Skip to main content

Used 2018 BMW X5 Diesel Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$28,485 - $47,590

Used X5 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Reliable, safe, high MPG, flawless.

Vin Tanner, 03/25/2018
updated 10/12/2022
2018 BMW X5 xDrive35d 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 8A)
36 of 39 people found this review helpful

This is our 2nd X5 35d. Both have been trouble free. Mileage is much better than projected. Will have to choose other brand now that BMW has dropped diesels.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

More than you expect

Mark G, 08/09/2018
updated 02/11/2019
2018 BMW X5 xDrive35d 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 8A)
26 of 29 people found this review helpful

Previously had a ML350 bluetec. The ride, handling and performance are superior on all counts. And that is not even counting better MPG. The only three area's that I find the X5 short in are backseat room, specifically legroom, slightly smaller cargo area and confusing and lacking equipment packages. My thought is that a number of options on the X5 for a luxury SUV could and should be standard. I cannot express the significant difference in handling and engine performance vs the ML 350. If you are not familiar with diesel you will be hard pressed to notice the difference against a typical gasoline engine. Certainly X5 owners with a gasoline model will notice the difference, but it is important to express that the diesel is not lacking by any means. Price aside it is a good value for the money and you will not be disappointed. Going on 8 months now and couldn't be happier.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

BMW X5 35d

Kim C, 11/19/2019
updated 11/28/2022
2018 BMW X5 xDrive35d 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 8A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Outstanding torque and mileage. After 18,000 miles, the average mpg is 28.4. We have averaged 80 mph for 600 miles at over 31 mpg. No repairs, just yearly fluid changes. Very comfortable, quiet and a great all around vehicle. After 31,000 miles no issues and average mileage almost 29. We really enjoy the diesel performance and mileage over the gas equivalent. Too bad they have gone away in the US. With the diesel X5 no longer available we switched to a 2021 X5 plug-in hybrid. It did not compare well to the diesel and we traded it for another brand after six months. The extra weight of the battery and the soft ride did not feel like the ultimate driving machine. Maybe we should have tried one of the gas only powered ones.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Still loving it after 97,000 miles

Bret, 03/13/2019
updated 09/16/2022
2018 BMW X5 xDrive35d 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 8A)
17 of 21 people found this review helpful

I am a diesel guy. I have owned many diesel vehicles and decided to drive the X5-35d for fun...my wife and I were hooked from the moment we accelerated off the dealers lot. We have owned this vehicle now for 7 months and are getting 33 MPG average driving in the mountains of Colorado and I do not drive conservatively:) We love the handling, the safety features, and there are so many little engineered surprises in this vehicle. Our warranty is now over. We have not had any issues other than the sunroof needed to be repaired and it may have been our fault. We plan to keep this vehicle for a long time, at least 200,000 miles...unless it proves to become expensive to keep going. March 15, 2022--We are now over 90,000 miles and still loving it. Have not had any issues and still going with original brakes. Had to replace the brakes on front and rear at 96,000; pretty good for mountain driving, especially the way I drive! No other issues whatsoever.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car

TXTransplant, 04/05/2021
2018 BMW X5 xDrive35d 4dr SUV AWD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 8A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car, used, fresh off a lease, fully loaded, at a fraction of the cost. I absolutely love how comfortable this thing is - the multicontour seats with ventilation are a must in these SE TX summers. I love the ease of use of the technology and the heads up display with the directions right in front of you is a.maz.ing. Makes long road trips effortless! The gas mileage with a diesel has been phenomenal - I’ve only filled up 4 times since I picked it up in Dec20 (it’s Apr21 now) and I drive this thing everywhere. Can’t say enough good things about it!!!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page: