you hit the pedal a little hard. The gearing however gets great gas mileage when you are able to drive within the speed limits, which is difficult for this car to do! The engine is bullet- proof, but a little drippy in the driveway. The rag top is starting to get ragged, but this Camaro looks like it is speeding even when it is parked.

Report Abuse

Back to the Dream

BG, 12/24/2005
Z28 2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I owned a '84 Camaro in Europe, where they simply don't exist and I was some kind of a Celebrity...Forget this- they are great cars and after selling my BMW 840ci I jumped on the Z28, which is just awesome car; a bit rough on the edges, but truly one of the last real American Muscle Cars, doomed to extinction by Japanese hybrids, and European Grocery Carts! I love this car!

Report Abuse

Hodge's Experience

Darvel Hodge Jr., 05/10/2004
Z28 2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had no major problems with this vehicle. It has been very reliable and it is so much fun to drive. When purchased I added ground effects with P275-40ZR17 Perelli SP 7000 and Fitapalidi Exclusive Chrome Wheels. I also added a K&N Air Filter System and an air flow director. It loves to run and basically poetry in motion. I will keep this car forever.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050