Used 2010 Volkswagen Tiguan Consumer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
63 reviews
List Price Estimate
$5,175 - $7,597

Used Tiguan for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.88 out of 5 stars

Love my Tiguan

John, 11/21/2010
Wolfsburg Edition 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
183442 of 183450 people found this review helpful

This is the third VW I've owned and I love it even more than the others. Nice, clean styling combined with easy to use controls and great performance around town, make the Tiguan a fantastic vehicle to drive.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Among the best cars I've owned.

Maria Vale, 12/04/2015
Wolfsburg Edition 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
54 of 55 people found this review helpful

I've driven and owned a numerous amount of cars in my life, given my constant travels and former business assignments, so I can say with certainty, that this Tiguan is turning out to be an excellent decision to purchase. I grew up seeing many VWs, Mercedes, Volvos and Datsun/Nissans, as well as Fords, that were decades-old, still on the road, so I knew those brands were the way to go when it came to ownership. Volkswagen has hit a nice mark with the Tiguan since it's a small SUV, completely manageable for someone who's below 5'3" tall. The car has a peppy pick up when on the highway, especially if you shift it into Sports mode. This little car can run! It takes a couple of seconds longer to pick up highway speed on the regular Drive shift as compared to the Sports mode, but in both gears it responds fast. It runs smoothly and it has come thru for me in important situations such as quick/sudden braking, even in the most hazardous conditions such as slippery roads, poor visibility and heavy (almost blinding) rain. I consider this car the way I'd consider a loyal friend, who's always there for you, no matter what. This car is no diva despite its beautiful exterior and interior. It has leather beige seats, beige interior, panoramic sunroof, 40/60 back seats, front bucket seats, computerized diagnostics, amazing sound system, noiseless and totally gorgeous and comfortable inside. The only things were I'd improve would be in the gas mileage. I get a range of 11-18 MPG in city (11-13 in NYC) (18 in Florida) to 21-24 on the highway. I was not careful to learn before purchasing that this car requires premium gas. Thankfully the price of gas is much more affordable where I live now, so a full tank nowadays (about 16 gallons) requires anywhere between $40-45. I always use Shell Premium. Also, since this is my first SUV (always driven sedans), it's not as smooth as a sedan ride. But the service guy tells me all trucks and SUVs have that feel. My Tiguan does have a bit of engine hum, very, very low, but again, I've been told is normal in an SUV. I also watch the RPMs and when in idle mode, they always remain at below 1000 RPMs, and that's a positive sign of a healthy engine. The minor engine hum doesn't really bother me since I always have my radio on anyway, so I don't really hear it. Regarding repairs, I've only had to take it in for repair once when I gave someone a boost and not sure why but one of the electronic computer boards burnt. Since it's under Warranty, the dealership (VW Schumacher) took care of it and put me on a nice loaner (the CC). The service is always fast and friendly at the dealer. Also, I've kept the car under warranty extensions. A good investment. I'm very happy with my Tiguan. I've been warned that perhaps problems may come at over 100,000 miles, like in all cars, where parts need to be changed, but I believe in good German engineering. After all, this model was completely built in the Germany plant. UPDATE: At the end of the 3rd year, once my Tiguan went past the 50K mile mark, it was time to change parts, fans, filters and it got expensive. The engine began to respond with a delay, so I was told at the dealer it needed a change of fuel injectors. I only used Shell Premium! It was going to cost me about $700+. At this point, another German competitor offered to put me in one of their leases in exchange for the car, including what was still owed. I took it. BMW offered to cover everything for the lease payment, including the car wash. My gas bill, insurance rate and car expenses dropped dramatically. Lesson learned, German cars are great to lease, not to own long term. The next time I look to buy a car for long term it'll likely be Japanese.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Great fun to drive, agile, but problems

Edward Becker, Jr., 03/28/2015
Wolfsburg Edition 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

