Used 2000 Audi A4 Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$901 - $2,167

Used A4 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Bad luck or actual crap of a vehicle

Suckered, 04/28/2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

We bought this car for my kid. The car had 121k miles which isn't much from the reviews I have read on this vehicle. But,after owning it for less than 2 weeks it was in the shop. 4 months later, I stuck over three grand into this vehicle and it won't stop breaking. It seems like as soon as I fix one thing, another one breaks. I am ready to take it to auction.

Report Abuse

Awesome, but high cost of ownership

juuls, 10/14/2011
17 of 22 people found this review helpful

This was the most luxurious and fastest car I ever owned. I previously came from a Jetta that didnt have traction control. Minnesota winters suck so I thought id try out the Audi A4 Quattro. Handled like a beast! I had to sell to pay for college, but I had hose leak which caused an annoying serpentine belt squeak. Found out from the new owner that the front axel snapped and blew out the motor mount, very unfortunate. had 137k IF youre gonna buy one, get the carfax, and make sure timing belt, water pump, suspension drag link and CV boot and all that have been inspected or replaced! the 00' was the most reliable model in my opinion.

Report Abuse

Best car I've ever owned!

RickB, 07/01/2009
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

2nd owner of a Audi factory specialty built 1999 A4 with all 2000 model year toys like nav, xenon, recaro seats, ESP. Best car I've ever owned! Only two dislikes and they are minor. Otherwise a very solid car that I've driven throughout Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Croatia, Slovenia, Italy, Holland and France. I definitely recommend a 2000 Audi A4 Quattro, and would also say to buy winter tires and summer tires then rotate to avoid AWD tire issues.

Report Abuse

It is what it is...

Chris, 10/25/2009
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

When you buy an Audi you have to accept it for what it is. My 2000 A4 1.8 Front Track has 150,000 as of yesterday. I've put 65,000 on it in my 5 years of ownership. Right now the dash is lit up like a Christmas tree, but rather than be obsessed with those lights, I just keep on driving. I think people should stop trying to keep the 'check engine' light out and just accept the fact that Audis have issues. However, that doesn't prevent them from being an outstanding car. My Audi at 150,000 has many issues, but it also starts, stops, and gets me where I need to go. It's fun and has always been dependable.

Report Abuse

Don't buy this car

Dede, 03/15/2007
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought my Audi A4 1.8T in 2000 new. Over the last 7 years of ownership (and 69,000 miles) I have had to replace different sensors on the engine 7 different times, the last, just 2 weeks ago at $700 for two oxygen sensors. Just 4 days later I was in Audi service again for a hose that needed to be ordered, and a total of $170 would be needed. I was so mad I sent my Audi to the used car auction. I also had to replace brake pads every 11,000 miles. I thought this was also unreasonable. I averaged between $800 and $1,000 a year for maintenance and have decided this car is not worth owning.

Report Abuse

Audi Nightmare!!!

Jennifer , 08/04/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car was WONDERFUL-- until the warranty expired. Since then, I have spent thousands of dollars on engine and suspension repairs. Steve White Audi (Greenville, SC) has the least professional and incompetent service department I have encountered. Audi of America does not hold the dealers responsible, and make minimal efforts to ensure quality service.

Report Abuse

A4 2.8 Quattro

Popeye, 08/20/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Finally, I have the car I want! Lot's of fun to drive.

Report Abuse

Good for a horrible winter driver

Leesh, 04/10/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Just traded in my trusty '93 BMW 318is 5 speed w/250k for my 2.8 A4. This car is awesome in the snow! (granted I went from rear-wheel to all-wheel) I spun the Bimmer out so many times just trying to get outta the driveway. Some electrical malfunctions, (dash board has streaks going thru the lettering, check engine light w/ no code apprearing, ) the front right tie rod squeaks, but the roads are so full of potholes here in ne Ohio, I'm lucky I still have a straight rim to roll on. Even being the daughter of the service advisor isn't going to help with the costs to repair, but knowing I will be safe and sound this upcoming winter is worth it.

Report Abuse

autobahn here I come

khouryp23, 12/01/2005
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This has been a very solid car for my wife. It could use a few more horsepower, and I wouldn't recommend it if you have kids or need to have people in the backseat much. Get the quattro, it's worth the extra cash. Car handles great and build quality is second to none. I've had no major mechanical issues so far (50k). We do experience the occasional electronic gremlin. nothing major, and they always work after re-starting the car. My biggest gripe is.... No useful cup-holders. Oh yeah, the tiptronic shifter is pretty slick, much better than some others I've driven.

Report Abuse

Wonder when the other shoe will drop

BarbaraK, 08/15/2005
3 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have had my Audi 2000 A4 1.8T AWD for five years now and find that anything I have to pay for is expensive. I have a good dealership, but the labor cost is amazing. What wears out most for me are the brake pads, every 11,000 miles, and the engine light has gone on at least once a year for vacumn hoses on the engine. I am very good about oil changes every 5,000 miles and take it in for any maintenance due. It is a wonderful driving car, and when I go on the turnpike I get great mileage, going much too fast. I am torn between loving my car and hating it whenever I go to the dealership for repairs. I would not buy a used Audi.

Report Abuse

Audi A-4q "Never Follow"

MLM, 04/15/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is an excellent car. Fun to drive, very smooth but powerful when needed. Quattro with ABS 4-wheel disc brakes and a solid-build makes this a very safe car too. A lot of great interior features. The A-4 is one of the best in class.

Report Abuse

audi 2000

harry k, 03/15/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

car does great in rain or snow backseat is close good radio good pickup feels safe

Report Abuse

audi a4

steveharry, 07/15/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

great car fun to drive looks like a sports car. you feel safe car holds road very well

Report Abuse

Quattro is the way to go

audi fan, 06/19/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had a 2001 FWD A4, it was definatly a great car as well, but i did not realize what i was missing not having the AWD quattro system. I live in florida, and i figured snow is where u need quattro, but in a rainy place like florida quattro is reall amazing. Handling is great, power is great as well for a 4 cylinder engine. Fun to customize as well as drive.

Report Abuse

A4 1.8T Quattro

Demographer, 08/22/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my Audi. It is fun to drive, looks great, and handles superbly. I also love the free scheduled maintenance for the first 50,000 miles.

Report Abuse

Mistake

mike s., 10/03/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I will start by saying I love the design and performance. But....I have never had a car in the shop more. Yes, because of the good warrenty, it hasn't cost me anything other than time. I have replaced more headlights than I care to remember. The car has been towed once, had a brake rotar replaced, conciquental gagets not working properly, and other misc. problems. The shop I deal with has been a horror and Audi has not done anything to address my concerns. My lease ends in January and I can't wait to get out.

Report Abuse

Performance, style, comfort and value

Marc v.1.8, 12/18/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The 1.8T is very responsive and eager to be worked hard. Although the 1.8T doesn't have stellar 0-60 times, full torque is available anywhere between 1800 and 5500 rpms. This makes the car far more powerful in real world situations than the 0-60 times suggest because the engine is virtually always producing full torque. Handling is very nimble and it holds the road with tenacious grip. Yet the ride comfort is as good as comfort-oriented cars that don't handle nearly as well as the A4. The quattro is truly amazing and I pass 4x4 SUV's with ease on snowy roads. The A4 is a true driver-oriented sport sedan at a bargain price.

Report Abuse

Like Mike

wilson, 02/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I agree with Mike S. While I love the performance of the car, I've had to take the car into the shop for miscellaneous problems every 6-8 weeks for the last 18 months. It's never anything terribly serious but it's always something. Dash electronics, water pump, thermostat, speaker, more dash electronics, another thermostat, and EVERYTHING RATTLES. Not quite enough trouble to qualify for a lemon but too much for a two year old car with low miles. I've complained to the dealership and they pay lip service to helping me - but nothing ever changes. I really do love the car, but who has time to have their car in the shop that often? I'm disappointed.

Report Abuse

quattro 4 life

woodyp, 07/28/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has been great..its fun and with a chip very fast. It drives like its on rails and is a well made car

Report Abuse

Im glad I am not alone with all the mnx!

Angela, 07/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my A4 in Feb since I needed a safe AWD car in Colorado...It only had 28K mis. However, my Check Engine light has been on more then its been off. I have had to replace the secondary air pump ($460). I have had to replace the O2 sensor ($230) and the mass air flow sensor ($270) and I actually did the installation myself to save money. Audi was no help-in fact Rick from Ed Caroll in Fort Collins, CO tried to con me into thinking I had a oil leak that was going to cost another $600 to repair! Don't buy this car if you think you can do simple mnx on it--it is too complex!I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER AUDI!

Report Abuse

Fun but costly

go4th, 09/04/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my wife's first new car and I can say with certainty we will not be purchasing an Audi again. This car may be fun to drive but we seem to be constantly taking it in to the shop. In our case the troubles seem to be with the key fob, water pump, headlights, and brakes. The dealership was good while vehicle was under warranty but repairs post warranty are now terribly expensive no matter where we take it. Large acceleration lag when you put your foot down. Cruise control works only occasionally. We will go with something more reliable next time that is also cheaper to maintain.

