Used 2014 Subaru XV Crosstrek Hybrid 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT) Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$9,990 - $19,990

Used XV Crosstrek for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

I Love THIS car!

holderad, 01/27/2014
Hybrid 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
47 of 48 people found this review helpful

I love my 2014 Plasma Green Crosstrek Hybrid. My one word description: Awesome! The hybrid system works significantly better than any hybrid I test drove. It is used for power / torque augmentation more than fully powering the car most of the time. I think Subaru under-reported their MPG figures on purpose. The car is not even broken in, and I'm getting almost 38 MPG highway and so far about 31.7 MPG with downtown driving. The car does some kinda magic with the CVT and that electric motor. It is seamless. The car has "the pull" at all speeds that it's all gas brother just doesn't. I mean, you can feel the surge at highway speeds when you stand on it to pass. The symmetrical AWD is fantastic!

Report Abuse

XV Hybrid Gulf Coast

ts45, 02/09/2014
Hybrid 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

XV Hybrid since 12/28/2013, Satin White Pearl, St.trim. Our first Subaru, had several Honda's in the past..My wife is main driver, have taken plenty of opportunity to drive myself. We are really happy with our purchase, test drove the 2014 Forester and 2014 non hybrid XV, both nice but were sold on the Hybrids ride and refinement. The base Audio system has been nice, a good quality CD recording sounds fine, a bad CD one, bad… Blue tooth is working well, takes a little time to Pair.This is our first CVT Transmission, very impressed, love it. Hill climbs are really smooth and quiet, no sudden gear change, plenty of torque, love the CVT. Have observed Gas MPG 33+, about 50/50 City/HGWY.

Report Abuse

Not Feeling the Subaru Love!

Daniel S., 08/30/2016
Hybrid 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

I purchased the Crosstrek Hybrid based on winter handling performance and recommendations from family members who have owned multiple Subarus (but not this model). In the past, I've owned other AWD/4WD vehicles, including a Nissan Pathfinder, Nissan X-Terra, Jeep Cherokee and Toyota RAV-4. My Crosstrek is the worst performer of the bunch. While I can't speak for the standard Crosstrek, the hybrid places the heavy battery components in the back, which changes performance dynamics IMHO. The first thing I noticed was the horrible winter braking. The car just slides and doesn't stop (even with new Michelin All-Season tires). As for hugging the road, the car has a tendency to hop and skip with any imperfection in the road. Sometimes I feel like the car is catching air. You just don't feel like the car is sure-footed in bad conditions. My girlfriend has a 2WD Honda CR-V, and she thinks it handles much better. I think the Crosstrek is too light and I think the battery in the back is affecting performance. I have other gripes too. The Crosstrek eats tires, even with long tread-rated tires and even after proper balance and alignment. With the Hybrid, you can't get a trail hitch because of the back battery placement. The Bluetooth really stinks and takes 4-5 tries before connecting with an iPhone. Even when driving the speed limit and gently, the car doesn't come close to stated MPG. Most of the time I'm at 23-26 MPG. This is a hybrid for heaven's sake? Lastly, I question the electronics. The first week I had this car "new", the check engine light came on and the dealership needed to re-program something to fix it. It took them a few days and I had to rent a car, which they never reimbursed me for. Occasionally the passenger "check airbag" light comes on, but then it's fine for a few months. The car doesn't look bad. And it's somewhat comfortable on the inside. Fit and finish are not bad. Rear cargo space is tiny - so you'll need a roof shell for any family vacation. But winter performance is where the rubber meets the road - and the Hybrid Crosstrek falls way short. I will never ever buy a Subaru again and am definitely not feeling the Subaru love.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Subaru Crosstrek Hybred: Total Lemon?

Frustrated Subaru owner, 05/17/2016
Hybrid 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
29 of 34 people found this review helpful

After having a Toyota for over 10 years then a Honda CRV for over 10 years with no issues, my husband and I decided to purchase a a Subaru Crosstrek Hybred 2014 which looks good on the outside (but BIG MISTAKE). By January 2015 a message appeared in the dash board whenever I started the car that said(check hill star assist). At my first service, I told the service people and they told me they did not find anything wrong, nor saw the message. I continued to drive the car with the message appearing on and off when finally in November/December 2015 more messages appeared and check engine light appeared and stayed on all the time. I made an appointment to get the car checked in November, this time they told me they fixed it and the lights went away. Within a few months after they told me they (fixed it) the messages reappeared and I brought the car back in March for them to "fix" again. I waited for about an hour and they called me and told me they fixed the problem and the messages and lights were gone. As soon as I turned on the car and try to drive off all the lights and messages reappeared, I called the service person who took the car and said they were going to check it again. After waiting for over an hour they finally told me they there was a transmission control cover problem and they would have to keep the car until June 2015 because they had to order the part. In the middle of April after not receiving an update from Subaru, I finally called and after a few choice words with the manager they told me the car will be ready at the end of April. On April Friday 29, 2015 I received a call from Subaru and they told me they changed the transmission control cover and the lights went away and every thing was fine. So I picked up the car that same day (Friday April 29, 2015). By Sunday May 1 (2 days after picking up the car) those lights that they claimed went away reappeared. I had to take the car back (May 2) and am still waiting May 17, 2015 for word on what is the problem. At this point I am very ANGRY at the run around. I got the warranty which I am using for now to "fix" the car but what is going to happen when it runs out.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

WARNING, DO NOT BUY CROSSTREK

Steve, 12/06/2016
Hybrid 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
13 of 17 people found this review helpful

WARNING, DO NOT buy a Subaru Crosstrek Hybrid or a Crosstrek due to VERY POOR QUALITY. Subaru IS NOT building Hybrid models any longer because the hybrid system is faulty after 2016. What does this mean? Repair costs will be high. Parts will be expensive. Long wait times since technicians no longer need to be certified so there will be less technicians available to fix your car. There is a critical fault in the hybrid motor that will cost you $1,000s and these issues will persist Our car only has 56k miles and it's been in the shop for 2 months. They also replaced the driver's seat because the metal frame was sticking thru the leather? Poor quality. We bought a new 2014 Crosstrek hybrid for $31k, 2.7 years ago. Today, 5 Dec 2016, Subaru offered $12,500 for the trade-in? This car depreciates fast. YOU WILL LOSE $12,000 if you buy new after the first year and $19,000 after (2) years. Meanwhile, they get rich. Subaru is not the Subaru we once knew. They are making cheap products that break more often and the car no longer holds the value it once did. PLEASE MAKE A SMART DECISION. It's your money. And they don't care about it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12
Items per page: