Used 1991 Lexus LS 400 Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,462 - $3,140

Used LS 400 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

380,000 miles and going strong!

BMV26, 08/17/2005
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Up to 380,000 miles now. Have had it repainted and have had a leather interior kit installed. Still think it's the best luxury sedan ever made. No problems, no issues. It just starts and runs like new. Normal repairs only: brake pads, tune-ups, etc.

Report Abuse

Great value

Dan Mabry, 10/22/2016
4dr Sedan
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

These cars were built to last forever and are a great value on the used market

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Amazed for a 20yr old car

1st time Lexus, 04/20/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

First time even driving a Lexus. I was hesitant due to the fact that I thought it was going to be an overrated Toyota. Night and day difference, and totally different from a Toyota. Even at 20yrs young, this car looks and drives like new (Yes the previous owner took very good care of her)Don't like the sound system, but can easily be upgraded and brought up to the 21st century. Car rides super smooth, makes you feel the luxury. Only piece I was disappointed in the stereo, but otherwise fabulous car. V8 power is decent. Looking to add performance mods and get a little more. Hope this helps

Report Abuse

Best Car I've owned

markes, 06/21/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought it w/70,000 miles, just passed 165,000 and no major problems! Aside from regular maintenance at 15,000- mile intervals, only other major costs have been a new Pwr steering pump ($800), new front ball joints ($400), and new gaskets for valve covers & oil pan (mostly labor). Quiet & reliabe....a dream of a car!

Report Abuse

Amazing car

happyowner, 06/09/2009
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is the best car I have ever owned. I bought it off a friend of my father's. It runs like new even at 240K+ miles!! Haven't had any problems with it other than a faulty sensor but that is common for this model and year. I plan to keep it well into the 300K range. Reliable and powerful, never call my car an expensive Toyota. This is a luxury car through and through with power like a sports car!

Report Abuse

Still best sedan ever made!

BWV26, 02/01/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

1991 LS400 with 250,872 miles. Have spent A/C repairs $2800, steering pump $578, rear air shock $525, major tune- up $1200, rear calipers $374, driver door lower speaker $200, fog lamp housing/lenses $200, tires $1,500. 2.9 cents/mile! Worth every penny.

Report Abuse

Beautiful vehicle

Mike, 03/01/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this a few months ago. Had 99,800 miles on it. Paid $6,200 for it at a dealer, which I thought was a great price. Fabulous car. Best ride of anything I've driven, and this is at 14 years old. Solid, strong, smooth. Understated styling, which I like. Exceptionally comfortable drive on long-distances. This car is just a pleasure to drive. Plenty of power and muscle. Very quiet on the road, especially on the freeway. An absolute winner, in my book.

Report Abuse

Piece of crap

Hampartzum, 04/18/2003
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

it's a very good car but after 10 years parts start to fall off and also start to break

Report Abuse

very happy owner

very happy user, 07/04/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have been totally happy with this car from day one. I've had virtually no major problems in 17 years, just routine maintenance (and inexpensive rear light bulbs going out regularly). It has been incredibly quiet ride from day one, unbelievably so. It seems like it'll last another 5-10 years! I'm passing it on to my teenage child, but only since after 17 years, it's time to move on (the car, not the kid!), e.g. to get a CD player!

Report Abuse

163K & still running

Rich T., 07/07/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Garage kept 91 LS400. Paint is flawless with the interior being just as nice. 16 year old vehicles usually find the scrapyard by now but not this one! I have had the A/C compressor go out, and a couple leaks (power steering pump & manifold gasket) of which I've not invested the funds to fix. Dealership quoted me $1900 for the A/C compressor. "I'll do without". Friends have mentioned how comfortable a ride it is, and I'm not one to argue. Gas gauge is funny as the vehicle seems to run as if it were out of gas although the gauge is still showing 1/4 tank?? All in all, this vehicle "hooked me" into becoming a future Lexus owner. It will definitely be hard to drive anything else now.

Report Abuse

My 17 yr old car feels like it's 10 yrs.

seabow2, 12/21/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just recently purchased a well-cared for LS 400 that was pampered and garaged its entire life by the same owner. The car came with a stack of receipts which verified all of the maintenance done. I empathize with those who purchased an LS400 needing repairs. I noticed that it can be costly. For example, my rack and pinion/power steering has been replaced twice!! The AC system has also been replaced. Just these three items alone total more than I paid for the car. However, the previous owner did take the car to the dealership so that makes a big difference. Yes, I would definitely buy this car even if I had to make repairs. I would just go a cheaper route. This car is very smooth.

Report Abuse

Unbelievable Quality

Les, 05/10/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My LS 400 just turned over 134,000 miles, and is running as well as it did when brand new. The engine, obviously well broken in, seems to be more powerful. This car is as it was when it left the showroom floor. The quality of every aspect of this car is THE BEST. Like the Energizer Bunny, it keeps going, and going, and going.

Report Abuse

it worth the buck

Tommie, 06/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is unbelievable. I bought it used at 129000 miles and it is now over 150000. I haven't had any problem so far. The ride is so smooth and quiet. The engine and the transmition responded well when you need passing power. At 150000 miles I think this car will last me at least for another 50000 miles without a sweat.

Report Abuse

I love my 91 Lexus Ls 400

Bmore Lexus Lover, 07/10/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car is built like a tank with 4wheels. Can't wait to buy the Lexus lx 470 when I can afford.

Report Abuse

Smith Lexus

Rick Smith, 07/08/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Extremely clean, low-milage (61,000 miles), excellent condition, sun roof, original paint & leather interior in excellent condition, all maintenance by Lexus dealer, new tires and studded snow tires available.

Report Abuse

great car....

John7000, 08/15/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car and did tune up and timing belt and after it no problem. I only had one problem which is the spark plug wire had a hole which cost $200.00 at the dealer, they replace all of wires. But overall no problem whatsoever except the mpg is a little too low (maybe V8)

Report Abuse

Great buy in used cars!!

GKW, 08/20/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought mine in 1996 and have just past 100K. I have only had to replace an alternator and one ball joint. Engine is as smooth today as new. Plenty of power and 20+MPG. Most people are shocked to hear that the car is 11 years old. As tight and as quiet as new. Now if I can only find a 2000 LS 400 with about 20K...

Report Abuse

Makes you feel like somebody...

Duane H, 04/17/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very nice car for the money ($9,500...2/02). Smooth, fast, tight, roomy luxury feel, 120 MPH is nothing to this car. With only 81,000 miles and still decent design, most people think it is a more recent year model. Past owners problem areas have been power steering and air conditioning. Rated very reliable but if something does go wrong expect to pay 2-3 times the normal price to fix.

Report Abuse

What's the fuss all about?

lexus_driver, 12/12/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Everyone seems to be raving about their LS's. Why? I don't know. I've had problems with mine. Maybe someone treated it bad before me. Whatever the case, it has problems. The A/C doesn't work, the power mirrors don't work, nor does the display for the temp/time. The switchgear assembly on the driver door broke, as did the wood trim plate on it. The car does have close to 150,000 miles, but I thought Lexuses went forever. It does have good points. It does ride decent and is fairly quiet, though interior room is tight for my 6'6" frame. The paint is exceptional and it is squeaky clean inside (including the engine housing).

Report Abuse

Expensive Repairs

jwbjr, 12/14/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car is great when it's running. However, have had water pump, power steering pump, and starter replaced. Also, rack & pinion leak, electrical problems, and a/c problems. At service rates just under $100/hour and using parts that have huge markups, it takes a small fortune just to keep the car in operation. I guess I don't have to use the Lexus dealer, so it's partly my fault. Other than these problems, the engine and transmission seem like they will last several hundred thousand more miles. Car now has 129,000 miles.

Report Abuse

Best car ever made and never duplicated

davnet, 01/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought used with 90K and now have 247,000 miles on it and I figure that's only about 1/4 of expected life! Lexus seriously seriously overbuilt the first generation of 400s: couldn't miss the mark when competing with Mercedes and BMW. They didn't, just extended it out of Mercedes and BMW ballpark! Quiet, powerful, and all the comforts. No problems at all. 26mpg highway, 22mpg city: can you believe it with a V8! The traction control really helps in snow and ice. Normal wear and tear repairs only. Save a little: Toyota dealers can work on it when needed.

Report Abuse

Best car ever.....

Leo Ruiz, 01/16/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought the car with 101,000 miles now has 131,000 miles. Car was taken care of, all maintanece was performed by a Lexus dealer.I have had this car for a little over 2 years with no problems with it. This is an exceptional vehicle. Only thing I have replaced are all the gold emblems as they were kind of faded.Car has plenty of power and good gas milage for a V8 (21+MPG).Car is exceptionally quite and ride is very confortable. Engine is so quiet even during accelaration.

Report Abuse

LS 400 excellence

c.J.Ires, 08/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent road car 13 years old and still looks 3yr old 300,000km and no flaws original mufflers and tests at 6% of standard (max) for emissions One of the classiest designs ever

Report Abuse

Lexus for Life!

Lexus_Believer, 08/13/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Outstanding vehicle for age. Ride, comfort, handling and fuel economy unbelievable for 13 year old car. I bought this a year ago with 130,000 miles and now have 180,000. Had to replace entire steering system (rack, lines & Pump), A/C pump went out too and had to retrofit to get rid of R12. But got a warranty that paid for most of repairs. The rest is routine maintenance. 27 mpg on hwy.

Report Abuse

Wish I bought a Lexus sooner

CAWB1617, 07/24/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have to admit after my mother's ES 300 hit 190k I started taking notice how reliable these cars could be with proper maint. I was a Honda/Acura buyer for 5+ years but when I drove my friends LS 400 I knew I had to get one. I found a 91 with 130,000 miles that was almost flawless, interior looks new if you can believe it. Car drives like a dream,very, very, very powerful 250 HP engine but it takes the premium gas. Would buy another in a heartbeat.

Report Abuse

The best thing to come out of the 90's

Lil-j, 07/25/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car on the suggestion from and friend, and it was the best free advice I had received in a long time. I purchased a black Jade Pearl with Ivory interior with 140,000 miles for just over $7,000. The car runs and drives like a 2002, and that is no exaggeration. The interior and exterior components are obviously of the highest quality, put together with exacting detail and precision. The greatest thing, every friend that has seen and gone for a ride in the car guess that its age is no more than 6-8. Surely a compliment for a 13 year old car.

Report Abuse

My LS400

Eromero, 03/22/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Had this car for almost 5 years now. It has been the dream car and I had no complaints. I've driven this car all over the country. This car has been reliable. I've put over 100k in 5 years. Parts are outrageous. The last year has been a nightmare. It started wearing down. One thing brakes after another. AC Compressor $1200, Power steering pump & Alternator $800, 2 rear calipers $348, new brakes, rotors $900. Over $3,000 in the last year. needs new struts and shocks. $1200. Don't get me wrong I'm in love with the car. For the year it's a great value. And the quality of materials. Interior looks great, no wear no tear. I know it will give me another 100K if I fix it, But is it worth fixing?

Report Abuse

suspension/ride problem

shockoe, 03/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

2d owner at 58k; great ride until 125k when after tires replaced, suspension hardened;dealer advised that $5k (ball j oints, bushings, tighten engine mounts etc) to repair. car maintained regularly and mainly highway miles; advised that Lexus finding this problem in 1991 LS400 now. Will keep car but it is a rough ride.

Report Abuse

Lexus '91

caall, 03/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car was amazingly well kept. At 110,000 miles the only issue is noise from the lifters.

Report Abuse

1991 LEXUS LS400

harry0918, 04/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Hello all. Just purchased a 1991 LS400 with 119,00 miles. Never drove a Lexus but after a week I'm a convert. Car was dealer maintained and is in excellent shape. No 13 year-old car should ride this good. Thanks to all of your comments which helped me decide to buy it.

Report Abuse

My LS

naw, 11/16/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car as my first car and for $2,500... it is the best $2,500 I have spent. I should be doing a little bit more maintenece but so far this car has been rock solid to me, even as a young driver. Everything is very smooth and people get in my car and tell me how nice and spacious it is. Price of parts is killing me as I am on a very limited budget but it is definitely worth the money knowing that 214,000 miles is still just the beginning of its' long life. Even my dad loves when we drive in my car even with also having a Benz. I am proud to drive my Lexus because its more reliable than many cars out there.I plan to drive this car for many more years, because it really is that great.

Report Abuse

Diamond Lexus

Laura Hernandez, 05/08/2017
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Test ride the car more than once.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

One of the best cars I have ever owned

Tim Thurman, 01/26/2019
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned everything -- from BMW to Jeep to Ford. But I love my old Lexus. Yes, it is old, but it has been extraordinarily reliable (I hope I did not jinx myself). It gets OK gas mileage, great considering the size of the engine. It especially gets good mileage on the highway. I got this car for cheap; it was one of the best deals I ever made.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best car I ever owned

Mark, 12/07/2019
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this 1991 Lexus with 67,000 miles on it in 2006 for $7,500. It's my backup and the best vehicle I've ever owned. No doubt you could put 500,000 miles on this vehicle. They are that well built. I changed out a failed instrument cluster this past summer, but I wouldn't trade this car for a new one today. An extraordinary engineering achievement. Mercedes liked to brag about the longevity of their cars. This one beats it to a pulp.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050