Used 1994 Chevrolet Camaro Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,250 - $2,907

Used Camaro for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best Bang for the Buck

Roadwarrior1956, 09/04/2003
Z28 2dr Hatchback
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Bought the car new in 94 and still love driving it, loud and fun to drive, still looks great and easy to modifiy. check out this site for info and upgrades http://www.f-body.org/

Report Abuse

Nothing better

Green Bean, 01/07/2009
2dr Hatchback
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2005 with 67,000 miles on her. Now in 2009 I have 152,000. This is my favorite car ever. Would not trade her for anything except a Z28. It handles amazing and can't complain too much about the power since it is a v6. It's had its fair share of small little problems needing to be replaced like ball joints, tie rods, and other small things. But this is all to blame on how I drive her. Great car for anyone.

Report Abuse

Best car I have EVER owned!

camaro_owner, 01/09/2012
2dr Hatchback
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

Performance: 160 (I have 187) horse power. Doesn't seem like a lot but the torque is where this car wins. Runs like a bat outta hell and crushes all competition off the line (yea, I've raced it a few times...) MPG: I get 24.5 city and 32 highway when I'm not screwing around with it. Build/Reliability: The 3.4L 207ci (@156,000 miles) is the only engine in a Camaro that has taken the beatings i put to these cars! My 1980 Camaro w/ 5.7L 350ci, can't even take the beating. Not even on the fresh rebuilt engine. I have never had any problems with my car. EVER. Comfort: The bucket seats are SUPER com

Report Abuse

My sleeper

Jeff McKnight, 01/04/2008
Z28 2dr Hatchback
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought the Camaro Z28 when i was 19 and I unfortunately had to use it as my primary car for a year. Word of advice.... stay away from snow. Fun awsome car! Ihave gone through a ot of tires....and they are not cheap. I have a Sparco suspension which helps on the streets... other than looking fast, it is fast... for the price and power you get this is my first sports car and I will keep it til I die. May be expensive but well worth it.. Now that I am 23 i appreicate it more and take a lot better care of it. Haven't had to repair but just a few items.... recently the fuel pump went out on it and come to find out the rear end must come off to get to it....that is my next project. Thanks Chevy

Report Abuse

Best car I ever had

Z28west, 08/03/2010
Z28 2dr Hatchback
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This one one great car. Probably the best performance bargains out there. This thing is scary fast. Turns heads and is very reliable. I love the Ttops. I am 6'4" and this car is even more comfy for me then my Cadillac cts. Some people complain about the interior, but I don't mind it. The only problem is this thing is hard to work on because 1/3 of the engine is covered up and everything is crammed inside. Definitely would recommend to anyone who likes style and performance at a bargain price!

Report Abuse

Best Bang for the Buck

sdtresa, 11/30/2004
Z28 2dr Hatchback
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

If you want performance for your dollar this is it. Performs as well as cars costing twice as much. It doesn't pretend to be luxury in any way, it's purpose built.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Maria Carmen Schmidt, 04/10/2003
Z28 2dr Hatchback
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I was givven this car for my 40th. b- day, in '94 it was bran-new. I love my car it still looks bran-new people still ask me if i just got a new car and i tell them it's not new it's a '94. Extremely powerful!! Has a vette engine and handles like a dream. I would not trade it for anything.I've only put about $300 into it in the 9 years I have owned it, not including regular service. Love the sound of the exaust. LOVE THE POWER!!!! It gets great mileage for being a V8 about 25mpg. and it is very reliable, I have driven it to Mexico several times. I want to thank my husband for that birthday present it was the best present ever!

Report Abuse

Disappointed in Camaro

Fabby, 04/18/2003
Z28 2dr Hatchback
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Just bought the car and come to find that it need a distributor, which is $1000!! Chevy has a design flaw in the engine. The distributor is behind the water pump, what were they thinking? Terrible on gas, but hauls butt.

Report Abuse

Excellent Car for First Model Year

Jerry Fox, 04/21/2003
Z28 2dr Hatchback
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The 1994 Camaro Z28 was a rocket from the start. Certainly I've taken very good care of it, but it hasn't had many problems, only very normal stuff. And it still looks NEW! For a "first model year car" it has been great and for the price, FANTASTIC! It did turn out to be the "poor man's Corvette"

Report Abuse

LT1 Z28 a real performer

mean green, 05/09/2008
Z28 2dr Convertible
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I own a second gen, a third gen. And this fourth gen z28 is by far the best performer. handling is great. dash components are turned slightly towards the driver for ease of use. front driver side provides comfort, but lets you know you are in a muscle car. the other seats well I wouldn't know

Report Abuse

Fun Car

Bri, 05/22/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Very satisfying car to own. Love the looks, sound and performance. Takes some getting used to at first, it's not a weak car that you can just floor in 1st & second gear. You can get sideways in a hurry (which is fun) especially if the pavement is cold or wet. You have to learn to roll into the throttle if traction is suspect. I use it as a daily driver in Michigan even in winter. I throw some winter tires on for the 3 snowy months and it does better than our front drive minivan.

Report Abuse

A great car!

Jake123123123, 04/03/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is a great car! It gets a bad rap from the people at consumer reports because of it's reliability, safety, and resell value, but they clearly don't have their prioities straight. The bucket seats lock you in when you blast off in this 275 hp performance car. A rocking bose stereo comes standard. It's loud, and you really feel the road - just like it should be. I love this car!

Report Abuse

My Camaro

Jennifer Parker, 06/09/2008
2dr Hatchback
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have the teal green Camaro and it has almost three hundred thousand miles on it. My Camaro has taken me from Michigan to Kentucky to Michigan then to Louisiana and now Texas, all without a problem. My Camaro has proven its worth in gold, except for the problem of the anti-theft and the struts.

Report Abuse

Z-28

Valerie, 07/17/2003
Z28 2dr Hatchback
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

From the day the vehicle was purchased back in 1997 untill today 2003 we did not have any problems. If the regular oil changes and yearly check ups and brakes replacement don't count the car was never in the repair shop. One of the best vehicles we ever purchased. Still drives as the brand new.

Report Abuse

The 94 Z28

HMCRM, 07/19/2003
Z28 2dr Hatchback
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have wanted a Z28 for a few years now, I have always liked how they looked, handled, etc. After having finally bought one I can definately say I wasn't wrong. The car is just gorgeous...everything in and about it just seems to be perfectly tuned. From the sport suspension to the engine and transmission, each piece of the car seems to fit perfectly together, giving it that American Muscle Car feel and performance. Out of everything I have raced with it so far, the only thing that could beat me was a 2001 Z28, so if you are buying this car to be the fastest you definately won't be disappointed.

Report Abuse

very good car, excellent gas mileage,

pedro, 03/04/2002
Z28 2dr Convertible
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

very nice style, grat gas mileage, fun to drive, some electrical problems with alternators.

Report Abuse

Just like the first time...

Edna, 02/27/2004
2dr Hatchback
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Beautiful, reliable (@135,000 miles), powerful, sure replaces my husband... This car has been in a lot of places and has been driven tough (hey, im a woman) and has never given up, still running strong (with only a v6), looks great (how about a hot chick in a camaro?)...in 9 years the only things replaced have been the oil, the struts and the clutch, and can still kick your a**!

Report Abuse

Excellent Car

Spades, 03/21/2004
2dr Hatchback
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

It is a car that will satisfy the needs of any man with a desire for a car with good looks and performance. The styling is superior to any import or local car of the same era with it's distinctive curves and driver focused interior.

Report Abuse

No mechanical troubles for 136K miles

BL, 03/01/2008
Z28 2dr Convertible
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Have owned car about 10 years. Maintaining it was key to trouble free operation, and keeping engine stock. Do service regularly, have fun with the power, but don't abuse it.

Report Abuse

The wonders of a 1st car

Gloveperson, 05/08/2003
Z28 2dr Hatchback
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I just bought the Z/28, and it is my first car!!!!!! And what a first car!! Explosive performence, great looks, and the wonderfull rumble of an American V- 8. What more could a 17 year old male want??!? I bought it with 89,000 miles on it, but the previous owner took wonderfull care of it, so I have to do zero matinence. All around gorgeous. Chevy, listen. BRING BACK THE CAMARO!

Report Abuse

Manual Z28 Camaro

LatinoXX49, 04/04/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

In my opinion, chevrolet makes one of the best cars. An exxample of one of these excellent cars is my Z28. I have never had such a reliable car with such amazing power and performance, not to mention the beauty of its body. My car has driven me everywhere and has not given me one problem yet

Report Abuse

Far and away the best Camero

BillPennock, 05/08/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I owned a 1986 IROC before this and at about 50,000 miles everything seemed to get worse on it. The handling just went away and by 80,000 miles it was a wreck running. I have 115,000 miles on this Z28 and I drive it just as hard and it's still handling great, runs great and the outside still looks great. The inside is beginning to fall apart but a few bucks and it will be back to just fine.

Report Abuse

gotta love chevy

sharptech, 06/05/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Z28 model of the camaro in 94 my year are by far the easiest to beef up and to race. Sure mustangs have a little syle but they are more show and no go. Camaro has the best of both worlds I think personally. The best part is being able to just mod the LT1 engines. My 94 Z28 runs 7.62 in the quarter mile without the 150 shot of N2O. Running just over 650 HP it's one of the fastest pro street cars I have ever owned. The only car that has touched this thing was the really modified Z06. Other than that these cars just rock.

Report Abuse

CAMARO!!!!!!

hourang, 07/17/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

ONE bad azz car!!! too fast for my own good, plus i get 23 mph on the highway!!!!

Report Abuse

this car is really good to drive

laura, 08/04/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

this car is fun to drive and very sporty without the hassle of the money issue!

Report Abuse

Luv My Z

CachMyZ, 08/10/2006
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this car and would never give it up if I had t-tops. The gas mileage stinks, especially at $3 a gallon. But it sounds awesome (with a Borla exhaust)

Report Abuse

zed2k

Zed, 02/19/2003
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Car is not running right now, but with 2,000 $ of engine repairs, it should be back to normal. (That would be taken off my selling price.) Assuming repairs are made, car is fun, extremely quick with no soup-ups, and a great color. Problems include the 103K miles on the car.

Report Abuse

vader's 'maro

vader, 03/08/2002
2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

the V6 model is a very good car. although the 3.8 liter V6 put into the Camaro in '96 were better in performance and reliability, the 3.4 in the '93-'95 do run well. my car has 120000 miles and still runs strong with just routine maintence.

Report Abuse

Has its flaws but amazing overall

Craig, 04/11/2008
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Owned the car about a year now and have had basic things go out due to their age. Car gets up and goes and just wants to keep going. My car was involved in a crash and sustained minor front end damage and my rear tires have little to no tread and my foot is made of lead so I don't get the gas mileage I should

Report Abuse

Great car for driving on the highway and in town

Ty, 08/20/2018
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The car is pretty quick and with a nice exhaust it sounds great. The six speed transmission is great and the gas mileage is good for the car and year. It steers great and the braking is good aswell. The headlights are good and the foglights help out during the night too. The visibility is good although I find there is a blindspot over your left shoulder due to the large pillar behind the front seat. There is no traction control or parking aids but it does include two front airbags. I had to replace the original stereo deck as it stopped working, but I put in a aftermarket deck and its working great again. The bose stereo I have is still doing great even though it is 24 years old, although there are speaker covers on each side of the back seat that house no speakers if you have the bose system, but it still sounds great. The climate control works great and my a/c works. The car is easy to use although the turn signal and wiper stock is a bit sticky/clicky. Good storage and the interior is designed all well, except for the one cupholder that can barely hold any sort of drink. I have a cloth interior and its very comfortable and cushy. It is comfortable to me for long roadtrips, and my passengers say the back seat is comfortable as well.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

About my 94 z28 M6

NiteRiderz704, 07/16/2010
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

0-60 in 6 secs tops, 6 speed. What more to say? In 6th gear at 70 mph I can get 35+ mpg highway! So good fuel econ. huge smoky burnouts. I'd love to see your Honda do that! Yet another reason to buy American muscle! Do not buy from a dealer, they want too much money. I got my 94 for $2,000. A steal. Can get them all day $3k-$5k from individuals.

Report Abuse

Best value in sports cars.

bryrac, 08/14/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great looks and performance, better gas mileage than expected, and a great ride

Report Abuse

Guy's let the finger from the V8

D., 01/18/2004
Z28 2dr Hatchback
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

I had this car for 3 month and lost almost $3000. Let built a used engine in they did't got it running right. Sold it for $1900 just to get rid of it. The V8 has alwys problems with the cooling, because is has only electric cooling. It works fine with a V6 and a stick shift does the speed. The V8 takes all place and the engine gets hot. Only one tip one of the fans is connected to the AC, so have the AC on at all times.

Report Abuse

Unreliable but fun in the summer

kylefarlow, 02/14/2004
2dr Hatchback
1 of 9 people found this review helpful

The "VATS" (vehicle anti-theft system) was just determined to be faulty, causing an infamous "security" light to come on the dashboard, and the engine will not start. $400 to replace the necessary parts and cut new keys. Alternator has been replaced twice and still can't seem to supply enough power to run all car systems. Glove compartment latch has been replaced more than 4 times during the lifetime of the car. The t-top is great, but leaks when going through a car wash and has since it was purchased. After the VATS debacle, I will never buy another GM car again.

Report Abuse

V6 is horrable

Ford4v460, 03/29/2003
2dr Hatchback
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

the V6 that i have is very weak, it was said too be "like a V8", but it is not............

Report Abuse

ouch

steve bruni, 09/09/2010
Z28 2dr Convertible
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

i bought this car cheaply, as a project, but o boy. after spending $6000.00 in parts and repairs plus countless hours of my own labor, it is in the shop, 3rd one counting chevy dealer who could not find the cause of intermittent surging and stalling. after replacing every ignition part from the opti to coil plugs wires alternator on and on, when it runs its like a dream, but how many times can you go out and need a tow before you give up? if this guy can't fix it - he's had it for 3 days now, by tomorrow, I'm off to a dealer to lose thousands on a trade-in and buying a vette. at least when i blow my money I'll have a real car. by the way, this is my 6th and last-worst camaro. lol

Report Abuse

VERY GOOD CAR

FASTAssCAMARO, 04/30/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

BEST CAR EVER, Kills mustangs easily. Mine has around 400 HP, it is a fast machine.

Report Abuse

Eats lots of GAS and MUSTANGS!!!!!!!!!

queefbomb, 05/13/2002
Z28 2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Z28 last year and it was my first American muscle car. I must say that it changed my outlook on Camaros after the first time I raced a Japanese car. I'll take muscle over technology any day.

Report Abuse

More Fun Than an Economy Ride

EveryDayWorkCam, 08/16/2002
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I Drive a lot of business miles. Tired of putting extra miles on my newer (i.e. rapidly depreciating) vehicles. I wanted a reliable car that was fairly economical, yet still fun to drive. No disappointment... very reliable and nice looking for a now 8 year old car. Beats the heck out of driving an overated Consumer Reports vehicle! Perhaps I am wrong, but I feel there will always be a buyer for an old, well kept Camaro when the time comes to sell. I don't see a lot of folks lining up for the old C.R. favorite foreign cars here in the Midwest.

Report Abuse

Surprisingly few problems

SantaClaus, 09/22/2002
Z28 2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Maybe I got lucky, but this car has been more reliable than just about any other I have owned. Almost 60k miles. The only thing I did outside of reqular maintenance (which is low) was replace the drivers power window switch.

