Used 2000 Lincoln Navigator SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,717 - $4,759

Used Navigator for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Nothing but problems!

LaceyP, 05/02/2010
4dr SUV 4WD
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

I would NEVER buy another Navigator. I have had nothing but problems with mine. The air suspension went out and is NOT cheap to fix. Also I've had transmission problems. Something in the transmission gets too hot and causes the seal to break and the transmission fluid to leak so transmission had to be rebuilt. The only positive thing about this vehicle is the room and seating but unfortunately I can't keep it running long enough to even enjoy that. If you have a ton of money to fix on ongoing repairs then this car is for you! These vehicles are bad for their suspension and transmission problems...I wish I would have known this before I wasted money buying mine.

Report Abuse

The Phantomblonde's Nav experience!

Phantomblonde, 06/17/2002
4dr SUV
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I hate the Contitrac tires that came on this Nav, I have had nothing but problems with them, which is causing a rough ride. Am working with the dealership to come to some agreement about the tires being replaced. Dealership has been very cooperative so far. This has to be the ultimate road- trip and shopping vehicle, has room for everything! Beautiful bright candy apple red color!

Report Abuse

Awesome!

Best of Both Worlds, 06/09/2003
4dr SUV 4WD
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I was driving a Dodge Ram and a Lexus LS. The Navigator is the best of both worlds all rolled into one. The towing power far exceeds the Ram, in fact you barely notice there's a boat back there, being quite capable of passing speeds on the highway with ease. The luxury compares moderately with the Lexus, while the sound system far exceeds it. Handling is quite good considering it's massive size.

Report Abuse

Love it

Love the best, 06/28/2008
4dr SUV
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

I owned this since it was new, now 9 years old and still great. I have had the heaters in the seats go and not covered under even extended warranty, and also had a transmission electrical switch go out while traveling, and the one plastic piece on the door and one on the lumbar seat. But those were to only trouble I had with this wonderful vehicle. For 9 years service I have loved it since day one. With gas at $4 a gallon I still love it but for me the end is soon because being a woman I want something newer. 9 years is a long time for me. If you are thinking of an older navigator I would say go for it. For 9 it still looks great and performs great.

Report Abuse

nothing but engine problems

mac905, 05/24/2011
4dr SUV 4WD
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

i have a lincoln because i fell in love with this suv as soon as it came out.I save up enouph money to get one and at first it was everything i hoped it to be then it rained out and water had gotten in to my fuse box and gem moduler box and it was all down hill from there i ended up paying 1,400 dollars to get that fixed. So when it hit a 1,000,00 it was time to change the plugs which coursed another 500 but once the new plugs went in the coils all started to go bad one after another it went from a dream to a night mare.And to make matter worst now the sensors are starten to go one by one i never had this much trouble with a car in my life SO MUCH FOR BUYING AMERICAN a made owner

Report Abuse

Love it!

mikross, 09/13/2002
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Vehicle has a VERY quiet ride for it's size. Air suspension is wonderful MPG is comparable to the 1989 Mitsubishi Montero that we replaced. Pretty good, considering the difference on engine and overall vehicle size!

Report Abuse

My 2000 Navigator

rjs5689, 12/24/2002
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The vehicle is not the greatest of preformers (what do you expect from almost 3tons and an under powerd engine) but other than that i love the vehicle. on long trips to maine from here in NY its about 7hrs and this vehicle just makes the whole trip enjoyable.

Report Abuse

satisfied

D'Storm, 12/25/2002
4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This Navigator is an extremely reliable vehicle with outstanding performance in terms of speed and passenger comfort. However it also has an enormous thirst for premium fuel and is a little too much like the Ford F-150 on the inside.

Report Abuse

Nothing better SUV wise

ecrecelius, 01/01/2003
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

WOW..this suv is the best. The gas mileage isnt the best but the car makes up for it considering all you get. Its no wonder now why i see so many celebs tooling around in them. I drove mine cross country to L.A with 2 big dogs and 2 kids, we wouldnt have made it without the luxury and performance of the navigator. It felt like flying first class.

Report Abuse

navigator

bddfc2, 01/08/2003
4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

this is the most trouble free vehicle i have ever owned. in 3 years the only warranty work was a failed micro-chip in the horn alarm sound (it still worked, just the sound volume was too low)

Report Abuse

Enjoyable Vehicle

bigk67, 01/12/2003
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is actually my wife’s vehicle, but I have to pleasure of driving it on the weekends. The power is decent, and the ride is excellent. We rarely use the third row seat, as the dog has to ride with us everywhere. The vehicle is a little wide for most parking spaces, so it is prone to many door dings. The plastic side panels have helped on many occasions, but you can't stop all of the idiots.

Report Abuse

SUV Standard

Dannewitz, 01/30/2003
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is what an SUV should be. Roomy, quiet, luxurious, full of options, and powerful.

Report Abuse

Luxurious Behemoth

Peter Duncan, 09/19/2003
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My previous vehicle was a plain pick- up truck. No a/c or any other amenities, except for am/fm stereo. The change has been quite the shock. Leather is not vinyl, amenities galore, chrome luggage racks. Driving it has been a true pleasure for me. It is a joy to load the family in for a drive.

Report Abuse

My navigator

MIKE, 10/12/2005
4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

A great suv, very comfortable and fun to drive. I like the interior leather and 4 captain seats. I have 20" oversized chrome wheels and upgraded grill that make this vehicle very nice to look at.

Report Abuse

baby boomer dream buggy needs more ...

wolf490730, 03/17/2004
4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

vechical rides high and smooth .. a secure feeling

Report Abuse

better than cadillac

little leo, 08/21/2006
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

well this is a very beautful car its pretty good on mileage i went to palm springs and i only had to put gas twice!

Report Abuse

I love my Nav

KRM, 05/13/2004
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This was a used vehicle and the dealership and Lincoln have been great to work with. I didn't realize it was such a status symbol. I bought it for the room and the ride.

Report Abuse

fairbury

Fairbury, 06/19/2004
4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Our Navigator has been very reliable for us. We have had few machanical problems with accessories only which have all been taken care of under warranty. No engine or drive train issues have been experienced.

Report Abuse

My Navigator

CRAIG, 06/03/2007
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Awesome. Excellent outstanding preformance comfort for me my wife and four kids. The 4x4 is very impressive offroad. With 134,000 miles on it and only minor repairs I am thinking let's get another one. Our '88 landcruiser or '88 and '89 Jeep Cherokees got worse gas mileage, did not have all wheel drive, and had nowhere near the comfort performance, and style. Navigator is the ultimate SUV.

Report Abuse

Love and Hate relationship

shleppy, 05/06/2003
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Love the look. However, have had many problems with it including a time it kicked in 4WD LOW while I was driving without me touching the control. What a jolt...thought someone rear-ended me. The engine was making a humming noise for a time. The speakers went on my "premium stereo". I was also disappointed to learn that the seemingly luxurious interior is no different from that of a Ford Expedition. On the upside, I have two kids and the roominess is very nice...this truck loves the highway. Also love the size...I sleep well knowing my kids are being driven around in this tank.

Report Abuse

A Great SUV

rm, 11/15/2007
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a great truck for a reasonable price. Our family loves this truck for its comfort and performance. This truck will easily seat 5 people comfortably and 6 with a little discomfort for the third row passengers. Gas mileage is not great. We get 11.8 in ours and our 2007 H2 gets 13. Actually, I thought the Navigator got ok milage until we got our H2. Navigator is a wonderful "on road" vehicle.

Report Abuse

classiest luxury suv

hollywoodsuv, 01/15/2003
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This suv is hands down the best.........all around. Drove from kentucky to California with 2 100 pd dogs, 2 kids, and a uhaul...would not have survived in any other vehicle. Love the captains chairs, tv, playstation, smoothride, complete power the whole way..felt like flying first class. The gas milege isnt the best but well worth it for all the bonus's this suv has. A++++ couldnt have chosen a classier suv

Report Abuse

The ultimate big ride!

Thespecialist, 05/20/2003
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is one of the most comfortable, family friendly SUV's around. This is the 4th Lincoln I have owned, so I may be biased! Awesome styling, a car- like ride, tons of power, and head- turning looks are all standard. I don't care too much about the gas mileage - hey, how many people buy big SUV's for the economy? You buy them because they do what you want them to do, and do it well. So if I get 14 MPG versus 20 for a generic mini-van, who cares? I will gladly pay the extra price. The prices for used Expeditions and Navigators are very reasonable, and they really are great values.

Report Abuse

love my navigator

Norman Williams, 02/25/2016
4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

great value, lot of bang for your buck; only major cost I've experienced is having to replace rear air suspension bags and compressor total cost of parts appx. $500.00.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Luxury on Wheels

Peavley, 03/26/2002
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I had considered purchsing a 2002 Cadillac SUV, but after purchasing the Navigator from a Cadillac dealership I realized that the cost of a vehicle does not represent the comfort level received. Scott Haberman from LUND Cadillac made my buying experience memorable. The car rides like a luxury car. In my opinion it is better that the Cadillac.

Report Abuse

LEMON!!!

Zibby, 09/14/2002
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This truck was nothing but problems for me. The airsupension went out at 25000 miles. The rear-end was replace at 32000 miles, but the dealer that I took it to still hasn't fixed the transmission problem. I took it 4 times, they said I needed new tires. The check engine light went on, spark and coil failure. I tried to contact Ford Motor company, but got now response at all.

Report Abuse

Killer 2000 Lincoln Navigator 4×4

Stacy Walker, 05/31/2017
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Love it. Great power and handling

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Leak on top of Gem module

Tim L, 03/09/2004
4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I traded in a 2001 an Elantra for a 2000 Navagator to pull a travel trailer. I can only hope I will have this vehicle in time to pull it. It has been in the shop now 4 times to fix a leaky windshild that allows water to drip onto the G.E.M. module and thus shortout the entire front part of the car's electrical system. Now the air suspension isn't working

Report Abuse

Won't buy another one

angie b, 04/25/2008
4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

The problem I have is that from the beginning the little things like the handles inside started falling off, they could be re-attached, but it was a pain to deal with. I probably will not buy another one due to the interior problems I have had. The overall reliability of the car is pretty good. Just not a fan of the inside.

Report Abuse

Excellent SUV

freestyle77, 03/18/2002
4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great SUV

Report Abuse

Wish I had bought one before

Terri, 10/19/2020
4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love the Navigator. I bought a used 2000 Navigator for $900 and have not had 1 problem and I have had it for several months. I have no complaints about the SUV. I wish I had purchased one a long time ago. I will be buying another one in the future with out a doubt

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Still going strong

LRStone, 06/21/2021
4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Best vehicle by far that I've owned. If taken care of and maintain properly you can get 300,000+miles. I'm pushin 280, 000, after cutting the catalytic converters and straight piping it it's the baddest Lincoln in town and i get better airflow and gas mileage. Heck I paid $600 for it then cashed in my cat for $900. Got the car for free made $300 off of it and it runs like a champ. Fits all five kids it is easy to clean and very roomy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050