Used 2012 Nissan Versa Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$6,995 - $9,000

Used Versa for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

LUV MY VERSA

luvmyversa, 12/19/2011
1.8 SL 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl CVT)
44 of 48 people found this review helpful

This car should be a "top ten pick" for an entry level car. My 2012 Versa Hatchback is a "bang for the buck" with CVT (smooth shifting), Bluetooth & Navigation, 16" wheels, ample trunk space w/fold down seats. Thus far, I recorded 28-29+ mph. I do a moderate amount of around town driving. It has ample pickup & power on freeway. Seat height makes getting in and out easy. Cons - rt knee patella can hit drver side dash (however, my 5' 10" husband is fine w it) - passenger dash is lower decreasing vertical leg room. A happy ex-Murano owner (Nissan makes good cars) I have no regrets buying this car (almost bought an Outback Subaru). Bought 2010 Versa Sedan for my 86 yr old Auntie. She loves it!

Report Abuse

Absolutely Great Car for the money

Choo Choo Kornitzer, 03/28/2015
1.8 S 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl 4A)
51 of 56 people found this review helpful

We bought new for our son who decided to go to HS a 45 minute drive away. Price and safety features were the reasons for our choice. He put 60K miles on it in 2.5 years. We bought 1 new set of tires and changed the oil. The car was perfect every day and never a minutes trouble and that's with a teenager driving it.

Report Abuse

Not a fancy car but extremely reliable

Lori, 08/27/2018
1.8 S 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl 6M)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

I have had two Nissan Versa hatchbacks. The first one was a 2007 with a CVT. The transmission on it blew out twice. Nissan fixed it the first time for me around 80,000 but wouldn't fix it the second time. So the next one I bought off the lot was a basic manual transmission, a 2012. I didn't have high hopes for it but this car is almost at 200,000 miles now and has not given me one single problem. I would never buy another CVT but the manual is fabulous. Mileage is consistantly around 30 mpg. I put snow tires on it in the winter and I drive all over the place with no problem.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome little car with a few minor flaws.

Samantha H., 07/29/2016
1.8 S 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl 4A)
23 of 26 people found this review helpful

My husband and I bought this car new in 2012, for around $14,000. We have put 97,319 miles on it, and commute out of state monthly. We change the oil religiously, every 4,000, and it averages about $60 for that service. We replaced the battery about a year ago (at roughly 60,000miles), and other than that have NEVER had to do any other maintanence on this vehicle apart from regular tire replacement (every 6-8mos at the rate we drive it). The car is light weight, so even at this mileage we are only halfway through our break pads...and it stops on a dime! The windows are large and virtually panoramic, so there is little-to-no blind spots, and as a hatchback, the seats lay down and can fit and hold an alarming amount of things. (When we got married, we were able to lay the seats down and move my things into his house in only two trips, minus furniture....note-I had lived on my own for several years so it was a Small apartment that we managed to fit into this car with only two trips...not simply a bedroom). We average about 35mpg, sometimes more, sometimes less depending on how conservatively you drive it. My only major gripes about this vehicle, are its lack of a key fob to unlock and lock the car from a distance, there is no cruise control, and...oddly....the front seat cupholders sit BENEATH the stereo column and many "large" size drink containers simply do not fit under it without bemding and sometimes breaking the straw...and you have to tip most cups sideways a bit to get it in...which results in a spill, or having to hold the drink and sip it down far enough to tip it before you can put it in. Overall, its an incredible car for a young person, or young couple, we hope to keep it long enough for our son to use as his first car due to its easy maneuverability and lack of blind spots. But with two car seats now we have to shop for something else. It DOES fit two carseats...surprisingly...but the front seats have to be scooted up pretty far in order to accomodate, which means the driver has to be either as tall as me or shorter (5'5") to fit their legs under the steering wheel to drive in that position...its tight. My husband (6'0") is cramped in the passenger seat with his knees against the dash if the carseats are in it. Overall, it is a terrific little car, harder than hell to break into when youve locked the keys in the car, so that could be a plus or a negative depending on how you look at it (haha!) And having been in three minor collisions in it, you would never know, it brushes off small accidents like nothing...no scratches, dents or anything.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great in-town car

Car Nutty, 05/26/2016
1.8 SL 4dr Hatchback (1.8L 4cyl CVT)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

The Nissan Versa Hatchback is an economical car that is good to use in town (easy to park because of its size) but not a good car for making a long trip. I've been getting about 28 mpg in town and around 32 on the highway. The car is powerful enough to keep up with traffic on the highway but too light weight to feel safe when next to other cars and trucks. UPDATE posted Nov. 26, 2016: On May 27, 2016, I traded my Nissan Versa Hatchback for a used 2014 Kia Sorento SX in order to get a car I felt safer in. And my insurance company agreed by reducing my monthly premium. A friend owned a 2008 Nissan Versa sedan and was broadsided. Her car was totalled! I decided then to trade for a safer car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12
Items per page: