Used 2016 Mazda CX-5 SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$11,300 - $27,445

Used CX-5 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...6

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

My second CX5!

Angel, 08/06/2015
Touring 4dr SUV w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
168 of 170 people found this review helpful

I don't understand a lot of the reviews that I've seen here. I read some of the complaints and you could tell that these people forget what a car is supposed to be and do. They are complaining about the A/C, I haven't experienced any lack of cooling ability and I live in South Florida. This is an SUV meaning its bigger than a regular car so it takes more effort to cool, consider installing tinted window film if you need a cooler car. In terms of some of the other non-functioning or not to my liking features, please read the car manual, it is all in there. Some of the options could be disabled if it is too much work learning how to use them properly. This is a great car for the money, and it is the reason that I traded my 2014 for a brand new 2016. There was nothing wrong with the 2014, but having to get rid of my son's old car with high mileage, I found a great deal trading in both my cars for the new one. This car is the complete package; amazing performance, very safe, awesome looks, quality construction, very reliable and a bargain for your money. Like all cars, there are some flaws in the CX5, but so far I have not heard of the perfect car out there and probably never will, as each one of us have different needs and wants. That being said, the flaws I will talk about are minimal and won't affect your decision when buying a great performing SUV. 1) I wished the Bose Audio System was more powerful, I don't know if Bose decided to make a lower quality than usual system for Mazda or if it has to do with the speakers location but I certainly expect more from Bose. It is still a nice sound system and being packaged with the moonroof, makes sense for the price. The regular sound system with 6 speakers instead of the Bose 9, should be very weak. 2) I also consider the Technology Package a good addition unless you're comfortable following navigation instructions from a telephone, I prefer the car's GPS. It does take some getting used to versus the old tom-tom system, but I believe it's an upgraded version and you get 3 years of free map upgrades. 3) I could use more usb charging outlets, like behind the center console for the rear passengers, but again not a big deal. 4) I don't understand why the passenger seat has to be manually adjusted when it has six-way power driver seat. Again, no big deal. That being said, I love the new infotainment and its larger 7-inch touchscreen interface and the multifunction controller knob, it makes the whole driving experience better. You feel in control of all your needs with a touch of a button (music, phone, gps, etc.) The new electronic parking brake makes for a better looking cabin and extra space for you cellphone and/or wallet. I love the new keyless entry feature with just the press of a button at the doors and also the trunk. I definitely noted two big differences from my 2014 model, the quietness inside the cabin (which I love) and that is because Mazda added sound insulation for reduced road noise, and a smoother ride as a result of the revised suspension tuning. The smoother ride is something that I am still getting used to, being a speed junkie myself and a kart enthusiast I like a stiffer suspension, it gives me a better feel for the road. Nonetheless it makes for a more luxurious drive and I'm sure a lot of people will like that better. This is one of the things that is a matter of personal taste. On the other hand, Mazda added a "sport" mode selector that you can choose if you like higher revs and get the most out of its powerful engine. I am very happy with this vehicle. I have taken it on a long road trip and it is so comfortable, but also very responsive when you need to make a pass or speed up. I am sure everyone will find a comfortable position on the driver's seat. If you're looking for a compact SUV that feels bigger than it looks, gives you a quality ride without sacrificing performance and has anything you would like to have in today's car environment, look no further this is your car. Mazda quality has been proven for decades and their car engineering is at the top of the charts. I got my 2016 Touring CX5 with both packages (Technology and Moonroof/Bose), roof rack rails and crossbars for $27,000 (out the door), from an MSRP of just over $29K before taxes, fees and registration. You just can't get this type of vehicle with all the amenities, options and performance for that amount of money and the best part is that the Lexus, Audi and Acura owners who pay at least $10K more, still look mesmerized at you and your ride.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Couldn't be happier with my purchase

faizsafdar, 03/27/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
51 of 51 people found this review helpful

I recently traded in my 2008 Mazda 3 for the more future family friendly cx-5. I was hesitant leaving my sporty 4 door sedan at first, but I couldn't be happier with my cx-5. It is a fun, fuel efficient, capable suv. We've taken it from Maryland to Atlanta for a road trip and was able to drive through a snow storm in the process (odd that NC got hit with a snow storm though). Nonetheless, it's awd handled great in the snow and the cx-5 produces confidence when driving in extreme confusions. The ride comfort is great considering how the suspension is tuned. If I had to be picky about it, I would say it is a little underpowered, but the sport mode alleviates this issue for me.

Report Abuse

3 years in

K B, 02/14/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
68 of 69 people found this review helpful

Overall it's a decent car. I like the overall appearance, handling, and layout of the interior. I like the hands-free infotainment control in the center console. No fingerprints on my touchscreen! Folding down the seats, I can fit my bike in the back without removing the front wheel. A few things need to be addressed by Mazda: --The Smart City Brake System (SCBS) is far too sensitive on my car. When making a left turn with the turn signal on, this system will activate (without cause) about 20% of the time. It's sensitive to any reflective light (e.g., reflective lane dividers or construction signs, sometimes my garage door opening). That's not a high percentage, but when you're drinking hot coffee it's 20% too high. I'd taken the car to the dealership for this 3 times, and they "weren't able to replicate the problem." --The rear brakes wore out before the front, which is really odd. I'm not an aggressive driver. I replaced the rear brakes around 45K miles, which isn't super early. Just thought the wear was strange. --The original windshield had to be replaced in under a year of having the car. It was horrible quality. --The car averages 25.5 mpg. Half of my work commute is uphill, so there's that. --My programmed radio stations spontaneously delete every 5-6 months. Not horrible, but annoying. --The latch on the middle console is quite fragile and broke off after about a year of owning the car. I fixed it using a method I saw on YouTube, as I wasn't willing to spend the money to have plastic replaced with more plastic. In all honesty, when it's time to get a new car, I would get another CX-5. But the Mazda dealership recently closed shop in my town, so I'll probably be getting something else. It seems every time I get any new car I have to take it in a few times for recalls or minor issues, and I don't want to have to drive far to go to a dealership. My town has an "auto row" with all the major auto makers. Mazda leaving was a surprise. UPDATE 2 MONTHS LATER: transmission failed at 55K miles, and was replaced under warranty. The SCBS increased in hypersensitivity to the point when I didn't know when my car would suddenly jerk and slow down on its own volition. Dealership couldn't replicate the problem. Got rid of it for KBB value right after the transmission change. Got a Honda. I strongly recommend anyone considering buying the CX-5 take it for an extensive test drive around reflective surfaces (e.g., lane dividers, road work signs, reflective paint at a certain coffee drive-thrus). Drive it during the day and at night. These seemed to be the triggers to the SCBS going off, and what was initially annoying became flat out dangerous.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Miata genes in a wagon body

Stu Cohen, 09/15/2016
Sport 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
77 of 79 people found this review helpful

I researched ten small crossovers and drove four of them. Hyundai had a much better warranty, Ford had more features for the price, and Subaru had that "go anywhere" reputation, but the CX-5 was substantially more fun to drive - for me, an important consideration. Plus, I already own a 2016 Miata, so I was familiar with the Mazda way of doing things. The Grand Touring comes with leather seating and 18" wheels, two features that I find uncomfortable, so I asked my dealership to find me a Soul Red Touring (17" wheels, cloth upholstery) with the Moonroof/Bose package. They did, the price was very reasonable, and they went to great lengths to make sure I was happy with my purchase. Which I mostly am. The red is just beautiful, the car is attractive in a chunky station wagon kind of way, it has some athletic moves - no Miata - but it accelerates and turns better than anything this side of a BMW, and gas mileage is phenomenal - mid 20s around town, low 30s on the interstate. Read on for the things I was less-than-thrilled with. Here's a warning for Serious Sirius listeners: I found out too late that the Sirius/XM receiver is included on the Touring ONLY with the Touring Technology Package, which I didn't ask for, and so didn't get. I got GPS Navigation, a backup camera, and blind-spot alert, but no satellite radio. NOTE: The Sirius receiver CANNOT be installed afterwards by the dealership. (Up through 2015 it could, but not so for the 2016 & 2016.5) NOTE: I've been using Pandora and a Sirius/XM APP in the car via my iPhone. Pandora is free, Sirius APP is $4/mo if you already have Sirius in another vehicle. These work reasonably well, but occasionally drop out, requiring me to re-select them via the audio source screen. Mildly annoying, but nothing I can't live with. Here's a warning for music streamers: Watch your cell phone's data usage! I had to up mine to an 8GB/mo plan so as not to have to ration my Pandora listening. Other small nitpicks: No useful armrests. I don't care, but my passenger/navigator/significant other complains about that. The center console lid is too far back to serve as an armrest. There is NO water temperature gauge! We have a prominent tachometer on this automatic-transmission vehicle, but no temp gauge? Call me old-fashioned, but I kind of like to know what's going on BEFORE the red indicator light comes on. The Engine Start button is directly behind the wiper stalk - right where someone not intimately familiar with the car won't look. I'll just assume that's an anti-theft feature. Finally, kudos to Mazda for including a spare tire, jack, and lug wrench. Many car makers nowadays omit these. Having a flat can be a 15 minute roadside repair, or it can be an hours-long wait for a recovery truck after the sealant and compressor "tire repair kit" fails to work. However, did Mazda have to package the spare and tools in a huge chunk of styrofoam under the rear compartment floor? It looks flimsy because it IS flimsy. Even the much-maligned PT Cruiser that I used to have provided a sturdy under-car tire carrier and a tool pouch that stored in a lidded cubby in back. How hard would that have been to do? Overall, this is a really good car. If you like to drive but need a tall wagon, the CX-5 will do nicely. You'll like it even better if you're not as old and cranky as I am.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great compact SUV

jim clune, 08/05/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
94 of 97 people found this review helpful

Am an 80 year old, just retired. Wanted a versitleuseful compact 4wd for Northern MI bad weather. This car reminds me of the fun driving sports cars I Owned when younger and dumber. Have owned for 4 months and 3700 miles. Average in town mileage24 mpg, highway 29-32 mpg including 1700 mile trip to upstate NY. Bought all the tech available to compensate for age loss of reaction times. Radar cruise is astounding, choose your distance and car unobtrusively maintains it. Great for freewaydriving. Handling and braking superior to every competitor in this class Highly recommend to other seniors whowould like great handling and safety!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My GT RoCkS!

S. Thomas, 01/01/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
26 of 26 people found this review helpful

Thanks to several reviews here, I checked out the CX-5 GT and made the purchase. I had concerns about the techno features such as blind-spot monitoring, auto high beam controls, etc. I was shown how these features could be silenced or canceled if desired. I read some complaints about the NAV or Bose radio and they're just wrong. Read the manual, optimize the tone settings, this Bose system RocKs! Still digging deeper into these features. Too many to mention! Tech pkg. comes with LED lighting which are amazing! Really lights the road very well at night. I've had it less than one week and one tank of fuel already yielding 28+mpg in mixed driving on regular fuel. Surpasses expectations there and overall feel and quality. Handles like on rails! Just one small demerit is the ride may be too firm for some. Coming from a VW Tiguan, it's firmer than that but my bod not uncomfortable after a 3 hour ride. Pretty sure it's due to the 19'' wheels and V rated Toyo tires. Move to the Touring model which has 17'' wheels if this bothers you. Seats are great and has many adjustments. I was considering the RAV4 but Mazda seemed superior in many ways and the seats seemed to be more comfy than the RAV which one of my main concerns.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Some kid got another chance at life!

Jennifer S, 09/15/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
56 of 58 people found this review helpful

I have to say I am very impressed with my car right now. I bought my new Mazda back in June and it has all the bells and whistles and a lot of technology in it, as most cars do now. But this is my first one to buy like this. I have to sadly admit, I bought the car because I like the wheels. Yes, I am a typical woman and bought it for its looks, its speed and comfort. I was even made fun of, by a few, because of this reason. Anyway, as I was driving to pick my middle kid up from school, I was going through a school zone in front of the high school. School zone here is 35 mph, and NO I wasn't speeding as most would ask. I was actually almost at a stop because I approached an intersection and with the light turning green I started to accelerate. So as I have my foot pressing the gas, a truck next to me made a sharp turn into my lane to avoid hitting a kid who decided to cross the intersection at the wrong time. Well I guess the kids reaction was to run for some reason...also in front of me. Now mind you, while still pressing the gas (because this was a half second), my car makes some weird noise and it brakes. My car comes to a complete stop in front of this kid! I couldn't register what was happening or why it happened because my hearts beating so fast. My car would not move for several seconds, and an alert came on that said "SmartBrake Support Activated." Something along that line. Although I was not going very fast, this kid could have been seriously injured or run over and killed. With this little bit of technology I would have no doubt, hit him. Well done Mazda, well done!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Will never leave Mazda again!

Elise, 04/30/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

I had a Mazda CX-9 which I LOVED! I have always said it was the best car I have ever owned. My lease was ending and I decided in 2014 to try something packed with more technology and fun and didn't feel I needed a larger car, so I leased a Nissan Rogue. Within months I knew it was not the car for me. No pick up, no fun... I regretted it! Don't get me wrong, the panoramic sunroof and 360 camera were AWESOME, but the driving experience was awful. 2 years in, I traded my lease in and got a 2016.5 CX-5 Grand Touring with tech package and I remembered why I love Mazda. My husband has a 2014 and the upgrades are amazing on the 2016.5! Screen is gorgeous, infotainment and knob control are amazing. The back up camera is so sharp and bright! The LED headlamps and fog lights are gorgeous. The new grill is beautiful. I got Titanium Flash Mica and Parchment Leather interior (you know I had to love the look because I have 2 dogs and 2 young boys and the look still outweighed all that! I got seat covers for the back!) and it just looks like a more expensive car! The drive... SO FUN! It truly is! You have to actually experience it to understand! I have had this car for over a month and am so much more impressed than I was with the Rogue. The seats are even comfortable! The sport button makes this car really zoom zoom. There is no competition. Mazda all the way!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Toyota Buyer turned Zoom Zoom convert

Kapsi, 10/05/2016
Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

Come from a Toyota family - the one's who do not care much about driving and a car is an appliance to them. Test drove the CX-5 / Rogue and Tucson for 2016 models. Wife did the same. We felt the CX-5 was head and shoulders above the other two. Here are some important summary points: 1. Sport mode is very responsive, for a slight pedal pressure it will go, good for merging on highways and good for passing at higher speeds. 2. The suspension is stiff - a toyota mutes even the smallest bumps in road - not this one. And the suspension being stiff is great for handling / cornering. You get more confidence riding this. 3. Skyactive engine suffers mpg hit at higher speeds - This is true for many cars, check what speeds the EPA uses to estimate - if you always go 75mph category you may not get the rated EPA. But still this beats Rav4 / CRV on mpg. Only the Rogue is close but it has a CVT and handles like a Frankenstein. 4. Value for money is great - Mazda is no Toyota, for them to get customers they have to give more features. BSM / RCTA / Power seats at a sub 26,000 MSRP is much better value than Toyota for example. 5. Crash / Safety : Frequent member on CX-5 forums, some of the ones who have been in a car crash had rollovers and were able to get out of the car safely. They are all re-buying CX-5. Solidly built vehicle. We frequently get posts about 2015 users buying 2016 with their insurance money. 6. This has all the cargo you need, you may have that one occasion a year when you will miss the extra 5 cu.ft. of space in Rav4 or CRV but the daily driving experience will make up for it. 7. Real value is driving this on scenic highways through mountains and curvy roads - Scenic Hgwy 88 in Arkansas or something similar, it will put a smile on your face. This is a good gift for a dad / car driving enthusiast who wants a car - not an appliance which can also carry out the mundane tasks of commuting / kids to school etc.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

First New Car in 15 Years

C.H.Nowicki, 08/28/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
64 of 67 people found this review helpful

After two years of exhaustive research I selected the 2016 Mazda CX5 Grand Touring as my first new car in 15 years, and have had it for 19 months. I am the original owner of a 1984 Mazda RX7 with 107k miles...looks and drives like new, awsome; Mazdas are reliable, well engineered, and great lines. My terrific dealer surprisingly gave me the Mazda loyalty discount for having my classic RX7 (still a rotary rocket). I also regularly drive my two Hondas; a '92 Civic straight drive and '98 van both with over 270k miles, in amazing shape, so I checked out and test drove the Honda CRV and Nissan Rogue before buying. Compared to my old cars, this CX5 Grand Touring is like driving a luxury space ship! The manual is as thick as an encyclopedia. The interior is sophisticated but sporty, and the beautiful parchment ventilated leather seats are not comfortable at all if driving for more than 20 minutes. They are hard as a rock. My first passanger for a 5 hr. road trip complained. I had to buy a 3" thick tempra foam seat cushion for me because my back hurt and my leg went numb. I also bought a seat cushion for a passanger. It handles like a car, similar to my RX7, so its really fun to drive, not at all like an SUV. The front wheel drive suspension is stiff and bouncy / jiggly, you feel every pebble, and you have to really slow down on a sharp turn because of the high center of gravity. My mother almost got scalded trying to drink a cup of coffee in the rear seat. I should have gotten the all wheel drive suspension. That's what I test drove and it seamed smoother, but in Piedmont North Carolina I didn't need it. The visability is good, sits high like the van, but harder to see out the back past the head rests so the rear camera crucial. Mazda needs to add memory position to the driver seat for the Grand Touring model. Really needs a rear hatch release in the cabin....who doesnt have that? The 9 speaker Bose stereo is AWFUL. All of the sound is in the front, even with the fade set all the way to the rear. No base at the floor. I love Bose and own several Bose speaker systems and a wave radio that makes my kitchen sound like symphony hall! What happened? This is a real problem Mazda, and engineers, hang your heads. All contols set right to get a modicum of detectable separation. Muffled..not crisp sound. Love the joy stick control, perfect ergonomic locations for everything like my RX7, except why is the start button behind the steering wheel not visable? The navigation system is hard to program. Even the dealer had trouble. The moonroof is awsome, the air works great, LOVE the blind spot and rear cross check detection, and rear back up camera. It's BEAUTIFUL. Went to buy the red......ended up with the brown looking Titanium Flash Mica. Biggest issue so far...the rock chips!! Everytime I drive it on the highway, I get at least one chip in the hood! I have 8 chips already, down to bare metal and have not driven near any construction vehicles. The paint layer is microscopically thin! I have used the touch up paint pen, so my hood paint job is ruined..full of little paint dots now, and I wash and detail it weekly using McGuire's. Frustrating. Buy the $800 clear film hood protection if you are ever going to be on a highway, or a wind deflector which would prevent a few of them. I'm eventually going to buy a mask to cover them. The CX5 is sporty, classy, with beautiful windswept lines, (I'm a designer by trade) and agressive looking for fun. But if you have a bad back, steer clear of the leather seats, get the all wheel drive suspension, and know that you will need to install an aftermarket base speaker if you like good music. Gas mileage averages 26 mpg. Three recalls in one year: fuel filler tube, rear hatch supports, and a sensor. Never having a recall in 30 years, not thrilled, but dealer says with computerized cars now days the norm.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

MAZDA CX 5 2016 - MAZAD non-cooperation re Lemon

Tamanna Ahmad, 01/08/2016
Sport 4dr SUV w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.0L 4cyl 6M)
135 of 145 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2016 MAZDA CX-5 at the end of September 2015. By the first week of December, with about 1,300 miles, the engine light came on and the car became sluggish and would struggle to pick-up speed. I took the car to the nearest Mazda dealership. After a few days when I called them they told me that they did not know what was wrong and they were consulting MAZDA “tech-line” to figure it out. I picked up the car a few days later but even before I exited the dealership lot the light came back on. The service advisor aked me to leave the car and informed me that they actually did not know what caused the engine failure and had to confer with Mazda again. Everyday for the next week, I got a call informing me that they had no updates, and still had no idea what was wrong with the car. The only piece of information I was offered was that the problem stemmed from an error during the actual assembly/manufacturing of the car. The following week I got the most disturbing piece of information: an employee at the dealership had crashed into my car with another. I went in to the dealership the next morning only to be told by an employee, "Sometimes these things happen." I asked for the police report of how the accident happened but they said as the accident was in their premises they were not required to have a police report. I then asked for the dealership’s written report along with photos of the accident, which they refused to provide. All along we have been in touch with Mazda Customer Service. They said they understood the situation and that were looking into the matter and considering either to replace the car or give me a full refund. But when we asked for a firm written commitment from MAZDA they just danced around the issue. I told MAZDA that not only a brand new car has a serious defect but also the MAZDA dealership crashed my car and has caused significant depreciation. At this point MAZDA said that the dealership is not cooperating with them and they have no control over the dealership. We have asked to accelerate this to Mazda corporate but they would not let us talk to anyone senior at the company above the Customer Service Rep. It is now almost 5 weeks that my car is still in the shop and MAZDA is silent hoping that I will go away after hitting a wall at MAZDA.

Technology
Reliability
Report Abuse

Replaced Wrecked 2015 CRV

19sandyman, 01/20/2016
Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
28 of 29 people found this review helpful

In early December, our 2015 Honda CRV was hit from behind and declared a total loss. On our way to purchase a 2016 CRV, my wife and I decided to check out the 2016 Mazda CX-5. Both vehicles are highly regarded, but we were curious about the Mazda. Our sales person was great and arranged for us to drive a 2016 Honda CRV and 2016 Mazda CX-5 back to back. Both vehicles are nice, but for us the Mazda is just a superior vehicle. By the way, if you are considering the Honda, the excessive vibration issue in the 2015 CRV is real. Honda says it has fixed it in the 2016 CRV. However, after driving it during the back to back test drive, I'd say the vibration is reduced but still present. The Mazda on the other hand is vibration free! In fact at idle, it is tough to tell if the CX-5 is even running. After this comparison test drive, we happily chose the Mazda.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

From Grand Cherokee to CX-5

Adam Beasley, 10/07/2015
Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

I've driven Jeep Grand Cherokees for the last 15 years, so switching to the Mazda CX-5 was a big jump for me. The Grand Cherokee has gotten too expensive for what you get in fuel economy and storage space. I looked at everything from the Chevy Colorado to the Nissan Pathfinder, to the CRV or RAV4. None of them touched the value, looks and quality I got in my CX-5. I'm 6'5" so I need leg room up front that didn't compromise room for a car seat in the back and had enough cargo space to fit a 100 lbs golden retriever. On top of that I wanted to improve the awful 15/19 MPG my 05 Jeep was getting. The Mazda met and exceeded all of my expectations. I ended up getting upgraded seats and a roof rack thrown in for buying a 2016 model. The pick up is quick, the vehicle has a "sport" button to give it an extra kick, but you don't really need it. I also enjoy the info-tainment package. It reminds me of the BMW 7 series with the dial control. The only real complaint I have comes from my wife, it's not easy to quickly flip through channels on the radio as the passenger, which means i'm in control with the buttons on the steering wheel. Also, visibility is a lot smaller out through the back window than it was in my Jeep, a lot of that comes from the center headrest. With the parking camera, it's not so much an issue, but I still like to look back on my own. All in all, i love my new Mazda. It's sporty and comes jam packed with extras i've been missing out on.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Good Value...

Markus Haerri, 10/31/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

Although the CX-5 Grand Touring is a great value for the price, the 2016 has a few quirks, some if which the 2015 I owned already had, some new ones. 1. Push button start is not in the best accessible location. 2. Wiper & light controls do not illuminate. 3. In-dashboard instrumentation glares depending on direction light enters the cabin. 4. USB port that was in the middle console storage was removed form 2015 to 2016 and positioned in the center forward, making it 2 now. Makes NO SENSE. 5. Garmin NAVI is subpar compared to the Tom-tom in 2015 model. 6. Blue Tooth is very subpar. Lots of connection problems with iPhone, especially soundtracks stored. 7. Not sure if forward collision warning actually would do the job. Tried a few times in bumper to bumper traffic but didn't want to take a chance after it did nothing when closing in on the car ahead at a speed of 4 - 20 miles/hour. 8. Sound system could be improved. Bose did a very poor job tuning it to the car specific space. 7. Other safety features, lane departure warning, blind spot, cross traffic alert etc. works perfect. 8. Car handles very well and acceleration pushing the sport lever actually does make quite a difference. 9. Smooth, comfortable ride, road handling and driving experience. 10. Absolutely love the emergency brake by push button. Never understood why it took car makers decades to eliminate the ugly "pull-up" handle! 11. Engine compartment looks clean and organized. 12. The looks and shape of the CX-5 (like any Mazda) are by far superior than any other make competing, suck as Chevrolet, Honda, Nissan, Ford etc. Not sure where they find their designers? 13. I like that Mazda has the attitude not adding extra electronics like passenger power seat, more one-touch power windows, automatic lift gate etc. but adds the value with safety features and keeps price competitive. How many of us consistently have different passengers in need to adjust seating, carry 2 shopping bags to not have one hand free or are unable to use their hand to push and hold button to roll down window, unlike driver where it's a safety issue. In my opinion, the positives outweigh the negatives even though I have listed a few, most of them are not in any way reasons not to buy. Hope Mazda is reading this and gives it some thought. listening to Mazda customers and repetitive buyers. MH

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Moving from the tired CX-9 to the CX-5

Angelo Marasco, 12/31/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

CX-5 Impressions after a couple of months in on a 2016 AWD Grand Touring with Technology Package NOTE: We had a major issue the first week of ownership. We were the un-lucky few to have a major issue the first week of leasing this vehicle. The transmission started slipping. Put it in reverse to back out of a parking space, then put it in drive and the engine would rev up like it was in neutral for a few seconds, then lurch into gear. Very disconcerting considering it was brand spanking new. The dealership went out of their way to get it fixed – a free loaner, and they completely replaced the transmission. It was tempting to want another new car, but our lemon laws require four return trips for the same issue before we would have any leverage. No issues since then. This is from my perspective of owning a CX-9 (2012) which we turned in on lease. The lease was up, so we couldn’t wait until spring of 2016 for the new CX-9, so we decided to try and fit everything in on trips to the mountains in the significantly updated CX-5. The car has a very agile feel and a much more upright stance when looking out the front windshield compared to the low slope of the CX-9 windshield. The engine is peppy, but feels about the same as the six in the heavier CX-9. We’ve owned a lot of turbos in the past and they work a lot better at altitude. I think the new 4 cylinder turbo would be a great engine in the CX-5 in the mountains. The fit and finish is excellent for a car at this price point. Very solid feel without a lot loose cheap plastic that you find in so many other vehicles. Nearly on par with with a VW and even some hints of Audi interiors (MMI controller). We had a loaner 2014 CX-5 during the transmission issue and the 2016 model has a significant upgraded and more solid overall feel. The handling so far on ice and snow has been very good. Since we travel in and out of the mountains a lot, we do put on dedicated snow tires, but even with the all-seasons it felt more stable in the light snow and ice we had early on. For storage it is very tight for a family of four if you are traveling! A hitch or roof top storage unit will be needed. As for milage, we do a lot around town driving, so the average milage has been barely 20mpg, so not really that impressed with gas consumption. All around, a very agile car that performs very well and has a fit and finish way above it’s price point.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Getting my dad into a safe & sporty vehicle

Helpful Son, 01/01/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

Was looking for AWD with all the safety features as my dad gets older. My brother and I did the research and it came down to a Suburu Outback or the CX-5. Outback seems to have issues with oil usage and since my dad was driving a Mazda it became an easy decision. The car handles so nice, AWD was used on mountain gravel roads and performed great. Acceeleration is crisp especially for a 2.5 engine. Fuel economy is really good. We all love the safety features and my dad is super happy with the CX-5. He made sure all the family got to test drive it. Some of the controls are tightely bunched together and entertainment controls are down by the gear shift. It takes some getting used to but are logically employed.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

New Mazda Fan

rickypicky, 05/06/2015
Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
36 of 38 people found this review helpful

Sold my 2015 Honda CR-Vibrator back to the dealer and purchased a new 2016 Mazda CX-5 Touring. So far, I love this car! Seating is much more comfortable than the CR-V. The engine has the right oomph for me. Really fun to drive. First tank of gas got around 30 MPG. Titanium Flash Mica (deep dark brown metallic) exterior with parchment interior is a great color combo.

Report Abuse

So So So So SO HAPPY!!!

Julie Staley, 01/07/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

I test drove pretty much everything in this class and price range. I decided this was the one I wanted and dreamed about it for 6 months. I finally bit the bullet in November (having driven my Honda Civic for 10 years), and I have not been disappointed with anything. I admit that it could have slightly more power on acceleration, but weighing all the positives, this is just a teeny, tiny minor thing for me. It feels very luxurious, and the electronics controls are so awesome. You can change what you want without even looking. I was going to get the Touring, but my husband convinced me to get the bells and whistles, and I am so glad I did. The heated leather seats are incredible, and the Bose speakers take the boring out of my drive to/from work.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

11,0000mi

K K, 05/21/2016
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

Leased a CX-5 after owning a Toyota Highlander, this being said, I'm slightly biased below. The CX-5 is so cute, got it in white with black interior, really nice design inside and out. It's really compact and fits nice in small spaces, easy to maneuver. The car handles fairly well around corners but ride quality lacks. I try not to compare it to my highlander that glides over bumps and cost $10k more. But I try to actively avoid rough roads because it feels like I'm going to break something it's so jarring. I've owned Mazda before so I know this is how they tune their suspensions but it wouldn't hurt to add a little more cushion in my opinion. So far I've had only a minor issue with my radio losing all my presets and resetting itself, was reprogrammed by dealer under warranty and fix it like 80% of the way. Backseat is tight especially with two car seats and you can forget rear facing seats without having the front seats all the way forward. Cargo area is average sized but works. Love the AWD! Factory tires are junk and loud (yokohamas) but I'll be getting new ones. Right now I drive 70% city 30% highway and get 24mpg average which is mediocre. Much more fun to drive than RAV4 and DEFINITELY more fun than CR-V. I like it but don't know if I'll keep it due to how small it is.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Zoom zoomed into my heart

Steve Porter, 05/24/2016
Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

My 2016 Mazda CX-5 Touring is a great vehicle. Beautiful inside and out, fun to drive, and everything just feels right. The 2.5l engine is plenty and the transmission is how one should be. It is a bit noisy, but I think Mazda wants you to hear the engine and road as part of the driving experience. The infotainment system is very easy to use, with two knobs and several buttons supplementing the touch screen. After 6 months of trouble-free ownership, I still smile when I approach it. My adoration of this vehicle might be enhanced by the fact that the Mazda replaced a POS 2015 Jeep Cherokee Limited. My scathing review of that abomination and its 9 speed transmission can be found elsewhere on this site.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Grab

Mack F, 10/19/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

i bought the vehicle in July of 2015. It now has 21,000+ miles on it and currently in for service to replace the Transmission. Until this happened, I was very pleased with the vehicle, especially when taking a long trip. It is a very good road car and I do not feel 'beat' to death after riding for several hours. I drove from Mississippi to Atlanta, GA all the way and when I arrived at my destination, I did not feel tired or stiff from the trip. I stopped in Mississippi on the way back and was heading home the next day. That is when the trouble started. I tried to resume my trip back home and the transmission 'went south'. When I finally got the vehicle back to my dealer for service, the service department tried to drive it into the service bay and had great difficulty driving just a short distance.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Surprising compliments on style

Joey, 02/13/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

This SUV is actually a sharp looking vehicle. But it was surely an adjustment for someone who has driven sports cars all of their life. Almost Everything about the car is awesome. Test drove Toyota, Buick, Honda and the handling is by far superior and the 8-level seat adjustment allowed this short lady to be comfortable and able to see the road clearly. Also Mazda was the only SUV to allow the seats to fold flat which was a big plus for me. But here are the downsides that I noticed. The tom-tom GPS sucks. It has gotten me lost five times and once in Chattanooga Tennessee. My portable five-year-old Garman GPS is more accurate than the TOM TOM. And voice command feature for the GPS gets it wrong routinely. The air-conditioner should have Vents for the second row seating. Living in Florida with the air on high in 95 degree heat gives minimal relief for rear passengers. Seat adjustment memory would be a nice feature for other drivers and me. The lumbar feature hits in the wrong place for short people. The sound system falls behind the other SUVs. I leased this vehicle and sadly at the end of my lease I will be looking for a different SUV solely because of the inaccurate GPS which has been updated three times. I travel a lot and cannot afford or waste time getting lost.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

After 30 Days

Keith Marshall, 04/20/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
32 of 34 people found this review helpful

I shopped around for a new car after owning a Toyota 4Runner for 15 years and my top choices were a BMW X1 or X3, Hyundai Tucson or Sante Fe Sport, Mazda CX-5, Volkswagon Tiguan and Nissan Rogue. I drove the CX-5 first in late 2015 and it was very nice, I didn't get it then because I didn't technically need a car so I kept my old 4Runner. However in March she finally gave out on me after 310k miles. My first choice was actually the Hyundai Tucson, the new style was excellent and I really enjoyed the look of the interior, CarPlay and the panoramic sunroof. Luckily the auto show was in town and I got a chance to sit and play in every model on my list except BMW. The Hyundai's were great but I am 6ft 5in tall and they lack sufficient headroom and for some reason it felt smaller inside, I think technically they are just 1 in smaller in width but it felt cramped, needless to say the headroom killed those cars for me. I priced a BMW but since I like to own my cars and I couldn't get a great deal with all the bells and whistles I decided to move on in addition to being concerned about long term reliability. The other models were either poorly designed or just didn't have the reliability I wanted. During the show I kept coming back to the Mazda and sitting in it, the display model was Pearl White Grand Touring and it just looked so elegant. I ended up going to test drive 1 more time the next day and fell in love. I simply marvel at how good the Pearl White GT package looks. It's aggressive, classy and just reminds me of a quality car, I've pulled up next to Lexus and Audi's and I don't see a significant difference in how good mine looks compared to theirs. The next part is the interior, I think Mazda really stands out here, I would say they took ques from BMW and Audi because they went with a simpler is better approach. The buttons are now trimmed with an aluminum looking accent and it just says class. The center console has killed the manual parking break and that created a smoother and more elegant centerstack. I love the Iconnect but it does takes some getting used to, sometimes I wish the logic was a little different but overall its pretty intuitive. Once I learn the voice commands which I haven't tried, I bet it's much better or easier but I am so used to using the command switch it's second nature now. I love the climate control system, it's a set it and forget it, no more adjusting the air flow direction, I just set it at 72 and I am on my way. I also love the leather padding on the bottom portion where your leg rest. Everything screams simple luxury. I am not a driving afficionado but I will say, this car is fun to drive. I have never cared about turning corners and the like, I guess having a 4Runner you don't think about those things. However when I got in this thing I really loved driving it and now I look forward to trips for no reason. I love taking corners and accelerating out of them and the engine really responds. The body roll is minimal and the ride is very nice and smooth but it's firm as well. The only negative I have to say about this car is that I got the light colored interior and it looks super classy but I can see how keeping that clean will be a beast. The rear cargo area isnt great, big enough to do what you need to do and the 40/20/40 rear seat looks versatile. Overall I love this car and I keep watching videos about this car on youtube even though I already have it, lol. I forgot to mention all of the tech, blind spot, lane departure, adaptive cruise control, all of these things are so awesome, I don't think any CSUV can compare to this car as a package. I totally love it. Maybe 1 negative is the rear window but with blind spot monitoring and most CSUVs having this issue, I don't think it's a show stopper. Overall 4.5 out of 5 stars. After over 1 year I can say I only have 2 major drawbacks and they are probably minor, the leathers seats get scuffed easily and that sucks, I am single so I don't have passengers much so the car is pretty much prestine but my seat has too many scuff marks. The other issue is the road noise, from my understanding the 2017 model has fixed this with more sound deadening insulation so it's probably not a problem on the new cars but a used one you have to deal with it. I have the 18 in low profile tires so that is also an issue and it might not be as bad with the standard tires vs GT. Other wise this car is great, I love walking up to it and it looks so freaking classy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Car!

phillyguy60, 03/28/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
31 of 33 people found this review helpful

One month in to my purchase of the 2016 GT, Titanium Flash with Leather Parchment Interior. Nice combination. Overall, excellent car. I moved down in size from my 2004 Explorer, which I loved, so some of my comparisons are going to a smaller, but more responsive vehicle. It's the best handling vehicle I've ever owned. I waited until late Feb, hoping that the snow would be over, but LOL, here in NJ, it's still snowing at the end of March. This guy puts my Explorer to shame in the snow handling-wise. I always felt the Explorer (w/ on-demand 4WD) was slipping out from under me. Not so with this. Slightly "jiggly" ride on uneven surfaces.

Report Abuse

Great Ride, Awful Navigation (No Live Traffic)

Ranggaz, 06/07/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
22 of 23 people found this review helpful

Pros: The 2016.5 CX 5 is a solid car. This car is very fun to drive, the steering is very accurate and acceleration is excellent. The interior of the Grand Touring trim is beautiful with high end materials. Cons: - A HUGE con is the navigation system. Mazda introduced the Navteq based navigation as a standard feature for their 2016 model. It does NOT have live traffic. The car is capable of live traffic however the navigation is not connected to the live traffic information. This is very disappointing. - Bluetooth sometimes drops and you end up risking yourself by reaching for your phone in your pocket.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

You know that smiling grill Mazda has?

R.A. Freund, 02/23/2016
Sport 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl 6M)
30 of 32 people found this review helpful

I’ve now got 8 months and 9600 miles on my CX-5. let me say I am very, very satisfied. loving it!., So let’s get down to it. The CX-5 (Grand Touring Tech) is everything the reviewers have said it was and everything Mazda advertised it to be. Quite, comfortable ride. Firm but not harsh and the handling… way better than I have the nerve to test. It is a pleasure to drive. The inside is simple, clean and ergonomic. Everything is easy ( almost – see nits) and it has a luxury interior that rivals my wife’s Volvo XC-60, a very comparable car in a different price stratosphere. Even at an equal price I’ll take the CX-5 over the XC-60 in nearly every category that matters. I shopped the CX-5 against the top rated in it’s price class: the Honda CR-V and the Ford Escape. I disqualified the CR-V for lack of blind spot indicators, a “must have”. Next was the Explorer. This was tough because honestly Ford has really nailed this. The price was spot on and it had an incredible ride with what seemed like a bit more power than the CX-5. But they really missed on the the styling. The rest of the Ford line up is much more stylish. The escape still looks like a fleet car to me. You know that smiling grill Mazda has? The CX-5 was closer to the look and the fun of the Mazda 3 a car I also own and passed along to my son. A month or two ago someone pulled up next to me and asked " does that come with a 6?" "really doesn't need it", I replied. You have to love the three driving options for the smooth 6 speed transmission. We’ll call them standard , Sport and manual. I use them all. Most of the time i use the standard mode. The manual shifting is great fun, it helps control speed on down hills, keeps a lid on your speed in slow zones or use it if you just want to have some fun. Which brings us to “Sport”. This mode sets the shift points up into the 3500 to 4000 rpm range, it is very aggressive. Zoom, Zoom! I use "sport" mostly for maneuvering in heavy unforgiving traffic or on very hilly back roads. Switching back and forth between modes is just so easy that it becomes an extension of the way you drive. And now for some Nits: New Car Smell is no joke. I got a head ache and falling down dizzy. I didn’t know why. I went the ER. Blood tests & Ct scans were negative. No one asked me if I had just picked a new car with 3 miles on it and drove it 300 miles in 2 days. How about asking, “Has anything in your environment changed?” Such is the state of our health care system. Once “I” figured it out I drove with the sun roof open in the tilt position for a few days and that was that. The center post is too big. The CX-5 is not alone with this problem but there it is. Be careful checking to your right making left turns. You can hide a tour bus over there. Even with the CX-5’s perfectly positioned controls changing the volume for the navigator requires 4 to 5 steps. I have solved the problem by just not using the navigation audio. The Navigator has a program that tells you when you are directing it to condo or private complex. It tells you that you are navigating to a location requiring "special permissions". You click "OK" and then.. . well.. I still haven't figured out how to get back to the regular navigation screen. This is especially bad because it is condos and private complexes that are the most difficult to navigate. It is so frustrating that when that happens I have to navigate with my smart phone and google maps.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I picked AWD CX-5 GT over Ford Escape Titanium

mndriver2013, 05/25/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

The CX-5 and Escape are both fun to drive, but the CX-5 handles better while the Escape has better excelleration. The Escape has the edge as far as enfotainment system, but the 2016 CX-5 has come a long way since the 2015 model; however, it does take a little getting used to the joystick/ knob controller. Voice commands are definately better with the Escape( the Mazda dealer even said that the CX-5 are frustrating to use). Mpg is slightly better in the Mazda. Brand reliability is suppose to be better with Mazda... We shall see. The tipping point for me is that Mazda is an IIHS Top Safety Pick Plus and the Escape is not because it got a Poor rating in the Small overlap crash test.

Report Abuse

Had it for 2 weeks and I love it

Research Nerd, 07/30/2015
Touring 4dr SUV w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

Nothing I don't like about my 2016 CX5. I drive in traffic a lot, so I like the blind spot monitor. The electronics are very nice. I like the 7 inch screen and the control nobs. Car handles like an expensive sports car. This is my first 4 cylinder in about 15 years and I love the acceleration. Car is built well, interior is great, nothing I would change about this car. I didn't get the technology package, b/c I'd heard it wasn't worth the extra money. Plus Google Maps is good enough for me. Fuel mileage is getting better. I have 1200 miles on this car and I'm averaging 31 mpg (I do mostly highway driving, but some city), so I'm happy I'm above the 29 mpg average. This is my first Mazda, but it certainly won't be my last.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my CX-5

Ellen Covella, 09/28/2016
Touring 4dr SUV w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

Coming down from both a large SUV and a LEXUS I find the CX-5 compatible. it's not fancy but has all the bells and whistles exactly where you need them. Instrumentation has everything layed out in a very simple format. The handling is exceptional and it's nice to have a car with real brakes again. The get up and go really is "zoom zoom". I find the seats and ride very comfortable though I would like more adjustments available on the drivers seat. Over time, the upholstery is a bit low end and I would prefer a more upgraded fabric. I also find that compared to Toyota, the dealer services are much more expensive for less.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2016 CX-5 GT - One Year Later

Joel, 10/16/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

After exhaustive research, I narrowed the field of small SUVs down to the Forrester, CX-5 & the CRV. My key criteria (and this may vary from yours) was gas mileage, comfort, cargo capacity & price. Performance came in 4th. The Forrester was my leading candidate going into the test drives. Being 6'3", I couldn't sit in the passenger seat of the Subaru without hitting the headliner. The Honda had an annoying vibration through the steering wheel when stopped. After a year driving the CX-5, I'm extremely pleased with my decision. A recent 500+ mile trip over a 4,000 ft mountain pass, we got 32 MPG. The "tech" works well. I'm especially pleased with the adaptive LED headlights, Bluetooth/pandora, lane warning system & the cross-traffic sensing backup system. Then there's the Zoom-Zoom factor. The bodylean for a vehicle of this class/size is fantastic. I have to look very hard to find any Cons and the following is really nit-picking. The supportive seats the make cornering fun become hard and uncomfortable on long road trips creating the "tired butt" condition. The great MPG is partially achieved by the transmission getting to the higher gear as soon as possible. This can put you in a weak part of the power curve for the 2.5 engine. Yes, you can put the car in sport mode and manually shift but that will carry a MPG penalty. The visibility is poor with large blind spots. This is especially true for the large front roof pillars. The lane warning system is a must and if it fails, good luck. The speedometer goes up to 160. This puts 80 at the midpoint (12:00). I rarely drive over 140 (kidding). The 5 MPH increments are very small. If the midpoint was 60, the 5 MPH increments would be easier to read. Once in cruise control, a digital readout appears in the instrument cluster. April 2017 update: A recent leg injury has made it more difficult to get into the vehicle due to the high door sill. This is one of those things you don't think of or notice when buying the car. Overall, great car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best car I've ever driven

Steph G, 12/09/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I've had my 2016 CX-5 AWD Grand Touring for about 6 months now, and I am totally in love with it. It's sharp-looking, both inside and out, and I've been stopped by strangers to ask me about it. It drives AMAZING. I just recently drove a smaller sporty sedan as a rental, and I couldn't believe that my much-bigger CX-5 drove/handled the same way. I really like the way the entertainment system is set up, all the buttons are in the same area, and are easy to reach. I can go between music and navigation without taking my eyes off the road, which is important to me because I take a lot of road trips. The navigation is great, there are soooo many different settings and choices of different ways to go. The one thing that's both good and bad about the navigation is that sometimes it takes me super weird routes, like through obscure neighborhoods instead of major roads. But it always gets me there, and sometimes it's faster that way. Plus you can check the route on a map before you set it, and there's different route options if you don't like what you see. The front seats are comfortable pretty comfortable. I've noticed my back hurts after really long drives, more than it hurt in my old car, but no one else has complained about it in my car, so it might just be me. The "sport mode" is great, although I only use it getting on and off highways to save gas. Speaking of gas, the gas milage is awesome for the size of the car. I average about 25.6 mpg, and that's mostly city driving. However, I have taken the car a few long highway trips, and then I average 32-33 mpg, and I have heard it can go even higher. I have also taken the CX-5 camping twice now, and it fits my massive amount of camping gear just fine, even without putting the back seats down. It's a bit of a squeeze, but it works! I can't speak for the reliability since I have only had it for 6 months (driven 10,000 miles so far), but I have had no problems. I think the Bose stereo system is fine and sounds great, but I've heard some don't like it, so I guess that's a personal preference. As for the safety, I hit a deer only two months after getting it, I'd say I was going 30 mph, and there were small dents in the hood and a small dent in the front, but that's it. I got out of the car to check the damage thinking it would be much worse. All in all, I would highly recommend this car to anyone. It's comfortable, good-looking, drives super well, it's safe, and the gas milage is awesome.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Feature filled small SUV built for any weather.

DanW, 07/11/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
38 of 41 people found this review helpful

We owned a 2014 CX-5 AWD vehicle for 2 years that my wife drove, and liked it so much, we got the 2016 CX-5 AWD for me to drive (you can call them his/hers transportation). Both times we purchased, we compared it against the Toyota Rav4, the Honda CR-V, and the Nissan Rogue. Though the competition was close, the Mazda hit better then each competitor in at least one area and that made it the overall winner. It has the best mix of mileage, all weather control, fun features, peppiness, and durability that put it ahead of the rest. With that said, the 2016 revision to the Infotainment system has been a real miss. The combination of it's location high in the instrument cluster, the black color of the dash, and summer sun makes it prone to failure when parked in even the slightest bit of sunshine. If you plan on buying one, plan on also buying a dash window shade to protect it's fragile electronics. 1/2017 Update: We still love the vehicle, and stand by our choice. Our combined mileage is off a bit, as we seem to be doing more city driving these days than highway. We still love all the features on the car, and there's been no change in handling or comfort characteristics. We are however, less than impressed with the Pandora interface. It rarely works properly. To be fair, Pandora has agreed that the problem is on their side, but they seem to have no interest in fixing it. We've been forced to use the Bluetooth connection and ignore the car's built in Pandora interface. The CX-5 is still a great choice in this segment.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Loving my CX-5

mms1486, 04/30/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
29 of 31 people found this review helpful

I previously drove a 03 Toyota Matrix which I loved. It had no flares but was reliable. I have no kids and wanted a car that was young and fun, but also big enough for future kids. Needs were AWD, moonroof in a CUV or hatch. I drove the crosstrek which was nice, but too small. I also looked at the rouge, Rav 4, and forester. All nice options but I feel like they aged me 10 years. The style of the cx5 was sporty. It drives like a car just higher up. Quiet drive and quiet engine. Love the LED lights and auto wipers. Safety features and technology are great for a car in this price range. GT has moonroof and Bose. Love the moonroof but the Bose seem weak. Nav system upgraded from past years.

Report Abuse

Love my RED Santa Baby

Lin B, 05/07/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
20 of 21 people found this review helpful

This is the best car I have ever had. I did a lot of research because this is the first car that I had to or could pick out by myself after 50 years of driving. I did love my Lexus though too. But with my Ford Fusion it was very difficult to see the front end to park properly and there was not enough front end clearance to go over my driveway curb. Not with my CX5. I got the parchment and black interior which reminds me of a saddle shoe but it is a knockout. gorgeous. Love the turning radius . It is a smooth quiet ride. Love the back pull down shade for the back to hide packages. I have driven for 6 months and I love it every time. The Soul red metallic color is wonderful and I am so glad I got the Grand Touring for the beautiful wheels. Had lots of compliments on it too. I like sitting up higher . I will never drive another car without the backup parking aid and the great side mirror guides for changing lanes and lane drift. So much easier especially when entering or exiting freeway at night. Plenty of space in back storage and love the way one or all 3 sections of the back can go down. Hard to say anything negative but I finally thought of some things. Phone charger plug is difficult to use when the console is loaded with personal items and it would be nice to have hands free for the back big door but the handle provides an easy closing if you remember to use it. I love this car and will stick with Mazda for a long time. Never regretted my decision for one moment. I used Costco to find the best price too. I also drove the Buick Encore and Toyota Rav4. Very very happy!

Performance
Report Abuse

The fuel-efficient and modern SUV is here!

Jeremy, 11/09/2015
Sport 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I recently purchased the Sport version of the CX-5. I'm normally not the type of person who purchases new vehicles, instead preferring to wait a year or two and buying quality used. But after doing a lot of research on Mazda's Skyactiv engine technology, and then taking a test drive of the CX-5, I was sold. This vehicle oozes value. First off, it's worth noting that the biggest difference between the 2015 and 2016 versions of the CX-5 from a driving standpoint is the interior design. The 2016's new controls layout is incredibly intuitive. Like using an iPhone, or any other Apple product for that matter, it just makes sense, requiring no learning curve. The new display for 2016 is beautiful, and I find that I am looking for excuses to drive a little out of my way each day to spend more time in the vehicle. Once you use the control wheel on the center console the idea of using a touchscreen while driving will seem absurd and downright dangerous. Besides the interior design, all the other technology features work great, from keyless entry to the blind zone alert (an awesome feature). My vehicle doesn't have the technology package, so no adaptive cruise control, etc. It's fun to watch the tachometer while you accelerate the vehicle. Shifting is actually imperceptible, and it's interesting how quickly the transmission shifts, keeping engine RPMs very low. The transmission design and programming not only contributes to the amazing gas mileage (averaging 30+ city during break-in....expect this to go up), but there is also no engine noise inside the cabin. If I had to think of a complaint, it's that the base is so strong in the center channel Bose speaker that it makes the rearview mirror vibrate sometimes. The interior is very functional, but I think that most cars in this class are pretty similar with respect to cargo and seat space. I have the sand-colored interior, which looks great paired with the black exterior. Where the CX-5 really sets itself apart from its competition (beyond Skyactiv) is in the styling. This SUV is really a stand-out in the parking lot! The lines look beautiful from any angle, and the finishing details on the exterior are closer to a luxury vehicle than competitors in this class. One final thing to note is the CX-5's weight. The CX-5 is pretty light compared to some of its competitors. And it is the first SUV I've ever driven that has suspension dynamics of a car. The cornering is excellent. In my humble opinion, this car is a no-brainer. Buy a new CX-5 and keep it until Tesla makes an Model X priced for the masses. Gasoline vehicles aren't going to get better than this.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my new car!!

Heather, 05/19/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I bought the Grand Touring model mainly because my husband and I wanted dual AC. So glad we did as we also love the leather! Is this the best stereo, no. But I still think the sound is good and wouldn't hesitate to spend the money on the this trim again. A few days after we bought it we had a lot of rain. Other vehicles were sliding and slipping around us but I had no issues at all even when driving through standing water. The seats are comfortable. I mainly drive in town but I have had no issues with wind noise. My husband is 6'5" and is comfortable in both the driver and passenger seat. I am used to driving a truck with a V8 and was worried about lack of power with this engine. I've had no issues. This car has great get up and go. I can't express how much I love this car. We test drove a Honda CRV, Subaru Outback and a Forester. While the other cars were perfectly fine I am so glad I chose this one. I highly recommend it!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good overall

susanchicago, 03/18/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 2015 Mazda Touring with Technology package for this GT AWD and couldn't be happier. I am a college student in Illinois and AWD gives me better confidence in snow, but I really wish there could be a way I can manually turn on the AWD. This car is also good for student, I can turn the car into a bed if I fold down the rear seats. The biggest improvement is the infotainment system and it does make a big difference. The new wheels look great. In general, I found the look very attractive and the gas milage to be great. The 2016 model seems to be more solidly built, as the interior plastic is better assembled, whereas the plastic in my 2015 fall off within weeks.

Report Abuse

MPG not near the advertised

AW, 01/17/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
19 of 20 people found this review helpful

I have always owned either Toyota and Hondas sedans. I needed more room and decided on a compact SUV for my next car. After much research and test driving, I went with the cx5 FW ( NOT a AW) with 5 miles on it. 1800 miles later and I am only getting 22.8 mpg and 24 mpg mix with highway. I drive flat land in Florida and have not been sitting in heavy traffic. Something is wrong with these numbers. Also the car has an idle vibration and the dealer tells me this is is normal for sky active technology. I find this unacceptable for a $30k car made in 2016. The reason I did not go with the Honda CR-V due to all reports off a vibration. I now regret my purchase.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love this little buggy!

likesredcars, 06/11/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
54 of 60 people found this review helpful

I did research ad-nausea and test drove several different small SUVs before I made the decision that this was the best car for me. Why? reviews, quiet ride, gas mileage, safety ratings, and the fact that I could actually see out the back. I liked the Nissan Rogue's cargo configuration, and the panoramic sunroof better, but not the lower ratings it received from several car review websites. I'm also not in love with the CRV transmission, or anything with a turbo. Any car with a manual stick-thing for parking brake was automatically eliminated. Cheap looking. My inner voice told me to buy a Subaru Outback, but I just couldn't love a station wagon. Just not sexy enough for this granny. So, after owning this car for a year - and only driving it on the weekends - there are only two things that bug me - the navigation is not very good, and the rear tailgate could really use an automatic release.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Leap of faith, better than expected!

Daniel Lind, 10/11/2015
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
24 of 26 people found this review helpful

After driving a 2011 Toyota Sienna SE for the last four years, I was ready for something different. Prior to getting the Sienna, I had a 2004 CRV, 2007 Fit and a 2008 CRV. Both CRV's were good cars, don't get me wrong. The 2004 was a Japanese version that I specifically ordered. It was a tough little car and protected my family when we were involved in a six car pile up on Route 93 one night. We were in the middle, and everyone walked away unharmed. Aside from that, the two biggest issues with that car was ride comfort and a completely dead driving experience. The Fit was awful. As for the 2008 CRV, it was ok, but the quality was not good, with squeaks and rattles everywhere. The foreward-angled headrest was also so annoying due to the inability to adjust it fore and aft. Then I got the Sienna. I was not sure I wanted such a big minivan. The SE, being the sportier version turned out to be quite good. But I found it hard to park, not great on fuel economy and when anything broke, it was very expensive to fix. This was one of the main reasons I wanted out of the vehicle. So as I started my hunt for a replacement, I really wanted something that was fun to drive and had enough utility to address the needs of a four person, plus one dog, family. I looked at the new Pilot and the current model of Highlander. I was shocked how cheap the Pilot looked. I didn't want another CRV, especially since I did not want a CVT. I kept coming back to the CX-5. I was in Japan this summer and had a ride in an older version of the CX-5 and I liked it. The owner liked it too. We were able to fit five people and all their luggage! Then I had a chance to drive a US version, again a couple of years old. I wasn't too impressed with the smaller 2.0L, but overall, I liked the vehicle. I finally took a test drive in a GT 2016 and I really liked it. But I still was unsure if I could go from such a big minivan to a smaller SUV. The price of a Pilot with all the options I wanted was about 10K more than the Mazda! The Highlander was in the same range. I also came close to getting a Subaru Outback. But that car had so many little things I didn't like. So after reading many reviews about each one of the cars I was considering, I decided to take a leap of faith and go for a 2016 AWD GT. It has taken a little getting used to. As a family, we have had to streamline our array of junk we keep in the vehicle. We also had to get a turbo booster for my four year old, due to that lack of space in the back for a convertible child seat. He did fit, but the seat was very close to the back of the front seat. The first 600 miles were not impressive in the CX-5. But once the break-in was over, the car came alive! I still think it is not completely broken in at 800 miles, but seems to be getting better each day I drive it. Two points I would like to share. First is the sport button. Not sure why this is not highlighted more. It really isn't something to use consistently, but when you need a little more juice, it works great. You can toggle it on and off as needed with no worries. Another point about the sport switch is that it works in manual mode! I don't know why no one ever mentions this, but when you switch on the sport button and put it in manual mode, watch out! Mazda uses a locking torque converter that locks up about 80% of the time as apposed to 20-40% in many other vehicles, and not at all in a CVT. It also locks into each gear so if you know how to shift a manual transmission, you can really utilize the power of the engine. You won't win too many drag races, but the output of the engine is really impressive when needed. In normal automatic mode with the sport button off, it is much more composed. But this is all programed and actuated via drive-by-wire, in the name of improved fuel economy. Another item is the Bose entertainment system. One of the factors that almost prevented me from getting this vehicle was the negative reviews for the Bose system. The reality is that it is really very good. But you have to make adjustments in the menu to get the most out of the system. Also, the source is important. XM works great and sounds great. HD FM is ok, but is not as dynamic as XM. Finally Bluetooth is also quite good, but again need a bit of adjustment to sound correct. The age of the recording seems to have a sizable impact on the performance as well. Some classic hits tend to sound a little flat. But dynamic modern recordings sound awesome! Also, it seems that just like the engine and the transmission, the Bose speakers needed a little break-in before sounding right. The CX-5 is so much more fun to drive than the two CRV's I had. The price is right for what you get. I am so glad I didn't get a Pilot or Highlander. I do miss the intimidation factor the Sienna had, as it was an SE and in black. But the Mazda has proven to be the right choice, and I like it more every day!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Better than my BMW

Cassye, 03/19/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

I’ve been in the market for a new car for over 5 years. I recently traded my trusty 2006 Subaru Forester for my AMAZING new Soul Red Metallic CX-5 GT AWD. Though the Sub was a practical and very reliable vehicle for me in my new mom chapter of life, I was ready to get back to my usual sporty-car personality that I’d abandoned a decade prior. Backstory: The car before the Forester was a red BMW 325i, and I was obsessed with that thing. I ordered it from the factory, waited the agonizing 8 weeks to take delivery, hand washed it every weekend and even set up a separate maintenance savings account based on stories I’d heard from fellow financially tolerant Bmer zealots. Typical DINK. I loved the way it drove, along with the quality of the construction. It made my 1.5 hour commute to and from my corporate job every day somehow worth it. Fast forward a few years and we got rid of it when our daughter came along, and we got tired of paying $800 per electric window repair; all 4 seemed to systematically go out – one by one. I’d quit my job to stay home and we needed a DINKless ride to go with our new, decidedly unDINK lifestyle steeped mostly in kid barf and dog hair. My daughter basically grew up in the Subaru, along with the 3 aforementioned dogs and various school, swim and neighborhood friends. It served us well for hauling and domestic life in general. In fact, I didn’t technically NEED a new car at all right now. But my soul did. Now that my daughter is older and I’m working again, I finally felt like the time was right to regain what I’d lost in the vehicular mojo dept. Because I’m still a family gal I had to think somewhat practically, but this time without sacrificing fun and performance, and the CX-5 stirs those same old car obsessed feelings in me! This is an early review with only about 700 miles driven so far. However, there has yet to be one thing I don’t love about the car. Just like my old Bmer, but with a much better reliability rating and price tag. In fact, I love my CX-5 MORE than my old 325i because they thought of everything. The GT was the way to go for me – larger engine, sporty wheels, newly standard nav and backup camera, and leather heated seats/mirrors. I have to say I haven’t used the nav and I know it got poor ratings from other owners. I’ll be back to discuss that once I take the time to mess with it. I will address the heated seats though. I think they’re more than fine, in fact the high setting is too hot, and I’m a cold-natured person. The sound system seems nice to me; another flaw highlighted in other ratings. However, coming from the Forester it could be more about perception than anything. Not having rear vents for backseat passengers was originally a concern for me, but so far my back-seaters are happy with the car temp and don’t seem to have issues like they did in the Subaru. Summer is coming so I’ll let you know how that goes. Fit and finish of the interior is supurb, along with the road noise. I can actually have a conversation with the backseat riders without yelling. MPG has been a solid 25.5 in and around town, so I’m happy with that. Ride is sporty and solid without being too rough like other small SUVS. Likewise it’s not swoopy and sloppy like the bigger SUVs. Shifting is smooth and the Sport mode turbo button is a fun and effective feature for interstate driving. I gave you the backstory because I don’t know where you’re coming from in looking at this car. I haven’t driven an upscale European vehicle for many years, so this lack of experience could certainly influence the high ratings I give this car. Coming from the Forester many compact SUVs today fare better. But for the price and for it’s class I give the CX-5 a hands down 5 star rating. UPDATE - May, 2020 Still loving this car 4 years later. As promised I'll talk about the navigation which has turned out to be subpar. I gave it a good try for over a half hour and gave up. I just use nav through Bluetooth with my iPhone with no issues. Other than that no complaints whatsoever. Finishes are wearing well (its always been garage kept) and mechanically still a sound vehicle. Would definitely buy again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Exceeds Epectations

Russ, 09/27/2015
Sport 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I bought my CX-5 in June 2015 as a 2016 after researching all the small CUVs. The contenders were the Toyota Rav4, Hyundai Tucson and Honda CRV. I did checkout the U.S. models but read many complaints and disappointments in MPG. A few realities that are noteworthy include exceeding the EPA mileage (something I wish U.S. auto Mfgs could say, just ask any Ford Ecoboost owner), best HP from a 2.5L NA engine, excellent handling and braking. A couple of downside issues are it is a bit noisy, and the navigation system is a bit lame (so I’m told, I do not have this option). Overall, I’m completely satisfied with my choice and highly recommend the Mazda CX-5. Specifically, I’ve gone through 4 tanks of fuel and after the first tank, I get 26.6 mpg in town with a little highway thrown in. I get 32.5+ on the highway, during one trip so far. I don’t drive with an egg shell under the gas pedal. The engine feels quite spirited and the 6 speed transmission is smooth and responsive. The interior is very comfortable, more so than the Rav4, and the AC works great and has little effect on engine performance. The sound system (6 speakers) is fine for my tired ears and has fine USB and Bluetooth connectivity for Pandora and some other services I don’t use. It engine is definitely not a droner but is noticeable and Mazda could put more effort in quieting the interior. I find it impressive the Mazda gets the HP and MPG out of a 2.5L NA engine without resorting to force induction. It will be interesting over the next 10 years to see how the many turbo charged engines fair out in the long-term reliability. Pity the future used turbo car buyer whose previous owner didn’t change the oil or understand how to drive and care for a turbo charged engine. As much as the foreign and domestic manufacturers try to make turbo engines a non-issue, with technology like water cooling the turbo, the reality is turbo engines do in fact require different maintenance and driving manners, not the least of which is to idle the engine before turning off after any driving period. Being the owner of three turbo charged engine vehicles; I’m no stranger to the subtitles of turbo-engine ownership. So, I’ve avoided the turbo engines and went for Mazda’s Skyactiv technology. Add in the many other Mazda CX-5 attributes, and the decision was a no brainer.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

No Sirius/xm radio in touring model w/o getting ex

Gerry, 03/11/2016
Touring 4dr SUV AWD w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Love the car(just got it today). Only disappointment is that XM radio listed in music selections but cannot access it because we didn't get tech pack. We do have navigation! Also, no instrumentation of temperature controls!

Performance
Report Abuse

Thumbs Up

Rich Kimball, 04/06/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

First I'd like to comment about reliability since I can't really respond to that yet as I have under 1000 miles on the car at this point and hope that it is as reliable as my Toyota Corolla was. However, I can say that so far, I love this car. The Grand Touring model with the metallic white paint, roof racks, fancy 19" wheels with alloy rims really makes the car look sharp and a little sporty. I test drove a couple of other SUVs (like the Nissan Rogue) and settled on the Mazda. I'm finding no issues with acceleration. It's easy to get in an out of and the seats are quite comfortable. The backup camera is great for parking in tight spots in Boston. So a big thumbs up from me so far.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fun! Practical! Love it! Big bang for my buck too!

HVC, 04/30/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

(Have now had my 2016.5 CX5 for ~2.5 years...update at end...) I had a Mazda 5 Touring (2012) before I got my new Mazda CX5 2016.5 -- I loved the Mazda 5 but I love the CX5 even more! Technically they are just about the same size, and the mazda 5 was peppy and fun to drive but the Mazda CX5 is just a blast. Impressive acceleration for its size. I have the Grand Touring, black with parchment & black leather interior and it looks and feels classy but sporty. It is easy to get into and out of (I'm 5'3") and easy too for me to use the hatch back door. I wasn't sure about the rear camera at first, but I really like it too. The extra driving safety features (lane change proximity warnings, rear camera motion detectors) are really impressive. Needed too - because if I had just one quibble, it is that while driving looking out the back, seeing something in the blind spot -is tough tough. The mazda 5 had much greater visibility. But - the lane change warning system and rear camera totally make up for the CX5's rear visibility weakness. Overally - very, very happy with my mazda 5. I got it because I moved to a more rural area and needed some kind of AWD suv, and have been very pleasantly extra surprised by how nice and fun the CX5 is to drive and ride in. Update#1- its May 2017 and I've had my CX5 for 14 months. Still in love :) Its been a wonderful car over all. I'm at 22k miles, because I do a lot of highway driving for my job, and there have been no mechanical issues at all. The only things I've had happen have been a bit of fate/bad luck - a semi threw a stone at the windshield and cracked it. Replacement, because the model has rain sensors, ended up being $400 instead of just $250 for a plain old windshield. That was a little bit of a bummer because I haven't really seen the rain sensing software do much more or better than just manually adjusting the windshield wiper speed when its raining. The other issue has just been tires - I had the mis fortune of getting 3 flats. 1 nail and two sharp rocks, and ended up having to replace two of the tires. And the tires were in the $225/ea range instead of the $100-$150 range the Mazda 5 was in. But those are minor things. Overall the CX5 has been awesome and fun to drive. It has impressive pickup/acceleration for its size and price. I'd effeminately buy it again. Update#2 - May 2018 - the CX5 remains an awesome car! Rock solid and fun to drive. Definitely would buy it again! I've put a lot of freeway miles (and hours) on it driving between the Bay area in California and southern Oregon and its been a great road trip car, besides being a great all around car. Update#3 - November 2018 - my CX5 is now at 53,000 miles (i do a lot of long range driving obviously) - Love it as much today as day ! bought it. Update#4 - November 2019 - now at 80,000 miles. Most of it highway driving between California and Oregon for work. Great car! would buy it again if I was buying today. My only issue has been with Apple - my iPhone6 stopped working bluetooth to my car (except for still doing hands free phone calls, go figure) - but its my phone's fault or an apple update's fault. I heard Mazda no offers apple-car-play and supposedly for my 2016 too so at someone I'll check into that. Again - the car itself has been just awesome and I'd recommend it to anyone who asks.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mazda CX5 is right on the mark

Burton Thomas, 05/04/2016
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I had narrowed my search down to a Mazda CX5 or a Nissan Rogue. The internet was very helpful in researching both vehicles and getting customer reviews to study. Nissan seems to have had problems with the constant velocity transmission but they claim to have it remedied but after driving both the Nissan and the Mazda I chose not to take the chance on a possible CVT problem. The Mazda seemed to perform a bit better and the handling was far superior to the Rogue. The Mazda is a much sportier handling vehicle and has very little body roll in tight cornering. Visibility is good and the blind spot warning on the mirrors makes it even better. My mileage so far exceeds the claims as I can get 29.5MPG around town but that does include some stretches of roadway that have no stop lights or stop signs. The electronics work as advertised but since my last vehicle was a 2006 I may not be well educated on what others have to offer. They take a bit to get used to but once I became familiar with the controls they are just fine for me. I really like the Pandora radio availability as I can get what I want to listen to without the fees such as Sirius/XM charges. And the sound quality is very good.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it!

Tom, 05/12/2016
Touring 4dr SUV w/Prod. End 01/16 (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I have had my CX5 for 2 months now, a good time for a review? So far so good! I decided to get a Mazda because we just loved my wife's mazda3 (now 3 or 4 years old). The CX5 has awesome styling and rides like a dream. I'm going to focus on some things not said as follows but I do love pretty much everything about this vehicle! The negatives are few but are worth pointing out. Backing up is difficult, the camera is awesome and helps a lot but seeing things that are not directly behind me is difficult. I now back into my parking spots because backing into traffic is darn near dangerous, I can not see anyone unless they are directly straight behind. That's the only real drawback and backing into slots is easy with the camera. I do like the cross traffic warning beep and speaking of warnings, I just LOVE the blind spot monitor. I don't have any issues with blind spots going forward but darn, these things really work so well and make me feel much safer! My seat is comfortable but I do sit at a goofy angle and the side supports do jab my side. I am forced to sit at a "proper" angle and I guess that's a good thing but is slightly irritating. I am averaging better gas mileage than most here are reporting. I started in the mid 20's but am now up to just over 30MPG. My driving mix is about 75 Highway/25% city so I'm quite pleased there. The Bose speakers are so very VERY nice, do spend the extra and get that, put some music on a flash drive and you can be forever in bliss! (I have a 32 gig drive and it holds several THOUSAND songs) I did get weathertech mats and I highly recommend them,well worth the extra cost. But I rarely use the trunk so I passed on mats back there, if you do the same, a neat tip is to use those other mats that came with the car as mas in the trunk. Not "custom fit" by any means but they don't look so bad and do the job! update: almost 8 months later and I still love it! a friend just bought a Hyundai Sonata and I scratch my head wondering WHY? and another update, nearly three years later and I still love my CX5. I just drove into work in snow and it handled well (front wheel drive only and no snow tires!) as it always does. Nothing I do not like!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

It doesn't get better than this!

DAP, 05/08/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Go for the Grand Touring. More expensive but it has the safety features & bells & whistles. Great ride and typical Mazda fun performance. Great storage and a perfect size for a small SUV or cross over. The size is easy to maneuver and the sitting position puts you in a good position to see the road. I love the safety features and the integrated control consol is easy to use and great integrated technology. The ride is good and steering excellent. 2.5 liter is solid and has nice power. I'm very pleased with my purchase.

Technology
Performance
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Functional and safe yet sporty and fun to drive!

Diane Doctor, 05/11/2016
Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I was looking for a crossover with AWD that sat higher up (I'm 5'4") so I could have good visibility. The seat and steering wheel are adjustable in several directions so that I was able to find the perfect combination. I bought a cargo mat right away and have already used it as a truck, loading it with bricks and a stone fountain with no problem. And best of all, it's fun to drive! I wanted something sporty and this delivers. I've never driven an automatic before and except for the occasional sluggish upshift, it's very responsive. It feels like a lot of car but handles well. For the occasional flashback to my days of VW GTI ownership, I turn on the "Sport" feature. I was hoping for better gas mileage--I do mostly city driving and average 22.4 mpg after one month of ownership. One small complaint is that because the controls for the front display (music, volume, mute, etc.) are on the floor panel in between the front row seats, the cup holders are farther back and harder to reach. Visibility is great though I wish the sunroof were larger. The 9-speaker Bose sound system was worth every penny!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Fun to drive for seniors that like it sporty

Kay M., 07/26/2016
Grand Touring 4dr SUV AWD (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

I initially went looking for this SUV for the safety features since I am getting to that age (over 65) where the more help one can get to ensure my safety & others on the road is worth the price. Besides getting all the bells & whistles with a Grand Touring model I also got a SUV that is fun to drive, really nice looking & didn't put a big dent in my pocketbook. There is plenty of room for cargo & since we travel to florida every year for several months packing way more than we need, this SUV handles it nicely. My husband likes it because the front seats are easy to get into, comfortable & are heated (I love that!). I like how driving it you don't feel like it is a "grandma" car but just a fun car overall!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page:
51050