This compact SUV drives like a small European sports car. Adequate passenger space, high quality interior, 4 motion AWD tracks well through some of the worst winter snow and ice (except moderately high snow drifts). My complaints are with below average reliability. Problems began at around 70,000 miles. I've had 3 water pumps, trouble with emissions system, replaced turbo, clogged injectors, replaced virtually every motor seal, and other issues. Total cost of dealer completed repairs and maintenance to date (with 108k miles)- $13,600.(ridiculous). If you buy one of these, keep it until around 60k, then get rid of it! I traded in the car in 2016 for a Mazda CX-5. I got $8,500. on the Tiguan trade in. I am very pleased with the Mazda CX-5. It's not as quick as the Tiguan, but so far no problems with the CX-5 (now 38k miles on it). My neighbor is an airplane mechanic and has a VW with the same 2.0 liter motor as I had in the Tiguan. He also has had much the same problems with it, and in fact was putting in the third water pump this week (3/18), but he is able to do all repairs himself, saving thousands of dollars. He has around 200k miles on his VW 2.0 liter, but again has had lots of problems with it. I looked at the new 2018 Tiguan with the 2.0 liter engine when at my dealer for an oil change on the CX-5 recently. It's very impressive, larger, redesigned, and they have extended the powertrain warranty to 6 yrs./72k miles (i think). I'm tempted, but my inner self tells me - no way, don't want those expensive problems again! Sorry VW!

Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Great Performance but worried about reliability

Jeff, 11/16/2017
Wolfsburg Edition 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
49 of 52 people found this review helpful

Being a multiple VW owner I picked up this car for my wife used, 3 years old with 28K miles. I enjoy driving it but I am somewhat worried about future problems. I do most work on my cars and the Tiguan is a challenge. At 78k the water pump started leaking. I saw the cost to replace the pump is about $1,200.00 and found out why. Since the pump is not on the timing chain or serpentine belt it is buried deep in the engine on the front the of engine block. Many parts have to be removed and the placement of the bracket holding up the throttle body was completely idiotic. I think the book time to change the pump is 8 hours plus the part at $360 and you are at $1,200.00. There is also an issue with the VW 2.0 TSi engine of this year having carbon build up on the intake valves. When I pulled the intake I found the carbon build up (due to the engine design) and believe that all engines will have this problem. Burning premium does not prevent this but is recommend because of the turbo. I clean the port separators but will do the ports and valves later. Too much carbon build up with cause problems with cold starts, engine idle and eventually throw a check engine light but I have not experienced this. The other issue that I have is with the turbo. Check engine light came on and code indicated a boost problem. I replaced the appropriate valve but still had the problem. After doing some research it seems that the problem is with the turbo waste gate. The issue here is that VW used a turbo with the waste gate built into the turbo and this is why some who have posted had to replace the turbo. Mine only occurs in the summer when the temperatures are mid 90's plus and with AC on so most of the year there is no problem. The other common problem is the timing chain tensioner. A design flaw allows for the tensioner to pop loose, the chains skip and the valves hit the pistons and motor is dead. There is a kit that you can buy for about $250 (tensioner and cover) that will replace the stock with an updated tensioner. It is about a 2 hour job to replace. I change the oil every 5k miles with full synthetic and this probably helps but I plan on upgrading the tensioner. The only real repairs that I have had to do besides the water pump and turbo pressure relief valve is two control arms for the suspension. I probably didn't need to do this put the shop where I take the car for alignments talked me into it. The car itself drives and handles great. Good handling in the snow even without snow tires and is fun to drive. Controls are easily laid out and logical and the seats are comfortable even for long drives. Good space to a compact SUV. Gas mileage is a bit less than you might expect from a 2.0 liter but nothing terrible. About 24.5 mpg on highway (70-75 mph) and around 18 mpg town and suburban. Paint job is good and still nice after 7+ years. Only fault with interior is that drivers seat base has cracked on one bolster side (was like this when I bought it). It is the synthetic leather and maybe the previous owner did something to it ? I will acknowledge that the VW is not as reliable as its Japanese counterparts but is way better handling, quicker and loads more fun to drive. Maintain it properly and it shouldn't be too bad.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

Most unreliable car ever!!

usavp1, 09/08/2015
S 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
44 of 49 people found this review helpful

We have owned more than 5 cars over the last 10 years - a mix of German and Japanese makes. This 2010 vw Tiguan has been the most unreliable car we have ever owned or driven. This includes the notoriously unreliable Italian cars I grew up driving in the 1980s. We bought this car new. Over the last 6 months (out of warranty of course), we have had the following issues 1. Water pump failure 2. Fuel pump failure 3. Turbo repair 4. A variety of electrical faults 5. Turbo replacement, costing a total $5000 in repairs. Now the 6. EPC light and check engine light just came on - headed to dealer. LAST VW WE EVER BUY. WOULD HIGHLY DISCOURAGE ANYONE FROM PURCHASING THIS CAR. We were helping some friends with car shopping this weekend. Steered them clear of the vw Tiguan, their top choice before we talked to them.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

The worst car I've ever owned/leased, 2010 Tiguan!

BobVilla, 12/20/2016
S 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I leased this car for three years, then financed it for three and a half years. I figured that it hadn't had any issues and why not just own it since I only drive it to and from the train station everyday (average about 7k miles a year). I took care of the car. Made all scheduled oil changes and check ups at the dealership @ Curran in Stratford CT. This past year has been a complete nightmare. I looked forward to finally having no payments which was going to end in July 2016. In May the waterpump went ($1200). Of course the warranty ended in Jan. I only had 44,000 miles, but the 5 years was up. About a month later the light popped on again. This time I was told it was the turbo. So I just replaced the sensor ($350) and more recently got a new turbo installed ($2700). Meanwhile, I'm now told there is oil leaking in 3 places. Each of these replacements will cost about $400 each (another $1200). I don't have the money to fix the leaks. So I have to hold off for now. So now I don't have any car payments. But I have already spent $4250 this year, with another $1200 for the leaks starting in 2017!

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
1 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

Great car until the turbo blows out the engine

CB, 05/31/2017
Wolfsburg Edition 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

My 2010 Tiguan looks brand new. I loved the car. I've driven it about 97k highway miles. Took it to mechanic after check engine light kept coming on. The car became noisy and ran rough. The mechanic (who I've had for years and has advised me regarding all of my vehicles & never failed me yet) said it might be just plugs or such. He went through my engine & said it looked like the turbo was blowing out 2 of the cylinders. The check engine light continued to come back on after replacing the plugs and working on whatever else could cause such a problem. (I don't know much about engines) & he said I should get rid of the vehicle as quickly as possible as a repair to fix the problem would be extremely expensive and not worth it. I looked for a recall notice and saw that many folks are having this same problem. I've actually kept the vehicle rather than trading it in. I was offered $3500 trade in and I don't think the dealership where I purchased my new vehicle even realized it had a problem. They looked at the vehicle and did not road test it. I would hate to see someone else purchase my old car and get stuck with really big problem. I have 2 other vehicles. One with 89k miles and one with close to 200k miles. I take good care of my cars.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Be Warned - Tiguan TSI Engine Major Failure

R Spurzem, 01/11/2017
S 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

Be warned! The 4-cylinder TSI engine in the Tiguan is known for failure due to timing belt issues. The fix is a "new engine". If you are shopping for a used Tiguan in the 2009 and 2010 years, ask if the engine has been replaced. I am telling you this from experience. My Tiguan is at the mechanic now getting a new engine. The mechanic said, "I see these TSI motors used in the VW Tiguan and other VW models all the time". Update: engine is replaced for approx. $5,000.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Repairs started at 30,000

Disappointed, 12/10/2016
Wolfsburg Edition 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I have always had a vw but this was my last. At 30,000 engine coils failed on the highway and it went downhill from there. By 70,000 miles I had: 3 intake manifolds, a new turbo, turbo taken apart and cleaned once for $750, broken suspension coil in rear, struts went bad, 2 sets of spark plugs and towed twice. This was on top of routine maintenance like new brakes and tires. It caused me so much stress and was not dependable at all. When I bought the car the plan was to give it to my 20 year old daughter when I got a new one, but I didnt trust that it was dependable enough for her. Traded it in and for the first time I no longer drive a volkswagen.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3.38 out of 5 stars

First VW may be my Last

tg3, 05/26/2011
S 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Owned a chevy and honda previously, went with the Tiguan b/c the manual trans and looks... have had the car just over a year and it's been in the dealer for fixes 3 times (my chevy and honda needed nothing but routine maintenance). People warned me with buying a VW, but I was like 'how can it be so bad if so many people have them?'. Well sadly I am finding out. I love the car but never imagined having probs with a car that's only a year old. How can VW shoot for achieving #1 car sales if they make junk? Well, this is definitely my last VW, thinking of trading it for a Rav4 before I have to start paying for the repairs. Sorry to say, I did have hopes of 6 years with this car.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Great, but what's with the gas mileage?

Funkyzeit, 11/14/2010
Wolfsburg Edition 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Love this car. Handles well, fun to drive, easy to park (especially with rear view camera). But the fuel economy is atrocious. How can such a small car, with a 4 cyl engine only get 24 MPG highway? And want premium fuel? An Audi A8, with a 372 hp V-8 gets 27 MPG highway! In Germany the Tiguan is sold with a choice of 5 engines, of course only the least efficient engine is offered in the US. If VW put a TDI in the Tiguan, they would have the most fuel- efficient cross-over sold in the US, getting probably 40 MPG highway.

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

450 miles and stuck in garage

Gail, 05/30/2010
S 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought the car less than two weeks ago. Memorial Weekend - I got stuck in a parking lot with a parking brake malfunction. Can't see service for two day? I miss my 13 year old Toyota which had no mechanical problems.

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

paul m, 08/18/2010
Wolfsburg Edition 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

While the Tiguan looks good and is very comfortable to sit in, I do not enjoy driving it. The throttle response when first pushing on the accelerator pedal is non existent, and just never feels normal. VW service says that it is. (Issue addressed in review dated 5/5/10). And changing the vehicle's settings or convenience features always requires pulling out the three ring binder that is the owner's manual. I am disappointed that we did not buy the Honda CR-V, a much better value for the money. (Though we would then see our car everywhere). Since my wife likes to sit higher, she drives the Tiguan. I much prefer driving our 4 year old Acura TSX.

Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY A VW TIGUAN

Kassidy, 05/27/2020
Wolfsburg Edition 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

If I could, I would give this zero stars!! I wish someone had written a review to turn me away from buying this train wreck of a car. It is the most unreliable vehicle I have ever owned. My sister and I both owned a vw tiguan, mine a 2010 and hers a 2011. WE BOTH HAD THE EXACT SAME ISSUES. I can’t even count how many repairs both her and I ended with. Both of us had to replace our turbos (which is close to $5,000) among MANY MANY other costly repairs!! It left me stranded on the road NUMEROUS times and was back at the shop multiple times in a week. Please look elsewhere!!

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
1 out of 5 stars
Comfort
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Great until it gets cold outside! DO NOT BUY

tiguanowner4, 02/09/2011
SE 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD w/Leather (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

My power sterring does not work. Thankfully this has not happened as I drive down the highway. However I am left to cross my fingers and pray my car will work when I get in it. I have had my 2010 Tiguan in the shop 5 times in the past 4 months. It always happens when it is cold outside. Perhaps they should not be selling these in Alberta then!!! My mom is also experiencing the same problem on the same day with her 2010 Tiguan! She has also had her Tiguan in the shop for the same amount of times...big surprise. It happens when the weather is colder than -25 which happens a lot here. Canadian buyers BEWARE:(

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

A superb CUV for Canadian drivers

DKE783, 02/12/2010
SE 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I looked at 24 different CUV's before choosing the 2010 Tiguan. With superb build quality that sets it above the RAV4 and Nissan Murano, the Tiguan is a near-luxury crossover that I definitely recommend. You will pay more for the features of the VW, but you'll get a substantial vehicle with features that are normally reserved for luxury SUV's in the $50k range. The Tiguan is an excellent vehicle for commuting Canadians who like to drive.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best of both worlds!

Amber, 04/19/2010
Wolfsburg Edition 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I was in a unique situation when I was car shopping. Living in PA, I had to have AWD or 4WD, and I LOVE German engineering. After living in the south, I wanted fun, too. I traded an 07 Mercedes and an 06 Wrangler for the Tiguan. I looked at Volvo, Nissan, and Toyota, and this was the ONLY one that had the class and luxury that I was used to, while having one of the most competent AWD systems available. I am absolutely thrilled with my Tiguan. It is absolutely one of the most solid vehicles manufactured, and I smile every day I get to drive it.

Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Don't buy a Tiguan

Bruce , 07/14/2020
SE 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD w/Leather (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought a used Tiguan for my son with low miles on it and have not stopped pumping money into it since. It constantly needs repairs and they are all very expensive. Never buying a Volkswagen again.

Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

I would never buy another Volkswagen Tiguan again

Wanda alejandro, 10/02/2020
SEL 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I financed a Volkswagen Tiguan 19 months ago and at 71,000 miles the motor went they rebuilt the motor and now I'm having the same problem again as 64000 miles my motor went I still owe 8000 on this car and I don't have a car to drive cuz nobody wants to help me it causes me 5000 to put a motor in and I still owe 8000 on it Finance the car cost me 13000 and now I have to put a $5,000 motor on it for a 2010 the car would have cost me $18,000 if I put this motor in that is a very expensive car for a 2010 if anybody can help me please let me know thank you

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
2 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Great car unless you use reverse

sanfrandan, 08/24/2010
SE 4dr SUV w/Leather (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I really like this car with one HUGE exception-every time I back up my brakes screech. It is not a small squeak but a loud, embarrassing screech. When running errands I have to purposely look for parking spots where I will not have to reverse. Really inconvenient. The dealer says it is normal which I find unacceptable. I see on other forums other VW users are experiencing the same issue. This will be my last VW and I cannot wait to unload this one when I can.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Almost perfect

Tim, 10/07/2010
S 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is my first VW after owning over 25 new cars. Like quality of body build, feels solid. Interior is like Audi quality without the price. Seating is excellent as well as visibility. I am getting consistent 25 mpg combo hwy/city taking it easy with 6K miles to date. Only complaint is brake squeal when backing up after car sits a couple of hours. VW can't or won't resolve and it appears this is common with the brand. Talked with dealership and customer care -say brakes are to specifications so have a nice day. I told them how come I never had this problem with any other vehicles in the past. They say because you never owned a VW before. They make a nice product except for this issue.

Report Abuse
3.75 out of 5 stars

2011 Tiguan 2.0L turbo rattles!!!

howieb38, 01/26/2011
S 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought this 2011 Tiguan because I also bought a 2010 VW Passat wagon. Unfortunately the Tiguan has an annoying rattle in the engine when ever I accelerate from a stop and cuts out at about 3000 RPM. I've had it to two dealers and they claim it's normal for the engine?? When I explain that I also own a 2010 Passat with the exact same engine and there's no rattle sound, they say "That is normal for this car". I can't believe that VW won't acknowledge that there's a problem. I would return it and buy another brand if I could, but after going back and forth with VW for three months, I'm stuck with this lemon. It's a $40,000 mistake. It's also the last VW I'll ever buy.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

What a POS

Roque, 07/23/2015
SE 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD w/Leather (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
7 of 13 people found this review helpful

We purchased the 2010 in 2012; we have had the radiator replaced (leak), intake manifold replaced (cracked) fuel injectors replaced, spark control modules replaced, motor replaced (blown) and two months after the motor was replaced, I now have an engine light code P2187. We give up, trading this POS in this weekend. VW should call this POS a lemon.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
1 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3.38 out of 5 stars

Major Disappointment-horrible in snow

gailspike, 03/23/2013
S 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

My experience has been a disappointment. From the first month I have had miscellaneous electrical issues. Had the electronic parking brake stick numerous times, it took a couple visits to dealership to replace sensor. Another sensor is when closing the trunk the entire locking system freezing up- said it is a safety feature, nothing wrong with car??? Now gas gage issue...dual fuel sending units. Being a female I get the runaround unfortunately I have to bring my husband to get results. Plus I research VW Vortex with all the other disappointed owners. I had Toyota's for 30 years and NEVER had to bring them back for anything but general maintenance. I can't afford to trade it & buy ano

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Great Small SUV, But you Pay for It!

RayBoyG, 11/03/2009
SEL 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We have only had our Tiguan a few weeks. My wife and I both love driving it. It has a high seating position, lots of headroom, and the full-length sunroof really makes it feel open. Acceleration with the turbo 4 is impressive. I found lots of small but pleasing features as I read through the owner's manual....rear seats adjust back and forth, front passenger seat will fold flat for long cargo, both front doors hold a quart bottle, etc. Lots of nice little features. Gas mileage could be better for a small 4-cyl. but it has more than enough pep. It is usually in front wheel drive....4WD only comes on with slippage...you can't manually turn it on. High end satellite radio is great.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Car feels slippy...

