Used 1995 Oldsmobile Aurora Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,030 - $2,483

Used Aurora for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

my aurora

brianeaton, 07/05/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have a 1995 oldsmobile aurora it is one of two i have a 1972 chevelle ss and i would love to get my aurora in tip top shape bout to rebuild it all i recomend keeping a car like this it is a family/ sports car and im not getting rid of mine any time soon

Report Abuse

Great car

mitch, 04/02/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I haved owned this car 5 years. It is a cruiser. Very comfortable ride. Great sound system. It gets 20 mpg in town and 26 on the highway. Replaced starter myself and the AC compressor was replaced. Lots of power. The styling is timeless. Lots of room in the car and in the trunk. Love the car.

Report Abuse

Best Used Car Value!!!!!!!!!

SteVB, 02/26/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Highly recommended to anyone (NOT LOOKING FOR A CHEAP CAR) as an excellent used car value. Cannot beat the options,comfort,performance,safety,and styling of this car. However ,this is not a "cheap" car, so to all you cheap people-stick with the dull but affordable Chevrolet.This car is for those with class,not afraid to maintain class.

Report Abuse

1995 Olds Aurora

Nobrakes, 03/06/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased my Aurora used. After replacing a bad crank sensor, the car runs great. Everything works on it and I have not had any major problems. The car is very quiet and smooth. Overall I am very satisfied with this vehicle but I am worried that it will have no resale value.

Report Abuse

gotta love the Aurora

jasrod, 01/18/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

When we bought this car we paid $15,000. We could not believe that we could buy a car this fantastic for that price! We were sure that the entire engine would fall out in a few months considering the value of this car when it was new. Almost 4 years later we have only replaced one valve and 2 belts for normal wear-and-tear. What an amazing value! The only downside is the quick depreciation. This is probably the prettiest car we will ever own.

Report Abuse

Too Bad GM didn't continue a good thing

gejfay, 01/03/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Olds Aurora Engine has been the most highly tested engine in the history of the industry. Reviews that imply an engine problem suggest the car was severly neglected. Despite 7 years of driving this car I can't find a reason to trade it in. It still runs as good as the day I drove it off the lot. In 80,000 miles I needed to replace an EGV valve. Thats it.

Report Abuse

Best Car I ever owned

Brian Chipman, 03/18/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Too bad that Olds is going away and that they downsized the Aurora in 1999. This is a fun car with tremendous power and stability. On a regular basis we drive it from our home to visit daughter and family about 350 miles away. We always get 30 to 32 mpg. Liked the 95 so well that we just purchased another Aurora made in May of 1999

Report Abuse

Lemon alert

unhappy customer, 05/22/2002
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Don't buy used! Kept my car in mint condition, but engine (head gasket) went at 150000 miles and will cost $8000 (Canadian) to replace!!!!!!! Obviously I'm not buying another GM product.

Report Abuse

1995 Olds Aurora

Luckly Eddie, 06/16/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

AC, power sterring, transmission, front struts, starter, power windows, fuel tank door and breaks have all been repaired or replaced at least once, AC twice. If this is an indication of how US car manufatures are catching up with the Japans and Europeans don't buy them! I bought the car used and have enjoyed it's looks and ride, but the repairs were a bummer, even thought the first year I owen it the repairs were coverd by GM.

Report Abuse

Expensive but unique ride

GA doctor, 06/09/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought it used with less than 50,000 miles and it's been a dream to drive, comfortable, fast, reasonably economical with smaller Northstar engine. Now with over 100,000 miles, and on a salvage engine, after the original cracked its block, it's not so fun to own. All major components have been repaired at considerable expense (transmission, A/C, power steering pump, fuel pump twice, misc. other items), and I've thrown in the towel and trying to sell it. It's a shame that GM can't back up their futuristic big car with some decent reliability. I'm driving only foreign iron now. It's nickname is "Old Man" and beginning to act like it.

Report Abuse

5 years and MORE in love!

mrbill, 07/02/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought 5 years ago as low-mileage used vehicle in prime condition, now with 185,000 miles, no leaks, no oil consumption, no regrets. Electronics all work as does air suspension and every other feature. This is my daily driver and the car we take on trips anywhere. Starter required replacement ($$) but that is the only problem this year. The Northstar engine is great, the car is responsive and a powerhouse. With Olds now gone, the wife has moved to Chrysler and I may too when this car finally dies - if it ever does.

Report Abuse

7 years on, STILL in love

mrbill, 06/03/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Since last review my Aurora has experienced only a loose PCV fitting and HVAC computer failure (replaced with eBay part for $50). Now at 200,000+ miles, the engine is still tight and the transmission is still solid. Paint chips from the Interstate evident. After 15 years of use, the black leather interior is still gorgeous and this car is a true power machine, very fast and still a great looking car. This is the fifth Olds that I have had in my life and it is by far the best. Sorry, GM messed up when it killed the Olds division, but it appears GM has made consistently bad decisions since. GM recently sold the prototype at auction for $16,500 - major disappoint to me that I missed it.

Report Abuse

Ignition Coils Bad and Trans

Jeff, 08/07/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I actually still do love my Aurora. It only had 98,000 miles on it but my complaint is that the transmission went out and cost 2800 to replace and two out of the four ignition coils died! Other than that it has been pretty good!

Report Abuse

Love the Aurora

Sara, 11/04/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Well for the last three years I have had an Aurora and I love the way it looks and sounds and the way it makes me feel and my family feels while riding in it. Now I have to Find a parts car to fix some things on it that have never been fixed before,but it is hard considering that I haven't found one that isn't in really bad condition, and that is all it is good for. So you see it is hard to fix the little things on it so it can appciated for a long time to come.

Report Abuse

9 years of Aurora Love!

Bill, 07/11/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought my second '95 Aurora last year after turning 225,000 miles on the first one (still in the family and driven by son), this latest was a low mileage dark cherry metallic. Over the year it has not disappointed! Needs some new shocks but now with 99,000 miles, still rides like a dream and pounds out the acceleration. Only problem, where will I get another when this one fades?

Report Abuse

Reliable

hopeful, 08/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I drive lots of miles each an every month...needed a dependable used car, and was not disappointed. This vehicle has comfort and stability that I need while traveling the highways on sales calls. Maintance is important to keeping a fine automobile running properly....this is my third olds, and would buy another....dependable for 150000+.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Joe99, 08/13/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very comfortable and luxurious vehicle

Report Abuse

Just say 'Yes'

MrBill, 08/22/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Negatives - rear sight line via mirrors is bad (can't see directly adjacent to car either right or left), seat cannot be adjusted to the right height to make sunvisor effective for a tall person. Cup holder is cheaply designed. Air distribution to the driver's left side and passenger's right side it weak. Coupe design allows rain to enter with window open even a fraction of an inch. Positives - Love the interior dash layout, auto temp control functions perfectly, smooth ride.

Report Abuse

dont do it

ghost, 11/28/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i writing this for a family member that has had all kinds of trouble with this car it hesitate when trying to gain speed the tranny went on it the radio had to be fix the power windows had trouble if your were smart you'll run to a toyota dealer

Report Abuse

95 Oldsmobile Aurora

L. Lemons, 12/02/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great ride with very low road and wind noise, visibility is good from all angles. With 85000 mi. paint,interior and driveline have held up very well.

Report Abuse

It was a good car

Josh Magsam, 12/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I thoroughly enjoyed this vehicle; compared with other American full-size sedans of the era, it was truly second to none - and I include Cadillac and Lincoln in there as well. In many ways, it also held its own against the car my father was driving at the time I purchased it - a 1990 BMW 735i. At the time I purchased it, the ride was excellent, and the engine has always been a delight - wonderful torque.

