Used 2001 Lincoln Town Car Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,704 - $3,754

Used Town Car for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Bring Back The Town Car

gelf58, 01/09/2012
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

These cars are awesome. I bought one with over 395K miles on it. The original owner took extremely good care of it. I have owned it for 11/3 years and I am approaching 423K. It still has the original engine and transmission. at 412k I had to replace the a/c compressor. Other than regular maintenance that's it. The key is to do the regular maintenance and these cars will last a log long time. Unlike the Cadillac's whose Northstar engines have valve cover issues and the transmission usually fails at about 150k

Report Abuse

my 1st car

danjb94, 08/08/2012
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

this is my 1st car and as a 17 year old driving around a Town Car I have to say it is awesome. Mine has only 71k miles on it so it's still a baby when it comes to these cars. Only problem I've had is I had to replace the idle air control valve last week because it went bad and the car would stall out at idle, but $80 for a new one off rock auto and it was done! Couldnt ask for a cooler 1st car!!! I'm still amazed that I get 30+ MPG on the highway for such a big car.

Report Abuse

2001 Lincoln Town Car Cartier is one of the best!

D. S, 08/31/2016
Cartier 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

They FLOAT over the road surface... not as floaty as the 90's Tow Cars, but yes, they still float. With air ride bumps are not even a consideration. Personally I don't want a sports car feel that corners like its on a rail. I like that floaty-boaty feel! When your spending big money for luxury car.. that's exactly what you want it to feel like, period! The engine is as storing is the day I bought it.. and the appearance is just as good. Every vehicle acts differently depending on who the owner/driver is, and mine has been somewhat pampered. With just over 191 THOUSAND "and not stopping anytime soon", its my daily driver. 117,000 miles out of the factory brakes before needing a change. Just bought the 3rd battery, and went the first 10 years without spending a cent. Finally at 150,000 miles the air ride shocks started to weaken, so I had them changed for another set. NO! I did not resort to coil & springs! No even an option. Other than that, I have adored this car since the day it was built. Only a very few complaints.. and not the car itself, but the design. Who's bright idea was it to make the headlights detachable (for bulb changing purposes I guess) lock in place with 3 tin clips? When hitting a hard bump, they wobble. And its noticeable to me and drivers in front of me. Secondly, the easy in/exit moving seat stopped working early on. Dealer said he's surprised I got that far. He told me.. don't last, never did, hasn't seen one work right since day one. I would have had it fixed, but it required full seat replacement.. and cost huge money. Thankfully it stopped in the exact position I use and like. Other than that, I am shooting for 250, thousand. These Town Cars last forever. Gas mileage is good. Rated at 17&25. 6 disc CD changer in the trunk. HUGE trunk. And eve after 15 years, its still unmistakably Lincoln. People ask.. when are you going to buy a new car. Answer: when they bring Town Car back! I'd rather drive a 15 year old Lincoln, htan something lesser that's brand new.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my Lincoln!

Donna H, 06/28/2010
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

This is the 3rd Lincoln Towncar I've owned. All have been excellent vehicles. I have 121,000 miles on my 2001 Lincoln; have spent very little on upkeep other than new tires and a heater coil in the 8 years I've owned it. Love the large trunk; can haul almost anything; very reliable; gas mileage could be better, but car is so heavy and sturdy, that makes up for it. They don't make them like this anymore!

Report Abuse

Bought used with 105,000 miles...

s80sux, 09/30/2011
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

The Lincoln Town car is a great car! This vehicle feels heavy,well constructed, safe and gives me an overall sense of well being. Buying a used car I was nervous about older cars being unreliable but after reading reviews of other owners stating thier vehicles reliablilty, I decided to buy one!

Report Abuse

It's like driving a recliner

Jeremy, 09/05/2017
Cartier 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I just purchased a 2001 town car a few months ago for my wife. We absolutely love it. We recently drove it on vacation it has around 200000 miles on it and was as smooth as a new one. We averaged 26 mpg it has tons of power. This is the first car i could drive for 7 hour's and jump out of it as if I had only drove it 30 minutes.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

super gas mileage

Ronald G. Jones, 12/04/2009
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

This 2001 Greenbrier edition Signature series which we purchased new has been a good, economical and reliable car. On a trip to Rome, Ga from Chambersburg, PA, (all interstate and driving 60 MPH) we averaged 32 MPG. Several years ago while driving in the flatland of North Dakota we averaged nearly 34 MPG for several hundred miles and driving at 60 MPG and on cruise control. People assume that because it is a big car that it is a gas guzzler. Nothing could be further from the truth.

