Used 2005 Saturn L300 Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,587 - $3,308

Used L300 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

A dark-horse winner

Phil, 05/16/2006
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

We chose the L300 over the Mazda6, VW Passat, and Subaru Legacy and we couldn't be happier. It is a sharp looking car that you don't see at every street corner, and the V6 is underrated in its performance--this car goes. It's a blast to drive and has been completely reliable. You really can't beat it for the money--with all the incentives, the car was thousands less as equipped than others in its class, and in my opinion far better looking to boot. Even the mileage is commendable considering the abundant power (we average 24 to 30 mpg).

Report Abuse

Excellent value

Curtis, 01/10/2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Very good car for the money. The few folks who gave negative comments about this car must expect BMW or Mercedes performance. You are not paying for a BMW or Mercedes.

Report Abuse

Saturn L300

BBarnett224, 11/06/2004
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This Saturn has the ride of a heaVIER CAR, THE ROAD PREFORMANCE IS EXCELLENT, IT IS COMFORTaBLE TO DRIVE, ALL CONTROLS ARE WITHIN EASY REACH OF THE DRIVER. Quiet inside the passenger compartment. roomy ,large trunk, good gas mileage Lumbar control is out of place for driver located to the right side twist knob operation(should be power controlled)

Report Abuse

Great at nothing

Benny, 10/17/2008
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

I owned this car for several years and put over 50K on it. It was reliable, never had a major repair! But that was all the good I can say. The car had no personality. It had average power, average gas mileage, average handling, looks were bland and the car was absolutely no fun to drive. The plastic body made the car sound as if you were doing 110mph wile simply cruising down the highway at 60mph.

Report Abuse

Best Kept Secret

ivan, 09/28/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

At first I regretted my purchase and thought I wanted to hang myself for not getting the 2006 Hyundai Sonata. After 4 days of driving it I realized that this car is great and I no longer feel remorse. It handles well and though it can do better on gas and the comfort for back seat passengers is not all that great I love this car. I love driving it and it was better than Honda or any mid sized sedan Ford have to offer (in my opinion). This car is like one of the best kept secrets. I am very happy with the L300 2005 and hope to have it for at least 8 years!

Report Abuse

I will always buy a Saturn

MCaz21, 09/06/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my second Saturn L series, I had an 2003 L200, but the L200 doesn't compare to the L300 V6. Big difference in fuel economy. I get better gas mileage on the interstate with the V6 than the 4 cyl. I have never had a problem with my Saturn's and will always own one.

Report Abuse

Girlfriends

Hoagie, 08/11/2005
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

This car is an acceptable midsize vehicle. The 3L engine keeps it moving. Car was quite comfortable on a 200 mile trip. Gas mileage (26 mph on the trip) could probably be better. The black paint shows swirls, and even though the dealership buffed it out, they reappeared.

Report Abuse

Bad Warranty response

What Warranty?, 07/15/2005
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

My L300 burns oil at start-up like a bug fogger and after 3 month. the dip stick showed no oil. It took 3.25 quarts to bring in to full on the stick and this was the second trip to the dealer for the same problem. The dealer agrees that it is burning oil badly, but they and Saturn want me to bring it back every 500 miles for an oil consuption test. I asked why the volume was an issue instead of the problem. Saturn requires this test was the answer. A new 2005 L300 bug defogger is what I got and no one will fix the problem.

Report Abuse

Never Again

Never_Again, 05/30/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My L300 has been back to the dealership twice for the same problem and they have done nothing about it. Two weeks ago when I brought it in they assigned me a tracking ID and said if it happens again to give them a call. When the gas tank is full and you come to a stop you can hear and feel all of the gas rushing forward. The car also makes many interior vibration noises.

Report Abuse

I love my Saturn!

Ida D, 07/26/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my second Saturn, both in the L series. My son-in-law now owns one and my daughter just bought a Relay. What can I say, we love them! And just as important, if not more so - the sales and service department treat me like a consumer rather than a woman. I got so tired of sales people asking if "my husband" needed to be consulted about the purchase of the automobile, or the service department looking at me funny as I described my concern as a series of sounds. Neither of these things has ever been the case at Saturn, and that alone will at least keep me coming back for this product.

Report Abuse

My car

l300, 10/30/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I like the style of the car as well as the performance and safety features. If you want a luxury car without the luxury price go for the Saturn L300 you won't be disappointed!

Report Abuse

Practical value

GROOVYDRVR, 07/05/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my car! While not the best quality around, it is a good value for its price and reliability. My door handles are on the cheap side, but because Saturn won't be making the L300 anymore, they're offering all kinds of incentives to buyers such as free leather seating and thousands off the sticker price, so all in all, we like our car.

Report Abuse

Love my Saturn

Saturnlover, 05/10/2005
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Saturn makes a great car for the money a person must pay to get one. This will be my 3rd Saturn, I have owned a 2003, 2004 and now a 2005. The people are always so friendly to me and my family. I plan to buy more Saturn's in the future. I can't wait for the new 2006 Saturn Aura. They do need to make the inside a bit more quiet. The road noise is sometimes a little loud, but that's what the advanced audio system is for. Reach over, crank it up, and the noise is gone!!!

Report Abuse

Saturn L300

Denis Gray M.Div., 07/06/2005
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

My Saturn has been absolutely reliable from day one. Its styling, and fit and finish (especially the paint finish) evoke frequent compliments.The Saturn dealership's treatment is always warm and personal . This is my second Saturn. Previously I had a 2001 SC2 model, which I would also rate a 9+ for overall satisfaction. Our L300 is never in need of repair or even adjustment. Pre-service was faultless. The power(V6),transmission 4-speed automatic, handling and braking, traction control, and side curtains make it fun and safe to drive. Especially bad weather in our area has tested every vehicle on the road. The auto club guy stated he has never towed a Saturn.

Report Abuse

Plastic junk

b, 04/08/2005
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought it because of the 0% and have hated the car ever since. Its plastic feel and noisy ride are hideous. They do not hold any sort of resale value, and contrary to what I had heard, the customer service at the dealership has been plain horrible. What I would not give to have my Toyota back!! If you are thinking about buying a Saturn..DON"T! It's worth it to look for something better.

Report Abuse

L300

Gaylen Volk, 04/26/2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

My L300 is very comfortable with custom leather{not factory}. A great stereo system,according to my 14 yr old son. It is easy to drive & feels very safe. I'm a previous SUV owner & love my L300.I went in to get an oil change & saw this car & bought it that day.

Report Abuse

Saturn L300

Al, 06/19/2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

When I started looking for cars, I did not think about a Saturn. I have relatives who were happy with theirs. I began looking at Camrys and Altimas and was not happy with the dealer's independent attitude. They said buy the cars because of their reputation. Both of these cars did not have as many standard options as the Saturn. It would have cost me thousands more. I went to Saturn I was pleasantly suprised at the friendliness of the staff. I test drove the car it has very good acceleration. It is fully loaded with options Camry and Altima do not have. It is an attractive car inside and out. It is not a popular car but the people I spoke to who drove one all liked them very much.

Report Abuse

It could be better

John, 08/19/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my l-300 for about 1 year now and I must say that I am not impressed. I have had a lot of problems with items such the climate control, tires, fit and finish of interior components with sqeaks and rattles in places i still connot find. I have kicked myself for not getting the extended warranty for this vehicle. The stereo is the top of the line but the CD changer has a mind of its own. These have all been repeat problems and I'm sure they will repeat once more before getting rid of the car. Will I purchase a new one? Doubtful

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050