Used 2000 Buick Regal Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,308 - $3,167

Used Regal for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...10

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Out of 6 BMWs and 6 Mercedes, my FAVORITE

Jerry, 01/15/2016
LSE 4dr Sedan
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I've owned 6 BMWs and 6 Mercedes, and I expect a LOT from my cars. I bought my LSE after getting fed up with being $1000'd to death by Mercedes and BMW. Thought I'd give a Buick a try, but wasn't really expecting much, considering it was a, well, BUICK. Boy, was I surprised! This is my favorite car ever, and I don't say that lightly. Gets 32 mpg on long trips, has the touring suspension and corners like it's on rails. As most Mercedes owners will admit, the cruise control and A/C are unreliable at best. This dual zone automatic climate control is faultless, EVERYTHING ALWAYS WORKS as it should, and this car is really loaded up with options like a Cadillac. It is absolutely reliable, smooth riding, good power, and fun to drive. Mercedes could learn a thing or two from this car's reliability, so could BMW. IF you find one of these LSE models and you don't buy it, you should kick yourself hard. So it's a 2000 model, you'll get tired of it before you'll ever sear it out. The only weak spot is the front wheel bearings which you will need to replace by 100K miles. It's a simple DIY job. Dont buy the cheap Chinese aftermarket bearings. Go for the Timken.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2000 Buick Regal 4 Dr GS Sprchgd Sedan

Duane Nesset, 11/11/2009
GS 4dr Sedan
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I just turned over 200,000 miles today. I bought it slightly used with 4000 miles in late 2000. It has been my commute car for years. I started using synthetic motor oil at 75,000 miles. I use Mobil 1 EP in it. Mileage on long highway drives goes over 25 MPG. It left me on the road only twice. Once with a blown water pump three years ago and more recently, something with the supercharger and I had to cut away the tangled belts and limp to a repair station with no power steering. It is still very sporty and and responsive. Suspension was replaced about 4 years ago. Very reliable over all and now will see it running towards the 300K mark.

Report Abuse

229,000 miles and counting

doulos, 02/15/2010
LSE 4dr Sedan
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Bought the car used in 9/02 with 45,145 miles. Now it has 229,200 miles. This is a very reliable car! It never broke down or left me stranded. There is one thing that you must fix if you buy one of these cars with the 3.8L, and that is the lower intake manifold and gasket. I had mine fixed at 94,000 miles and never any problems. The only other thing I changed out was the front and rear brake rotors due to warped rotors. Do the scheduled coolant and transmission flushes and it will serve you a long time. Then just change the oil, tires and brake pads as needed. The leather interior has held up well, no rattles and there is no visible exterior rust!! Thank you Buick for a great car!

Report Abuse

Best Used Car Purchase EVER!

Judy, 02/18/2017
GS 4dr Sedan
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Today is 8/28/18. Still have my car. Still runs great! Have not really had any other problems with it since my last update. I do the oil changes regularly and I only use premium gas in her. Low coolant light comes on and goes off but I have already confirmed that it's the temp sensor. Will cost me $130 to replace. Still very pleased with her! I did discover another thing that I don't like. What is the sent of having key holes in the door if there is no key?? If battery dies and your car is locked, you will need a locksmith! Today is 8/26/17. I bought my Buick Regal GSE Supercharged on 9/26/16. It had 116,102 miles on it. It now has 140,343 miles on it. (I work 45 miles away from home - one way. I travel to work 4x a week). Including the owner that I bought it from, it had 3 prior owners. The original owner was a elderly lady that drove it to the local grocery store and to church; a family member inherited it but didn't drive it much; then the guy that I bought it from owned it. Before I purchased the car, I did a Carfax on it and got a buy back guarantee through Carfax. I also got every single maintenance record on the car since it's original purchase. During the prior owner's possession, he had regular maintenance stuff done plus a new blower motor for ac and heat, the engine valve cover (which was covered under warranty), tie rod ends and wheel bearings hub assembly. At 118,212 miles- I had to replace the EGR valve ($334.60). At 126,863 miles- I had to replace the radiator (502.99). At 135,965 miles- I had to replace the Mass Air Flow Sensor on it (I left for work for lunch one afternoon, the check engine light illuminated and the car acted like it was going to die, then it surged and sputtered then died. It came back on and did it again - so I had it towed to my mechanic and they did the diagnostics on it and determined it was the MAF sensor). I also replaced the serpentine belt replaced on it at the same time ($494.22). The car runs great! What I don't like are two things: 1) the cup holder in the center console is annoying to use. I usually don't use it. 2) and I hate this......the Power Steering Pump reservoir is a pain in the buttocks to access and fill!!!!!! I had to get on a stool, stick nearly my entire arm down in the engine just to get the cap off. Then I had to use TWO long neck funnels to get the fluid into the reservoir without spilling it everywhere. I have been very pleased with this car. She is pretty quick too. :) Handles well and rides smooth. I currently have Yokohama tires on it. I did have Michelin Defenders but had to downgrade for financial reasons. :)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

disappionted

vsal, 03/20/2004
LS 4dr Sedan
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Too many major repairs: steering rack and air pump at 55K, rear wheel hub assembly and wiring short at 60K, dashboard light switch at 72K and transmission trouble (unresolved as yet because it will require removal and disassembly) at same time. Also, some weather stripping comes loose as does one rear door inside panel.

Report Abuse
12345...10
Items per page: