Used 1996 Lexus LS 400 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,934 - $6,302

Used LS 400 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

cup holder still too small !!

dgeert, 08/31/2012
4dr Sedan
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

218k now and going strong now im doing the timing belt and water pump by choice because of a small water leak.. all the problems ive had w this car are very typical to any high mileage car such as alternator p steering pump,semi clogged radiator timing belt cost about 900.00 from small shop,so expect twice from a dealer, its a major job... even though i read this motor doesnt self destruct if it breaks. this car is /was one of the most reliable ever with all the comforts of a luxury car. still quiet at all speeds . THIS JUST IN... ive been researching smaller cars for the mpg's and this car beats most of them at 20 to 27 highway

Report Abuse

My dream car

curt, 12/26/2009
4dr Sedan
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I purchased a '96 LS 400 a few months ago. I have always wanted one but could not justify a new one at 50K+. I drive a diesel truck and wanted a luxury second car. This car is amazing on the highway. It floats but still handles well. It is a joy to drive and has 144K. I have had it on several 16 hour trips and it felt solid at 90+mph. Almost 15 years old and it feels new. Keep in mind that maintenance is expensive and it needs premium fuel. I plan to keep this 5 years and upgrade to an '05 LS 430 w/ 5 speed and black leather. Every time I drive it I can't believe it is 14 years old. I have driven several newer cars around 30K and this '96 is way more comfortable. Paid under $7K. Love it!!

Report Abuse

Bullet Proof!

shejean7, 08/20/2010
4dr Sedan
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

I bought this car over a year and 1/2 ago with around 130K on it. I test drove different cars at the time, but when I drove the LS400 I was in love. I can't believe how silky smooth it glides down the road. I use Regular gas in it, due to high gas prices, and it has not missed a beat. Sometimes I'll use premium fuel, but it does fine with regular, so why pay more? As far as expenses, it's been the cheapest car to own because nothing ever goes wrong with it. I've only done a front end alignment ($60), a new batter recently ($100), and regular oil changes with tire rotations. The tires do not seem to wear down either. Purchased for less than $6,000! Now in the market for an RX330!

Report Abuse

1996 Lexus great Transportation

Waynesax, 04/04/2002
4dr Sedan
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

After driving nothing but Mercedes for 25 years I decided to try a Lexus. I was at first dissapointed in the way the car handled and the brakes seemed soft. After I got used to it though I was impressed with how quiet and fast it was. The sound system is fabulous and no repair bills. The car is perfect to me now and I wouldn't own another Mercedes.

Report Abuse

lex review

skipsawaystem, 04/24/2002
4dr Sedan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

my 96 ls sedan is the nicest car we ever owned. reliability,driveability,classiness is fantastic. dealer servicing,cooperation etc. excellent any home office queries answered promptly and lexuses are hardly ever stolen because of wheel locks devices etc. a great car.

Report Abuse

1st Lexus and Loved it... will buy again

Jason, 07/19/2009
4dr Sedan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought a 96 LS400 white/tan at 156k miles and I did have to put about $4000 into it for new a/c, timing belt, water pump, front end, all fluids & filters, complete tune up. No paper work was purchased with the car, so I took a gamble. After the expenses, I put a set of LS430 wheels on it and WOW much better looking. It's been the best car ever. We drove it more than my wife's 04 ES330, but sadly it was totaled out and we are now looking for a 98-00 LS400. Love these cars!

Report Abuse

A joy

WDavidH, 08/16/2002
4dr Sedan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Purch new, corrected ball joints & control arm busnhings 120K . Perfect now. Best car I've owned. Powerful quiet reliable roomy classy, what else is there.

Report Abuse

What a car!!

tigerbone, 07/20/2011
4dr Sedan
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have a 96 ls400 with 160,000 miles on it. This car is amazing. I just took it from ohio to cali, and this era of Lexus quality and build is unmatched. I have a friend that has a 05 bmw 3 series, and he had to put a new trans. in his car, he is now wanting a Lexus ls:)

Report Abuse

'96 LS400

oldblue, 10/03/2008
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my second Lexus I am really pleased. The ride, the power and the overall design is outstanding. If you want luxury and power I recommend a Lexus, you will not disappointed. I have 120,000 and I believe it will go 300,000 without a problem if you follow the dealer maintenance schedule.

Report Abuse

1996 Lexus LS 400

legendof lexus, 11/16/2008
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

In late 90s til present I have had ES 300, 3 LS400, GS 300 and Avalon. In between those I had Caddys, Volvos, Audi and Acuras. Bottom line Lexus is it! I had to fix something on every car I owned except when I had a Lexus, just start and go! I don't like being in a car for more than 7-9 months, but this time I'm sticking to the 96 LS 400 till I can get the LS 430!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050