Used 1996 Lincoln Mark VIII Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,272 - $2,732

Used Mark VIII for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Awesome Car

luvthiscar, 11/26/2010
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

This car is already over 13 years old and still kicks the snot out of 80 percent of the new cars on the road today. Why Lincoln stopped making these Ill never know, this is my 5th one. The people who own these cars NEVER get rid of them. Still looks modern 14 years later. If you get a chance to own one of these you will see to, and never get rid of it.

Report Abuse

My second Mark, these are great cars

mmtphoto, 03/18/2008
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Quick with a 4.6 DOHC all aluminum, and with mods like exhaust work, different rearratio with limited slip, air intake mods this is a low 14 second car, and there is virtually nothing on the road that can roll with it. It handles great expecially for a big car, and is beautiful with lots of style and design innovations. Air ride is nice but not dependable-you have to figure on replacing components every 6 to 8 years. Headlights are a joke, but HID kits on ebay cost $77 and are simple to install, so that problem is history now. Still able to get parts, but the 96 is the most unique and rare, so this'll be an issue one day. I will always have one-great car!

Report Abuse

I love this car!

Sassy, 08/07/2006
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Decent mileage for what it is, 22-24MPG on average. If you like to feel the road and enjoy driving without being in a true 2-seater - this is the car! I've had mine almost 10-years now; just turned 70,000. It's been super reliable - did have to replace a headlight - not cheap! The Toreador Red Clearcoat, chrome wheels, and moon roof make it a real head-turner. She sure doesn't look her age and gets compliments almost daily. I prefer its tight, somewhat stiff ride to the mushy rides of the Town Car and Cadillacs - I feel like I'm in a "grown-up" Corvette (which I drove for a few years). Just wish they still made these cars - can you tell I'm really attached? A joy to drive!

Report Abuse

Nice Car!

ROCK, 03/04/2006
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

The LSC is outstanding. For a 10 year old car with over 100,000 miles on it, the car drives like new. All of the bells and whistles, and there are many, operate perfectly. I still think the body shape is still simply stunning. Plenty of power and great handling for a car of this weight. The LSC model produces an extra 10 horsepower. Because this car was Fords best thing to roll off the assembly line, I predict it will someday be a classic. It is a true personal American muscle car.

Report Abuse

King Mark the VIIIth

Mark VIII, 05/28/2003
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I'm the proud owner of a pre-owned 1996 Lincoln Mark VIII LSC. I've got to say that Ford Motor Company really hit the nail on the head with this vehicle. It drives, looks, accelerates, and handles beautifully. It's a shame that today's fads have forced auto manufacturers to make their once spacious, powerful sports coupes into closets on wheels. If Ford had to reduce the size of the T- bird & replace the Mark VIII with the LS to compete with the imports, they should've at least left one big sporty car. This car is - was - nearly perfect in every way. I fully support a Mark IX built on the same concept - big, fast, sleek, and luxurious.

Report Abuse

Lincoln sweet heart

Jeff, 01/16/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My 96 Lincoln stills feels a tight as the day I brought it home. With 90,000 miles it still drives, runs and looks like a new car. Never had any problems. My only complaint is the headlights are a bit dim.

Report Abuse

Great Road Car

john Taylor, 03/15/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

145K miles NO PROBLEMS. I drive 200 mi and back to Washington, DC every week. Haven't had a lick of trouble. Orig tired lasted 105K. Breaks at 96K. Orig shocks and water pump. On the interstate I get 27-29 MPG depending on AC usage and traffic. All in all the best car I've ever owned.

Report Abuse

just havin fun

dthomp, 07/04/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for 4 months now, this car is excellent on the highway. I learn something new everyday about this car. It looks good, and drives good. Even for this to be a older car, it still have all the luxory features of a brand new car.

Report Abuse

Great Car!!

Robert Young, 05/30/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car has been great and is still fun to drive. The power is excellent and the car delivers it and still gets me 27.5 MPG on the freeway. The maintenance cost are high but I have rarely had problems. I have two complaints with the car: First, as with all Ford products I have had, the brakes suck. Second, the headlights on this car are weak but this was corrected with the Xeon headlights on the 97 model.

Report Abuse

Fun and sporty

christians0987, 09/07/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my Mark LSC as a second car for commuting (talked my wife into it) and since than it's the only car I drive. I love the HID headlight and all the features but most of all the power... and lot's of it. After about 4 mo the only thing I had to change was the oil. The engine and the transmission are still very powerfull although it has 125000 miles on it. The car has all the features in working conditions. If you have a chance to buy do not hesitate it's worth it. I know mine was.

Report Abuse

Comfort with performance and economy.

Ron Thexton, 09/25/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great all around car, much fewer problems with this model than with previous cad eldorado's.

Report Abuse

What a Luxury Car Should (REALLY) Be

Chris M, 12/18/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Excellent car--looked great, powerful, wonderful seats and interior. The perfect car for highway cruising, handled well for its size too and the air suspension provides a comfortable but not floaty ride. The 32v V8 is one of Ford's best engine designs, smooth and lots of power. The shape still looks contemporary 10 years down the road, and the interior design is the best of any car I've owned. Beautiful and functional. Safe, too, mine was totaled in an accident and I walked away without a scratch. I miss it...would have bought another had I been able to find a low-mileage example. Destined to become a classic, and hopefully I'll have another one by then...

Report Abuse

Worst car I've owned.

jcarroll, 12/19/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought usesd with 40,000 miles, still smelled new. After about 30,000 miles air ride went out, dealer wanted $2200 to repair. Got after market compressor and air struts for $1000. Door handle on drivers side broke completely off. Radio will not turn off. Console hatch broke and will not close. Headlights are non-existant except on bright; even then oncoming drivers don't request dim. Car rattles and there's always a check something or other light on. Edsel was second worst car ford made.

Report Abuse

True classic

V, 03/12/2007
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've enjoyed this vehicle to the limits. 220,000 miles and still very strong. Trans rebuilt at 150,000 along with some air suspension/electrical repairs. Rust is beginning to take over however i just wont part with it until its done!

Report Abuse

future design.

Robert Cartier, 04/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

reliable, excellant safety features comfortable to drive, great design.

Report Abuse

mark 8

jjooeell, 05/18/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

great car to drive///////

Report Abuse

Smooth

Tim B, 01/15/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this car! It's a used luxury bargain. I 've had it over a year with only regular maintence required with 60K miles on it now. It's sleek and fast. The seats are very comfortable "like butter" my friends say. I just took a trip from San Diego CA to Laughlin NV and it was a breeze. No fatigue what-so-ever. Decent gas mileage 25 mpg on the trip (mountains) I've seen 27 mpg, with a low of 14 mpg strickly around town....not bad for what it is. The ride's not as mushy as a Town Car, a little firm for a luxury car. The back seat is a little tight when a 6'2" friend was back there.

Report Abuse

Mark VIII

charliebone, 02/19/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has been a great car. Very low repair costs. Great performance and economy. I'd buy another one if they still made them.

Report Abuse

great economy for 3oo hp

Ron Thexton, 07/11/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this car consistently get's 26-28 miles per gallon, that is at 70 mph and ac running. We average over 400 miles a tank on 18 gallons. Great power for passing on 2 lane roads, we currently have 88k on this automobile and i have no intention of getting rid of it.

Report Abuse

Great car

hegemon, 03/13/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is a great bang for the buck used. There is no other purchase that will give you as much car as this one.

Report Abuse

The red rooster

JOE-BUZZ , 11/27/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The best part of this car is it's acceleration...Like a rocket. The worst part is the headlights...I would be better off with two flashlights it's also a little tight in the driver's seat and the passengers seat but i'm 6'2" and need the height and width.

Report Abuse

Mark VIII

jayello, 03/25/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall, this is an outstanding car. It by far dominates other cars in its class. Its depreciated very rapidly, which is good for the buyers, but bad for us sellers. The performance of this car is outstanding. Where else can you find a luxory coupe that will keep pace with a Camaro Z28, and run just a car length behind the Mustang Cobra?! Interior wise, it stacks up right along side all the others. Equipped with a message center computer, traction control, 6 way power seats, 8 way if you count the power reclineing seats, and an integrated phone. For a car that started out at $40,000+ this is a great buy.

Report Abuse

Endgame

Paul M Holmes, 08/28/2016
2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

That it's a Hassel to fix yourself if your older it's alot of motor in not alot of space

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my Mark

William Andrew, 04/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It is a great auto! I was sad the day they discontinued the Mark VIII.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050