Skip to main content

Used 2014 Acura RDX SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$12,189 - $26,990

Used RDX for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...8

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

A great choice - extreamly safe in an accident

jh16, 04/22/2014
updated 04/23/2016
2014 Acura RDX Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
53 of 54 people found this review helpful

I have had my 2014 RDX AWD tech for about a week now. So far I have been very happy with the car. It drives smooth, brakes well, and the transmission seems to work flawlessly. I am most happy with the turning radius, as my last two vehicles were monsters to turn and try to park. I also looked at the Q5, and besides the Audi being more expensive, I did not like the idea of the turbo 4 cyl engine. I've driven an audi with a turbo before, and it seemed very inconsistent - thats something that I did not want to deal with again. The RDX has great acceleration (and sounds pretty good too when you step on it), its too bad they hid the dual exhaust tips up under the rear bumper. **Update - I totaled this car about 4 months after I bought it. I was driving in the freeway, traveling up a grade where a car was stalled in the middle lane with no battery to power its lights. I smashed into the back of it going around 55-60mph, that was a shock! My passenger and I were able to crawl out of the car, more or less uninjured with just a few air bad burns on wrist / face. We, as well as my family, were very impressed with the safety of the car. I plan on buying another sometime in the future.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Balanced and competent vehicle!

patrick28212, 07/16/2013
updated 07/26/2017
2014 Acura RDX 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2014 Acura RDX about three weeks ago and I love it! I traded my 2006 BMW 530xi for this vehicle because the maintence costs were really adding up for me. I was looking for reliability and performance and this car has both! It accelerates well and provides great comfort. The size allows for passengers to be pampered without wasted space or bulk. Mileage is reasonable for this type of vehicle (20-22 in mostly city driving and 26 hwy at 75-80 mph). The car is a good value based on content and performance. Updat7/2016: Still love my RDX! Not loving the tread life of my stock Michellin tires. 38,000 and they might not make it to 40k. Otherwise all is good. Would buy one again. Update 7/2017: RDX is a champ! Hard to match the value of this vehicle. No unusual repairs. Still looks new. Performs well. Very good on snow/ice.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Downsized from MDX

zoomacura, 08/19/2013
2014 Acura RDX Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

I just downsized from a 2011 MDX to 2014 RDX AWD and am happy with my choice. Getting about 27mpg in RDX vs. 19mpg in MDX. A little disappointed about losing SH-AWD but a good trade off for fuel economy. New RDX looks sharper and feels roomier than its predecessor (my brother has the older model), handles corners nicely, quiet and luxurious interior, and new keyless ignition start is a plus that wasn't available in the 2011 MDX. My biggest and perhaps only complaint is that the E-break is too close to my leg! Smashed my shin into it about three times in the past three weeks that I've driven this car. Overall, a spritely and spirited vehicle.

Report Abuse

4.25 out of 5 stars

2014 RDX - Comfortable but a vibration issue ruins the fun

familyguy1, 04/01/2014
2014 Acura RDX Technology Package 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
42 of 44 people found this review helpful

Purchased in late Dec 2013 and after 3 months and 3,000 miles, here's my review: Ride is comfortable, agility is great, suspension is fairly stiff. Seats are supportive and comfortable (both front and rear). Sound system is great. BUT... The car has a vibration issue from about 60 MPH on up. Had the tires spin balanced, road force balanced, the prop shaft replaced... still there. The vibration is not severe, but it's ever present and on long trips, leaves your feet tingling a bit and ready to get out. Very annoying. Rode with the dealer service tech, he feels it too, but says that's as good as it gets. Because of the vibration, feels like I made a $38,000 mistake.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Ocean City Happy

OC Mike, 03/08/2018
updated 03/14/2022
2014 Acura RDX 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

I think this is, by far, the best value in luxury SUVs. I love my Acura RDX! I have owned it for approximately thirteen months. Great acceleration, nice handling, comfortable ride, decent sound system, great leather, sporty exterior, beautiful interior with easy to understand controls. Two pet peeves... the front end could be a little tighter and the trans can have some hard shifts. Not major problems, just a comparison to other vehicles I have owned in the past. Perfect size and great safety ratings. My car insurance premium decreased $90/year after purchasing and replacing a lesser valued car. Good gas mileage. After one year of ownership, I'm still very happy with my decision to purchase the RDX and would consider purchasing another one in the future. That said, I only put about 12,000 miles on the car a year, so it could be a while. Good for at least 150K miles. **** Update as of 10/19 (21 months of ownership), I still love this vehicle. At 42,000 miles. Just had car serviced.... No problems. **** Updated 3/20, not much has changed at 46,000 miles. This is just a great vehicle. I highly recommend the RDX. ****New update, 3/21. Now at 52,000 miles. I still love this vehicle. Great ride. This past year, I had the battery and rear brakes replaced with Acura original equipment parts from Boardwalk Acura (an excellent service department), in addition to two oil changes at Boardwalk Acura. I also replaced all four original Pirelli tires with General Altimax RT43 tires. I would highly recommend the General Altimax RT43 as a replacement tire for this vehicle. Highly rated by Consumer Reports. A noticeable improvement in the smoothness of the ride. After three years of ownership, I still love my vehicle and would highly recommend the 2014 Acura RDX for anyone looking for a pre-owned quality SUV. Update 9/2021. Still happy with my RDX. Replaced rear brakes at 55,000. No other issues. Very reliable, great acceleration and has held up well. I highly recommend this vehicle. ***** New update. Still a great vehicle. Now at 62,000. No new issues. I would definitely recommend purchasing this vehicle. I anticipate many more years of ownership.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page: