Used 2014 Volkswagen Tiguan SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$8,965 - $11,088

Used Tiguan for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Feels very premium and is fun to drive

lgt5, 01/19/2014
26 of 26 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2014 Tiguan SEL 4motion and it is the best car I have owned to date. I have owned other crossovers such as the Nissan Rogue and the Mazda CX-5 and they cannot compare to my Tiguan. The Tiguan's engine is really quiet and smooth and works really well with the transmission. I leave the car in sport mode most of the time and acceleration is quick. The new upgraded Fender stereo is amazing. One of my biggest issues with my Mazda CX-5 that I traded in for this car was the terrible stereo. This stereo is truly a premium stereo with perfect surround sound. The inside of the car has a very premium feel, the seats are very comfortable with excellent lumbar support.

Report Abuse

Buyer beware

Joe, 01/08/2016
S 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
22 of 23 people found this review helpful

The tiguan is a nice little car until 3 days after the warranty is over. Mine started leaking coolant over the Christmas weekend. It was still under warranty however by Monday it was three days over. Volkswagen said to us sorry now you have to pay because we were closed for three days. 869.00. Nice

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Sell Before You Hit 60,000 Miles

Jim, 12/22/2017
S 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
20 of 21 people found this review helpful

At approximately 60,000 miles, the engine started missing and the Check Engine Light (CEL) came on. Dealer told me that it was "due to a problem with the fuel injection system, the valves become coated with carbon causing the misfires." Cost to clean the valves was $600.00 plus tax. At approximately 92,000 miles, the car overheated and had to be towed in. Dealer found the thermostat had failed. Unfortunately, the thermostat is built into the water pump and the entire unit had to be replaced. That bill was just under $1,300.00 plus towing and three days of car rental. At 122,000 miles the CEL came on and the misfires started again. While driving to the dealer, the EPC light came on. Dealer reported that not only did the valves need cleaning but that the "shaft pulls out of intake manifold for the intake flap". That's exactly what they wrote on the service description, just jibberish". Whatever it meant, it required a new intake manifold. The entire bill was $1,360.00 plus two days of car rental. Picked up the car and drove off the lot when the CEL started flashing and the car stalled. Limped it back to the Dealer. Dealer called the next day to report that the spark plugs and ignition coils needed to be replaced. Cost $365.00. When I told the rep that the plugs had just been replaced, I was told that sometimes spark plugs fail earlier than they should. I requested that they replace the coil and the spark plug for the cylinder with the misfire so that I could limp it off the lot to the nearest Honda dealer for a trade-in. My last two cars were Hondas and I drove both of them right up to 250,000 miles without a single failure in either car. I'll never buy another VW. For the record, I found out that not only do the valves need regular cleaning but the rear seals frequently fail on these engines so watch for that expense as well.

Report Abuse

Sporty high-end feel

martygardner, 03/21/2014
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

I've had the Tiguan for about two months now and am happy with the purchase. Coming from a Camry, the taller height and tighter feel are welcomed. The build quality and cabin design are excellent, and the pickup is great, especially in Sport shift mode. I do find that the tighter feel can create a bumpy ride on rough roads. I don't have enough experience with other sporty cars to know if this is just what you get, or if it's unique to the VW. It's not enough to outweigh the pluses, but I notice it.

Report Abuse

Happy New Owner

german_car_guy, 11/03/2013
SE 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD w/Appearance (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2014 Tiguan SE only about 10 days ago but first impressions overall are favorable. The car feels much bigger on the inside while driving it than it does from the outside. It is quiet, smooth, has plenty of power, and handles well. *Update* I drove the Tiguan for 3 years now and there isn't much I would change to my initial review. However, I will add that I have had zero problems with it. Around town it zips around and parks easily. On the slightly negative side it feels a little darty on the highway at speed. I think it's the short wheelbase and the higher seating position. At first it feels tippy but you eventually get used to it and realize it is actually quite stable. Ive watched youtube videos of them on a race track or dirt course and they don't tip over. Never heard of problems either in Germany and they drive them fast. Just be aware of that feeling I described when you test drive one. Your confidence in it will grow over time. Also, fuel economy is not the best. I probably average about 22mpg overall. Small price to pay for the peppy engine though. Better engine than any other reasonably priced small SUV on the market. This generation Tiguan is still built in Wolfsburg Germany and the build quality is excellent. Better than any of its domestic or Asian competitors in my opinion. The fit and finish, materials quality are a cut above. Also, it has a standard height adjustment for the passenger seat. This can be very important for shorter or taller people. No Asian small SUV has one.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

New to VW - pleasantly surprised

scope2, 06/02/2014
26 of 29 people found this review helpful

Our family of 3 needed to get out of our Saab for mileage and reliability reasons, so we leased a Tiguan as VW has some really good lease deals and I wasn't ready to be married to a VW. We've been pleasantly surprised at how much we really like the car, even though it barely meets what we said we wanted - a SUV that gets at least 20 mpg in the city. It has much smaller cargo capacity than the others we looked at, but feels much larger in the rest of the car, especially in the back seat when extra cargo room isn't needed (most of the time) and the seats can go all the way back. Its got a nice, compliant ride and feels nimble. Has a much more premium feel than anything else in its range.

Report Abuse

Expensive but worth it

emotionalrat15, 11/21/2013
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Bought our 2014 Tiguan R-Line and love it! The rear cargo room is a bit small and I was super nervous about rear leg room if the trunk was that small but it was more roomy than a 2014 Escape! I was amazed! Leather seats are comfy and the memory seats are great too! Off the line, there is about a full second of turbo lag but after that, it's gone. Engine sounds throaty and has a great exhaust note. We got 19mpg on mainly hwy driving which was disappointing but it's -10 where I live and I do accelerate hard on occasion, it also doesnt help that its not broken in! Paying 40 grand is a lot especially when it doesnt have a backup camera or sat/nav(extra options) but still a fantastic CUV

Report Abuse

Irritating Vibration

albedo, 09/30/2014
SE 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
16 of 18 people found this review helpful

The Tiguan a nice car in many respects, but the automatic transmission shifting is awful. It frequently shifts into too high a gear causing the engine to lug and vibrate. Then it shifts back down, only to try shifting back up again later. It was benign enough during the test drive, but the vibration noise and constant shifting becomes really annoying over time. This problem persists in newer models because it's VW's way of reporting better fuel mileage than the car actually gets under real world conditions.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Nice except for annoying engine vibration

albedo, 10/04/2014
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

I've had my Tiguan for just over a year. It's a nice car in many respects, and is more stylish and peppy than its competitors. The main problem is that, at certain speeds, the engine vibrates and causes an irritating, moaning noise. VW told me there is no solution because they program the automatic transmission to run at low RPMs as a way to improve fuel mileage. It's annoying enough that I really don't enjoy driving the car and will probably trade it in for something else.

Report Abuse

1st VW and very Pleased

tommyg1814, 04/26/2015
SE 4dr SUV w/Appearance (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Love this vehicle all around its true Volkswagen thinks of everything. I don't feel or hear this engine vibration so not concerned at all. Ride and build quality is superior to anything else we have owned. will it hold up to the test of time? we will see so far 16.000 miles and like new Very happy. UPDATE,,,,we traded this vehicle some time ago but it was a excellent SUV while we had it.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050