Used 2009 Chevrolet Aveo Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,762 - $2,990

Used Aveo for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Nice car, check it out.

Roy, 08/28/2008
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I needed a 4dr hatchback with automatic. My car also has the optional power package with keyless entry. Narrowed my choices to the Aveo, and the 2008 Fit, both of which had some minor pluses over the other. The Aveo has CC, drivers seat height and lumbar adjustments, and an armrest. It also has daylight running lights, an alarm system, and free Onstar for one year. The front end has been redesigned, and the interior has been upgraded. The engine has a few more horses with improved gas mileage. I have been averaging 30 MPG in mixed driving, and the engine turns 2800 RPM at 70 MPH. Generally quiet with some road noise. Very roomy, great visibility, nice handling, and good acceleration.

Report Abuse

Gives Cheap a whole new meaning.

David Albee, 07/25/2015
2LT 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
27 of 31 people found this review helpful

I have had my Aveo for going on 5 years now. I should have walked past it the moment that I ran my fingers over the grill and the black paint powder that came off on my finger was present. Now the entire reason for my purchase was that I needed a vehicle that I could drive into the dirt. I commute to work everyday and any vehicle was going to be getting aged prematurely. However, this does not excuse the wiper blades disintegrating in the second month of ownership. I understand that Korea may not have the winters that we Canadians do but wow! Anyhow, new blades on moving forward. Wait, what is that awe-full racket? It can't be the engine already... For crying out loud it sounds like the engine is trying to leap out from under the hood.... Notice in the mail, "Dear Aveo owner please proceed to your nearest Chev dealer to get your wiring replaced as the engineers have discovered an issue with the gaps of your spark plug and wiring harness." As my car is lurching and crying "No kidding there is an issue." . Okay so contact my dealer that I purchased my car from, "Sorry, we can't help you with that." "We don't have the parts to fix it right now.". Click... Wait, what? Yo Rick, I need you to put new plugs in and wiring. "Isn't that a recall? Shouldn't your dealer do that?", to which I replied. "Yes", "Yes they should." "So can you do this?" Driving my now behaving Aveo out of Rick's shop and noting the it will be a cold day in hell before I go back to the dealer. Not long later. "Hmmm, are my headlights dirty?" After looking I realized they were not dirty just one of the bulbs had burned out. No big deal, I have now replaced 3 bulbs. The creme de la creme had to be driving to work one morning and there was a little bit of snow on the road. I am Canadian and have been driving this road since 1989. No problem........ So why am I now staring at a terrified lady facing me and we are traveling in the same direction. I mean her eyes were like dinner plates. After I hit the drifted snow on the side of the road I have come to realize yet another issue with the Aveo. The rear brake has a tendency to lock. Terrifying right... I mean the freaking pad came off the shoe inside the drum...... Think about that for a second.. They are supposed to be molecular bonded to the shoe to prevent that sort of thing from happening. "Yo, Rick!!" "I need you to take a look at this rear brake, something is definitely [non-permissible content removed]!" "Umm, Dave the drum is really stuck on there." - "I know, I scared the H*** out of some lady in a SUV that was behind me, I was looking at her while i was going backward." A couple hours later... "Dave, I have never even heard of this happening." "Once i manage to get the drum off the pad was off the shoe.." Do not under any circumstance buy this vehicle, it redefines cheap and I would swear substandard parts. I honestly can not express how confused I am about how this actually made it to market. Oh and now the screws to the air filter have corroded and I will have to likely cut them and tap them to change the air filter.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Alot of car for a subcompact

Laurie Harrington, 12/10/2016
2LT 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

The O2 sensor was bad when I bought it but after that was repaired it's been a great little car. I changed the timing belt at 88k. Use copper spark plugs. She hates platinum. Freeway travel at speeds above sixty are noisy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I paid for this!!

Rick, 08/17/2015
1LT 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
13 of 16 people found this review helpful

This car sucks giant piles of rehashed rubber tires. Worthless. Malfunctions all the time. The latest is the awesome engineering where they put the transmission cooler inside the radiator... YES, inside it. 6 years old, 38k miles and the cooler erodes inside the radiator sending trans fluid into radiator and radiator juice into the tranny. Brilliant!!! Jack wagons. This car was built to fall to pieces so that the consumer is forced to buy a new vehicle. This car is criminal and GM should repay everyone of us who bought the scrap heap. I will NEVER buy a Chevy again. E V E R ! ! ! ! ! ! Tempted to leave that pos at the dealership!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Aveo Manual shift

powen1, 01/03/2012
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

You must have a dealer change the oil & filter as the clutch assembly is wedged against the filter housing. It is absurd. After a year finally got a dealer tech. to admit is was a poor design from chevy & they stopped making such. However, chevy never told us about this problem or did a recall. Also the dealers now tell us that they only can change the oil as the whole clutch assembly must be dropped and the filter itself cost extra. Also there is always residual oil drops from the change and the burning smell in the engine. Our idea was to have an inexpensive & easily maintained car, which it is not, it is just cheap! We have received NO satisfaction from the dealers.

Report Abuse

Maybe I should have spent a little more

Rob, 09/30/2015
LS 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my aveo new in 2009, taking advantage of cash for clunkers got it for about 8k new so I really can't complain about the price. Over the years ita has treated me alright. During the warranty period I did have to have a gear in the manual transmission replaced which would have been pretty costly if I had to pay for it. Had a spark plug boot recall also which was apparently causing some vehicles to run poorly...never noticed that but got it fixed nonetheless. This car does go through a set of tires in about 30k miles, even less for the cheap ones that came on it new....think I replaced those at about 20k. I have done all maintenance routinely, haven't really had any engine trouble. Did have a phantom check engine light at one point and dealer charged me 100$ to tell me that oxygen sensor was stuck in the open position, quoted me about 500$ to fix but after I reset the light the issue never returned. Had to replace a rear axle bushing to the tune of $300 at about 60k. Front disc breaks have held up well still haven't even had to change the pads at 65kk, mechanic says they have plenty of life left. Although the rear drums are currently getting replaced along with shoes for $400 because the shoe came off one locking up my wheel and not allowing me to go home from work last night. This car is 6 years old and has 65k miles. For the most part it has been reliable and I plan on getting another couple years out of it, but I do feel like I have had to fix more than should have been necessary on such a new car that has been well taken care of. Next time I will go with something a little higher end. Forgot to mention I average about 30 mpg or a little over so can't complain about that!

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Not too bad for the price

misslil, 06/11/2014
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Purchased new in 2009 and have put mostly highway miles on it - up to 93,300 now. Get about 33 mpg. Did really great the first 4 years except for having alignment problems. Finally got that worked out. Had problems with AC last summer..fans not blowing much air out of vents. Had to have the rear O2 sensor replaced last month and then the air intake hose this month. Biggest problem is the parts had to come from the dealer and they are outrageously expensive! Approx. $240 for each part. Just read review on another website that the air intake hose was made in 2 parts, but you must buy the whole assembly. Not cool GM. My next car probably won't be a Chevy.

Report Abuse

What a mess!!

markg13, 01/04/2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Always drove Chevys, this may be my last! Going back to dealer again for same reason within 2 mnths, do I blame the dealer or the crappy car? Creaks and groans from the frame/bodywork within first week of purchase, mileage nowhere near advertised levels, rides like a covered wagon on the Oregon Trail, about as peppy as a lawn mower (and as quiet as one!); nice interior, though. Is this GM's idea of a joke? Is this how you re-build trust in a company that almost went belly-up? I realize this car came from subsidiary in S. Korea, that doesnt excuse shoddy execution/quality. Beware!!

Report Abuse

Run for your life

jim hartz, 04/12/2019
LS 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2016 with only 50,000 miles. It was just a stopgap car while we prepared to move abroad. First the obvious things which I had expected..........tires, tire sensors, alignment, battery. One after the other. Brake switch went out and the car was locked in park. Both headlights went out as did the rear flasher. Headlight was due to a melted socket. Valve cover gasket had to be replaced as it leaked oil on the exhaust manifold. Most of the air conditioning failed as did the radiator. There went another $2000. Faulty wiring had the check engine light going on and off. Now it is one of the ABS sensors. Guess I'll fix this myself as I did the brake switch. Resale value has dropped about 60% in three years. Should have bought a Toyota. Second Chevy........both were lemons.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Don't get an Aveo

Blue Moon Aveo, 09/27/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Aveo is attractive and the sound system is decent but it lacks in performance. Mine is only averaging 23 miles a gallon. Wind noise and slow exceration make it a poor choice compared to other cars, but it is cheaper. Mine had a defunct OnStar system (though purchased new with only 15 miles on it) and it took GM six weeks to get the OnStar fixed and reprogrammed.

