Used 2012 Volkswagen Tiguan Consumer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
39 reviews
List Price Range
$8,999 - $13,798

Used Tiguan for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.63 out of 5 stars

2012 Tiguan - Early Signs All Very Positive

gobuffs2, 09/15/2011
SE 4dr SUV w/Sunroof, Navigation (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
96 of 99 people found this review helpful

Purchased this SE model with FWD after about 5 months on the car hunt. AWD not necessary IMO & saved $2K. Looked at Hyundai, Nissan, Ford, Toyota even Audi & Merc. Benz. The car has good zip, the turbo kicks in when asked, and it rides smooth - suspension can feel a bit stiff though, so you feel some road bumps. Fit and finish are outstanding as are the ergonomics. It is very fun to drive, the navigation and audio package is very nice - IMO, no need to bump up to the next level of audio or trim. The leather-ette interior is very nice; most people think it to be real leather and I like the idea that it will clean up easier since I haul kids. Overall, very very pleased so far.

Report Abuse

2.25 out of 5 stars

2012 Tiguan Transmission Defect

autogal1, 09/19/2012
SE 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
52 of 53 people found this review helpful

I bought a new 2012 VW Tiguan SE 4 Motion Automatic and in Drive (D) traveling about 25-34 mph the transmission stays in a high gear (5th) and makes a vibrating hum and shake.The transmission will not drop back to 2nd, 3rd or 4th at this speed and is overloaded in 5th.When I give it some gas it hums, lags and shakes more. After applying extra gas it abruptly downshifts lunging the car forward in a jerky fashion.I notified the dealer twice about this issue. The service rep told me the car is in it’s Adaptive Learning phase and will work this problem out after I drive it for awhile. After 3000 miles the Tiguan transmission has not adjusted as the dealer indicated.

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

Tiguan has Transmission Problems

bmod14, 02/03/2012
SE 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
42 of 43 people found this review helpful

When they redid the Tiguan transmission for 2012 they ruined it.  The trans tries to get to 6th gear as soon as possible to save gas.  It now "labors" in 5th or 6th gear at 30 to 45 mph.  You can't drive it at a slow constant speed from 30 to 45 mph with out it "laboring" and vibrating the car.  Check out these links of people with the same problem. - [HTML removed] Otherwise, nice car!

Report Abuse

4.75 out of 5 stars

2012 Tiguan exceeds my expectations

bill95gl, 02/15/2013
SE 4dr SUV w/Sunroof, Navigation (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

I've owned VWs for over forty years and never really liked the Tiguan. I saw it as a too-small overweight, overpriced, gas-wasting SUV. However, my wife has always wanted a Tiguan and when a used 2012 white Tiguan SE with nav, pano roof and 6K miles showed up at a nearby Mazda Hyundai dealer, we traded her 2007 Passat 2.0T in on it. I'll have to admit that I'm really impressed with the Tiguan. It's much quieter and has a much smoother ride than the Passat. It handles well, has plenty of power and is a pleasure to drive. The automatic transmission has no problems...however, I think the transmission programming was fixed before we bought the Tiguan.

Report Abuse

4.38 out of 5 stars

Transmission problems fixed

tom365, 05/18/2012
SEL 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD w/Premium Navigation, Dynaudio (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
77 of 82 people found this review helpful

Earlier I wrote a review for the 2012 Tuguan and severely criticized the transmission shift pattern. At the time it deserved the criticism but I am happy to report that VW has issued a software update to the Transmission Control Module. The update has fixed the problem. Hats off to VW for listening to its customers, acknowledging a problem and actually fixing it.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

One year and 20k mile Tiguan SE Review

miless, 01/13/2014
SE 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

Bought my 2012 Tiguan SE late in 2012 as a leftover with 0% financing. I now have driven it for one year and just over 20,000 miles and still love it. I traded in a Jetta TDI because I wanted to go back to AWD. I am averaging about 25 mpg on the Tiguan, with the majority on highways. Better than I expected. Can get 30 mpg on highway if you work at it. Very comfortable seats and smooth ride. Handles well for a small SUV but don't expect golf-like handling. Has decent power, once the turbo gets going. The transmission does shift a lot as others have said. Brakes are great. Love the sound system including Sirius and iPod. Very few issues and free VW service for 36k

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Great performance with a few trade-offs...

Rich G, 11/22/2015
LE 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

I LOVE this car's performance, when it's in Sport mode. However, regular drive mode shift way too early and the car feels slow and at times a little jerky. The brakes are responsive, but feel like they are grinding. Twice technicians confirmed there was nothing wrong, though. It beats the heck out of the Nissan Rogue I was driving, but this car is in the shop EVERY 3,000 miles on the dot because something is always breaking. Thank goodness it's covered under warranty, but that leads me to believe my out-of-pocket costs will be sky-high once the vehicle exits the warranty period. Just bought it in April (7 months ago)with only 25,000 miles on it, and it has had every window motor replaced, a couple of them twice, and the latest issue was the cooling fan died. The 40,000 mile service costs $650 just to have the car examined and the oil changed, so I will be scoping out other options.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

awesome 2012 tiguan

happytig1, 03/29/2012
SE 4dr SUV w/Sunroof, Navigation (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

the 2012 tiguan (mine an se with sunroof and nav) puts a smile on my face each time i drive it. with over 1,000 miles put on, it has already achieved the 27 mpg rating on the sticker. yes, it is recommended to use 91 premium unleaded. between wanting an audi A3 and the european passat wagon, somehow, the tiguan offered me a blend of the best of both worlds. refinement and creature comforts of both, newly freshened look which is quite handsome, and 3 yr/36K miles carefree maintenance. for some reason, my tiguan does not shake, rattle, or lug. the adaptive transmission quickly learns how to drive the way you want to drive. definitely quieter than the 2012 and 2011 honda crv. love this car.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Great, except for the transmission

jxenon, 02/21/2012
SE 4dr SUV w/Sunroof, Navigation (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

This is a great car, however, the programming of the automatic transmission is horrible! To achieve high MPG, the transmission shifts to 6th gear around 35 or 40 mph! The result is very low RPM and engine noise. This happens in D mode. Going to S mode is not a solution since then, the shifting point is around 3000 RPM which is then too high. So hopefully VW of North America addresses this and does a reprogramming of the transmission.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Great Opportunity with 2012 VW Tiguan @ manual

bostonguy3961, 04/21/2012
S 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
19 of 21 people found this review helpful

After 14 years with Ford Explorer Sport (2 dr) manual transmission was time to more on (California smog regs). Looked options for smaller suvs with manual- Ford Escape, Subaru Forester, and VW Tiguan plus Kia and Hyundai brothers. The Korean cars, nicely priced but the drive-train are junk - recent reports are that their clutch has very limited life. Escape is old and has no zip. Forester is ok, but driver space is limited. Found basic Tiguan with manual -only one is Southern Cal... and dealer was ready to move it for under $21,500 (plus taxes). Has few fancy accessories, no roof rack or sunroof but drive-train is solid, better mileage than EPA sticker - compares to $30,000++ versions!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050