Report Abuse

2001 Toown Car Cartier

zog, 10/08/2008
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is my fifth Town Car, and I loved them all. I bought this one with 64,000 miles and it has been flawless. Comfortable, reliable, smooth and great mpg...21 city and 27+ hiway. I love the big car ride and the rear wheel drive. I do all my own maintenance and this is easy to work on. I fully expect it to go 200,000+ miles.

Report Abuse

The Great Lincoln Town Car

Joe Atkins, 02/03/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I was promoted at work and needed a car that I could drive a lot between stores and pick up exec's from the airport and drive them around. The towncar has been the best decision. It's ride is outstanding, the gas mileage is good, and the comfort and style of the interior keep the comments coming from everyone that rides. I have not had one issue mechanically from this car and I drive 3000 miles per month. Every mile I drive is with a smile on my face.

Report Abuse

2001 town car bought used

Wendy, 04/24/2006
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Great vehicle for family of two teens. Gas mileage city only 18. But highway & city avg. 23. Went to Missouri from Wisc. crusing mostly 85/90 and got 28 mpg. This car loves to go. At 70 ours kicks in again for passing. Have only had regular service done, runs great. Need a CD player. Has great speaker sound. Cup holders in the way of heat/ac controls. Even though car is so smooth a cup could sit on the armrest. Have had car in major snowstorms & handles well. Our 16 yr. old learned in this car. Back seat leg room is for anyone & I prefer the back seat for the comfort. Side windows are bellowed out, great for sky viewing for kids at night.

Report Abuse

excellent

bob turczynski, 03/12/2002
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

great car

Report Abuse

My 7th Lincoln

nbay29, 02/14/2015
Cartier 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

My first one was a 1949 Baby Lincoln. I've had other makes in between, but now I'm on my 7th: an 84, two 96s, a 99, an 04 and now an 01. The 04 was a complete dud. From the engine, to the differential, to the accessories, it was junk at 77,000 miles. Very well satisfied with the other six. Comfort, mileage, reliability, fun to drive----what more could you ask?

Report Abuse

Comfort with decent mileage

Richard, 06/12/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I average about 17 miles a gallon. Comfort is the key word for my Touring Edition sedan. I can fit everything but 4x8 sheets of plywood in this trunk, which makes it great for my work. Had problems with the factory installed alarm system. It's been good to me, and I learned to do the repairs myself so I'm looking at keeping it.

Report Abuse

In Love with my Town Car

olejamesw, 07/19/2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I would be amiss if I didn't say I have a love affair with the big Lincoln for over 35 yrs. This is my 1st one. I am not dis appointed in the least. The ride is close to Heaven; The handling for a car this size is unthinkable; The little 4.6 liter engine is remarkablly fun too to punch it when necessry. The room is more than adequate. The service is free during the entire time of you warranty. Tis an awesome vehicle and just when you think you have found a flaw, you get a solid 20 mpg in the city. The one trip I did take up to the Panhandle of out State of Tx. you can get over 25mpg if you 'keep you foot out of it'

Report Abuse

our towncar

Egor, 09/11/2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Great road car, feel safe, not cramped, comfortable, easy to get in and out of, feel rested when you arrive. Not as much fun as our ninja motorcycle but great transotation in or out of town.

Report Abuse

Beautiful Lincoln towncar

mahriah, 01/16/2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I love Lincolns, this is the second one that I have had. I got rear ended in my Lincoln Continental, and I was fine. in fact, my Lincoln broke the Toyota's bumper and my car was barely phased.I love it!

Report Abuse

my town...house

gogirl, 03/07/2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

huge car, fun to drive, great to just go cruising

Report Abuse

Town Car deserves 2nd chance!

Fay, 07/06/2018
Signature 4dr Sedan (4.6L 8cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Excellent riding, driving car! You won't find a more comfortable ride than a full size Lincoln. Truck gives you plenty of room, can carry 5 people easily, This is my 3rd Lincoln and I am so sad that the company's last model was made in 2011. I hope the great minds will determine a way to meet EPA requirements and keep this marvelous vehicle going.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Cadillac VS. Lincoln

Timothy J, Wheeler, 04/29/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I know this sounds weird but I am actually the owner of a 2001 cadillac Deville. (my dream car since I was 6). I Know several people who drive TCs of all years. My main point is that I was a die hard Cadillac fan but after riding with my friend in his 01 TC I was no longer sure. Now dont get me wrong I still love the Cadillacs but I am getting tired of all the sky high all the time repair cost of it, after all im only 17 years old. my freinds TC just keeps going wile mine is in the repair shop. NO FAIR..

Report Abuse

2001 Lincoln Town Car Cartier

Bob Klein, 02/13/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Large and comfortable with plenty of power and easy to handle. Easy access to the front or back seats.

Report Abuse

George's

Oscar O., 01/03/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This was a program car when I purched it. 21,900 miles have had it 19 months now 38,800 nothing wrong with the car, just to big wife does not like to drive it and it is not front wheel drive

Report Abuse

One Great Car

highlad, 06/07/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car became the company plane after 9/11. 95% 0f the 60,000 miles driven were high speed highway miles and the car performed perfectly. Most trips were 8 to 14 hrs. duration and the car was very comfortable and the fuel mileage was exceptional. This car was selected after renting various makes and models for business trips to determine their comfort and suitability for long business trips. The Town Car beat all the others. We purchased one and it proved the value of our selection process, it was every bit as good as we expected.

Report Abuse

Super Luxury

jcohoon, 03/15/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

First time owner of this brand, but probably will be a loyal customer in future years. Car is most comfortable to ride and or drive. Nice features like the moving pedal system, traction control, very responsive engine and superb climate control system. Fuel economy is 23 to 26 MPG which I consider exceptional for a car of this size and weight.

Report Abuse

Style

Mick, 03/18/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We purchased our 2001 low mileage Ford-Certified Town Car Executive this February—the first of two Lincolns (a V8 LS is our second Lincoln purchase). We added a six pack CD changer. My wife and I don’t have to scream to hear each other (as we did in our Club Wagon)—and since we are both lifetime WW members, we could sit four of us abreast in the front—but choose not. We ensured a safe purchase by using CarFax to research the vehicle history. This car just makes traveling a real pleasure—the only thing missing is aroma therapy candles (on second thought, leave them out). We are experiencing 18.8 mpg city and 24-25 mpg highway. This is THE car for long drives.

Report Abuse

'01 Sig TC after 2 yrs

KJ, 07/11/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my 3rd TC, and I drove last 2 ('84 & '92) over 150,000 miles. I get gas mileage of 27-28MPG on highway trips which is great, but I miss the power that get from my '95 Crown Vic w/performance and handling package (3.27 rear end and dual exhaust on same 4.6 engine-- that I am still driving with 184,000 miles on orig engine and trans!) I find the steering a bit numb on the highway, with car wandering a bit on Michelin Symmetry radials, and I preferred the ride on my '92 TC and my '95 Crown Vic. Local Dealerships have been great fixing problems, and it is a nice looking car, but I don't think I'll drive it as long as my other 2, or the Ford.

Report Abuse

So - so

Mike L, 04/12/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We have had our Towncar for 3 years and it will be my retirement car. My wife and I really like the car with a few exceptions. We feel a lux. car like the Lincoln should have a softer leather. Ours has very hard leather which makes it somewhat uncomfortable on trips, slippery, stiff, etc.. My biggest objection with the car is the mushy ride and the way the car floats on corners. I had a Thunderbird before with 258K miles and I loved the handling package, made you feel like you had control of the car, not vice versa. I have a pickup that I drive 35000 mile a year and I feel safer with the handling than the Lincoln. Also had a bunch of intermittent electrical issues. But, still love the car.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050