Report Abuse

1995 oldsmobile aurora

tupperlove, 12/12/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the first car I ever paid cash for and had reservation at first but have been more than satisfied. After owning this car for a year and a half the only money put into it was for the 100,000 mile tune up which put me back $300. Ouch! This car drives so-o smooth, it's like it floats on the interstate. I'll take one of these old cars over a new cheaper model anyday!! All of the bells and whistles are great! Defrosting sideview mirrors, heated leather seats (couldn't live without them!)and passenger side climate control makes this my perfect car!!

Report Abuse

Great car!!!

Mandersn, 03/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new and it has been the best car I've ever owned. At 112,000 miles, this car has been in the shop TWICE. As far as bad reviews...These cars last a long time...if you see any bad reports on them, they've probably been abused. Every car has some bad reviews from people who just don't know how to take car of cars. I would recommend this car to anyone!!

Report Abuse

Frustrating and disappointing

dubitasomnis, 02/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful car with fine features, but the quality of the car is disappointing indeed. Power is abundant, but braking and handling are poor, while I rarely achieve better than 15 miles-per-gallon fuel economy! I've put almost $10,000 worth of repair and tune-up into this car since acquiring it two years ago, including a failed transmission; I am not at all optimistic that such costs will diminish in future. The total uselessness of the cup-holders serves as a metaphor for this car altogether -- a fairly impotent gesture by an American manufacturer to prove it can compete with German and Japanese luxury- sport models.

Report Abuse

Love My Aurora

S.HORNE, 02/24/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My fiance owns a Acura Legend 4SE (fully loaded) I must say the interior sold me the moment I saw the vehicle. Very smooth ride, outstanding sound system, and comfortable for long drive. The sunroof is a enjoyable feature as well as the adjustable seats. I gain a lot of respect on the road as heads turn with approval when I accelerate to reach my designation. The Performance match Acura Legend anyday. Hold on if you own one. You'll never forget the experience.

Report Abuse

A real review, READ!

sliving, 06/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

OK, OK. I just read some bad and good reviews here. Comsumer reports did not rate this car bad...where do these people come from??? Well, I believe that the only bad reviews on this car are from idiots who don't know how to take care of a car and mistreated it....or they simply bought a dud from a junk dealer. My Aurora has been fantastic. It is expensive to repair, but ALL EXPENSIVE CARS ARE EXPENSIVE TO REPAIR. Have you ever repaired a European car? It's horribly expensive. I've only had to repair this car twice...and that's great with 202,511 miles!!!

Report Abuse

Olds Aurora

josepheleo, 09/09/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

An excellent touring car which I have had no problems with since I bought it new.

Report Abuse

Take care of your cars

Dmitriy, 05/27/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my second Oldsmobile. I had Intrigue before. I made a conclussion that American cars are less reliable, but...if you take care of your car, man they pay back! Never had worries with my Intrigue (currently 100,000 miles) and so far my Aurora is just awesome...I just oil every 2,000 miles check liquids every day in the morning. Yes it might be a pain in the rear for some, but I am not rich enough to fix it. And dont think I baby my car on the street. Both of my Oldsmobiles will rip any sedan in its price range. Gotta love the Autobahn package on the Aurora. I was going 140 by speedometer yesterday. I always add motion plus to my oil. My Intrigue was doing 0-60 in 7.3 seconds, and the Aurora 7.1!

Report Abuse

BEWARE

Aurora Owner, 12/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The air conditioning computer controler has been replaced twice($937) and it still very weak on blowing air. The electronic ignition had to be replaced since there was no aceleration($320). The gasket around the oil pan leaks. I was told the engine would have to be overhauled to repair this($4300). I have replaced the shocks since the original ones were leaking. When I saw the shock replacements I was surprised that they are twice the diameter as the originals, why did they cheap out on the shocks. The car now only has 47,000 miles on it and it is on its third set of tires that are rated for 60,000 miles.

Report Abuse

oldsmobile

ssch, 01/20/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i don't like the cup holders and it is expensive to repair when anything goes wrong

Report Abuse

Frustrated & At Wits End!

MsRRBalto, 06/20/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is a fortune to repair. Purchased used and had all scheduled maintanence. In spite of that the Air conditioning, water pump,brakes, radiator, CD Player among other things had to be replace. Now I have serious computer and electrical problems(tied to the engine and transmission)that mechanics are having trouble diagnosing. Most have suggested I get out from under ASAP. Unfortunately this leaves me with no other option than to take a loss on the vehicle, since I still owe thousands on it. Wish I had researched the car before purchasing - Based on other reviws I suspect my transmission and/or engine are about to go... Expensive life lesson!

Report Abuse

2+ years on and no regrets

MrBill2, 08/26/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Now @ 100K miles, other than a tuneup at 95,000 I have only replaced the water pump and installed a new 4-5 shift kit. Uses no oil, no fluid leaking anywhere, still runs like a banshee (I love blowing the doors off of amazed Datsun Z owners), still turns heads at 10 years old and I have no regrets. Expensive to repair? Sure, what do you have that isn't?

Report Abuse

Over 300k miles

Hammer123333, 10/14/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just picked up this car at an auction last week. It has 306000 miles on it. I was extremely skeptical about buying something with that kind of mileage, but the car sat and idled so smooth, the A/C was ice cold, I could find nothing wrong with it. Ive been driving it the past week and it runs like new. I cant believe some of the reviews Ive been reading. Surely a poor product wouldnt have made it over 300k miles and still look and run as good as this one does. And for the people that claim their japanese junk is better than an oldsmobile are f.o.s. Ive had two hondas, one with 100k miles and one with 160k miles. The tranny went out and the motor b

Report Abuse

Wish They Still Made This

KurtMedina, 10/23/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The original Aurora was/still is a dream car. Very clean styling, comfortable, great to drive. I'd buy another in a flash if they still made them. (I don't count the remodeled Aurora as a real Aurora. Oldsmobile should have luxuried up rather than cheaping down. The second version wasn't worth considering.) There were some new model problem initially -- covered by warranty -- but now the car just drives and drives ... wonderfully.

Report Abuse

Aurora Special

hollandsig, 02/20/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned this Automobile now for 10 years, and am the original owner. it is a keeper in show room condition. I have replaced the Michelins on it 2 times, and the batteries at 9.5 years. Can't beat that. I was informed in Nov. 2002 that it was one of the 50 Aurora specials built on 1 Jan 1995 with 275 HP engines, and that due to its serial number each time it is brought in for maintenance, the dealer must report its condition and status back to Detroit. I always get laudatory remarks on the outstanding condition that I have kept it in. It is garage kept as much as possible.

Report Abuse

One owner car

sbyers, 04/23/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The comfort of my Oldsmobile Aurora on trips and around town is great. It gets outstanding mileage and looks new and not 10 years old! Its safety features especially with children is a plus as is the traction on snowy roads. The room is the trunk is fabulous.

Report Abuse

3 Years On & Still Awed

Mrbill, 06/20/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Now at 117,00+ miles, no oil loss or leaks, no engine problems, no transmission problems. Replaced A/C compressor.

Report Abuse

Four years in and still totally in love!

MrBill, 05/25/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Since last review (12 months ago) my Aurora has had no mechanical problems. I switched to synthetic oil, now at 136,000+ miles, and the engine is still tight and the transmission is still solid. Other that the damage done by hitting a cement block on the interstate (at 80 mph!) there have been no problems with this car. After 12 years of use, the black leather interior is still gorgeous and this car is a true power machine, very fast and still a great looking car. I normally keep my used vehicles for 4 years and dump them, but this is a keeper! This is the fifth Olds that I have had in my life and it is by far the best. Sorry, GM messed up when it killed the Olds division. Planned maintenance over the next year is replacement of struts and ball joint tie ends.

