Used 2006 Suzuki Reno Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,587 - $3,107

Used Reno for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2006 Suzuki Reno

dora5, 05/16/2012
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I purchased my car in 2011 at 48,000 miles, and the biggest problem is that it isn't good on gas. Also, I was told by a mechanic at a a Goodyear Service Center two days ago that I might need struts, rack and pinion work and rods!!! Even though the car was given a clean bill of health just six months ago, and only has 52,000 miles on it. Today, I went to the Suzuki authorized service center and they said I don't need anything but an alignment and new wipers. They thought the struts where getting dry, but not a problem. Seems to me Goodyear wanted to make a little money. To be safe, I am taking it to a third shop just in case. Luckily, I purchased an extended warranty.

Report Abuse

Okay Car for the Money

Renee', 07/12/2010
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used. I have not had to do anything to it except oil changes and standard maintenance stuff. It's almost time to replace the tires. The price of the standard tires was higher than I expected. Every tire place I went to said they were not a size they stocked, so that was surprising. But overall, I really like the car so far. Have not had any mechanical issues. The main thing is to remember it is an inexpensive car, don't expect it to drive like a Mercedes or you're setting yourself up for disappointment. But great car, glad we bought it.

Report Abuse

Nothing but Trouble from the Start

John, 11/21/2006
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought this Reno new and since day "two" it's been nothing but trouble. The second day it left us stranded and wouldn't start. The dealer towed it back said it was fixed. We got six miles from dealer it stopped again. The dealer had it for six days returned it said it was all fixed. Then three days later the same thing happened, it wouldn't start. The dealer had it again and replaced more parts. It runs now, but gets poor fuel economy - only 20 mpg in the city. Yesterday my wife started it, turned on heater, and it sounded like a bomb went off. There was some acorns packed in heater. We called dealer and he said it was not their problem. I took it apart and there is NO screen over the heater motor under hood and it was full of nuts. The tranny still doesn't shift right. I will never buy another Suzuki. It is the worst car I have ever bought!

Report Abuse

Great Car for a Low Price

Wunderly, 12/18/2009
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I bout this car used at 4600 miles for about 6 grand at an auto auction. I have had this car for almost a year and I have have no problems with it so far, engine is easy to maintain. one issue is that the dashboard can glare on to the windshield, but other then that small detail the car is a good one to own for high school and college age kids.

Report Abuse

2nd Reno and would buy again

CableGuy30, 07/17/2010
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

Ok. So I see all these bad reviews on here, and dealing with the public I know more people complain than compliment. So here goes my story. This is my second Reno. First one had for 9 months, 27,000 miles. No problems. Until it got totaled when got hit by a semi truck. I walked away from the wreck. This one now has 76,000 miles and no problems. The a/c is poor, but tint the Windows and that takes care of 2 things at once. Makes the car look even better and helps the a/c. I wish they still made this car cause I would buy another one.

Report Abuse

Worst mistake of my life

Sansaloo, 12/04/2015
Convenience 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought this car and an emergency car in January 2014 after I totaled my last car. Car was great for 5 months when the check engine came on. Turns out it was the throttle body, which was no longer made. Dealt with it for another year and few months before everything started going wrong. Lower control arms needed replaced, quickly followed by having to replace the entire shifter assembly. Both front and rear struts need replaced, including the mounting and stabilizers. Rack and pinions are starting to leak, has to replace a oil gasket, and now the throttle position sensor is shot. Only a dealer can calibrate a new one, and you have to replace the whole throttle body, not just the sensor. Only 69100 miles on this car, it shouldn't have all these issues!

Safety
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Pretty Fun Little Car so Far

SMR, 02/08/2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

So I have only had my 2006 Suzuki Reno for about two weeks but it has been pretty impresive for the money. Let's face it, it's a cheap mode of transport. But it's got some class that's for sure. I think the Italian design really helps. To me it looks better than cars out there that cost twice as much. It's very European looking. It could be that the car is actually a Holden Viva from Australia which was basically rebadged as a Suzuki. Overall I have been quite impressed by this stylish little guy. If you like the little European cars (like I do), then you won't be dissapointed. Test drive one and I think you will see what I mean.

Report Abuse

Reno-The most overlooked compact

Tony123, 06/03/2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Suzuki makes a great car. The build quality, fit and finish a reliability challenge the best compacts out there. But it seems that the rest of the world sees Suzuki's as "bottom of the barrel" cars. This is definitely not true. I have been so pleased with my Reno. My gas mileage is better then what the sticker stated. I average 32-34 mpg with local driving. The car is extremely roomy and comfortable. The transmission is smooth and easy-maybe not as refined as a Sentra or Corolla - but better than any Focus, Cobalt or Elantra. I just bought my wife an XL-7, she loves it. If you like the European style and the practical benefits of a hatchback, test drive a Reno-you will be pleasantly surprised.

Report Abuse

Horrible Experience

Tabitha Harmon, 09/25/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car to have a dependable vehicle. It has had so many problems. I have had it in the shop for the transmission (5x), the washer fluid box (2x), the air bag (1x), the windshield wipers (2x), and the AC (5x). Every time, the dealership promises the car is fixed, but it certainly is not. Now they are saying they are not going to pay to have the AC fixed because they claim a mouse has gotten in it. Yet, they have no proof of this. I'm really getting fed up with Suzuki.

Report Abuse

2006 Suzuki Reno

Shauna, 08/07/2016
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I got an '06 Reno in October of '15. It had 51k miles. I was surprised to find that this vehicle did not have cruise control, as many older vehicles (different make) do. The mpgs are not very good, even when using high octane fuel and keeping maintenance regular (correct air pressure in tires, clean air filter, oil changes ever 3k miles). I've already had to replace the head gasket in the engine. Come to find out there was an air bag/warranty issue for Renos, that effect/affect mine, according to the VIN. Not sure if it was the best choice, but I needed a car. It's still good, just think that an '06 vehicle, regardless of who it's from, should have cruise control. According to good 'ol Google, '06 Renos get 20 city and 28 highway.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

I dont get it

aaron98762001, 12/13/2013
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've been reading reviews and not one was good. My reno will fly, i read one that said it had trouble keeping up in traffic. To be a 2.0 this car is fast, i believe very dependable. I've had no trouble, it's a little rough on gas. But alot better than my 6 cylinder.

Report Abuse

Great Car for the Money

Tony, 06/04/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just purchased this car because of its looks and how it drives, On the road all you see these days is Hondas and Toyotas I wanted to be diffrent and bought a Reno. The car is very spacious and very confortable, it rides well too.

Report Abuse

The worst car ever!

Jena, 05/21/2010
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

I purchased my vehicle in 2007. I hate it. It only has 3,000. miles on it. My transmission is failing, the air bag light is on, and engine light is on too. I called Suzuki to help me. But I have to pay for everything to see what's wrong and most thing aren't covered. It doesn't start always. I have 2 children and i am unemployed at this time. They told me that only interior thing are covered under warranty until 100,000 miles. The transmission is not shifting right and it jerks when it shifts. Gas not so good. I called corporate and they couldn't help me either. Not worth the money. Too many problems. And its not only me. What should I do.

Report Abuse

Piece of junk

Ed, 10/18/2010
2 of 6 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car in 2006. Since then its been in the shop at least 6 times. I've had major issues with the transmission sensor. When the sensor goes bad the car does not move. I was driving this car to work at the speed limit of 50, then I had to stop for a light, when I was taking off the check engine light came on and the car had almost no power. If I knew then what I know now I would have opted for a better car. I would never purchase another Suzuki. I guess you get what you pay for. Oh and getting rid of it is much more difficult considering its worthless.

Report Abuse

Under the Shadow

JP007, 11/15/2006
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

While overshadowed by bigger names such as the Toyota Scion series, Mazda, Honda, and others, the Suzuki Reno stands as the under dog. With "European Styling", a comfortable and spacious interior,a fun driving experience, and an affordable price tag, the Suzuki Reno is perfect for the average college student or young person. The Reno is an all-around fun car, and you wont be embarrassed to show it off to your friends. I would suggest the Suzuki Reno to anyone in the market for a very nice and practical new car.

Report Abuse

Some Quirks

Good & Bad, 06/20/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

To start, let me say I really do love this car. But, it has had many problems that make it annoying at times. I had the problem with it not starting for the 1st 6mo I had it-the dealership could never fix it but it stopped happening. Then I had an airflow problem (scary)- The tires wore out (low profile)at 24000. And, I've had non-stop issues with the airbag sensor, that they just can't seem to fix. I was just told that it would probably need a new Serp. belt soon. But, the car is fun to drive, sporty, decent on mpg. MPG could be better for a car this size, but It's better than an SUV! If you know how to drive the automatic as a manual (as you can in this car) really gets up and goes.

Report Abuse

So far - so good

BK, 07/14/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We have 30,000 miles on our Reno and have not had it in the shop yet. It starts easily and is pretty good on fuel. I drive 40 miles round trip to work and run a few errands around town in it. It is a manual 5 speed and we average 35 miles per gallon consistantly around town. The air is pretty weak and living in Florida can be a bit frustrating. Overall, we have been pleased but we are holding our breath. We also owned a Suzuki Verona at the same time that was a nightmare - we finally got rid of it, thank God.

Report Abuse

Bad Car

Kat, 01/08/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the worst car I have ever owned. I started having problems when it was only a few weeks old. It took forever to get the problem fixed. Then the car had the head light not working problem. Then my front drivers seat came disconnected from the base. The tires wore out in under a year. The check engine light keeps coming on for no reason. The mileage is not good for that small a car. I was just told that I already need to replace the rear breaks. The service from Suzuki is bad. They knew about the starter problem when I called and told me they were working on a fix, I would just have to wait. I only had the car for less then a month. It is a bad, bad, bad car. I used to love Suzuki.

Report Abuse

They "Got" me!!

K. payne, 02/27/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

we purchased our reno right after we got married as a 2nd car, boy what a mistake we made. I think the car stayed in the shop more than we drove it; head light continues to go out for now reason, airbag light on, dealer don't know why, no good a/c heater output, replaced tires under a year, middle console will not close and we had to the timing belt in less than a year. This car is a piece of crap, can't trade cause it's worth nothing. Biggest mistake we ever made

Report Abuse

No problems in 30,000 Miles

PSJ, 04/24/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Love the car. Got what I expected which was reliable service with no a problem to date at 30 thousand miles. Car has good vision fields and ride is tight and solid but it is a small car ride so if you think you're getting a Lexus at this price wakeup... although with all the radio and cruise controls on the steering wheel you will feel like you got more than you paid for. Oldest kid going off for college this fall. She wants and will get one for graduation.

Report Abuse

Reliable Little Buggy for 2 Years Now

Harvester, 05/16/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has to be one of the best deals I've ever gotten on a used car. Bought it less than a year old, with 8500 miles. The cost was already 2/3 of a new one. All the complaints I've read about have never happened to me. There were 3 recalls that the Suzuki dealer performed - one for a wiring harness, one for a seatbelt thing, and the other for the running lights. I took this car on a road trip across Texas and back and was very good on gas. For $200 I put a Pioneer radio and it made all the difference in the world. The speakers are actually very nice sounding if you put some wattage behind them.

Report Abuse

Underrated Commuter Superstar!

Jamin, 11/17/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I work as a salesperson in the car business and I drive a variety of cars and trucks on a daily basis. Some are nicer, faster, bigger, and tow better than others. For me, this vehicle works. I work downtown and I needed a small, reliable commuter that was reasonable on gas but still fun to drive. This car delivers. I bought it with just over 40k miles on it and so far have had no problems. The flat torque curve of this engine allows it to pull even in 5 gear which is unusual for a car this size. I went with an 8 for reliability due to my short ownership. The car handles like a go-cart and winds up nicely. I paid 6k used (it's a 2006)- (a deal a customer could have gotten) Value-wise-- 10!

Report Abuse

Worst car ever buyers beware

dk676, 12/27/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my car because i needed a four door due to having a child & i wish i never had! I had over $600 in work done and was told it should help the gas mileage it made it worse. Now they tell me its normal. They dont tell you about recalls until you call for other issues or hear about it from someone else. I had the transmission replaced & that took over two weeks & 2 different transmissions. The dealer never called me i had to call them to check on the car. My brother also has one and he has had his in the shop more than he gets to drive it. My suggestion is dont ever buy a suziki they are the biggest piece of crap ever made & they dont care as long as you are making your payments!

Report Abuse

A great overlooked runabout

Ev, 04/22/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's easy to miss the Suzuki Reno. It is overshadowed by the heavily promoted Scions, Toyotas and Hondas, little Suzuki is well, little known. I hadn't heard of the Reno until I saw one at the auto show, and was immediatly drawn to it. After an hour of test driving it, the Reno sits in front of my apartment. Aside from the obsurity of the car, what really sets the Reno apart is the amazing level of standard equipmet. My base model came with side airbags, power windows, locks and mirrors, steering assist, 8 speaker am/fm/cd/tape, and of course the European insired hatch design. My only complaint is the gas mileage is not up to the standards of the class (see Honda Fit, Scion xA, etc).

Report Abuse

Not too Shabby

tiffany, 05/04/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new after months of looking online at CPO / used cars. I actually got it for well below invoice price, which was one major reason that I purchased it. I am pleasantly surprised by the quality and performance of it. The interior is simple yet stylish, and has plenty of room. The exterior is a sleek, European hatchback look. There are great features included for the price. I am actually pretty happy with my purchase. The only thing I am disappointed in is the fuel economy. A car this small should be able to get more than 22 mpg (city). My '03 Honda Civic gets 29 mpg.

Report Abuse

The Most Power and Style for the Money

JC, 06/07/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Reno is a great car with Italian design. It has more power than the Toyota Yaris, Honda Fit, Scion xA or XB, and the Chevrolet Aveo. It has more standard features and a longer warranty as well. I bought this car for well below invoice. I love this car. You can not find a better value. Compare it piece by piece to the others and you will see.

Report Abuse

Quality Car

JING, 07/25/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Suzuki Reno has a great air conditioner, it's cold air at start-up, and tinted windows, something the other small cars do not seem to have. These things have a lot of value in the Southwest desert. It runs smoothly and is very quiet at and above the posted speed limit on the highway. The seats are comfortable and the audio is great. It comes standard with 4 wheel disc brakes and good sized 15" tires.

Report Abuse

The Reno is Excellent

nonie, 03/02/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I own a 2006 Suzuki Reno and I'm very happy with it's performance. I'm lovin'it. It comes standard with a ton of features for the price and I must say that it is a great value. It looks beautiful from both the inside and outside. It runs better than a Honda Civic. It's so smooooooooooooooooooooth, you gotta' drive it to feel that. If you don't want to take my word for it, go out and give it a try. I'm sure you'll thank me.

Report Abuse

I Love this Car

parul, 03/02/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Suzuki Reno is a perfect car for students, couples and singles. If you are in the market for a coupe...go for this one. It looks neat and small, but it's actually spacious inside has more room for tall people. It is very smooth. You don't even feel it when you are going 80 miles an hour. Its brakes are good. What else do you need in a vehicle that costs less than $15,000. Rather then buying a used vehicle, buy a Suzuki Reno.

Report Abuse

What the VW's GTI should be.

EC Transplant, 03/15/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car as a replacement to my 2000 VW. Value for the money, you can't beat this car. No problems whatsoever. I have entered this car in several autocross events and it has shamed cars costing at least twice as much. The styling is distinctive and euro, a nice touch. Interior is simple, the way I like it with just the right amount of convenience such as power windows, mirrors, and locks. Although the car's suspension is soft (see below), the overall balance is great. If Suzuki can bump the car up to about 150 bhp and stiffen up the suspension at least 50% the car would be a hit with hot hatch enthusiasts everywhere.

Report Abuse

A Great Overlooked European Designed Car

B E, 03/21/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

When I came home with the Suzuki Reno, most people asked "What is that?" The first comment made by most people is "It looks very European." It truly is one of those cars that makes an appearnce in every French film. This car is a hidden treasure, consider that power windows, locks, mirrors, an am/fm/cd/ tape palyer, heated mirrors and side airbags all come standard on the base model! The 5 speed manual transmission is smooth, buttery, and matched to the 1.8 liter engine makes for a peppy little car!

