Used 1995 Pontiac Grand Prix Coupe Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$846 - $2,069

Used Grand Prix for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

1995 Pontiac GTP 3.4 Liter DOHC

GTP, 04/19/2008
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used with 102,000 miles on it, for only $3400. This V-6 engine is AMAZING. It makes 215 HP which is MORE than my old 1970 Chevelle with 307 V-8 had (200 HP), a car I drove when I was a kid. Need I say more ? Pontiac put 4 cams and 16 valves on this V-6 60 degree engine and it runs like a small V8. All the power options are really nice, and you'll get addicted to the steering wheel radio controls. Gas mileage- 19-20 mpg city, 27 mpg highway. Considering the power, pretty good. I recently drove the same year car with 3.1 liter and the 3.1 is a dog compared to my DOHC 3.4 I drive my GTP with EGR valve disconnected-more power and response-easy to do, just unplug it.

Report Abuse

1995 Pontiac Grand Prix Special Edition

gp1995, 02/13/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This 1995 Pontiac Grand Prix Special Edition is a reliable car. It is the 3.4 liter special edition, white exterior color package. It is fun to drive because it has Magnasteer II just like the new 2004 Grand Prix. The interior design is adequate because it is meant for a grown up who desires a sports car feel. The exterior design is nice because it has a large body side door molding for protection. It is a bit heavy for the 210hp engine. It does not have much acceleration as Pontiac advertised in 1995. In summary, it is a good car when compared to todays Grand Prix.

Report Abuse

LOVE this car

grandprix, 08/14/2015
SE 2dr Coupe
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My dad bought this car about 5-6 years ago. The previous owner took horrible care of the car, and it was on its way to the junk yard. He paid $500 for pretty much a hunk of junk. After fixing it up, it ran beautifully. It made it through numerous hour long road trips. Has over 200k miles on it and still runs great. A couple problems throughout the years. Brake line went out, yet no real damage happened to the car or my sister after rear ending someone. I've gotten stuck in and out of the car during the winter numerous times. Had to replace the brake pads a few times. So those are the cons. The pros, I've never gotten stuck in the snow, gas lasts me about 2 weeks. Its a great first car to have, not too high maintenance.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

unknown

george freier, 03/21/2002
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

The transmission went out, impossible or expensive to fix. Wears out even the best brake pads quickly.

Report Abuse

Was just awful

brad, 10/14/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought the car for 2000, i should have known. just one month after purchasing it, there was nightmares. Luckily i bought a warranty. They replace steering, trans, motor, ball joint, the list goes on. They never did fix the problem which was no power and random shifting. A couple months after i sold it, buyer told me the head blew. I wouldn't reccomend this car. I loved it for the first month, after that, it was a nightmare...

Report Abuse

GTP Questionable

mark275, 06/20/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fun to drive but did cost me quite a bit in maintenance. Needed to replace the timing belt three times at about $500 each. Developed an oil leak around rear main seal at about 100k. Main bearing cracked around 125k and that was it for me. The alternator needed to be replaced twice at about $300 each since it is located underneath the engine and is difficult to replace. Cruise control quit working around 57k and did not even bother to fix since I was quoted at about $400 by numerous mechanics. Trunk leaked water and was only fixed by sealing all the seams in the trunk. Windshield and sunroof leaked water at about 80k. Would not suggest buying even though it looks cool and is cheap.

Report Abuse

Best Car I Ever Owned

Bob_18052, 06/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Most reliable car I have ever owned. Still looks and runs great after seven years of high mileage use, mostly highway driving. This car has been driven to every corner of the U.S. and has never had a breakdown. 30 mpg at 70 mph with the AC on. Excellent tire wear. First brake job at 105000 miles!! Quiet, smooth ride with Yokohama Avid Touring tires.

Report Abuse

Awesome Car

tommygold, 10/22/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It is a great car. Every time I put the key in I am happy. It has never given me any problems, except for the police catching up to me.

Report Abuse

Beat this, Honda!

David Johnson, 11/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I recently bought a 1995 Pontiac Grand Prix SE, I had a 1990 Bonneville SSE, the GP has a smaller engine, but with the DOHC it can beat alot of cars roaming the streets of Richmond.

Report Abuse

'95 GTP's are an awesome car!

Dave Komejan, 10/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is great! What can I say? Power moon roof and chrome rims makes this car a real looker!

Report Abuse

Sharpest looking car on the road.

Vilny, 10/16/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my 95' Grand Prix with the Special Edition Package. This is by far the most sporty looking car out there. The "get up and go" is still there after 100,070 miles.

Report Abuse

Good Car

chicago bob, 11/14/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Good car. She's seen Florida and back. Replaced trans @70k because of hauling a uhaul. DO NOT HAUL!! Rear brakes giving me trouble. Replaced several times in last 15K. Other than that this car has a good engine if you take care of it. Paint could be better but after 6 Chicago winters, this car has NO RUST!! Great reliable used car for the money.