Report Abuse

3rd Camaro

3rdcamaro, 10/17/2002
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my 3rd Camaro and it is the best of the three (70 and 77 were the others). Handling is superb (with Z-28 package), mileage is great (with 3.4L V-6), only hesitation is the 2-piece drive shaft that had an unservicable center support bearing. Replaced with custom-built solid 1-piece and performance is great. Highly recommend K&N filter for additional power. Sure to be a collector's item as Chevy in their stupidity no longer makes the Camaro.

Report Abuse

My Camaro bliss.

Mark Rider, 12/18/2002
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought it new. 113,000 miles with no problems. The only glitch is minor- slight corrosion on an aluminum rim is said to be the cause of a slow tire leak. Cannot bear to part with the car.

Report Abuse

1-for-1

JB2, 07/27/2003
2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My first and only (thanks to the reliability) camaro thus far, though might have to look for a final year model for the memories! There are a few complaints, but the features & enjoyment of the ride far outweigh any bad marks. Should have never driven the V8 or I'd still think life couldn't get any better!

Report Abuse

Overall great car

Sam Johnson, 04/19/2005
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for about 15 months now and have had no mechanical problems with it at all. There are over 147,000 miles on it and it is still going strong. Also, its fun to have some power to play with.

Report Abuse

Pony killer

mike, 05/31/2005
Z28 2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car is very fast and fun to drive has a good exhaust sound and the interior is pretty sporty and built to fit. The normal maintenance like spark plugs and water pumps are very hard to do and the parts aren't cheap like normal Chevys. The traction control is non-exsistant. But I do like it a lot and I am truck guy.

Report Abuse

CAMAROS EAT FORDS

0Stealth0, 04/03/2003
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car at 30k miles after a little had to replace the altinator, spark plug wires at 50k and cat at 55k other then mistakes of my own fault no other repairs needed for this fine machine! The camaro line and chevy cars in general have to be the kings of the road! look great sound great has great power for a v6 eats fords on a daily basis. CHEVY DO NOT LET THIS LINE FADE AWAY! You will loose many happy costomers! I plan on making my car a sleeper :grin:

Report Abuse

'94 Z28 Convertible

smanjoey, 08/02/2007
Z28 2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Since I was 16 I wanted a Z28 and when I hit 21 I finally had the extra cash to do so. I couldn't be happier. This car is amazingly fun to drive and my wife loves it too! Not to mention I have the 1Le package so this thing is top notch wouldnt get rid of it for anything.

Report Abuse

My Last Hurrah!

Arlene Johnson, 06/30/2007
Z28 2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I received this car in April of 1994 as a birthday gift from my husband. It was my 60th birthday and I wanted something sporty before I was too old to enjoy it. I have never been disapointed in its looks or performance. It drives like a dream, has a super motor, and great pickup. I have kept it garaged for all 13 years I have owned it. It still looks new and has only 78,000 miles on it. I truely am your little old lady with the cream puff car. I now need an SUV and so I am going to sell my litttle dream car. It is arctic white with a black top and custom beige leather interior. It is a 1994 z28 convertible with automatic transmission, V-8 engine, and loaded with accessories.

Report Abuse

Camaro Forever!!!

Noir Espoir, 03/16/2002
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car does not deserve the untimely demise GM has sentenced it to. Performance wise (and look & quality wise) this car blasts the mustang (and everything else near this sports car price range) out of the water. Fuel economy is none too good, but im willing to forgive & forget. Good fun, beautiful, reliable car. An American Classic.(this goes for the Firebird as well)

Report Abuse

My Third Camaro

Third Camaro Kid, 03/25/2002
2dr Hatchback
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the best camaro yet. I've had a 70 and a 77. This handles great, gets super mileage (26 MPG around town with the 3.4L V-6 and 5-Speed manual transmission). Nothing to complain about - I just enjoying driving 80-85 on the highway knowing that the car sticks to the road.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050