Used 1996 Oldsmobile Achieva Coupe Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$855 - $2,200

Used Achieva for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Good Old Car

Young Gal, 05/28/2008
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

My 1996 2 door V6 automatic Achieva is a great car, overall it's been very dependable. It was purchased for me about 5 1/2 years ago. If I was to pick a car, this would not be it, but since it was purchased for me I can't complain. It's been a great car, fun to drive with lots of power. The style and look of the car is very "grandparent'ish" but the two door is much better than four door at least. Good back up car to drive to and from work or as a kids first car, nothing to fancy. And gets pretty good gas mileage. Now that its over 12 years old its starting to see some problems with water leaking in, but drill a few holes in the floor and its manageable. Overall, it's been a good ride.

Report Abuse

Good work car

me, 11/17/2007
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car just for driving to and from work, it is very reliable, and with the 3.1 V-6, Automatic Tranny, and traction control it preforms great on the snow and ice.

Report Abuse

awesome for money

stangdood, 10/09/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've riden this car hard and soft, twice back and forth from Maryland to Florida and it's still my daily driver and runs great. Bought it with 87K and now has 99K in 9 months. Also installed dual exhaust and K&N air intake. Car pushes ~155hp~ and runs a 15.92 1/4 mile on a 5-spd manual tranny...not to shabby.

Report Abuse

Fun and Economics

Daniel/Sarah Miller, 11/19/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It is a fun car to drive. When I test drove it I swear it had a v-6. The GM quad-4 engine is very stong. It also gets great milage. The seats are comforable and the interior is nicly laid out. I have made many long trips in olds. and comfort was never a problem. The engine is very strong and works well both on anf off the highway.

Report Abuse

OLDSMOBILES ROCK

Sander, 11/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car! Love the 5-speed

Report Abuse

great performer

MzkMn, 02/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i test drove many cars, including a `94 mustang GT, and this one beat em all. zips to 60mph, super comfortable, very nice look, and great handling. car can whip around turns. engine produces a nice roar when gas is floored. for the power, i average around 28mpg. very very nice. you get camaro/mustang/firebird performance in a smaller, more economical design. large trunk space too.

Report Abuse

My Under-Achieva

Burned, 01/16/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bot 96 Achieve SC in Aug 98. Had 12.5k mi. By Feb99 veh left me sitting 6 times.Engine stall, sputter, panel lights flash on/off then engine died. Security sensors it took at least 10 min to restart engine. Under warranty, Olds dealerships had lots of difficulty diag. Fall 99 dealer kept veh 3 wks. Dealer maint and manu couldn't find problem. Sol:replaced all sensors. 3 yrs and 67k more miles car was ok. Still thought about when it would leave me sitting again. Finally did Nov 02 & Jan03. 3 stall outs. Maint found no problem. Not comfortable with vehicle. Gave it away for tax writeoff.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050