Skip to main content

Used 2017 Toyota Prius Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$16,490 - $28,990

Used Prius for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...12

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

The Prius moves up in styling and performance.

Cliff Detz, 12/10/2016
2017 Toyota Prius Three Touring 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
72 of 75 people found this review helpful

The car's handling is a major improvement over that of my previous 2005 Prius. The exterior styling is bold and original. It is an improvement over the stale styling of previous model years. The interior passenger space provides a large amount of room for a small car. It is more comfortable than many larger sized vehicles, and for me the seats are comfortable and provide good support. The car is very quiet inside, a major improvement over my older model. The transition from battery mode to gas engine mode and vice versa is seamless and silent.The audio system produces excellent sound and is easily balanced between front and rear. Visibility ,however, could be better. The front windshield posts still result in blind spots in the front corners' visibility fields, but a bit less so than in my older model. The head rests on the rear seats obscure visibility out of the back and rear corners. I am thankful for the rear view camera. The basic instrument read outs are conveniently located and easy to read. There are a multiple of views for monitoring fuel economy and other performance parameters which are available by scrolling through a large number of screen views using buttons and arrows an the steering wheel. These are interesting but confusing, and they create a major distraction if one attempts to change views while driving. It is best to find the view you like before starting to drive. The voice recognition technology is very poor, particularly if one is used to Siri or Google's voice recognition. Getting it to provide navigation directions is an exercise in frustration, and I find myself defaulting to the map apps on my mobile phone. Toyota's Ensue applications system is a puzzle at best. One wonders why Toyota did not opt to use Apple Car or another system from a technology provider who knows how to build these systems so that they are convenient, intuitive and helpful. The Navigation app in the car suffers from the poor voice recognition system, and there appears to be no other way to enter information into it. The vehicle comes with a daunting multi inch thick manual which I have yet to crack open. However, I think that the operation of these systems should be intuitive. The car is equipped with lane departure warning which works well. It also has collision and pedestrian avoidance systems. However, for obvious reasons one cannot test these until hey are actually needed. I have not had the car long enough to rate its reliability and service requirements, but based on my previous experience with a Prius and other Toyota models, I am expecting a very high level of reliability

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

After a year of ownership- I still love it!

lifeisahighway, 01/07/2017
updated 01/10/2018
2017 Toyota Prius Four 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
34 of 35 people found this review helpful

I just purchased the Prius Four trim with both the Adavnced Tech and Premium Conveinence package after the VW diesel buyback of my Golf TDI. I LOVE this car! In anticipation of the VW buyback, my husband wanted to look at the Prius this past summer. I had never previously been remotely interested in the boring, awful to drive last generation model. Reluctantly, we went for a test drive; but to my surprise I loved it! Granted, the car doesn't have the immediate torque off the line like my Golf had; but the Prius is so comfortable. It has the best seats I've ever sat in for a car! I love the technology features! The auto high beams and dynamic radar cruise control are my favorite features. The only negatives for the car would be that I wish it handled a little better and that Toyota would allow the fog lights at least to be an option with the Four trim. In order to get the sunroof, you have to sacrifice the fog lights and the 17inch wheels. The car still handles well, but it's not quite as fun as my Golf was; but I think other drivers who aren't as picky as me, will be very happy with it. The smoothness over road imperfections with the double wishbone rear suspension along with the miles per gallon more than make up for it! No matter what others say, I love the unique design. I am glad that Toyota made a bold design change. It doesn't look like all the other cookie- cutter cars on the road. I'm officially a Prius convert, and I NEVER thought I would say that! UPDATE: After a year of ownership I still love this car! I wish that Toyota would make Apple CarPlay available. I scraped the front bumper on those parking bump stop things. The front seems so low! Now I’m extra careful when pulling into spaces. Maybe Toyota can make the front not as low or having the 360 around view camera like on the Rav 4. Other than those things, this has been the best car I’ve ever owned so far! It was a much better buying experience than with my Golf, and the service department at my dealership has been great! Next one will be a plug-in for sure!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Who wants 60+mpg???

Jack Johnson, 06/29/2017
2017 Toyota Prius Three Touring 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

I traded in my venerable 2004 Prius for the 2016 model... On the first fill up I got 58 mpg... Thereafter it went into the low 60s until winter set in, then it fell to 54mpg on the average. We live at 6,000ft with plenty of subzero days, so no complaint with gas mileage, only Kudos. Now that the weather has warmed again, I'm back in the 60s... All figures are calculated using a calculator and gas pump readings... not gauge indicated, which is often a bit higher. The ride is very comfortable and handling is great. The so-called poor acceleration isn't a problem... There is plenty of "juice" for me. I can pass anything on the road, even a gas station! I was injured in a fall, and haven't driven for 5 months, so can hardly wait to get back into the little bugger and get rolling again. P.S. Last fall I took it 200 miles into the mountains and went over a 12,000 ft pass twice in the same day. It still got 60 mph on the next fill up.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Prius Two Eco is a terrific car!