RKaye422, 02/10/2010
S 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I'm getting GREAT mileage on my Tiguan, more so than some of the other readers. HOWEVER, they seem to be enjoying the ride alot more than I am. This is my 2nd VW, after owning a Passat for 6 years and I'm actually pretty disappointed. I've been driving for 20 years, everything from a 66 Mustang to a Dodge Ram, and I feel like this car is going to go off the side of the road all the time. It grabs every nick in the road, it feels like driving on an ice slick over our grooved highways in Vegas, and driving it in the rain at high speeds is a white-knuckle occasion for me. Is anyone else at all having these problems? I've taken it to the dealer once already and they said this is normal???!!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Love It

chris, 07/10/2010
SEL 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've had my Tiguan for 4 months now and I LOVE it. I find something new to like almost every day. The pickup and handling are wonderful. Not a single problem so far. The sunroof is awesome! The seats are really firm and comfortable. I get much better gas mileage than advertised, I've been averaging 28 MPG.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

It IS fun to drive!

KPW, 07/26/2010
SE 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Never thought I'd be writing a review about a car and writing that it's fun to drive but it IS! I used to drive a Ford Explorer. Of course it was bigger and had more room but it also took a heck of a lot more gas. I was pleased with the gas mileage for an AWD on this car-I go double the miles that I used to with the Explorer. It's got about 5k miles so far and has been through everything New England could throw at it already since February (snow, ice, flood, heat waves, etc). AWD worked excellent. I was concerned about this after driving such a big SUV for so long. This site helped me a lot.

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Delightful

cloud, 10/14/2010
SE 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased the Tiguan rather than a Toyota Venza for ground clearance, handling, all weather reliability and two large dogs. We like clean sharp design and this vehicle meets all of our needs ably - enjoying the car.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Do not buy the Big Mooroof car.

Ivan Ustymchuk, 02/26/2019
S 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Less than 60,000 miles and that thing leaks from all 4 corners. The drain pipes are not attached to drain of the mooroof and they detached or got melted from the sun. Engineers should have attached the drain pipes directly to the mooroof with a clamp, no they put a dumb adapter in between the pipe and the moonroof, then the sun deformed the drain pipes a little and it leaks all in the car. I had to carry a tarp with me all the time with 4 bricks and put that over my car everytime it rained, you know how annoying it is to ask your boss to go cover your car from the rain. Garbage luxury, put metal on the roof I hate the sunroof, its too hot in california and I almost never use it. Car is good but a middle schooler designed the roof. Also the Moonroof shade I only used it a couple of times and it completely fell apart, I was trying to cover the big glass hole in my roof ( moonroof ) from the sun and two springs popped out of the roof and that shade fell to the floor, I was only pushing a button for that thing to close, I didn't pull it or obstruct it with anything. You will hate yourserlf for that roof. Also the engine has oil leak from the timing cover and 2 injectors quit working. And it is very hard to replace them, Lazy engineers made it hard to work on this engine. I have owned the car for half more year after the moonroof fix and saw that the springs in the moonroof shade are making a sound like its going to fall apart again so I sold the car. Dont get me wrong this car is a good car but the roof and engine design just ruins the car. If you get one without moonroof and no turbo that will be a better car.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

I loved my Tiguan -- but it went to an early death

charlie, 04/23/2019
SE 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD w/Leather (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It seems that a major problem -- and I never knew it -- is that the timing chain typically fails somewhere around 90-100 miles. When this happens, it can ruin the engine, as it did mine. VW has had a class action suite against them, and has come up with a solution which is totally useless. They agree to pick up a percentage of the fix -- provided you find the problem before it does more damage. But even with their offer to help, the fix is really so expensive on a high mileage car, that it is just not worth the cost. I guess this is my last VW and too bad because I loved it!!!!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Zippy SUV with low maintainence

Rick, 07/13/2019
SE 4dr SUV w/Leather (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought it as a sporty SUV, but over the years have been impressed with the low maintenance cost. Am selling now and a bit disappointed in resale value.

Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

I do not recommend ever buying a tiguan

Jessie Baker, 01/23/2020
Wolfsburg Edition 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car 2.5 years ago with 80k miles and it has had so many problems since then. In less than a month of having the car the turbo went bad and that costed over $1,000, and then less than 6 months later, the sunroof was leaking bad and had to get that fixed twice costing around $750. The timing chain tensioner of tiguans around 80k miles tend to go out and mine did.. costing around $2,000 and took forever to fix which makes it a huge inconvenience. Also, the valve on the turbo was leaking and we had to get the camshaft replaced and that was fixed less than 2 weeks ago costing about $600 for both. Not even a week after the last problem was fixed my check engine light came on again and this time it is my rear main engine seal. It has a crack in it. I have taken great care of this car and it had only one previous owner and they took great care of it too, but I will never again buy another VW. My tiguan has costed me around $6,000 and that’s not including tires and regular maintenance. It has caused too much stress and drained too much money. It is not a reliable car. I am going to trade it in and I will never buy a VW ever again.

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Water pump has went out 2 times in the last 2 year

Bunniepiroddi, 01/03/2021
SE 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD w/Leather (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I would had loved this SUV, if the water pump system was made right.the water pump cost 1500 dollars every time ive replaced it.VW has lawsuit against them because of the water pump and they are only going to reimbursing me 40%of 3000.i will never buy another VW because of this default. I've had to replace the water pump twice in the last 2 years.be aware of the 2010 VW tiquan.shame on VW for putting out a terrible VW!!!

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Sporty, solid, unique

Lionel Hutz, 08/16/2010
Wolfsburg Edition 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I am in love with my Tiguan. For a small SUV that competes with the CR-V and Rav4, I just cannot see buying either of those others over the Tiguan. They are just so ubiquitous. The Tiguan really stands out and is a blast to drive. It is every bit as sporty as my wife's A4. Build quality rivals cars costing twice as much. Rides and drives very well. Just so much bang for the buck here I can't possibly see why anyone buys the Q5. I also chuckle a bit when people complain about the gas mileage for a 2- ton SUV with big tires and, in some cases, AWD. If you need more than 22 mpg, go get a Prius and get laughed at.

Report Abuse
3.88 out of 5 stars

My Lemon

J. Petrus, 11/11/2010
S 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 10 people found this review helpful

We purchased this car thinking German engineering is built strong and tuff. One week from owning the car the breaks start to squeek loud( high pitch sound).I took it to the Van nuys dealer and they said it is break dust and it will go away.We had a crv before that and never had a problem, Regretably, we are looking to trade this car with eithier another crv,rav4 or cx7. I guess the German cars are not so strong after all.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

What more could you ask for

TheTopShelf, 03/24/2010
Wolfsburg Edition 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've only had this vehicle for a week or two but I am amazed by the overall package of this vehicle. I did a lot of research and test drove a lot of vehicles in this class (Equinox, CR-V, RAV-4, Edge, CX-7) and none could compare to the Tiguan. It might be a little on the pricey side but trust me, you are getting your money's worth.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Loving it

Jedimed, 07/19/2010
Wolfsburg Edition 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I had to trade in my Audi A4 for something a bit more family-friendly, but that wasn't a boat. The Tiguan fit the bill nicely, with just enough room to get the kids in without adding too much mass. The handling and acceleration are better than most of its class, certainly much better than the CR-V. The Audi Q5 definitely outpaces the Tiguan, but it comes with a much higher price. If you're looking for a sporty SUV ride that gives you a bit more room and ground clearance, this is a good choice. If you want something to haul a lot of cargo, though, you may be disappointed.

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Nice looking car but most unreliable

John, 12/12/2016
S 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car for my wife and we started having issue with it after 4 years. We had to fix the water pump twice (more than 1200$ each time) wehad to fix the clutch 3000$ repair. Stay away from this car. I can't trust it anymore with my wife and kids.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

What a beautiful car this is

José Martínez, 11/01/2009
SEL 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Our 4th VW and 1st SUV. We've owned 2 Jettas before; we currently own a '08 R32 alsol. This car drives quite well compared to any American rental you throw at it, SUV or not. Steering and cornering are surprisingly well- mannered. However, despite VWoA's claims to the contrary, it is no big GTI: the car's weight, geometry, and suspension setup are obvious; and the Tiptronic transmission feels a bit lazy compared to the razor-sharp DSG. But we have the R32 for that. This is the family car. Drop-dead gorgeous; it carries us and the kids very comfortably; and it has loads of features. Safety is top-notch; and 4Motion makes a huge difference in snow. And it's a VW, so it feels like home to us.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Safe little AWD

VWforever, 11/12/2009
SE 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD w/Leather (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very nice! Perfect size, everything is laid out to make it very user friendly. Seats are perfect if you not very tall. Most SUV's the seats were too long for me. This is also the only SUV we drove under $34,000 that has more than up and back adjustments for the passenger. Even though they are manual you still can adjust lumbar, height and up and back. The 2010 also has an awesome stereo that appears like a navigation screen, along with standard bluetooth that works great. Another wonderful feature is the panoramic sunroof..(like no other)

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Excellent choice for compact SUV

xeuropn, 11/25/2009
S 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My wife always wanted the VW Toureg, but could never afford one. After watching the development of the Tiguan since 2006, we decide to check one out this past summer. My wife had to have a manual, so we went for the Tiguan. With the 2.0 L Turbo and matching 6-speed, she has not been disappointed. All of the other competitive models (Tucson/ Sportage/ RAV4 and CR-V)seem bland and common compared to the VW. The extra details Auf Deutsch just seem to put it on a different level. This is our first German auto while living here in the US, so hopefully we will have a long a lasting relationship with it. We keep cars for a very long time, so this should be a good test of VW's durability.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

My Zen Mobile

cookie, 12/20/2009
SE 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD w/Leather (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just love it. The day I picked it up was in a rain rain storm and next time a snow storm. Handled amazing. After many different vehicles...I have found Kansas! I love my Zen Mobile.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Polished, fun and safe ride--a true gem!

ct1010, 01/14/2010
Wolfsburg Edition 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was looking for a 4WD car that would be fun to drive, look good and be safe for myself and baby. I tested several cars and researched just about every vehicle under 40K. The Tiguan has a very clean and elegant look--not overdone at all--and a polished exterior as well. It drives great, handles ice and snow beautifully, and has an excellent safety profile. While a bit pricier than your usual compact SUVs (I'm talking to you, Honda, Toyota & Subaru), the Tiguan is in a class by itself. If you enjoy having a car that is attractive, fun, safe and not the same ho-hum, check out the Tiguan.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great Choice!

mda, 02/05/2010
SEL 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Let's face it-you can get from point A to point B in almost any vehicle. But if you are in the market for a small SUV and want to go in style, you can't go wrong with a Tiguan! Handling is very responsive, the ride very quiet and controlled, and visibility is great, including upward with the full length sun roof. The Tiguan is solidly built and the doors close with a satisfying "thunk". I have had my Tiguan for about 2 months (white gold with cashmere interior-very classy) and am getting 30 MPG (admittedly mostly highway).

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Fun & Easy to Drive

Furryshoes, 02/10/2010
Wolfsburg Edition 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Wolfsburg is a bargain because you get the same look as leather without paying for it. I also got the all-wheel drive which has been SWEET along with the huge sunroof. The ride, handling and looks are the best part.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Luxury, Small, Sporty, Comfortable

Happy Tiguan Owner, 02/20/2010
Wolfsburg Edition 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I drove almost every SUV in this price range. VW did not have a competitive lease program until January 2010. It's not as quiet as an Equinox, but quieter than anything else I drove. The ride is sporty, with a tight suspension, very composed. The seats and arm rests are very comfortable. There is plenty of power. The Wolfsburg trim had everything I wanted. Very classy interior. It revs at a higher rpm on the highway than the Passat which has the same engine and trans. I guess that's why it gets worse mileage. Expect around 22 overall and 28 on a trip between fill ups. The 2.0 turbo diesel would be great in this suv. Make sure it has enough room for your cargo.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive

cantwaittodrive, 03/11/2010
Wolfsburg Edition 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love driving the Tiguan. I was worried about the 4 cyl performance (had a 6 cyl previously) but this vw shifts seamlessly and still has plenty of power. The ride is super smooth and I love the exterior styling. Test drove the Ford Escape and Mazda CX-7 and the Tiguan beats both hands down. Feels like a solidly built vehicle, corners nicely and the controls are easy to access.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Great Family Vehicle

Cocoseng, 03/20/2010
Wolfsburg Edition 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Had the vehicle for about a month and cannot say enough good things. It drives like a GTI, but is spacious and comfortable for the whole family.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

My Wife's Supercool Dunebuggy

semaj422000, 04/10/2010
Wolfsburg Edition 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought the Tig about a month ago for my wife. The only thing she knew she wanted was a SUV or a lux feeling car. I wanted good quality and a sub 30k price. The Tiguan met all of our criteria and then some. It's quite small, but we don't have kids so that wasn't a big deal. The interior aesthetic and material quality feel quite good and it comes standard w/ bluetooth and an easy to use touchscreen radio. Although more pricey than most of the comp, this feels and looks far superior inside and out. We get around 20 miles per gallon w/ mixed highway and city driving. Should be a little better IMO. Also, the partial power seat is really weird to me. It should either be full power or manual.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050