Report Abuse

I Love the Little Car

David, 07/28/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I looked at the Reno as a way to save gas money and miles on my "toy" that is horible on gas and was racking up too many miles. I like the usefulness of the hatch, the features, and best of all the price. I have not had any real problems with the car with the exception of a computer reflash that fixed the idle problem. I hit it a bit on performance (see below), but the car is fun to drive and performs up to expectations and then sum when compared to the direct competition. I still like to drive my expensive sports car, but don't miss it too much on comutes in the reno. Oh, its gas milage is realy good. I keep track of it. I geuss Suzuki doesn't overblow the numbers like most do.

Report Abuse

Don't buy this car!

Cris, 10/13/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Suzuki Reno is totally unreliable. After I had the car for just five days, I began to have problems starting my 2006 Reno every morning. After two and a half weeks with the car in the shop, I was put in a 2007 Reno, which developed “hard start” issues, again in five days. In both cars, the “passenger airbag off” light stayed illuminated regardless of my having a passenger. The dealer put me back in the original Reno, claiming it’s been fixed, which I do not trust yet. Suzuki never returns my phone calls. Their customer service is non-existent. If I could get them to void my contract, I would and I would never again buy a Suzuki or recommend one to anyone, even my worst enemy. Don’t even consider this car!

Report Abuse

Call This a "Bug"gy

knoxvilledavid, 10/26/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Reno is a great car if you like getting 20 mpg around town, and cranking the engine multiple times to get her started. I had to crank my '06 two dozen times once trying to go home from work for an appointment. Add to that several trips for service every few days for nine months while Suzuki's "engineers" worked out a "fix." The "fix" should have been to give me a full refund of my money!

Report Abuse

My Little Tomato

little red tomato, 01/22/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I like my little red tomato. It's great on gas, I went from Patchogue to Riverhead everyday and it costs me $20 - $25 filling at 1/4 tank, depending on the gas prices for the week. For the price it's a good car, I haven't had any problems.

Report Abuse

Awesome toy

russgoble, 08/13/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the car and to be honest with you, stock, the car isn't much, but after putting some 17" rims, limo tint, a sound system, underglow light, a custom grille and much more, that car has turned into a one of a kind here where I live. The manual has a lot more power than it look like. Adding NOS, turbo chargers, intake, exhaust will really make this car get up and race with the best. If anyone wants a car at an affordable price that you want to fix up and make unique, then I recommend this car

Report Abuse

Reno's great mileage and Comfort

Robert Garrison, 03/15/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I kept looking at that Reno sitting up a pedistal outside the dearlership for about a month. The looks and the price was very attractive. I decided to stop and see how the performance was and to tell you the truth. I was actually surprised by what that 2.0 liter will do. If your not afraid to put your foot in it, it will get you down the road quick. Anyway, I am 6'2" and I fit in that car like Jim Carey says, "like a glovvvveee". It handles real well, and the mileage...OMG...I go to Illinois from Alabama and I don't stop for gas until I get to Champagne which is like 450 miles from Huntsville. I love this car. Great car!

Report Abuse

Happy so far.

Reno Owner, 05/29/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought a 06 Reno a few years ago and so far has been a reliable car, overall I like the car. I'm around 6-2ish and I fit comfortably into the vehicle. No knees into the glove box, no hair touching the upholstry on the roor. Has gotten a bit cramped with the addition of a car seat, had to move pass seat forward. Have not had any major mechanical problems to this point. Have not experienced the bad starting as some others have. Did eat through the factory serp belt though by 36,000. Have flushed the engine cooling system and serviced the auto trans, no problems with the fluid exchanges either. MPG is nothing to totally rave about, but full it once a week, not terrible.

Report Abuse

Garbage

Dan, 06/07/2018
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I would’ve given it all 1 star but I’m an honest man.... headlights are garbage they just love to short out..... transmission is garbage no dipstick maintenance free and the mechanics can’t give me a transmission flush because it takes a special square tool to get the access port that they didn’t have and Autozone and advanced auto didn’t sell it either online it was 49 dollars. Transmission skips like crazy and is a safety hazard.... Visibility is poor out the front but horrible in the back.... listen this car is garbage the bad out weighs the good

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050