Report Abuse

A lemon

Molly, 02/09/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased the car used with 25K miles. I drove it 200 miles on the hwy and could only get my gas mileage average up to 24mpg. Disappointing. I could not get it to accelerate enough to merge with traffic. Other motorists would honk and flash their lights because the vehicle would slow down traffic. After 10 days of owning it, the check engine light came on during a snow blizzard in Minnesota and the vehicle decelerated to 5 miles per hour nearly causing a traffic accident. This all happened without warning. All of a sudden it seemed as though I was riding in a rocket ship. The engine began to die as I turned the heat on and a cracking sound was heard from the motor. I got rid of it.

Report Abuse

Same problem, 4 times in 3 weeks

sunshine, 11/21/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

the acceleration is not very good however,the good fuel economy makes up for it. i have owned this car just under a year now and recently have been having problems with the car. They keep fixing it but 2 days later it breaks again. tomorrow will be the fourth time in less than three weeks that i will be taking it into the dealership. other than this, i love the car, but i guess you get what you pay for! Cheap price means cheap quality

Report Abuse

Already want to trade in after only 3 months.

bkm89, 04/02/2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Three months ago I traded in my truck to find a car with better gas mileage. We found an aveo. My parents really liked it, and the dealer(my fathers cousin) also told us it was a very good car. Not the case. I have no good things to say. The gas mileage is nowhere near the expected I get no better than 25, and all my driving is highway or back roads. Not good in the snow even with studded directionals. The heater makes a ticking noise, very loud especially on highway. Radio cuts out when you turn on the rear window defrost. Whistling noise if you hit 60mph sometimes lower than that. Looks and feels cheaply made inside. Doesn't meet my expectations worst car I've owned.

Report Abuse

Dollar for Dollar best value

Jimbo, 08/07/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent fuel mpg. Fun to drive LT with wheels,sunroof and spoiler is the way to go.. Get the ABS brakes.. Style and performance. Get the sedan not the hatch.. Sedan more room.

Report Abuse

LT Sedan

Iffos, 10/02/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2009 LT sedan Aveo back in May before the cash for clunkers. I love the car for the most part. Mines more of the sport version with a small spoiler, sun roof, leather seats, Alloy rims and a nice deck. I'm just about to hit 9k cause I bought mine with 3k on it. It still running great I like the sedan way more then the hatch back because you get more room. I'm always hitting 30 mpg and on the highway I'm hitting about 34 mpg. Great looking sedan. This was a 2009 Aveo built in 2008.

Report Abuse

Dis-Satisfied

Jlyn89, 10/10/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Where do I begin. I've had nothing but problems w/my car. The RMP's don't idle right. It makes shuddering movements while driving & while stopped. After 1 month of having it, I had a transmission problem and other tiny problems. Buying this car was the worst decision I made. Don't expect a race car, because this car lacks power, very much. Dealership would not fix my car, so I got an attorney & General Motors agreed to buy back the car, so now I'm on the hunt for another. But I will tell you that this car was a pain in the neck the whole 3 months I had it. But I loved the way it looked outside & especially inside its such a nice looking car, just doesn't run the way it's supposed to.

Report Abuse

Hoping for the Best

$4,300 for 2009 Aveo, 10/16/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my Aveo as part of the Cash for Clunkers program after all rebates my price $4,300. Did not need car as had purchased 2008 Civic Hybrid prior year. I have enjoyed the car and believe it is good for my teenagers to experience the manual door locks and manual windows. It has a comfortable riding position and I like the interior. I recently changed my oil and was surprised with canister oil filter and torx socket for drain plug.

Report Abuse

Good Commuter Car

Bubba, 10/18/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I did the Cash For Clunkers deal. I needed a good commuter car since I drive a minimum of 700 miles a week. All you Jerseyites will understand. So far the car has been performing exactly as I wanted. 35 to 36 mpg in mixed driving mostly through the Pine Barrens. I have the auto with cruise control and they are the two items I must have. Comfort is fine. On Star is great so I don't need a cell phone if I break down in the pines or when I hit a deer again. Also got the 5 door which I highly recommend. This car is about utility and the 5 door is the way to go. Get me to work and home, load stuff in when I need to. I bought the car for cheap, reliable transportation. Grade: A+.

Report Abuse

Love my 2009 Chevy Aveo LS 4 door 1.6 L

Missouri Man, 10/31/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Get 33 mpg plus in city traffic and 40-46 mpg plus driving highway in Missouri Ozark Mountains on interstate or two lane or city traffic. Great deal for the price on a subcompact of $10,600 brand new 2009. Excellent view out all directions of window, great comfort and leg/head room. Quiet, no road noise or engine noise. Easy to steer and operate, handles well, rides smooth, lots of trunk space, good stereo with plug in for Ipod or MP3 player, Onstar features! I cannot say enough good about this car, for the price and after shopping for over a year driving and looking at all over subcompacts, this is the best deal going by far! Love driving it, AC works wonderful, and can haul 4 people!

Report Abuse

Great for under 12500!

My favorite!, 01/10/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Well I've had it for 5 months now and it has been a little champ! Of course its a little slow (I have the auto) but I get 26 city and about 33 highway. Its a nicely built car, I've had no rattles or problems like others have said. I have every feature except the leatherette seats. The only fault I really have with it is that I feel it could be either sportier with some engine tuning (maybe even raise mpgs?) but everything is good. I wish they would give the car a little more something with the styling outside ( I don't like the headlights on the aveo5). I would recommend this car to anyone on a budget!

Report Abuse

Good little car

AveoOwner, 02/12/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We have owned this car since August (?) 2009 (we used cash for clunkers) and it was either this or an accent, glad we got this. We (luckily.. almost didn't.) got the manual. I have never driven an auto aveo, but I doubt it would be very much fun. The manual makes it a fairly quick little car, I beat a cobalt ss going UP a hill in a race :) Only problem I have is that I don't think I am getting 30mpg, maybe more like 25, however, I do drive a bit enthusiastically. The upgraded radio is a fairly good radio for being factory, people don't believe it's factory.

Report Abuse

new us cars what can they do!

jens arendttorp, 03/17/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

29.8 mpg is all I can squeeze out of it; even with a lucas additive in the fuel; a good driving car; as good as a Toyota Prius maybe even better, but poor fuel economy compared to my old Toyota Tercel wagon with on-demand 4 wheel drive, which is handy during winter months

Report Abuse

A LOT of car for the money

Johnny, 07/29/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Aveo is not a Mercedes --we all know that. It also costs a fraction of what a Mercedes costs, and thousands of dollars less than a similarly equipped Honda, Toyota, Kia or Nissan. Frankly, I don't see the value in spending a lot more money for Honda or Toyota badging. This car is roomy, comfortable, very reliable, cheap to operate, and has a good ride. I could not be more pleased with a car that cost me $10,999 + tax that has air conditioning, a great stereo with MP3 connectivity, and even a rear spoiler. Get one. You won't regret it.

Report Abuse

Don't do it

Jenn, 08/10/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got this car when I turned 16 as my first car. I've never hated anything more than this! Truth be told, I've wrecked it twice but in both the wrecks the air bags DIDN'T deploy and onstar didn't come on. It's extremely hard to see long distances at night and when it shifts you feel it. My dad paid $16,200 after ttl and he regret paying more than $10,000. This car is HORRIBLE

Report Abuse

A bit too pricey

Elwapo72, 09/20/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my Chevy Aveo for about 1 year now. I haven't had any major problems. The very first problem I had was that the Onstar wasn't working. Second problem I am still having is that at times it will not start. I usually have to wait about a minute or two then try again and it usually starts. The other thing is how hard it is to find oil filters for it. Sometimes the filters are a little pricey.

Report Abuse

Decent Car

Fawzia Firdous, 08/19/2019
1LT 4dr Sedan (1.6L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this car with 40k mi on it, the vehicle was well maintained from previous owner so I really enjoyed it. I loved this car because it is a tiny cute car that got me from point A to point B, I kept up with regular maintenance and was constantly told how cheaply the car was made. The engine got louder and louder the higher the mi got, I wrecked it and the engine fell out and the value to fix it was more than the actual car which is why I don't own it anymore. It had 88k mi on it and I don't think it would have gone much longer without having major issues to it. Overall I loved it as my first car but don't think it is worth investing in with all the better options out there.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050