Used 1990 Acura Integra Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$786 - $1,829

Used Integra for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

BEEN IN THE FAMILY SINCE NEW

bigbearhunter, 02/25/2013
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My mom bought a 1990 acura integra GS in the summer of 1989. I had never seen anything like it. It was small and sleek and yet so nimble. I wanted it. .. ten years later. I got it. I always thought I'd only have it for a few years, and that turned into 13. Now it's old now and cosmetically falling apart, but the second you turn the key and take off, all the scuffs, scratches and dings disappear. It's the most fun I've ever had driving a car. It's like a cross fit champion wearing an awkward and ill fitting suit. It's time for me to finally move on. But this car never required anything but replacement parts that couldn't last the 250k miles I put on it. Most reliable car I've ever owned.

Report Abuse

Breaking up is hard to do

Sherry in Cambridge, 01/14/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I'm trying to find a new home for my 20 year old car with 230K miles. I love this car and wish I could buy a new one. Mine really is succumbing to the hard life in New England and I think I just have to let it go to the great racetrack in the sky.

Report Abuse

Never die

joe ponce, 03/20/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

With over 250,000 miles on it i drove it from California to Texas with no problems. didn't think i would buy a car and have it forever.

Report Abuse

Wrecked Acura

wapnlht, 11/26/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have driven the heck out of my car and its survived ok.But I had a few probs:a/c broke,axels replaced 3 times in 3 yrs,alt,radi,trans grinds,clutch, brakes replaced every 2k's,antenna,etc. But I love my car.It has 250k but still runs great.It had been wrecked before so it isn't perfect,but it starts up every time I turn the key.

Report Abuse

Horrible car

nycdarkness, 03/10/2003
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Where do I start, probably the worst car ever made from Honda/Acura. The inside feels cheap with all that plastic, the engine is loud, no cupholders, the heating system doesn't work, the defoggers don't work fast enough, and the worst is that the door locks freeze when it gets too cold. With me residing in upstate NY, I would not recommend this car to anyone that lives in a cold place. On really cold days, the car doesn't start. This car is hard to repair because the placement of the parts under the hood suck. The acceleration of this vehicle can be compared to that of a snail, I can probably run faster than this car. Makes a really good paper weight

Report Abuse

fun car!

val, 04/08/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Wow! I got my Integra for my first car, and it has been a reliable, fun car! I got FAR better gas mileage then noted.. about 28 city mpg and 35 hiway mpg. I haven't done any work on it, and am sad to have to give it up because of a knee injury! I highly recommend it for a first car!

Report Abuse

Old but still runs

mittasch, 04/23/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

if you want good fuel economy with low maintence, this is the car for you

Report Abuse

Post Mortem

Chris, 11/11/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

With no A/C, a failed power seatbelt and shorting panel lights, I blew a hole in a good engine by ignoring a blinking oil lamp after 235,000 and 18 years. Sure I had drink stains from door-mounted cup holders, could never see the low fuel light in the sun, and - gee - just replaced the master cylinder this year and the 'gasket last. I'd bought my first car brand new after college, and she treated me far better than any chick in SoCal ever did. Got better mileage of late than the Cobalt I just rented. Thank you, Acura.

Report Abuse

What a car!

Mike, 01/21/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I had to sell my 05 Sentra SE-R Spec V due to rising insurance costs and many issues with reliability. Found this nice little Integra GS for only 2k. Interior was about the only thing showing some real age on the car. Engine has run great even when I take trips from North Carolina down to South Florida. 13-16 hours nonstop, not even thinking twice about whether or not the car will make it says A LOT about the quality of this automobile. I ended up putting some money into it to fix up a few pieces of trim and the blown speakers, but that was all the car really needed. The paint has held up well over the years, the design is very modern, and the gas mileage is a life saver.

Report Abuse

Great car

carjunkie, 01/02/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I read some of these reviews had to add mine. Had an '88 Integra LS and it was like a tank. Was broadsided by a semi on I-40 in an ice storm. Drove it from AR to KY for the holidays and then down to AL where I relocated. Finally had it fixed. Best car I ever had and only sold it at 137000 miles because 2d child arrived. Too much to pack 2 kids and an 80 lb dog for the trips to see the grandparents. Now I'm looking for another for those kids as they start to drive.

