Used 2012 Audi A4 Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$10,495 - $12,110

Used A4 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Manufacturer defect and no support for 2012 A4

hsutton, 06/11/2018
2.0T Premium quattro 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
38 of 41 people found this review helpful

Audi recently settled a big lawsuit for owners of 2009-2011 A4's that had oil consumption problems. The 2012's were not included in that lawsuit, and now that our car is out of warranty we are out of luck for getting their assistance with repair costs. It was first taken in for oil consumption problems when it was only 3 years old, and we paid for that service. Now that it is 2-3 years later the problem has returned and we are looking at either a $6,000 repair for pistons/rings or a $12-$15k replacement engine. We've paid off this vehicle, but it did not have an extended warranty. We use it for work and do a lot of highway miles, so it does have more than 100k miles. We've also had oil changes done at places other than an Audi dealership. All of those things worked against us. We have spent so much time and money on this issue, and on the care overall, that I would not recommend a 2012 A4 to anyone looking to purchase a used vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

This car burns oil

eric141, 08/17/2012
25 of 27 people found this review helpful

"My car has been burning 1 quart of oil every 2500 miles. The dealer "fixed" it, but it still burns 1 quart every 3000 miles. Both the dealer and Audi told me that 1 quart every 1200 mile is within specs."

Report Abuse

Struck the (almost) perfect balance

dayowl87, 05/13/2013
23 of 26 people found this review helpful

I got this car as a stylish daily commuter that would also serve my need for winter drives to Tahoe and dinner with clients. Since I drive 90 miles round trip each day I wanted a car that was comfortable, fuel-efficient and stylish. I'm very pleased with the overall interior and exterior design which after looking at the usual suspects I think are clearly best in class. The car has also exceeded my expectations for gas mileage as I've been experiencing low to mid-thirties on the highway. I've been impressed with the important creature comforts during my drives including the seats, adjustable armrest and climate control.

Report Abuse

Love my A4, great value

Michael, 07/25/2015
2.0T Premium 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo CVT)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

This car is a great value. I bought it certified pre owned which I don't regret at all. Wonderful warranty come with it, maintenance included for some mileage intervals. The ride on this car is the best of any car I have had, I couldn't imagine a smoother ride at this price point! I like the navigation screen and map, but the screen could be bigger. Infiniti Q50 has the perfect screen size, get the queue from them! Trunk is huge, I love the way the trunk pops open when you hit the switch or button, if you have your hands full it's wonderful. There are hooks in the trunk ceiling for shopping bags so they don't fly around (genius!), both back seats fold down. The Bang & Olufsen stereo is top notch, clear and awesome sound, better than the Bose with Infiniti. I don't like that the car doesn't connect Bluetooth for music on your phone, that is such an easy add for a car company, the connector for the phone to play music is in the glovebox, very odd, and you can't have both that and the headphone connector in the armrest for music. Audi, fix this! I do like the CVT transmission, very smooth ride but it seems to have play in it when taking off sometimes, they can't find anything wrong but it's something to get used to, if they even make this trans anymore. I LOVE the led running lights, has to be my favorite feature! Looks awesome driving, and it's the last year with the individual dot lights before they made the continuous line light, just my preference. The gas mileage is amazing, I get almost 30 mpg with almost all city driving. Freeway driving takes it over 30. With the turbo you can't tell you are driving a 4 cylinder, I can't stress how I hated a 4 cylinder before, but with this car I love it Pros: gas mileage, smooth ride, solid feel, very stylish, big trunk Cons: no Bluetooth music feature, small navigation screen

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Poor transmission on the front track model

tvivier, 09/20/2012
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The cvt transmission is a nightmare on the front track model. At a stop, it takes a second for the car to take off when you press the gas. This can be a safety issue. I got rid of A4 Front track after two month of frustration and got a quattro instead. This bad choice cost me quite a bit of money. Fortunately, the quattro is a great car.

Report Abuse

Think twice....

aih312, 01/04/2013
10 of 14 people found this review helpful

So after 1.5 years of ownership and 24k miles later I think I can firmly give a sound review. I have an 12 A4 Premium Quattro with convience pk and heated seats. I paid 35K plus taxes. Now for 35k you would expect a basic trip computer....no...xenon headlamps...no. Memory seats...no. These are options that are standard on a TSX. The ride quality is decent, on the highway is where you will feel most comfortable. The city is ok...it just feels sloppy to me. The interior is really nice and comfortable. The MMI is a pain in the ass to use. There is no logic to it in my head. I am not sure what the heck people are talking about in having great gas mileage..I barely get 300 with mix city highway

Report Abuse

Overpriced and sparse

pensman, 01/22/2012
9 of 13 people found this review helpful

The car is nimble with excellent acceleration and tight steering. But the cabin is bare enough to remind one of Mother Hubbard's Cupboard. Everything that is standard on a Kia is an extra here. For a $35,000 car you do not even get a self dimming rearview mirror. The MMI is clunky and anti intuitive. The stereo system is bare bones. Milage is about 17 city and 25 higway.

Report Abuse

2012 Audi A4 Premium Plus

penpen1999, 01/14/2012
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

Bought a new 2012 A4 in November. I was shocked that a $40,880 vehicle does not support Bluetooth Audio streaming when a budget car like the Ford Fiesta does! The rear headrests are so large that they block 20% of the rear windshield. The Bluetooth voice command requires a separate phonebook that requires user entry The steering feels artificial and loose and lacks good road feel. My highway gas mileage has been 24 MPG but the spec said 29 MPG. I have been very gentle with the accelerator (less than 2000 rpm) and only drive highway so this is far lower than I expected. I get 30 MPG in my Accord when the spec says 29. The instantaneous MPG on the trip computer says 200 MPG sometime

Report Abuse

I love this car

RH, 06/02/2016
2.0T Premium quattro 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

It is a nice car, it is not a performance car. I went from a Hemi Challenger with 380 horsepower to this so I might be biased or off on my judgment a little but it is quick and fast but not great acceleration. the automatic seems to hesitate when I step on the gas. I like to use the auto/manual shift but worry I might be putting too much wear and tear on the tranny. It handles great. I can go on "on ramps" and "off ramps" at about 80 and no tire squeal. It is fun to drive. I live the leather seats are comfortable and classy. I am thinking of getting a performance mod on the ECU. I bought this used with about 30k on it. great used car for $20K. Now I have about 65K miles and the car is still great. I haven't had any trouble with it at all. Just a great car to drive

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love this car

gnh917, 01/15/2013
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Handling, ride, comfort, and noise level are all fantastic. I average about 30 mpg and I drive pretty aggressively. Build quality is excellent. I have a manual transmission with sport pkg, heated seats, bi-xenon headlights and the upgraded sound system and paid $35K. The stereo is fantastic too. The only problem I've had was the alignment getting out of whack for some reason, but the dealer corrected it and I haven't had any other maintenance issues to report.

Report Abuse

So far, so good.

saw5343, 02/10/2012
9 of 19 people found this review helpful

I decided to take a chance on a German vehicle with reservations about reliability. I've put 4k miles on the car so far with no issues. Very happy with all aspects of the car. Handles well, gets good mileage (right at 25 overall) and is very comfortable. I have the sport package and was concerned that the ride might be punishing, however it is just firm and still very comfortable. The dealer experience has been excellent. I've had no issues with it burning excessive oil as some others have had. Hopefully the positive trend will continue.

Report Abuse

dynamics = great, everything else = meh/poor

AL-PIN-A, 04/28/2017
2.0T Premium quattro 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

We leased 2 of them. We loved our first one (a 2010), although it had an oil problem and the rearview mirror kept on falling off. The second one was a nightmare. The car shipped with a torn front seat. The first one had 60/40 folding rear seats. The second one didn't. The guy screwed up our order, but by the time we realised this, it was too late. Also the fuel economy for each car SUCKED!!!! Every 2 weeks we paid $60+ for hi-grade petrol (for comparison, our 2015 328xi costs around $35 to fill for the same duration). The ergonomics were a mess. The backseat was the size of the backseat of a coupe (i.e. nonexistent). Caveat Emptor!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

oil consumption

JW, 04/18/2019
2.0T Premium quattro 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

hilarious. an engine consuming 1 quart per 1000 miles is about the industry standard recognized oil consumption limit, yes, even for brand new cars straight off the lot. anything over that MAY be the symptom of a problem. this is a turbo vehicle, which means even a higher likelihood of oil consumption, EVEN IF everything is mechanically perfect. it's apparent that a vast majority of the population does not understand the internal workings of an internal combustion engine.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

From the Atlantic Ocean to the Rocky Mountains

RoadSage1, 03/10/2020
2.0T Premium quattro 4dr Sedan AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Audi performs like a champ. Regular dealership service is recommended since they know your car best.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050