Report Abuse

love this car

woodyp74, 09/24/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this car is awesome. needs a bit more power...go with an apr chip and its even better

Report Abuse

Audi A4 is THE Car!!!

VladAtNebo, 09/26/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my Audi A4. I bought it because it is very fun to drive is solidly built. There are many performance upgrades available. Such as, 500 for a chip that adds 45hp and 85pound/ft torque. It has sound accelaration, cornering, braking ability. A manual tranny is the way to go. It's been very reliable and I have 73k so far. I use synthetic oil to keep the turbo happy and it keeps me happy when I ask for power.

Report Abuse

Audi Certified is the BEST!

Ryan, 12/06/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I read a lot of reviews and all I hear is complaints. It's a used car! You're going to have to change brakes and sensors. You can't complain. Audi Certified is awesome! The best in the biz. My oxygen sensor went which is typical, but the computer ecu didn't catch the code, so ihad problems. They replaced everything even if not broken, all sensors, ecu, air pump, battery, oil change. They paid for it all! They didn't even charge a deductible because I had to bring it in twice! NO warranty would havepayed for sensors, oil change and battery. They wanted me to be satisfied and I am. Remember it's a used car. 60k miles it's going to need maint.

Report Abuse

Expensive electrical problems

Joe in Virginia, 02/26/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We previously owned 2000 Audi A4 AWD 2 years ago. We have been astonished by the frequency and cost of expensive repairs. Our airbag controller and brake controller have failed, each costing $1000-$1500 to repair. We have developed an oil-leak costing $1000 to repair. The bumper scratches incredibly easily and ends up looking terrible. The interior trim is coming apart. Net-net, though a very pretty and comfortable car that is fun to drive, the cost of ownership is far beyod what one would expect. We will never buy another Audi!

Report Abuse

Extremely Fun well built sedan

EFox, 11/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Since the time of purchase my 2000 Audi A4 1.8T Quattro has been nothing but a wonder to me. It has only had one flaw, and that was the driver side/seat airbag was defective and was replaced. Otherwise its been a beauty.

Report Abuse

We love our Audi.

audiGirl, 11/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's been a pretty reliable car only needing a couple minor repairs just outside warranty. Despite its seemingly low HP, it's a blast to drive. The sport package is worth the money, it handles incredibly well-- quattro is the only way to go. We will buy another Audi.

Report Abuse

First Audi -- Love It 75K later.

Anthony, 05/15/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's strange to hear people complain about all the "little" problems they've had with their A4. I've had no major problems AND I chipped it and installed aftermarket brakes, shocks, bypass valve and exhaust -- everything the dealer tells you will hurt your car -- after the original equipment wore out. ALSO, I've always been diligent about using synthetic oil EVERY 5K miles and letting the engine idle at least 1 minute before shutting down if I've run it hard. If you want a car like the status quo, get a Honda or BMW. If you want style and performance and are willing to take care of it, get the Audi. Also, understand maintenance will cost more than most Japanese cars, but less than BMW.

Report Abuse

Same Story

CrazyBear, 11/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this Audi for the Style, Fuel Economy, and how it handles with the Tiptronic transmission. I liked the idea of free scheduled maintenance for 50k. Then, like many others, I have lived at the dealership. Cruise control, blinking console lights, rough idle, and 5 new headlights. Too many problems for a former Honda Accord owner. Back to Honda!!!!

Report Abuse

2000 A4 1.8TQ - Problems after 50K mi

JGM, 12/05/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

In months 0-36, Audi replaced the front brakes, a CV boot, numerous headlights & the dash instrument cluster. In months 37-44 (SINCE THE WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED), I have had numerous problems, including: vacuum hoses, AC Clutch, radio, hazard flasher, driver's inner door assembly - about $1,300 out-of-pocket. The dealer suggested an extended warranty. Should a $30K+ car be breaking down less than six months out of warranty? Consumer Reports rates this car as a "Car to Avoid" for reliability. As an entry level car, it's not good PR. I may try Acura RL/TL, BMW 3-Series, Lexus IS300 or Mercedes C-Class for the same money.

Report Abuse

Fast Cars and Freedom

Smiley, 04/24/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have only had it a few days so I am not sure about reliability. I really fell in love with the car when I drove it. Small engine yet feels powerful, and able to please. I am a Daimler Chrysler man, but I really am into German vehicles in general. It is no Hemi, but with 35-40 mpg that is ok. This car pulled me to it. I am very impressed so far. Changing the oil was unique that is for sure. Service on a vehicle so advanced is a little scary.

Report Abuse

Great Car

mehurrman, 04/13/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

GREAT CAR the most fun, its very sexy, i love it, its soo amazing id never get anything else.

Report Abuse

It's the whole package--sort of.

lunsofsteel, 04/30/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

No other car combines great AWD, excellent gas mileage, fair price, and good looks (Subaru gets 3 of 4!). Great winter car. Reliablity is good-- it's never broken down, although it has had more than a few OOW repairs. Should a cam seal leak at 70k miles? Only real minus is very small back seat--if you're over 5'5" forget it.

Report Abuse

Even with Ext. Warranty

DPS, 05/08/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My car is cute and fun to drive. I love it...It just doesn't love me. After 50K it is beginning to fall apart. Faulty airbag, faulty steering column, disintegrated fuel pump (which led to bent valves and an engine replacement), whiny turbo, faulty o2 sensor, faulty master air flow sensor... In the past year, the vehicle has had ~$8K in repairs. Luckily I had an extended, but I still sacrifice my time and $50 every time the check engine light comes on.

Report Abuse

Mostly a good used vehicle!

scrotummaster, 06/01/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Exterior and interior are both well executed. Nice lines, quality materials, and great build quailty. My Audi came with the optional sport package (16 inch 10 spoke rims, leather seats, lowered suspension) and it looks much better than the stock car with only 15 inch rims. Quattro is excellent, especially in winter driving conditions. I am slightly worried about future mechanical problems based on other users reviews but I have an extended warranty (which I recommend for any used German car) but I haven't had any problems up to 06/2004. Recommended-with an extended warranty!

Report Abuse

I know what I have

XedoS69, 06/06/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bough the car used. It is actual second B5 platfor car in my house. this is my wifes car. I drive 98 Passat that basicly uses the same platform. The car drivers perfectly. So far did not have any major problems. I see so many negative opinions here, but the truth about VAG's (Volkswagen und Audi Gruppe) is that these cars requires regural work and check up. If you do all of these you will have a great car for years. Timing belt is a must after 60k miles. ($500-$700 at dealership or $200 DIY) If wont do it, you might be looking into new engine. The car is fun to drive and the AWD is a perfect for Michigan winters.

Report Abuse

Fun to drive

Taylorso, 06/23/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The 2000 Audi A4, 1.8T Quattro is a well built, solid car with responsive handling and good acceleration with the manual, 5-speed transmission. The all wheel drive combined with the handling capabilities makes this a fun car to drive. Over four years, only one significant mechanical problem has been experienced. Japanese car owners should try an Audi to compare.

Report Abuse

Stay Away From Audi

AudiHater, 07/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Having owned an Audi it is the worst car buying experience I have ever had. Don't buy an Audi and stay away from Flemington Audi. The technicians don't know how to diagnose or repair a problem without you bringing it in multiple times. Audi themselves, don't stand behind their cars. The build quality is extremely poor. I have had the same problems everyone else has experienced. The service area told me that German cars have a lot of electrical problems and I have had more than my fair share. The quality of parts going into the cars is the main issue. What ever you do don't buy an Audi!

Report Abuse

Lease ONLY-Major Problems

amr3636, 10/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

When I was car shopping I thought I was buying a high end car. As nice as it looks, don't be persuaded by that. I have had my car for a little over a year and I have had nothing by problems. I had to have the brakes redone right after buying it, 3 seals have broke, the fuel pump needed to be replaced, the air sensor thing is not working. My check engine light has been on 4 times in 12 months and now the blinkers do not work. And, I have replaced about the headlights 4 times. Repairs are overpriced and it's hard to locate a dealer. Looks are definitely deceiving on the A4.

Report Abuse

My AUDI

Audi2K, 10/25/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Audi on 5/04. The car is solid and preforms solid. I bought it used. My Audi came with 18" rims and low profile Kumho tires. It also came with a lower suspension and a custom dual exhaust that blows away every other Audi. The only problem is that my engine light just recently came on and I have kept my car in top shape by doing oil changes and tune ups. I have to take my car to an Audi dealer and if there is nothing wrong with the motor, the warranty I bought for it doesnt cover it. I this is going to be costly. But its definetly worth it. The tip-tronic shift on my car hauls butt.

Report Abuse

Don't buy this vehicle!!!!!