Report Abuse

Can you say versatile?

90tegLS, 06/22/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Tons of cargo space with rear seats down, good power, handles great, dead reliable. Been solid daily driver/weekend Solo II racer.

Report Abuse

Old Acura

bitemebut, 07/20/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

you need to fill it up with oil & water a lot because it leaks, needs power steering fluid, horn doesent work.

Report Abuse

Awesome Buy!

wendtd, 10/17/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is outstanding still for a 1990! This car is sporty,small, fast, and has alot of space to put subs in the trunk! This car is overall a really nice car for a teen!

Report Abuse

Great car for students

Benjamin_24, 11/03/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My Integra has over 213,000 miles on it and I've driven almost 100,000 of them. This is a very well-rounded car; lots of storage space (hatchback + fold- down rear seats), good looks, good mileage, sporty performance, good price, lots of useful features, and to top it all off: reliability. The interior is terrific, high quality, and the center console is slightly tilted toward the driver so all of the radio and climate controls are at a natural angle and close.

Report Abuse

Overview by Gus

Kezia, 07/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought my 1990 Integra GS Coupe with 95,000 miles on it nine months ago.I have now put 10,000 miles on it. Only trouble I've noticed is that I had the brake rotors turned about 1500 miles after purchase and the brakes are shuddering bad again. Other than that the car has been terrific. I have many fine features, all of which are working fine. I love the way the car rides, handles and accelerates with the 5 speed. It's a smooth and efficient vehicle. I average 32 mpg. running around. I endores it.

Report Abuse

Fun to drive

Talat Islam, 10/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the car with 85000 miles. I have put another 40000 almost. Still runs great. The only problem I had was with the a/c. Once fixed its great now. Its a great car to drive.

Report Abuse

Great car!

db88, 12/08/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I had my Integra for 8 years and when I sold it it was just as good as when the I bought it. I put over 170,000 miles on my Itegra it ran great to the day I sold it. It only broke down on me once. After I sold the Integra I bought a 1993 Honda Prelude also a wonderful car. Sadly thought I only had it for about 3 Months and somebody ran into the passenger side and bent the frame and toltaled the car.

Report Abuse

Great Car

DecFlispi, 01/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first car and I must say its great. I love it. This car give good gas mileage with plenty of power. This thing will hold its own even against most newer cars. Mine and almost 150K miles and my tranny and clutch are still good. Ive had no big problems since Ive owned it. The exhaust system and drivers seat wear are common problems of these cars, also the road noise is pretty loud, but can be fixed. It has great trunk space. Handles good and makes a great first car for anyone.

Report Abuse

1990 Acura Integra RS

Jason A., 03/03/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A fun, reliable, quick little car. I'm the type that likes to go fast without paying outrageous insurance rates, stopping frequently at the gas station, or spending a fortune. This car is perfect for anyone with these likes.

Report Abuse

GREAT COUPE

FOTITO, 07/24/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

IT IS BY FAR THE BEST COUPE IN TODAY'S MARKET

Report Abuse

1990 Integra

wpd, 09/09/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Awesome Car. Still love it after 13 years. Just starting to have to replace some items, after 170,000 miles. Its been a true pleasure to own.

Report Abuse

Remarkable.

danblackracing, 10/30/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is one of the best cars I have tested and driven daily. I have over 167,000 miles on it. I put 15,000 on myself with no other problems than a few front suspenstion bushings and a timing belt. Beautiful car!!! www.danblackracing.netfirms.com

Report Abuse

integra in colorado

scottyahoo, 11/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After 170,000 miles, I change the oil occasionally, and it still runs excellent. The value of this cars far surpasses the price I paid for it years ago.

Report Abuse

acura integra 1990 hatchback

jim beam, 12/05/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this car has been unbelievably reliable and worry frre; engine and transmission have no problems thus far for 100,000+ miles! handles well, convenient interior, nice looking exterior. the hatchback is great for all loading/ working needs; however it would be nice not to have the ''lip'' to lift thgings over and instead have a flat ''slide out '' for stuff when taking stuff out of the hatch. over all this isd a GREAT car for the money-- i hope to have it for another 200,000 miles, as it has beern touted in consumer reports...

Report Abuse

pasadena racer

matt perry, 03/20/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

ok i have had this car for a little over 2 years, and i love it. so far the only major problem has been replacing my rear brakes [rotors and pads] but thats hardly acuras fault, more mine for not replacing them sooner. but other then that a few problems have been with my transmition in the cold, and the inside fabric is pulling off of the doors. but still the power of the car is there, its quick and can kick the cra...stuff outta a civic, lol, i still stand by my lil' blue baby, hope she lasts another 150k hoping...

Report Abuse

Still Kickin

Psycobob, 03/29/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Awesome car. Its a '90 RS automatic, and it has over 425,000 miles on it. Still kickin. Started smoking a little at startup this winter, but with warmer weather that has gone away. Fun do drive and cheap to maintain. I have had to do very little to keep this car running. If you are looking at getting an integra, you wont be disappointed.

Report Abuse

well worth it 90 rs

worthit, 05/06/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My wife bought the Integra before we were married.I took over the Integra and it's been nothing but fun. I replaced distributer and plugs/wires. Had new alternator and battery installed. It runs great. Only real problem is every once in a while it won't start right away on hot days. Took it to several mech. who say they can't find the problem. Well worth the money considering engine will last well into 200k

Report Abuse

Great import

nakedchef22, 05/06/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car with 214ks on it. Obviously the car wasn't well maintained towards the end, because it needed some routine work (brakes, alternator, cv shafts), but otherwise the car was extremely reliable, good on gas and had some kick. Over the year and a half that I owned it, I put roughly 30,000ks on the original engine and tranny (tough to tell since the odo was broken for awhile). I'm laughing now, because just when the tranny was about to totally pack it in at 245000 clicks, i traded it straight across for a 92 fifth ave with 185,000 ks. It's not the most comfortable car in the world, but it ran great and was a total looker car.

Report Abuse

90 ls hatch

russ, 02/23/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've got 176000 miles on my Integra LS. It has been a great car. Of course I've "made it my own" by adding all of the bolt on tuner parts. I beat on this car everyday and never have a problem with it. It starts everytime and runs great. Plus, it's fun to beat a new Civic with my "old" Integra.

Report Abuse

So Reliable

John Leonard, 10/06/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Without doubt, the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. After 150,000 miles, the oil sending unit broke and at 160,000 the master cylinder needed replacement. That is all I have put into this car beyond normal maintenance.

Report Abuse

90 Integra RS

Jason Krzos, 03/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I did a little bit of maintnence, such as replacing the distirbutor cap, spark plug wires and the spark plugs. Now the car runs perfect.

Report Abuse

Can't be beat !

REL-GA, 03/31/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased this car in Sep 1990 and now have 195,000 miles on it. The reliability is unbelievable. It has the original clutch, alternator and exhaust system. The only money sunk into this car has been routine maintenance (oil changes/brake pads/belts/water pump). Excellent for a first time driver.

Report Abuse

Booyah!

TigerT, 05/24/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used 5 years ago when it had 80,000 miles. Other than routine fixes, this car is as reliable as they come. I now have 130,000 miles on it and I plan on having it for another 4 years.

Report Abuse

Fun to drive and cheap to run.

Dudleyr, 03/21/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new 12 years ago. It now has 140,000 miles on it, and has been very reliable and inexpensive to maintain. I still have the original clutch and front brakes. I will probably keep it until it hits 200,000 miles. The handling and braking are terrific. Fuel mileage is much better than the EPA 24/28. I get mid twenties around town, and between 32 and 40 on the highway depending on speed. The seats are comfortable, but they are starting to wear.

Report Abuse

Great Car

pwatson, 03/25/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have 160,000 miles on this car that I have had for ten years. I have only done routine service on it, and just replaced my alternator about a month ago. I have never had any problems with the clutch or transmission and have had no major engine trouble.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050