Report Abuse

Fast and Furious Car GTP

whoa, 12/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this car is exciting to drive. fast very dependable the color of the car is one of a kind and the leather is so comfortable the exterior is the best part of the car. DUAL EXHAUST AND FACTORY SPOILEr

Report Abuse

Jake's pontiac review

jakewilmes, 12/18/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car is very great. The only things that disappoint me is that there isn't as much hp as i would like and the body rips easy.

Report Abuse

GTP

Teferius, 01/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fun car to drive, had to replace the brakes,struts, and ball joints. As long as you do regular maintenance it is good.

Report Abuse

I love my GTP!

rebeltag, 06/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Nothing but fun comes out of my GTP!I love it so much that I joined ClubGP (http://www.clubgp.com) and Chicago Grand Prix Club (http://www.chicagograndprix.net)

Report Abuse

decent car

Tiberious, 08/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall, a decent car for the money. GM's quality has improved dramatically. Would rather have a 5 speed stick shift than an automatic.

Report Abuse

nice first car

Shawniboyy, 09/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i love the car very much. But the owner before me must have not taken car of it. i had to replace both front balljoints and put 4 new struts and rear strut mounts on it. He did make sure he sold it as-is. It has a mean lookin front end on it.

Report Abuse

NICE CAR!!

ibanezjem, 12/03/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this car. I had to replace the motor and tranny after 78,000 miles cause i hauled a UHAUL 3,000 miles with it.(MY FAULT) DONT tow anything with these. Over all i like the car but the factory paint is poor. For a nice car the book value could be better, i think these cars are to underated.

Report Abuse

The Grand Prix, what a car!

Pete81284, 12/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned 3 Pontiac Grand Prix's and I have loved all of them, they look sharp, and have a great ride for a sporty car. They also have exceptional handling. I have had no mechanical problems with any of them, I plan on owning a Pontiac the rest of my life. The Grand Prix is a great car.

Report Abuse

Great cars

Shari, 01/04/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used from an individual mainly because I liked the looks of it. I have never regretted buying it. I drive a lot of miles (80 mile commute daily) & even now it's solid as a rock. I've never had to put anything other than the usual maintenence type things (battery, brakes, headlamps, etc.) into it. It's been well worth the $$$ & it'd be a great first car for a kid. Don't hesitate to rely on it.

Report Abuse

1995 special edition3.4 grand prix white

jhalfon, 05/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this white 3.4 special edition white grand prix has provided reasonable, reliable service the last 10 years of my ownership. i bought it brand new. there have been maintenance & electrical repairs which have been expensive, but the dealership is only source of precise mechanic work. you do have to put GM parts for replacement to keep this 2dr coupe running smoothly. i am still proud of its handling & i drive it everyday on the highway 50 miles round-trip to work. it remains a fun car to drive.

Report Abuse

1995 special edition3.4 grand prix white

jhalfon, 05/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this white 3.4 special edition white grand prix has provided reasonable, reliable service the last 10 years of my ownership. i bought it brand new. there have been maintenance & electrical repairs which have been expensive, but the dealership is only source of precise mechanic work. you do have to put GM parts for replacement to keep this 2dr coupe running smoothly. i am still proud of its handling & i drive it everyday on the highway 50 miles round-trip to work. it remains a fun car to drive.

Report Abuse

Nice Car

789465132, 03/10/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just bought this car, i had a 1991 Pontiac Grand Prix and i was looking to upgrade, i was able to buy this car for $2200, a every nice deal i could not let down, the car is very clean and runs great, I love to go fast ;)

Report Abuse

95 G Prix

Bucky95, 12/11/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought the car brand new. No mechanical problems to date thankfully. The paint started to fade out after two years of ownership and the dash top has faded. Since the car was two years old and had 56,000 miles on it Pontiac would not pay to have repainted but they did pay half of it. The outside has been repainted and looks nice. Good gas mileage. and after ten years of service still looking great.

Report Abuse

Good first car

1ST CAR, 04/17/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Well this was my first car. when i got it it ad over 160k on it, and it's being parked at my fathers warehouse (for my younger brother to eventually drive). it's a good car and got me from a to b. sometimes the computer would be anoying with gearchanges, but only if you were trying to punch the gas at 40mph. at about 165k we found coolant in the engine=very expensive to replace. also not uncommon for this car to have the oxygen sensor go out (most grand prix's do) the only big problem (with me being 18 and loving rock music) the sound system is VERY weak, and the steering wheel controls are negated once a 3rd party stereo is installed. i liked my Grand Prix enough to buy another one this week

Report Abuse

An ok first car

96 Grand Prix, 09/08/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car looks nice. It has a cool sporty look to it. The 3.1 V6 engine has a few problems, the biggest being the valve cover gaskets will leak after 75,000 miles and it will hurt your engine severely. The car could get better gas mileage if it wasnt so heavy. The weight gives you good traction in the summer but in winter its hard to get up hills from a stop. Acceleration could be better. The stock radio sounds nice until turned up, speakers are nice. Transmission could be better, it tends to shift into 4th before the rpm's get high enough, making it sluggigh accelerating over 70. The honeycomb rims are impossible to keep clean and the paint chips off causing the the actual wheel to corrode.