The Whites, 05/20/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought our Audi 1.8T in 2000 and we were very excited about the car. As of today 5/19/2005 we have about 30,000 miles on the odometer. From the first year we owned the car we had issues with the Turbo and Quattro drive gaskets leaking air/fluid. Since the car was under warranty for 3 years, we had the gaskets replaced at the dealer for no charge. Now off warranty, the dealer told us we needed new gaskets again and it costs $800 to replace. Our driveway shows signs of oil drops. I've known other Audi owners having similar gasket problems with their newer AUDIs. BUYER BEWARE!

Report Abuse

Great car -- when you modify it

ACE, 06/05/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Yes, out of the box, this car is a little underpowered. But if you drop in a performance chip and cat-back exhaust the car is very different. I also upgraded the brakes and shocks after the OEM stuff wore out. I've had fewer problems than most with this car -- I'll admit I'm lucky. But I do a lot of preventative maintenance. If you want a car you drive and neglect, get a Toyota or Honda. If you want a car with character, states individuality and is fun to drive, the Audi is it. Only real problem thus far: radio died, but it was replaced under warranty. It took amost 3 months, but it gave me time to listen to the new cat-back exhaust I had just purchased.

Report Abuse

Good so far!

Jaimie, 12/04/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am a member of SCCA & I know from watching the Audi in action that its a stronger car than BMW or Mercedes on the track in endurance & performance. My Audi has so far been perfect. It does idle rough sometimes, electronic gauge panel went bad, & sometimes draws back after hitting the gas.

Report Abuse

Great Car All Conditions

ChrisA4, 08/30/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my first premium European car with a 2000 Audi A4 Quattro. I got the 1.8T with a 5 speed manual. An automatic may be sluggish so the 5 speed makes the car more fun to drive. If you are getting into an Audi you must get a Quattro. I am passing SUVs with this thing when the weather turns "ill"!

Report Abuse

Long term review of certified car

JM , 10/21/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am positive the car did not receive a detailed review as part of the Audi certification process as too many things were wrong with the car within the first several days of ownership - cruise control, computer display, rear window switches on drivers door opened the wrong window.

Report Abuse

What I think of the 2000 Audi A4 2.8 Qua

MickeyFinn, 03/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Automatic Transmission shifting erratic and could be dangerous as the vehicle dies when accelerating from 10 MPH to road speed. Dealer claims thats the way it is............. Snow falls into the trunk when the trunk is opened with snow on the back window and deck...

Report Abuse

Love my car

Happy4, 05/21/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Audi new from the dealer and have enjoyed driving it for the past 6 1/2 years. I love the responsiveness of the engine, it is zippy and just a blast to drive. I have a stick shift. It has great traction on the road and in the snow. Repair-wise, I have not had anything terrible happen to my car. I had an electrical problem at about 2 years old, but once it was repaired, I've been fine ever since, and I got a new radio out of that deal! I have not experienced problems with the brakes wearing out or anything like that. Now that I am over 60K miles I take it to a reliable local repair shop that is more convenient and less expensive. This is a great little car. Best car I've ever had.

Report Abuse

Enjoy free scheduled mtc while it lasts

itgrad1, 05/02/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love the look and feel of the car and it's been a blast to drive. However, as Mike pointed out..... this car spends a ton of time in the shop. Although this wasn't a problem at first (free until 50,000)it's gotten quite expensive. The 50,000 mi service was almost $700 of routine stuff. Save your pennies for the service as it's needed every 5,000 miles. I've replaced the same headlight 5 times, water pump went, computer problems (dash goes black) up the wazoo. I'll be trading in soon. (Note this all happened ironically between 50,000 and 60,000 miles)

Report Abuse

Nice ride but....too many problems

JEM, 05/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love the way the car drives and handles but I have had to take it into the shop way too many times over the last year or two. Not major things, but things like: 1) loose bolts in the engine, 2) radio lights flickering, 3) sensor in the door stopped working, 4) loud brakes, etc. For a newer car with low miles, it is ridiculous. I will never buy another Audi despite the fact thats its fun to drive. Too bad...

Report Abuse

Disappointed

Autumn, 04/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my Audi A4 1.8T, but sadly it is a lemon. Of course, I find out it is a lemon after the warranty...I will never buy another A4 because the dealership where I purchased it will not take any responsiblity. I have taken it in several times, and all I hear is the fact that they have never seen an Audi with so many problems! Apparently, the Audi corporation does not stand behind their product either. It is a shame, because it is such a fun little car.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050