John Kuhn, 09/22/2017
updated 09/26/2022
2017 Toyota Prius Two Eco 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

I've put over 2500 miles on my 2017 Prius Two Eco, including a drive out to Wyoming and back from Wisconsin. My expectations have been exceeded. Fuel economy is nothing short of amazing! It uses that battery a lot to enable it to run without the engine under light load. On my highway trip at 70 mph including stops, I was able to average 55 mpg. Around home at slower speeds on secondary roads, >60mpg is pretty easy. The engine turns on and off seamlessly while driving the car. Plenty of headroom, and I can completely stretch my legs (I'm 6' tall). Seat comfort is fine, although not quite as comfortable as my former VW on long trips. Available power is also fine, although does not feel as effortless as my former turbodiesel 6-speed manual. Climate control is outstanding, very efficient, and intuitive to use, as are all the HVAC and radio controls. Adaptive radar cruise control worked well and is a nice feature. Automatic high beam dimming, and lane drift warning works well. My car did not have any flaws when I picked it up, and I have not uncovered anything yet. Hopefully the legendary Toyota reliability will continue to be the case. Update on Mar 21, 2018: Car has over 12,000 miles now, and has been through a Wisconsin winter. I put dedicated Nokian snow tires on it, and it worked great. Mileage of course drops noticeably during winter, especially shorter trips. Worst tank was 45 mpg, and overall average to date is 55 mpg. No reliability issues, starts instantly in cold weather, heater kicks out heat quickly, and plenty of room for trips. I have no idea why this car isn't a best seller, people don't know what they're missing. Update Sep 22, 2018: Car has over 23,000 miles now, have done several interstate trips. Average mileage for the whole year is over 58 mpg. There have been no repairs required, except for a leaking tire due to a wood screw in it. My one complaint about that is the warning light on the dash for low tire pressure is very small, off to the side among other indicator lights, and it doesn't blink. So I missed seeing it, and only noticed the low tire by seeing it on the car. More than ever, though, I'd say this is an awesome vehicle that should be a best seller. Update Sep 24, 2019: Car has over 37,000 miles now, zero problems in the past year. Averaged 58 mpg for the second year, even with the bitterly cold winter we had. Changed the air cleaner at 30K miles, a job that can literally be done with no tools in 30 seconds. In summer on local roads I average around 70 mpg, in winter it's mostly in the 50's. Still impressed by the comfortable ride, HVAC system, and spaciousness. Update 24 Mar '20: Odometer now over 45K miles. I have had one failure. The automatic headlight high beam dimming stopped working. Allegedly (internet forum) the sensor is between the rear view mirror mount and the windshield, and the windshield collects a film from interior plastic out-gassing that can only be cleaned by taking off the mirror mount, which I haven't done. Otherwise car continues to perform as it always has. Update 24 Sep 20: Car now has 49,258 miles and is just over three years old. No failures since the last comments, and mileage for the third year is 57 mpg, down one. I attribute this to relatively more winter driving compared to summer driving, because of Covid. Haven't driven nearly as much since March. Update 24 Mar '21: All is well with my Prius, no issues to report. Odometer passed 53,000 miles, and gas mileage unchanged. With rising gas prices, there will probably be more people wishing they owned this car. I'm happy! Update 24 Sep '21: I'm now at almost 60K miles. I've done one repair since last March. I replaced the front brake disks, which had become very rusty and noisy. I believe the reason is that I mostly use regenerative braking, so the road salt and light rust doesn't get scraped off well. The back brakes are fine, and I believe that is because the back brakes engage slightly before the fronts. The new rotors are coated ones from Raybestos. The entire repair, which I did myself, only cost $83, and was not difficult. My overall gas mileage since purchasing the car remains over 58 mpg. As of Mar 23, '22, I have almost 66,000 miles on the car. No new issues, fuel economy is about the same. Sure am glad to have this roomy, comfortable, and reliable car with the high gas prices! Sept 24, '22 at 71,400 miles. No issues since last report. Cumulative annual gas mileage continues to be 57-58 mpg. This should be a bestselling car, except some in the media and industry have convinced the public that it's ugly and SUVs are the way to go.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

85k mile update

Prius lover, 11/27/2016
updated 12/08/2022
2017 Toyota Prius Two Eco 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
23 of 24 people found this review helpful

There has been no change in performance over the past 25k miles. The car traveled on a cross-country 7k mile trip during summer 2022 and was a joy to drive. There have been no mechanical issues and nothing done to the car except for routine maintenance which I always have done at the dealer. There is one small complaint: the wheels are completely tarnished. They were once silver, but have turned dark grey/black and there is no way to clean them. I have tried everything and had the car detailed one or two times and they will not come clean. There is also some paint/finish peeling off next to the hatchback window. This seems to occur on many Prius'.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...12
Items per page: