Used 1990 Mitsubishi Montero SUV Consumer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
16 reviews
List Price Estimate
$857 - $1,727

Used Montero for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.75 out of 5 stars

Going Going Going

Carl, 10/24/2009
RS 4dr SUV 4WD
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Back in 1989 around october I saw this montero RS with 5 speed 4 door silver in color at the dealer. Got a great deal. 17,500 that was new, 20 years ago. Will I buy another Montero? YES this thing will not DIE!!! Have about 438,000 miles. The body has no rust, the paint so so, parts 2 clutch one fly wheel, one transmission at 365000, other than this just small parts.

Report Abuse

4.25 out of 5 stars

A Reliable Rig

Hungry Man, 10/18/2003
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is a very reliable SUV. I bought it used with 44K miles and it now has 175K. The only repair I've made was for valvue cover oil leaks and the starter. The first tune up was done at 100k. It burns about a quart of oil every 1K miles now. A great rig for a responsible driver.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

My Third Monty

Frumious, 10/18/2009
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is my third and oldest Montero. I trust the brand to buy a 20 year old copy with 160,000 miles. Everything works like new. Its 143 horses must be Clydesdales. The view through the tall windows is commanding. Only drawbacks (others mention these): Driver's seat does not go back quite far enough and radio controls are far below the dash. Gas mileage is fair. It helps to know where to get parts. A junk yard or one of several online forums will keep this truck going at least another five years. There are lots of prior Montero owners out there who come up to the car and smile.

Report Abuse

4.75 out of 5 stars

So Cal Bakersfield Review

Niles200, 02/12/2003
4dr SUV 4WD
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have not had any problems with this vehicle whatsoever. I have over 120,000 miles on it, and have spent less than $500 in repairs on it, outside of oilchanges and regular maintenance.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

The Last of the Great SUVs

Dfro, 08/29/2005
RS 4dr SUV 4WD
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I am the original owner and have enjoyed my 1990 Montero so much I just put in a new "factory" interior. The vehicle has 197,000 miles on it. It is quite difficult to find OEM interior trim parts. Someone should start a salvage yard for 82-91 Monteros so we will always be able to find parts.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best of the best

awol, 09/17/2002
4dr SUV 4WD
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We bought this "unknown" SUV instead of the 4Runner we couldn't afford. Only thing I would do different was to buy the automatic. The clutch plate was small and replaced about every 45,000 miles. Otherwise, a great ride for the money. Owned it for 11 years, original owners, put 168,000 miles on it. Great family car.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

13 Years and Going Strong

Montero Man, 12/03/2002
RS 4dr SUV 4WD
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle to drive for 2-3 years and replace when I found a better SUV.I'm still looking for that better one.I have never broken down or been stuck that the 4X4 come through.If the other 11 automobiles I have owned over the past 13 years had performed only half as well as the Montero I would have been delighted.Overall fantastic SUV!

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Absolutely love this car

djf, 02/28/2003
SP 2dr SUV 4WD
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my 4th one! I love this car! I was a real estate broker living outside the states and this car was great for showing property off of dirt roads. They still make the 2 door; they just don't import it into the states. The "box" (older) version is better because it has real Bumpers! Looking for one in mint condition.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

This generation of Monteros is the best

not available, 08/06/2004
4dr SUV 4WD
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The Montero that I own which is a 1990 has over 160000 miles on it. It is still going and I love it. I drive it everyday. I put a third row seat in the Montero, but removed it because I needed the HUGE truck for cargo. It you are in need of a 4X4 SUV under $5,000, this is it.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

I sold it too soon.

JMichel, 09/29/2004
4dr SUV 4WD
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sold it at a 165,000 miles. Started looking for a new SUV and began to regret selling it. Never had a problem with it. Only normal maintenance, and maybe brakes wearing too soon, burns a little oil. Always started. NEVER left me on the highway stranded. Could use more guts up highway hills, but it's top end is great. Also could use more driver leg room. Fits well in compact car spaces for so much int. cubic ft.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Montero

TCB, 05/12/2002
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great cheap suv. Fun!!!

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

1989 Montero LS

Steve, 01/26/2009
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am the third owner of this Montero LS. It has 205000 on it as of this week and it can still take off from the line. I bought this truck to use in winter since my main car is my baby and I don't like to drive it in snow. I drive the truck daily now from autumn til summer and it is great. The truck was in no way properly maintained by its previous owner but still runs like a peach. I will be doing pretty much a full engine and electrical rebuild in summer of 09 and will do some things to the surface rust to make the truck look like new.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

great SUV !

monty, 05/26/2002
RS 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

it's very reliable, never get stuck, look very good, the only modifications I done to mine, was the superwinch manual locking hubs, 16" tires, bushguard, remote starter, Yakima roof racks. The engine and the transmission are just perfect.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Montero 1990 LS

, 10/27/2002
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We are the orginal owners...now have 224,000 miles. Engine rebuilt once, new rings, new head, 3rd oil pump. Works like brand new now, saving it to give to our 16 year old son. This is the only car he has known...Have been to Quebec twice in the past two years in it. It is very tough built and reliable

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

1990 Montero -- still going strong!

Agnes, 02/03/2003
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We LOVE this car! 140,000 miles, and it still runs GREAT!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Good Bye Old Friend

RPH, 06/19/2007
RS 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I drove this SUV off the lot new in June of 1990. It's the only vehicle my two teenage daughters can remember me owning. Original manual clutch, original engine w/ 250,000 plus miles. Still runs but needs an engine rebuild. Replaced the computer once due to the idle servo motor shorting out. That was a $1000 fix and the most costly repair today. I just purchased the new Toyota FJ Cruiser after 17 years. Only time will tell if it can endure as well as the Montero. Hate to see old faithful go.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050