Report Abuse

perfect

ski011281, 10/14/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

driving excitement, everytime i step on the gas it just goes. i had a 95 gp se before the gtp and i am telling you big difference

Report Abuse

LOVE MY GTP!

Gtp_love, 02/12/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I Love my Pontiac. The vehicle is very reliable and the problems I do have with it are rare and easy to fix. The handling is awesome and it's a blast to drive. It has plenty of pickup and go. i can't think of anything I don't like about it. This car hasn't left me stranded. The gas mileage is good for the horsepower it has.

Report Abuse

used car

michelcarrasquel, 02/17/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i'm from florida and the car came from kansas. Within 2 month i had poor acceleration "It works good most of the time on speed" When my acceleration is working right it has really good torque i added intake and free flow mufflers Worth it!

Report Abuse

Great car

djhendricks, 03/20/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used in 1998, and it's the best vehicle I've ever owned. I had general maintenance and wear and tear items that I needed done, but overall, no major problems. I currently have over 130,000 miles on it, and it still runs great! I do mostly city driving, and it gets about 20 mpg, usually a little more. I have had a few probs with the blinkers, the switch has went out, and a trusted mechanic said that vehicles with this setup are notorious for that. The car's 12 yrs old though, so some problems popping up isn't unexpected. Auto locks no longer work, and occasionally a problem with door handles, but again, 12 years old. Overall, a great, reliable, and pretty economical vehicle!

Report Abuse

Fun Car - Bad repairs

rickpep, 04/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love to drive this car. Power and stering touch are excellent. It just feels good. Hate the repairs though. Every repair has high labor. Batt & alternator design is bad. Antilock sensors needed several replacements. needed 3 alt/batt replacements. manifold gasket replacement and now $2000 oil leak repair. plus a/c just went out. Had to fix sunroff 3 times. But still love to drive it!!!! Wish it held up better.

Report Abuse

95 3.4L Grand Prix great Car

James McDaniel, 08/25/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this car second hand with 95,000 on it. After a little clean up it turned into a gem. A very fast & fun gem. Had little problems with it (intake gaskets, water pump. The usual air control knobs breaking and console lid. Is very fast and enjoy it every time I drive it to and from work as well as the twists and turns here in the mountains of Virginia. Gets about 22mpg with my foot in it always. Headsup is a great feature as well as the steering controls for the radio. A total 10+ to drive. This car was ahead of it's time in my opinion. I drive it today and people ask me about it and tell me how stylish clean and sporty it is.

Report Abuse

My Grand Prix SE Coupe

JJW, 01/09/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I can't wait to get out and drive my 95 GP.It drives so smooth and crisp. I've owned it for the last 4 years and I'm still not tired of it. It handles well,accelerates with authority,and is a sharp looking car. I keep mine in excellent condition and people constantly ask about it. The interior is very well designed. Everything you need at the touch of your hands. (including the radio controls in the steering wheel) I have never had a problem with this car. NEVER!! A friend of mine has the same car but with 150,000 miles on it. He has only had to replace the alternator. And he beats the crap out of it. Good job Pontiac!

Report Abuse

Fun & Cheap

grandprixse, 12/05/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

These cars rock! It is only the 3100 SFI V6 but it still has 160hp. The V6 puts out good power. Gets up to speed very well. The out side of the car looks nice. The lights look cool. The front end reminds me of the mid to late 70's Trans Am's. The dual exhaust tips make it look like it has some power and the car really sounds like it does too. The insides are nice. Has all the options I could want with a 1st car. My plans are to put some mods on it get it to 200hp and after a 1 to 2 years sell it and find another Grand Prix. I want to get the GTP or maybe get one from the '69-'71. One things for sure its going to be sad when the discontinue the Grand Prix in '08. I now love Grand Prix's!

Report Abuse

THE BOMB

E.J.D, 03/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i thought this vehicle has a lot of horse power for an automatic vehicle, and this my favorite car i own.

Report Abuse

Ya no!

John O, 04/20/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ok I bought this car in 2006 for $1000, I have dropped more than four times that to keep it on the road. The driver side door handle broke so I had to either leave the window down or climb in the passenger side. All but 1 of the radio and air knobs broke. The passenger side electric lock is broken so it has to be manually opened. I have had to replace the alternator 3 times, ecg valve, heater coil, head gasket, starter 3 times, and much more. The driver side window doesn't go up sometimes. Oh and the exhaust fell off. That's right didn't hit anything just fell off. All the work was done by me, I'm a studying to be a mechanic and know what I'm doing. Oh and the engine block has 3 cracks in it!

Report Abuse

Great Car Sporty looks great!

Wade Cunningham, 05/14/2017
GTP 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The alternator is on the bottom of the car, hard to change. There is no room to work on the front of the engine, you have to take out carriage bolts to perform these operations, i.e. replace alt. or timing belt, but snappy handles well for it's age.

Performance
Value
Report Abuse

Classy

Daniel Red Hawk , 12/04/2019
SE 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

They don't make Pontiac no more and this is a special edition. Already a classic why so little on price

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050