Used 2009 Volkswagen GTI Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$6,477 - $7,995

Used GTI for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Understated Elegance with a load of Zip

macdawg, 05/23/2012
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've owned a lot of cars, but none have captured my heart like my Red GTI, with the six-speed manual. Have had it for 5 months, and put on 9,000 miles, with not a single issue, other than too much fun. I have to keep myself from making up reasons to run errands. Versatile, balanced, beautiful, compact but solid, easy to park, it flies like a mother, and is equally composed when cruising in a 25 mph zone. More fun to drive than my old AUDI A4, comparable to the 3-series we had. I'm not sure I'll ever want to own another car than a GTI.

Report Abuse

Great fun with utility and economy to boot

scottie3000, 07/17/2012
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car since new and took delivery in Feb 09. I have had the computer re-flashed to make more power, and I think this is how the car should have come from the factory. It is a claimed 300 lb/ft and 250 hp. The torque is what is great about this car. Just push the pedal and it goes! No drama, just thrust. I average about 29 MPG overall through mixed driving. Issues: My brake pads in the front did not engage the rotor fully, replaced bythe dealer and now they're great. Random rattles in the dash and rear seat area. The transmission occasionally jerks when pulling away from a stop. No reliability issues and these have been very minor for an overall good car

Report Abuse

Great Car, Very Problematic

VW EHHH :(, 07/03/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car and it seems I got unlucky with the buy vs other GTI owners who have never had any issues with the car. It has been one year, and already I have had about 3 major repairs done to the car. The car is great to drive, very fun, but I guess in my case very problematic and have been to the dealer with repairs in the last year over 7 times. From electrical issues, to an intake manifold being cracked from bad mold casting, to air conditioning falling apart and need replacement. However, I do recommend you purchase an extended warranty and VW has completed all repairs, but as far as satisfaction with the car. I am VERY VERY displeased and dissatisfied.

Report Abuse

VW reliability ad makes me wan to scream

cla, 08/25/2010
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

34,000 miles on my 2009 GTI and 2 intake manifold replacements - done under warranty - Time for car shopping!

Report Abuse

Great Engine, Tranny and Suspension But.

Jack, 01/24/2009
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Engine is first rate with very little turbo lag and it has great torque throughout the RPM range. Handling is very good for FWD car and DSG transmission is awesome. Lightning quick shifts. Interior has nice materials and good ergonomics. Seats are great as is the steering wheel. VW got the big stuff right with the GTI. Unfortunately, the little details are what they missed. With only 1,000 miles on the clock my seat squeaks, my dash squeaks over every bump, my rear hatch rattles over bumps and there is an engine rattle between 2500 and 3000 RPM which is an issue with other MKV GTI's too. Unacceptable in a new car. I heard VW has terrible quality control and now I believe it.

Report Abuse

German Engineering

Andy, 08/23/2008
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just bought my GRAY 09 GTI this morning. Didn't go for the DSG, which costs 1200 more. Like the manual gear, just like in Germany. Very responsive and fast. the suspension is hard so you might feel a little bit bumpy. Like the SUNROOF and 18" all season tire. 24K is fair enough for such a car.

Report Abuse

Small Car Big Performance

Dave, 12/28/2008
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

OK I have owned my 09 GTI for one week and find it not only a sharp and comfortable but great performer or run it smartly to get great gas mileage. Mine has the six speed auto and I find the shift petals on the steering wheel not only a great location but fast response from the gear box. My GTI came loaded with leather seats Satellite radio and many more features which makes for a very comfortable ride

Report Abuse

Nice so far!

vegasjon, 08/01/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just bought right off the truck yesterday! Fast, responsive, limited torque steer, and corners well on the 18" summer tires. AC is a bit weak in the Las Vegas heat (117 degrees!) but that's not normal summer heat for most. My other car is a BMW 330i and the VW is as much fun to drive...I do miss some standard luxuries such as built-in Bluetooth, but for 24K I'm not gonna be picky. This car is well built, solid, and performs as a German engineered vehicle should. Turbo lag is nonexistent for the most part, and the 6-speed tranny is descent, a little long on the throw distance. (I bought the standard not the DSG). Good by overall, I would recommend it to the budget sports buyer.

Report Abuse

City Beater

Steve, 09/25/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I needed a city car, for down town Toronto driving -so we bought the DSG - finding myself using the paddles more often, to get the responsiveness I want . Love the car - beats driving the Mini Van ;)

Report Abuse

Great MPG and Fun to Drive!

Campbell, 10/16/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We needed to upsize from my 2 seater to something our growing family. The VW can hold 5 for lunch or 2 adults and 2 kids comfortably. My commute is 35 miles each way, this thing is great for moving through traffic on the freeway. It has a quiet interior and solid feel. The ride is superb. While some of the competition is stiffer and rolls less, that is a very low percentage of the real world driving needs. It is fun to drive in a nicely composed package.

Report Abuse

Fun Fun Fun

Bob T, 11/04/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Wanted a sports car wife, wanted 4 door SUV. Great compromise, handles like a sports car, fun to drive, gives us 4 doors and a little room in the back to carry stuff. Very responsive. Fun to drive good solid feeling and safety features. I recommend to anyone. Great price for a lot of fun and safety.

Report Abuse

Wonderful car

Jason, 11/17/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just got my '09 GTI, and LOVE it! I traded in my '06 Audi A3, which had the same engine, and many similar features, but the GTI feels so much sportier. The engine is great, and DSG is awesome. I still have to gently break it in, so look forward to the day I can really test the limits :)

Report Abuse

Decently awesome after a month!!

Heimbachae, 12/23/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

First thing I noticed is that this car isn't as fast off the line as the 1.8T I had (04 Jetta GLI). It had an upgraded ECU, but even with that turned off it was quicker than the TSI 2.0T that is in this new car. This is probably due to the fact the MK5 is a much bigger car than the MK4. Other than speed off the line this car is my saving grace. It is much smoother than the MK4 Jetta I had, and on long rides it's so nice. Manual is a must on this car. Also, I should have gotten the upgraded stereo because sometimes I just want to rock out that 6 free months of Sirius (could sound better) Do NOT get additional ipod adapter plug in that is in center console. GET JUST THE HEADPHONE JACK!!

Report Abuse

King of Hot Hatches

Henry, 01/04/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very fun to drive. Handles amazingly well on windy roads. Braking is good enough. Great engine noise. No turbo lag whatsoever. Has all the power you would ever need in a front wheel drive car. Love the horseshoe wheels, though I got the 17" ones since I parallel park so much (already have some marring). I had a 08 Rabbit before and all the little improvements are completely worth it. I'm nervous about the resale value and long term reliability being a VW, although I like this car so much I can't see parting with it while it still runs. Plan to have it for a long time. Very easy to park in the city being a small 2 door hatch.

Report Abuse

Awesome/Practical/Affordable car

Vaughan, 03/31/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my GTI for about 7 months now, and I still get excited every time I get behind the wheel. It's got the style, performance, reliability and practicality covered, and it doesn't break the bank to own one. Great car!

Report Abuse

I like it

gatlin69, 04/23/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this for a few weeks and I can say it is a very fun car to drive. I was a bit disappointed that there was no bluetooth. Everything feels very solid and I can say the seats are very comfortable. I would opt for the 6 manual, but I have heard from other owners that the DSG was a blast. I am not a big fan of the plaid...so I opted for the leather...more power options for the seats would be nice and I dont like the roll switch for the heated seats (but they do work good). I had one major issue I got the 18in wheels and sunroof package and with such low profile tires 250 miles I hit a pot hole and had to replace the tire.

Report Abuse

Good to be in a VW again!

GTI Owner, 05/03/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The GTI is a great all-around sporty car. Good power, no turbo lag, good handling, nice interior with lots of room, good fuel economy, and it feels & drives like a more expensive vehicle. It may not have the outright power of a WRX, but the refinement and fun are a great combination for me. It handles great, is quiet going down the road, and I'm getting mileage in the mid-20's around town. It inspires confidence on back roads, and never feels like you are asking it to do something it doesn't want to.

Report Abuse

Nothing short of Amazing

Vanbosch, 05/20/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 2008.5 Mazda 3 Hatchback for my 09 GTI. After driving my wife’s 09 Rabbit I was sold on VW's build quality and driving dynamics but wanted something sportier than my 3. I absolutely hate the boy racer look of the new 2010 Speed3. I got an amazing deal on my GTI and haven't stopped smiling since I parked it in my driveway. The new GTI is one of the best purchases I have ever made and have zero regrets trading in the Mazda. Volkswagen has earned a life long customer from my wife and me with their fun to drive, reliable and well built vehicles. The GTI satisfies in every way. From the precise handling to the punchy 2.0 Turbo engine and quality feel, I could not be more pleased.

Report Abuse

The best adult hatchback in the group

Mark, 05/27/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I really wanted a smaller car, with decent gas mileage, good performance and a somewhat upscale feel without spending 40K. I also need a back seat for occasional passenger transportation. I looked at the civics, and just could not do it, it's seems like a kids car to me, I also looked at The toyota corrola (better gas mileage, but the most boring vehicle) absolutely no fun to drive. After test driving the GTI, I was sold, it was perfect, sporty, but comfortable, easy power, not a brute, easy to maneuver in the city, quick acceleration for passing and the best interior of the cars I tested. I'm 40 years old, and this car is a blast, but also very practical.

Report Abuse

Great Decision

stephen, 07/30/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Had the car 2 weeks and have nearly 2K miles on it, wont be driving it that much after the summer. I sold my 2001 182K mile Passat on Craigslist in 36 hours and was looking at a 2007 Lexus IS250. Tried to make 4 different deals for the lexus's but no one wanted to budge. Got fed up and went back to VW and got a the loaded GTI autobahn package for less than a 2 year old lexus. Apples and Oranges I know but I do enjoy the GTI, had many many compliments on it already. The sport seats are a little narrow and took a while to get used to but now I quite enjoy it. Hope the quality rivals the old Passat, that car would have been good for another 100K.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Denis, 08/10/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Have had the car for 2 mo. What a great ride! I was looking for comfortable seating and 4 dr. The seating issues ruled out the Honda's and Nissan's. The doors ruled out the Mini. The car has taken a bit of getting used to the ride (a bit stiffer than my 97 Golf), but the control and response will just put a grin on your face every time. That and the fact that this ting gets up and scoots. All this and I just got 33 mpg on a recent trip up to northern CA. Averaging 26+ combined driving over 2k miles on the car. Go VW.

Report Abuse

Terrific Hot Hatch

Gnslngr, 08/27/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Looked for a car that had the utility of a four door hatch and was fun to drive - the GTI beats almost every other car on the market in the Fun-To-Drive category. There are some great forums for this car and some cool mods you can put on it. I'm getting 30 mph even when I drive it like an F1 car. Fun, Fun, Fun 'til my wife takes the GTI away......... Oh, yea - don't forget the Launch Control. It's a blast with the DSG and makes the car, with the paddle shifters, the coolest little hatchback on the planet.

Report Abuse

rear hatch washer leaks

Tom Doran, 09/22/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car, just what I expected and am very pleased with just about everything on the car. This is an Autobahn with 6-speed and shifts like a dream. For some reason the rear hatch washer leaks on the hatch window when open and leaks when the hatch is closed. Been to selling dealer 5 times and tech support has been contacted. Per tech, installed Tiguan check valve and the thing still leaks washer fluid. Anyone else have this problem?

Report Abuse

Have never looked back

Matt, 11/15/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my 5th VW in my years. I grew up on them. I've wanted a GTI like mine for many years. Black on black. I wanted a car that would be fun and give me good gas mileage at the same time, and this thing does it all. I live in an area with awesome curvy roads and I truly enjoy driving it. I average 28 mpg in everyday driving. You can't go wrong with it as a family car as well.

Report Abuse

Wow fun in this pocket rocket!

Larry Orischak, 01/27/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this car! I looked at everything in it's class and just kept coming back to it! Have had for a year and it is still fantastic experience! Handling is superb and gas mileage is a real surprise and no On highway crossing Utah had cruise control set at 82mph and was getting 27 miles per gal. Around town 32 miles per gal.plus. Pick up is terrific and blows me away! and handling is tight and responsive! Seats are excellent for quick turns and no problems on long trips. Space in back is probably bigger than anything in it's class. Dash and controls are easy to read and to control. I have had some great cars in my 45 years of driving but this is the most fun yet! Love driving it!

Report Abuse

No regrets

Mr. Shandman , 02/27/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I didn't want to spend over 20k on my first car, but when I test drove this car, I didn't want to stop. It is so fun to drive and so comfortable. I've gotten endless complements on this car. I got the 18 inch wheels and the winter mats inside. I fell in love with the plaid seats as well.

Report Abuse

Fun, Fast, Sporty, yet Good Family

Mike, 03/04/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for a month now. I will not coment on reliability, because at this point its unknown, although nothing so far. This car really has some of the most comfortable seats I have been in. My wife says the same, and she usually doesn't care much. It has very quick performance and get pass very easily, even in 6th gear. It gets pretty good fuel economy, about 27.5 overall, and I got as much as 34 on the highway average (although it takes Premium fuel).

Report Abuse

possibly the greatest daily of all time

eldaino2, 03/23/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i can think of a more unbeatable combination of style, performance, and daily driveability. if you want a sport compact that can haul stuff, and people, efficiently, quietly, stylishly and look just at home on the track or local meet as it does taking your wife to a nice restaurant downtown and your kids to school, this is it. it strikes the perfect balance between sport and comfort (with a lean towards sport). other cars like the speed 3 and cobalt ss may be faster and handle a bit better, but they are by small margins, and those margins are not big enough to overlook what the GTI offers compared to those vehicles. a one trick pony it is not, but it very well may be the best dd of all time.

Report Abuse

Hated to see it go

cibaknife, 07/07/2011
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

First let me say this car is a blast to drive. Economical on gas, although it requires premium. Almost Audi-like quality for a much lower price. The most entertaining car I have ever had. I looked forward to driving it. The hatchback versatility was great. Now the bad: the first battery lasted about a year and gave out in the middle of a road trip. CEL came on another trip for an intake sensor. At 50k miles the intake manifold had to be placed. At 55K the mass airflow sensor went. Dealership had poor service. I got the car back from them and sold it. I don't have time to sit in a VW dealership or be without a car for weeks at a time. Hated to see it go, though.

Report Abuse

I have had many Golfs

Sheila Bernstein, 09/30/2015
2dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this 2009 GTI used in December 2009. I love the Golf, have had several regular Golfs and this is my 2nd GTI. I love the GTI, it feels like home when I sit in it. I call it my bye-bye car, because that is what I say to the people behind me at the traffic light. The pick up is fast, and I am gone in a flash! Have to be careful of speed traps because it is so easy to start speeding in this car without realizing it! I have gotten so many compliments on this car especially men, they love it! I have the white one with the plaid seats, I guess it catches the eye. I have not had any of the issues others are writing about, I did have to take it in once because my engine seemed to mess up once, could only go 20 miles an hour and lights were flashing, there was no reverse, scary! But I shut it off and when it started, it was okay again, the dealer said they could not find anything wrong and it has been a year and it is working just fine. The handling is tight and it hugs the road like no other car that I have had. This is my retirement car, so I am glad I love it! Test drive a GTI, you will not be disappointed!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050