Report Abuse

Great Car

glenmcca, 12/15/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the best car I have ever owned. I have not driven it much as I always have two to three other vehicles. the gas mileage is not bad at 20 mpg routine and 28 mpg on the road. The worst mechanical problem it has had was a master cylinder failure at around 50,000 miles. I am now at 80,000 and have replaced tires once and the battery once. I will probably replace tires and drive it until someone runs into me.

Report Abuse

Great Car

mmitch, 12/17/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is a pleasure to drive. It handles well and has lots of power. It has a very comfortable ride. I have had to replace the starter and air conditioner pump, and have had no other mechanical problems. I get good gas mileage for a 4 door full size sedan, approximately 20 mpg in town and 24 mpg on highway. It has a large trunk.

Report Abuse

The Last of a Dieing Breed

JOE, 02/03/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Oldsmobile Aurora from the start was a hit. As years went by, some of them had lots of problems and some didn't. That's why they have a bad rep with some people. Personally, I love mine. It's a '95 with 163,678 miles on it and it looks and runs awesome. I have put the basics in it i.e.: basic maintenance, brakes, radiator, belt, plugs, wi res etc.. The only major problem I had with it happened when I bought it, it had a remote starter. I had it for about three months and one day I went to start it and it sounded like the battery was dead, so I had it towed to my work right down the road (Ford dealership). It took me three days to figure out the remote starter back fed through ant-itheft module & pcm, burnt them up, and the key reader. FUN FUN

Report Abuse

4 years on and still in love

mrbill, 07/03/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Now with 162,000 miles, no leaks, no oil consumption, no regrets. Other than the deer and cement block on the interstate that I hit, no damage or surprises other than an A/C compressor. The mini-Northstar engine is great, more power than I deserve!

Report Abuse

This car sucks!

Gabriel Dutton, 05/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

In Consumer Reports this car gets some of the worst ratings in every category except exhaust. My experience with this model vehicle certainly supports that! I had to have the air conditioning system replaced, the radiator and water pump replaced, the computer replaced, and numerous other problems fixed. THese problems all occurred before GM's claim of 100,000 miles before the first tune-up. GM had potential with this car and blew it royally! Now I drive a reliable Japanese car.

Report Abuse

great value

dcredys, 03/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Loved the cars mechanics motor, trans, ect. No problems with the northstar motor or transmission for 161,000 miles.

Report Abuse

One of GM's Better Ideas

Norm Schultz, 03/05/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love the car for comfort, handling, relability and fuel economy for a v/8, it is exceptional. It is a very good North American auto, how ever if there is an electical or technical problem the GM dealerships are at a loss as to what it may be. Therefore in most cases it is an extremely frustrating and expensive experience.

Report Abuse

Holds up well

BS Will, 02/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this car. The trunk is roomy enough to hold our boys' double stroller and still accomodate packages. The seats are comfortable and the driver's positioning and access to controls is natural and intuitive. The driver's seating position memory is great for those few times my wife drives the car. On the downside, the cupholders in the front are worthless. Even though the car has been garage-kept and driven easily, there are some fit-and-finish issues both inside and out. The gas mileage is low and the "baby" Northstar requires premium fuel.

Report Abuse

Crying

*$lyn$*, 02/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought the car used two years ago. Within month, had a cracked head gasket. Was told it had been previously worked on. Couple months later, fuel pump needed replaced. Have had solenoids, and sensors replaced. Transmission flushed, and now...a cracked block. Will be over $4,500 to repair (that's for a used engine with replacement). A new engine is $5,000 alone. I still owe that much for the loan. Don't know what to do, but cry. Repairs are unbelievably expensive! I loved this car...till it needed a repair. If you buy one...hope you're a mechanic, cause you're gonna need one.

Report Abuse

Best sedan ever own/driven!

Donna, 04/29/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this car since 51000 miles, and it now has over 200,000 miles. I still love the car and haven't driven another one that comes close to the Aurora. No major mechanical issues ever. I've used synthetic oil always and premium fuels. I would purchase another Aurora, just like the one I own, any day.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050